More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.54

Awesome69.61%
Worth A Look: 22.55%
Average: 1.96%
Pretty Bad: 3.92%
Total Crap: 1.96%

4 reviews, 78 user ratings


Latest Reviews

All Is True by Jay Seaver

Fugue by Jay Seaver

Aniara by Jay Seaver

John Wick: Chapter 3 - Parabellum by Jay Seaver

Long Day's Journey Into Night (2018) by Jay Seaver

Shadow by Jay Seaver

Be Natural: The Untold Story of Alice Guy-Blaché by Jay Seaver

Hustle, The by Peter Sobczynski

Detective Pikachu by Peter Sobczynski

Mope by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Monsoon Wedding
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Spinner

"As frenetic, expansive, and joyously accessible as good jazz."
4 stars

Monsoon Wedding takes a small idea about a pending wedding ceremony and turns it into an exhuberant statement about life, love and family loyalty.

It's four days before his daughter is to get married in a lavish garden ceremony at his house in New Delhi and Lalit Verma (Naseeruddin Shah) has a few major problems. The extended family are arriving from across the globe, the wedding planner is starting to look a bit dodgy and is spending his time eating marigolds and to top it all off Lalit can't really afford the whole shebang in the first place.

But this is a middle class, upwardly mobile Indian family and with that comes significant social responsibility and the need to protect and enhance one's reputation.

Lalit's daughter isn't overly fussed about getting married. In order to do so she must end her affair with a married TV presenter. Lalit's maid seems to be hitting it off with the clumsy wedding planner Dubey (Vijay Raaz), who must surely have one of the most interesting faces in film, and hidden behind the frivolties, the gaiety, the noise of all this, is an unresolved conflict between Lalit's mature-age niece and the man who once molested her. A man held in high esteem by the Lalit.

There's a lot going on in this film. For a start it's representative of a new globalised Indian family. the groom is from Houston, Lalit's son lives in Sydney and between them all dialogue shifts effortlessly and melodically between English, Punjabi and Hindi. The film is bathed in good natured humour and gentle relationships and doesn't mind even having a laugh at it's own expense, milking the wedding planner's idiosyncracies for all they are worth.

But in the end it's just a slice of life. A story about finding love by arrangement and finding love in an instant and it's a film which celebrates womanhood. Some of the pivotal and memorable scenes belong entirely to the female characters.

Naturally the monsoon in the title refers to the weather pattern as well as being a metaphor for the events of the film and perhaps a signifier for the future of its characters. the monsoon brings the rain that ultimately allows things to grow anew.

It's a very well balanced film with the exception of the mild paedophilia history between two of the characters which somehow cheapens the experience by rolling out a tired cliche. Why do filmmakers rely on making a character a paedophile to make him dislikable? It's unimaginative. They could just make him a real estate agent!

Aside from this very minor issue the film works magically and is very engaging. The cinematogrpahy is gorgeous, the colours vibrant and even the sometimes shaky camera work really brings the story to life.

All in all Monsoon Wedding is a gem. It's not going to change the world. It doesn't have an agenda and it lacks any sense of self-importance. It is what it is, and what it is is delicious easy-watching entertainment.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=5675&reviewer=288
originally posted: 02/25/02 14:00:19
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/25/11 Annie G I don’t think I serve marigolds often enough for dinner… 3 stars
8/20/11 hurdy gurdy man First class venture BUT somewhat corny overall - not for everyone. 3 stars
1/27/11 Jeff Wilder Great mix of comedy and drama. More fully dimensional than My Big Fat Greek Wedding. 4 stars
5/21/08 PAUL SHORTT AN INTRICATE, HEARTFELT TRIBUTE TO THE ENDURING POWER OF LOVE 4 stars
7/16/06 scott watterman best movie of 2002 5 stars
10/10/05 Phil M. Aficionado The thing just wore me out trying to follow it; I quit after a while 2 stars
10/02/05 Priya Pamtham My favourite movie in the world 5 stars
12/06/04 Natasha Theobald funny, moving, colorful - I loved living with this family for a couple of hours 5 stars
8/16/04 Eloise romance, singing, dancing, weddings, with a happy ending, yey 5 stars
8/12/04 RAAJ DOGRA AWESOME MOVIE , GREAT WORK DONE BY MIRA NAIR AND FUCK U SHEFALI SHARMA 5 stars
8/11/04 kiren randeep hooda is mega fit 5 stars
8/03/04 Prashant H Manapure Sensitive movie 5 stars
7/25/04 Drew-P Touching flick. 4 stars
5/16/04 Divya Vats i loved the movie. the only where ppl were still glued to their seats even after it got ove 5 stars
2/16/04 Rocanna This film made me see the culture that I only experienced half of. It made me see me. 5 stars
1/26/04 Ravi Ganesh stoo good 5 stars
12/28/03 Sonya Amazing movie - it finally reached my country, and now Indian movies are the in thing! 5 stars
7/13/03 jarred manus good moive but Tilottama is too hot to be a maid 4 stars
5/17/03 Shefali Sharma So bad -- it ain't good 1 stars
5/13/03 kuldeep Hooda A Movie with a difference......!! 5 stars
4/21/03 Dharma Singh Randeep Hooda was going great guns..All the best.. 5 stars
3/31/03 Aron i think this is the most beatiful movie i have ever seen!!!! 5 stars
12/21/02 Freyja Lovely, lovely movie! Vibrant and gorgeous and charming, a real treat. 4 stars
10/15/02 Sandeep Kumar Punia It’s Wonderful movie, cheery to see a movie with a difference after a long time. 5 stars
10/06/02 sasha Rahul is so hot 5 stars
10/06/02 Nicole What a cute movie! 4 stars
9/29/02 Peter Sherlock Wonderful! Fun! 5 stars
9/13/02 Jaivir Hooda wonderful movie...Rnadeep hooda waas excellent ....hoodas ar born great 5 stars
9/04/02 sandeep punia best movie randeep hooda rules 5 stars
8/02/02 neda mickles9494@yahoo.com 2 stars
5/10/02 Aron A feast for eyes, ears, & mind. Extend pleasure by buying the soundtrack! 5 stars
4/23/02 Pete Fun, nice look into a different culture. Beautifully shot. Very enjoyable! 4 stars
4/12/02 Heather Amazing, amazing ...... 5 stars
4/07/02 caitlin it was very good, and Randeep Hooda is very hunky! 5 stars
4/03/02 Rizjit Zaidsura A real rollercoaster of emotions that, in the end, delivers with heart-warming joy. 5 stars
3/25/02 Craig Totally enjoyed it - and that's all that really matters!! 5 stars
3/25/02 neel Its awesome. Worth watching 5 stars
3/19/02 Teresa During the wedding dance my friend started dancing with her hands. The audience applauded 5 stars
3/17/02 rajeshjha Awesome 5 stars
3/11/02 Sonya AWESOME. Just AWESOME. 5 stars
3/09/02 huew there's not enough about the bride and the groom. We don't feel like we know them 2 stars
3/08/02 Rumi Sukhwinder's 'theme song' is awesome!!!! 5 stars
3/02/02 Cafemocha Totally enjoyed it.....saw bits and pieces of various family weddings I've attended..... 5 stars
2/25/02 Gaurav PK DUBEY is awesome..he deserves an oscar 5 stars
2/25/02 AV This wedding is infectious! 5 stars
2/23/02 Rohin Infinitely better than most of the Bollywood crap my country is known for. Loved it. 5 stars
2/21/02 noori good 5 stars
2/20/02 sridevi fucking awesome really.....mira nair deserves a kiss on her pussy 5 stars
2/19/02 Mark Olsen Excellent 5 stars
2/18/02 rabi great ...***** 5 stars
2/17/02 Frances its ok i guess 4 stars
2/17/02 Clarance touching story nonetheless...but i just didn't feel as though I'm a big fan 2 stars
2/15/02 Ash Rajendra Wonderfull and Honest... made me laugh, think and cry... 5 stars
2/13/02 SANDEEP KOCHAR BEAUTIFUL...JOYOUS...TOUCHING...MOVING...SOMETHING TO MOVE THE MOST CYNICAL OF HEARTS! 5 stars
2/09/02 Shu Yey its wick 5 stars
2/07/02 sukanya sen gupta a slice of contemporary Indian life. The film has a soul, it is direct and no pretence. 5 stars
2/07/02 nizam aziz nice! 5 stars
2/05/02 RB Beautifu! Awesome. Loved it, will watch it again... 5 stars
2/05/02 Sumona Almost convinced me to get maried :) 5 stars
2/01/02 Shivani Ramnath a must see! 5 stars
1/27/02 Deveka An absolute great depiction of realistic relationships between people, I loved it!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
1/24/02 pavan terrific 4 stars
1/22/02 Sanjay a really good movie. 5 stars
1/21/02 jaideep a well crafted movie with lot of human touch.leaves you feeling beautiful in the end 5 stars
1/21/02 Know-it-all Bitching awesome! Fer sure! 5 stars
1/18/02 Himanshu Chaudhari An excellent movie for a person who identify with the Indian middle class... 5 stars
1/16/02 MikeB not much of a story - but - I loved it - a very well made movie 5 stars
1/15/02 Nandini Top, top, top-notch! A genuinely moving, human drama. None of that bollywood bollocks! 5 stars
1/12/02 Tam One of the best Indian films I've ever seen. Breaks conventions e.g. shows kissing. 5 stars
1/09/02 Adam Voorhees Fucking wank, u people r starved of quaility if u think this is good. DO NOT SEE THIS! 1 stars
1/08/02 matthew smith delightful, full of fun, colour and wonderful music 4 stars
1/06/02 jayaraman ganesh must watch!!!! 5 stars
1/04/02 Andrew Carden An Indian Version Of Betsy's Wedding. It Was Pretty Good I Guess. 4 stars
1/04/02 Samuel Gordon Excellent Film! A must see! 5 stars
1/01/02 Atomic Toaster The Music is also 5 stars 5 stars
12/29/01 Owen Great Film!! Loved it. 5 stars
12/28/01 Kurenai Most amazing film 5 stars
12/21/01 viking A poignant comedy 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  22-Feb-2002 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  14-Dec-2001




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast