More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.54

Awesome69.61%
Worth A Look: 22.55%
Average: 1.96%
Pretty Bad: 3.92%
Total Crap: 1.96%

4 reviews, 78 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Star Wars: Episode VIII : The Last Jedi by Jay Seaver

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Monsoon Wedding
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Greg Muskewitz

"Family circus."
4 stars

Mira Nairís circus of Indian familial dysfunction during the whirlwind created by an arranged wedding, seeks, in more thoroughness than her previous movies, to appeal to a commercial (a/k/a American) audience.

A portion of that compromise could be deferred to an issue broached by Nair, which is that the younger generation of India has become too Americanized in ways of living and thinking, and the dogmatic insistence of tradition from the elders. A trait that goes hand-in-hand with dysfunction is chaos, and the strategy of conflict showcased takes dominance to even the culture. Attention is paid, however, to the confluence and surpassing of each sideís Red Alert axis ó otherwise exhibiting a further exposition of compromise. (The best example of the co-mingling of eras is through the soundtrack, which matches up the cultural, the classical and the contemporary sounds of music.) As one who is continually accumbent to the old ways of tradition, as much as I found the American influences on the modern culture interesting, the unfamiliarity and introduction to their traditions (the consummation of marigolds, falling bright flowers as an aphrodisiac, decorations in henna tattoos) carried a stronger resonance, a worth of exploration. Itís a good thing for that, since the repetitive formula of crisis and mop-up is so uncreatively followed, an all-too-serious molestation issue is superficially imposed, and the fresh glow of the marigolds is sullied by a grainy, scummy result from the film transfer.

With Naseeruddin Shah, Lillete Dubey, Shefali Shetty, Vijay Raaz, Tilotama Shome and Vasundhara Das.

[Worth-seeing.]

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=5675&reviewer=172
originally posted: 10/11/02 16:42:40
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/25/11 Annie G I donít think I serve marigolds often enough for dinnerÖ 3 stars
8/20/11 hurdy gurdy man First class venture BUT somewhat corny overall - not for everyone. 3 stars
1/27/11 Jeff Wilder Great mix of comedy and drama. More fully dimensional than My Big Fat Greek Wedding. 4 stars
5/21/08 PAUL SHORTT AN INTRICATE, HEARTFELT TRIBUTE TO THE ENDURING POWER OF LOVE 4 stars
7/16/06 scott watterman best movie of 2002 5 stars
10/10/05 Phil M. Aficionado The thing just wore me out trying to follow it; I quit after a while 2 stars
10/02/05 Priya Pamtham My favourite movie in the world 5 stars
12/06/04 Natasha Theobald funny, moving, colorful - I loved living with this family for a couple of hours 5 stars
8/16/04 Eloise romance, singing, dancing, weddings, with a happy ending, yey 5 stars
8/12/04 RAAJ DOGRA AWESOME MOVIE , GREAT WORK DONE BY MIRA NAIR AND FUCK U SHEFALI SHARMA 5 stars
8/11/04 kiren randeep hooda is mega fit 5 stars
8/03/04 Prashant H Manapure Sensitive movie 5 stars
7/25/04 Drew-P Touching flick. 4 stars
5/16/04 Divya Vats i loved the movie. the only where ppl were still glued to their seats even after it got ove 5 stars
2/16/04 Rocanna This film made me see the culture that I only experienced half of. It made me see me. 5 stars
1/26/04 Ravi Ganesh stoo good 5 stars
12/28/03 Sonya Amazing movie - it finally reached my country, and now Indian movies are the in thing! 5 stars
7/13/03 jarred manus good moive but Tilottama is too hot to be a maid 4 stars
5/17/03 Shefali Sharma So bad -- it ain't good 1 stars
5/13/03 kuldeep Hooda A Movie with a difference......!! 5 stars
4/21/03 Dharma Singh Randeep Hooda was going great guns..All the best.. 5 stars
3/31/03 Aron i think this is the most beatiful movie i have ever seen!!!! 5 stars
12/21/02 Freyja Lovely, lovely movie! Vibrant and gorgeous and charming, a real treat. 4 stars
10/15/02 Sandeep Kumar Punia Itís Wonderful movie, cheery to see a movie with a difference after a long time. 5 stars
10/06/02 sasha Rahul is so hot 5 stars
10/06/02 Nicole What a cute movie! 4 stars
9/29/02 Peter Sherlock Wonderful! Fun! 5 stars
9/13/02 Jaivir Hooda wonderful movie...Rnadeep hooda waas excellent ....hoodas ar born great 5 stars
9/04/02 sandeep punia best movie randeep hooda rules 5 stars
8/02/02 neda mickles9494@yahoo.com 2 stars
5/10/02 Aron A feast for eyes, ears, & mind. Extend pleasure by buying the soundtrack! 5 stars
4/23/02 Pete Fun, nice look into a different culture. Beautifully shot. Very enjoyable! 4 stars
4/12/02 Heather Amazing, amazing ...... 5 stars
4/07/02 caitlin it was very good, and Randeep Hooda is very hunky! 5 stars
4/03/02 Rizjit Zaidsura A real rollercoaster of emotions that, in the end, delivers with heart-warming joy. 5 stars
3/25/02 Craig Totally enjoyed it - and that's all that really matters!! 5 stars
3/25/02 neel Its awesome. Worth watching 5 stars
3/19/02 Teresa During the wedding dance my friend started dancing with her hands. The audience applauded 5 stars
3/17/02 rajeshjha Awesome 5 stars
3/11/02 Sonya AWESOME. Just AWESOME. 5 stars
3/09/02 huew there's not enough about the bride and the groom. We don't feel like we know them 2 stars
3/08/02 Rumi Sukhwinder's 'theme song' is awesome!!!! 5 stars
3/02/02 Cafemocha Totally enjoyed it.....saw bits and pieces of various family weddings I've attended..... 5 stars
2/25/02 Gaurav PK DUBEY is awesome..he deserves an oscar 5 stars
2/25/02 AV This wedding is infectious! 5 stars
2/23/02 Rohin Infinitely better than most of the Bollywood crap my country is known for. Loved it. 5 stars
2/21/02 noori good 5 stars
2/20/02 sridevi fucking awesome really.....mira nair deserves a kiss on her pussy 5 stars
2/19/02 Mark Olsen Excellent 5 stars
2/18/02 rabi great ...***** 5 stars
2/17/02 Frances its ok i guess 4 stars
2/17/02 Clarance touching story nonetheless...but i just didn't feel as though I'm a big fan 2 stars
2/15/02 Ash Rajendra Wonderfull and Honest... made me laugh, think and cry... 5 stars
2/13/02 SANDEEP KOCHAR BEAUTIFUL...JOYOUS...TOUCHING...MOVING...SOMETHING TO MOVE THE MOST CYNICAL OF HEARTS! 5 stars
2/09/02 Shu Yey its wick 5 stars
2/07/02 sukanya sen gupta a slice of contemporary Indian life. The film has a soul, it is direct and no pretence. 5 stars
2/07/02 nizam aziz nice! 5 stars
2/05/02 RB Beautifu! Awesome. Loved it, will watch it again... 5 stars
2/05/02 Sumona Almost convinced me to get maried :) 5 stars
2/01/02 Shivani Ramnath a must see! 5 stars
1/27/02 Deveka An absolute great depiction of realistic relationships between people, I loved it!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
1/24/02 pavan terrific 4 stars
1/22/02 Sanjay a really good movie. 5 stars
1/21/02 jaideep a well crafted movie with lot of human touch.leaves you feeling beautiful in the end 5 stars
1/21/02 Know-it-all Bitching awesome! Fer sure! 5 stars
1/18/02 Himanshu Chaudhari An excellent movie for a person who identify with the Indian middle class... 5 stars
1/16/02 MikeB not much of a story - but - I loved it - a very well made movie 5 stars
1/15/02 Nandini Top, top, top-notch! A genuinely moving, human drama. None of that bollywood bollocks! 5 stars
1/12/02 Tam One of the best Indian films I've ever seen. Breaks conventions e.g. shows kissing. 5 stars
1/09/02 Adam Voorhees Fucking wank, u people r starved of quaility if u think this is good. DO NOT SEE THIS! 1 stars
1/08/02 matthew smith delightful, full of fun, colour and wonderful music 4 stars
1/06/02 jayaraman ganesh must watch!!!! 5 stars
1/04/02 Andrew Carden An Indian Version Of Betsy's Wedding. It Was Pretty Good I Guess. 4 stars
1/04/02 Samuel Gordon Excellent Film! A must see! 5 stars
1/01/02 Atomic Toaster The Music is also 5 stars 5 stars
12/29/01 Owen Great Film!! Loved it. 5 stars
12/28/01 Kurenai Most amazing film 5 stars
12/21/01 viking A poignant comedy 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  22-Feb-2002 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  14-Dec-2001




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast