More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.46

Awesome: 21.95%
Worth A Look42.28%
Average: 10.57%
Pretty Bad: 10.57%
Total Crap: 14.63%

5 reviews, 93 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Gosford Park
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Greg Muskewitz

"Altman's Clue."
4 stars

A distinctly unique whodunit in the vein of Clue: assemble a wild assortment of characters/friends/players, brew a murder and stew a pot of motives that has everybody, at least initially, capable of some form of responsibility in the state of affairs — that, more or less, is what the film boils down to.

It is interactive in a way, immensely addictive (at least the first go-round), and far more vicarious than any role-playing videogame I can think of. There’s certainly more to Gosford Park than the bare essentials I laid out — the class rivalries between one-another, the eyes and ears strategically ornamented via the downstairs servants, the inner- and intra-competitiveness of a turntable’s worth of possibilities and probabilities, etc. That interactiveness, that fusillade of characters and motives, that gamely quality, and the collective inventiveness of Gosford Park is but a fraction of what connects for the registered attribute of fun here. I am hardly a “fan” of Robert Altman’s, though I can certainly find appealing examples every few years, though he often shoots himself in the foot or other non-vital places, possibly because he sees to it to deliver something new each year, ŕ la Woody Allen. To fit with the muffled sound of the film and dialogue, the film equally has a muted and hushed look — placid yellows, fuzzy oranges, crispy eggshell whites. Through that fanbelt of ambiance, whisping around the estate, when the characters are searched and observed, the film displays their cogs twisting and motives substantiated.

Among the collection of performances, the most fun are as follows: Claudie Blakely, Helen Mirren, Kelly MacDonald, Michael Gambon, Maggie Smith, Clive Owens, Kristen Scott Thomas, Bob Balaban, Jeremy Northam, Stephen Fry, Alan Bates and Derek Jacobi. Also with Geraldine Somerville, Natasha Wightman, Camilla Rutherford, Richard E. Grant, Eileen Atkins, Jeremy Swift, Adrian Scarborough, Emily Watson and Ryan Phillippe, amidst others.

[Worth-seeing.]

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=5676&reviewer=172
originally posted: 10/06/02 12:26:40
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

3/27/16 FireWithFire Monday Morning ,totally agree!!!! 1 stars
2/07/13 Monday Morning I LOATHE Altman's style. His flicks, including this one, are really annoying. 1 stars
4/09/11 Annoymous Overrated, Boring, and Not Great Mystery 1 stars
9/23/08 PAUL SHORTT HORRID, PUTRID AND BORING 1 stars
5/02/08 mb Interesting characters but flat story. 2 stars
2/10/08 Pamela White slow and deep plot but excellent acting 4 stars
10/10/07 mr.mike agree with Sir William and Zinzi 3 stars
7/05/07 Will Fenton One of the top five worst movies I have ever seen. 1 stars
4/26/06 Iza true the sequences are good in theory but not in practice 2 stars
8/17/04 R.W. Welch 30's style British murder mystery is done with high polish. Some accents a bit thick. 4 stars
7/21/04 Littlepurch Fantastic cast but unfortunately the story,especially with the solution,was v.disapointing! 2 stars
6/28/04 osmund bullock astonishingly rich, true, funny, sometimes very moving. End not so good. 5 stars
6/15/04 T. Maj Overrated and pointless 2 stars
5/05/04 John simply hard to sit through 1 stars
1/07/04 Rajneesh Chopra Intakhab IV A dump truck's worth of pretentious bowel fill 1 stars
10/18/03 Wendy Carpenter Forget how many of 15-20 characters I could follow. I couldn't CARE about any of them! 2 stars
8/09/03 Joesco Good but difficult to follow characters - Need to see twice 4 stars
6/18/03 Andrew Callaway Very good. Nothing special. Altman directed very well. 4 stars
6/15/03 Jack Sommersby Smoothly directed but so direly lacking in the dramatic areas. Watson is sole bright spot. 2 stars
5/27/03 Jack Bourbon I'll never look at silverware the same. AWESOME production design (I just said that?) 5 stars
4/25/03 Dave A complex and funny whodunit film. Well worth it. 5 stars
4/20/03 Dillon Sorry Bob, it didn't do much for me. Great cast, tho. Mirren the best of them all 3 stars
4/17/03 Jon "Thumb the Toad" Lyrik Great movie if you can follow 15-20 characters. 5 stars
3/28/03 Jack Bourbon I've never been so enamored of a film that revolves around silverware until GP. 5 stars
3/08/03 Nessus Limp lifeless script. No plot. Boring. All characters are 2D. 1 stars
2/08/03 mr. Pink One of the most overrated movies of recent times. Confusing and pointless. 2 stars
2/06/03 Monster W. Kung Excruciatingly boring and lifeless. Good cinematography alone is not enough. 1 stars
2/02/03 Lord David Altman's a tad heavy on the socialism angle - but movie's lovely & funny - and brilliant 5 stars
1/15/03 Phil M. Aficionado Enjoyed the acting, free wheeling style, the "mood" and the class insights. A winner. 4 stars
1/13/03 Stevo Funny, involving, well acted (Maggie Smith is great); the murder is unnecessary 4 stars
12/29/02 Jack Sommersby Overrated, lifeless period comedy/drama. 1 stars
11/16/02 Big Ted One of the Best of 2001! Altman Scores! 5 stars
9/29/02 Peter Sherlock Magic. Top movie! 5 stars
9/07/02 Have@you.com Not really a murder mystery, but decent. 4 stars
8/18/02 LessThanColleen Oh my God, I tried to stay awake, but three hours of this crap? Kill me. Kill me now now. 1 stars
7/26/02 Natalie Stonecipher Murder mystery where all act alike - no need care whodunit! 2 stars
7/23/02 Bueller How many people that no one cares about can we put in one film? This was a waste of talent. 2 stars
7/20/02 ??? a great film 5 stars
7/16/02 Monday Morning Coulda been improved with some tighter editing. Very good but too drawn out. 4 stars
7/04/02 Elizabeth Jackie a very good portrait of such people. 4 stars
7/01/02 Film Dude Oh. My God. Quite simply the most boring film I've EVER seen. 1 stars
7/01/02 The Bomb 69 quite simply the best film of 2001, too complex for the fragile audiences that watched it 5 stars
5/27/02 Francis interesting, but unnecessarily confusing (poor direction), too much mumbling 4 stars
5/15/02 hbotis@hotmail.com I missed the hype on this. Love Altman, love Helen Mirren 4 stars
4/17/02 Teresa (1cust183.tnt1.santa-cruz.ca.da.uu.net) Don't try follow the dialog and who is married to who. Just enjoy!! 5 stars
4/08/02 Jimbo Great movie 4 stars
4/06/02 Soggy Bottom Boy Works more as fascinating class interactions rather than murder mystery. 5 stars
3/29/02 Man with the hat killed by other man with the hat. Teresa, It's who is married to WHOM. Either way I enjoyed little. 3 stars
3/26/02 Tracy Frummond Best Screen Play? JOE DIRT was robbed! 2 stars
3/25/02 Mike and Erie IT SUCKS!! DON'T WATCH IT!! ONLY REASON WE DIDN'T LEAVE WAS CUZ MY GIRLFRIEND FELL ASLEEP! 1 stars
3/23/02 Guy Forssman A felt asleep 4 times!! They filmed a cluedo game? 1 stars
3/23/02 Natalie Stonecipher Murder mystery where all act alike - no need care whodunit! 2 stars
3/19/02 Trevor L Excellent! 4 stars
3/17/02 Jessica P Excellent! 5 stars
3/17/02 Teresa Don't try follow the dialog and who is married to who. Just enjoy!! 5 stars
3/12/02 spaceworm Yes, looking forward to DVD captions. 5 stars
3/09/02 Pauline Swindells I thought the film's plot was sadly lacking, but it was acted beautifully. I really enjoye 4 stars
3/09/02 Jake Eventhough it was tough to follow, I thoroughly enjoyed the biting dialogue 4 stars
3/08/02 Matthew Smith one of Altman's best films, very witty and superbly made drama 5 stars
3/05/02 StudMaster Well done masterpiece theater. P.S. - THERE IS NO MYSTERY, only a murder!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 3 stars
2/22/02 Bueller This movie goes nowhere, and it isn't in any particuar hurry about getting there either. 2 stars
2/22/02 Xaver Maggie Smith is wonderful. Lovely plotting. Lacks subtitles. 5 stars
2/20/02 C. A. Thomas Helen Mirren steals the movie 5 stars
2/19/02 Kenny On 2nd viewing it becomes an even more terrific movie 5 stars
2/19/02 Lisa mumbling,rapid speech,heavy accents,too many characters & plotlines -vy difficult to follow 3 stars
2/18/02 Vicki Pritchard Very well acted 5 stars
2/18/02 Todd Hughes one of the worst movies I've ever seen 1 stars
2/10/02 Zinzi It was interesting, but way too superficial in development of too many characters. 3 stars
2/08/02 Allan Holtzmann A wonderful change from the Hollywood drivel, exceeded my expectations!! 5 stars
2/08/02 malcolm i would give it 5, but the accents made it hard to understand at times 4 stars
2/06/02 Ridge A Peek into the lives of those we sometimes wish to experience personally. 4 stars
2/06/02 gillie ashworth worth a look 4 stars
2/05/02 Patrick Mallon Unbelievably horrible 1 stars
2/05/02 Brian Crompton After 75 minutes "Upstairs Downstairs" I walked out of the film. 2 stars
2/04/02 Chris You've got to pay close attention so at the end you're not too far lost. Excellent ensemble 4 stars
2/04/02 sandi good, but deliberate pacing frustrates US viewers 4 stars
2/02/02 George Absolutely Awful- It's no Upstairs-Downsatirs 1 stars
1/27/02 KumariHPX Great Cast, couldn't follow plot, great performances 4 stars
1/27/02 Eloise Oh my. Life "downstairs" is definitely more interesting than I thought. 4 stars
1/25/02 Boy In The Designer Bubble A great film with far too many characters. I kept getting lost, so I'm gonna see it again. 5 stars
1/25/02 Dave Draper As intelligent & exciting as Lord of the Rings was loud & stupid 5 stars
1/23/02 Steve Bradford Toilet-bowl Yank makes another period B-movie 1 stars
1/22/02 Sir William Easy to watch & well-acted but ultimately pointless and unrewarding pretense all the way 3 stars
1/21/02 Soggy Bottom Boy Superb acting, one of the best ensemble pieces I've seen. Loved the dialogue. 5 stars
1/20/02 Bonne I liked it but couldn't stop the snoring that was happening in the seat next to me (that wo 4 stars
1/19/02 Suzz good but not stupendous 4 stars
1/18/02 karin miller wonderful, enchanting, like a 2 hour bon bon 5 stars
1/15/02 Thor-Leo Oddly clumsy. The murder appeared so late, it seemed like life support, not a plot point. 4 stars
1/13/02 Bob Mortley A bit too much detail for the American Aidience to comprehend and thus enjoy. 4 stars
1/13/02 Emma Lee The best of its kind..positively yummy 5 stars
1/06/02 Film Expert a work of art 5 stars
12/21/01 Tessa I agree with Eric's summation. There were many characters and gossip to keep track of. 4 stars
12/19/01 Harper Sloane Not bad Bob, well directed my son! 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  26-Dec-2001 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  14-Mar-2002




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast