More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 

Overall Rating

Awesome: 22.22%
Worth A Look: 9.72%
Average: 22.22%
Pretty Bad25%
Total Crap: 20.83%

5 reviews, 42 user ratings

Latest Reviews

Pacific Rim: Uprising by alejandroariera

Unsane by Peter Sobczynski

Tehran Taboo by Rob Gonsalves

Final Portrait by Rob Gonsalves

Bombshell: The Hedy Lamarr Story by Jay Seaver

Before We Vanish by Jay Seaver

Dear Dictator by Peter Sobczynski

Tomb Raider (2018) by Peter Sobczynski

Darken by Jay Seaver

Early Man by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed

Kate and Leopold
[] Buy posters from this movie
by Greg Muskewitz

"Cinderella 2001"
1 stars

A time-travelling Cinderella of sorts, with Hugh Jackman (getting stuck in the Twenty-first century as opposed to the Nineteenth century which he hailed from, and) falling in love with the modern Meg Ryan.

But, if you’ve seen any Meg Ryan rom-com of the last decade, there’s very little that is not considered antiquated about them. Director James Mangold, who once tremendously impressed me with Heavy and subsequently impressed me with Copland, has been perpetually letting the air out of his own tires. First it was in little squeezes. With Girl, Interrupted, he slashed them himself. Now, he has seen it fit to purposely drive through a spike-strip.

With Liev Schreiber.

[Not to be bothered with.]

link directly to this review at
originally posted: 09/01/02 18:31:12
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/09/17 Suzanne Meg's haircut was distracting; Hugh was a dreamboat 4 stars
12/22/11 Dr.Lao Girly porn about how wonderful men were in the age when women were considered property 1 stars
7/11/08 Rio A damn fine example of how annoying chivalry can get. But at least Breckin Meyer was in it. 1 stars
2/16/08 David Cohen I don't think I was the target audience of this empty headed drivel 1 stars
12/20/06 William Goss A surprisingly amiable, if tidy, time-travel rom-com. Director's cut is more interesting. 3 stars
2/09/06 sweetgrrl1972 Uptight, unlikable women meets rude, effeminate man. Creepy incest implied with ex 1 stars
12/08/04 Stephanie Pennell IT is a sweet movie 5 stars
10/26/04 Aaron Smith Compare Jackman's performance here with his Wolverine in X-Men. 4 stars
10/24/04 R.W. Welch Time as a pretzel...interesting notion. Okay fantasy romance tho a little uneven. 3 stars
5/31/04 Nobody Passable, hardly exceptional 3 stars
5/09/04 Cynic How can a man from 1876 see an opera (La Boheme) which was first written in 1896? 1 stars
5/03/04 Elizabeth There are mistakes in every movie. I've seen muchworse but excludingthe mistakes it's great 5 stars
3/30/04 Faustus It's all about Jackman- just skip the Meg Ryan solo scenes, and it's almost watchable. 2 stars
11/06/03 Monster W. Kung Eeeh... it's ok. Not too painful is right. 3 stars
8/14/03 Panda Regardless of the bad facts, its a good getaway from life 4 stars
7/25/03 Shadaan Feleli What a waste of a gorgeous cast ! 2 stars
5/30/03 Kelli Shit, shit, and more shit 1 stars
5/10/03 JL Hugh is sexy, Meg needs to go away. Or pick diffrent roles some of the time. 3 stars
2/25/03 jhelum excellent movie it makes u dream when dreams are almost unaffordable 4 stars
1/08/03 tina crap 2 stars
7/30/02 Kyle As far as chick flicks go, you could do worse. 2 stars
7/05/02 KMG #1 Hugh must ALWAYS take his shirt off, #2 Meg must never act again 2 stars
6/18/02 Roy Smith Wolverine saves it, Ryan has lost it. Not too painful. 3 stars
6/15/02 natasha some genuine laughs, Hugh Jackman deserves better material 4 stars
6/12/02 hilary awesome 5 stars
6/02/02 Chris the greatest romance of the year. Rare is a film that teaches us how to love and be in love 5 stars
5/23/02 Veronica Foxx Meg needs 2 pry her mop head out of her own ass & realize she sucks. Find a new role 4 once 2 stars
5/19/02 sybille lovely - though not for the brain, definitely for the heart! 4 stars
4/28/02 Danielle H it rocked 5 stars
3/26/02 susan coon its a great movie 5 stars
3/15/02 Christine Mendoza Meg, Hugh and Breckin are GREAT! Loved the Movie! 5 stars
1/31/02 The Queene of Romance NEWSBREAK: PRINCE CHARMING FOUND: Hugh Jackman in "Kate & Leopold" 5 stars
1/24/02 Dan Hogan Jackman was good, Ryan below par, movie was uneven. Below average chic flic. 3 stars
1/08/02 The Boy In The Designer Bubble Meg Ryan needs to call Helen Hunt for advice on how to be a successful mediocre actress! 1 stars
1/05/02 Suzz light entertainment; Ryan needs to find a new role to play 3 stars
1/04/02 KMG Meg is a hosebag...stupid bitch! I wanna fuck Hugh's dick 'tween my tits 3 stars
1/04/02 Matt Utt Kate and Leopold are the names of my illegitimate children. I pack fudge with Joe Stark 5 stars
12/31/01 poetchuck Like Meg Ryan -- like this movie 5 stars
12/27/01 Todd My girlfriend likes this movie, so now I have to dump her. This movie is donkey shit. 1 stars
12/27/01 Morpheous WHY GOD! WHY! WHO GREENLIGHTS THIS CRAP! 1 stars
12/26/01 Raiven dumb, formulaic, sloppy, predictable: I hate myself for liking it 4 stars
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:

Discuss this movie in our forum

  25-Dec-2001 (PG-13)



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast