More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.99

Awesome40.3%
Worth A Look: 33.46%
Average: 15.59%
Pretty Bad: 6.08%
Total Crap: 4.56%

15 reviews, 173 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

Fashionista by Jay Seaver

I Love You, Daddy by Rob Gonsalves

Jailbreak by Jay Seaver

Attraction (2017) by Jay Seaver

Thousand Junkies, A by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Black Hawk Down
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Scott Weinberg

"Half horrifying and tragic, half pulse-pounding and FUN. Weird, eh?"
4 stars

Black Hawk Down is one of the most stark, brutal and realistic war movies ever made. That, and it's the best "First Person Shooter" adaptation ever made. I didn't know whether to cheer, cry or lunge for my Playstation controller.

There are essentially two types of war film: the ones that try to capture the true nature of violent warfare, and the ones that use a wartime backdrop to tell a drama tale or adventure saga. Ridley Scott basically melds these two classes together and comes up with something new: the fact-based documentary-style action-adventure drama video game. While Black Hawk Down may not be one of the best war films ever made, it is one of the most realistic. This movie is not for the faint of heart.

Black Hawk Down is free of all the pre-packaged requirements that most war films choose to showcase. Absent is the heavy-handed metaphor of The Thin Red Line, the allegorical religion of Platoon and the moronic posturing of Pearl Harbor. Director Ridley Scott clearly wants this film to do one thing: drop the audience in the center of a massive, confusing and ultimately meaningless battlefield. Aside from a few indulgent moments and stilted exchanges, Scott succeeds overwhelmingly.

Without any extra implied subtext, the onus here is simply on the battle at hand. Screenwriters Steve Zaillian and Ken Nolan (working from Mark Bowden's book) seem to have historical accuracy as their main priority, and if the film isn't entirely accurate, it's damn close enough. The audience is briefly introduced to a collection of soliders on a peace-keeping mission in Somalia. (While some seem to feel that the overall lack of character development is a shortcoming, I think the general "facelessness" of most characters is quite intentional.) The latest mission is to abduct two high-ranking officials in the city of Mogidishu. What began as a simple "in-and-out" extraction turned into an brutal miniature war.

That Ridley Scott (Gladiator, Legend, Alien) is a brilliant visual storyteller is no surprise. That Scott allows the no-nonsense screenplay to govern his masterful camera strokes is what elevates Black Hawk Down above just a "good war flick". Another pleasant surprise is that the brainless eye candy usually offered by two of this film's producers (Jerry Bruckheimer and Simon West) is nowhere in attendance.

Although Black Hawk Down doesn't feature many "starring roles", the film is a who's who of popular character actors. Ewan McGregor (Moulin Rouge!), Sam Shepard (The Pledge), Ron Eldard (Deep Impact), Tom Sizemore (The Relic), William Fichtner (The Perfect Storm), Richard Tyson (Three O'Clock High), Danny Hoch (Bamboozled), Jeremy Piven (Very Bad Things) and Orlando Bloom (Lord of the Rings) all deliver the goods in roles of varying size, while Josh Hartnett (The Faculty) is surpisingly strong as a newly appointed Seargent. The two standouts in the cast are Eric Bana (Chopper) as a special forces loner and Jason Isaacs (The Patriot) as the mercilessly devoted Captain Steele.

If Black Hawk Down stumbles in one respect, it's that of simple restraint. I'm not saying that the horrors of warfare should be muted in any way, but how many lingering shots of a soldier's exploded leg do we need to see? In the film's most brutal sequence, an impromptu battlefield surgery takes place. Although it's important that the audience feel the horror and pain of these soldiers, it's a tough trick to pull off when everyone's looking away. I've no aversion to gore, but overkill of any kind mars a scene. Some of the action scenes also could have used some clearer delineation: If total realism is what Scott was going for, perhaps his faceless army of villains could have been charcterized a bit less cartoonishly. (The non-stop deluge of Somalian attackers most closely resembles Romero's mindless zombie army from Dawn of the Dead.)

Of course no movie could tell this tale precisely how it happened, but Black Hawk Down gets as close to the battlefield as I ever hope to be. The non-stop explosions and carnage may be a bit much for some, but anyone familiar with the computer games Doom, Quake or Unreal will have an ass-kickin' time. So why did I feel so guilty when I got that "action-movie rush" from all the best "kill" scenes?

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=5688&reviewer=128
originally posted: 01/19/02 10:56:58
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/30/16 morris campbell not bad but the book is alot better 3 stars
11/19/14 kenner Best war film since Saving Private Ryan 5 stars
10/04/14 zig zag One of the best war movies ever made 5 stars
8/19/12 edutra SHIT. UNWATCHALBE. 1 stars
7/24/10 bagwell5 Should have won Best Picture for 2001. An intense & exciting war film. 5 stars
6/22/10 RLan If you like action films, this is for you. 3 stars
4/10/10 Ricky Beautiful but sad story 5 stars
12/12/09 Caleb Bateman Best movie ever, i totally love the game also, based off a very true story! AWSOME 5/5 5 stars
10/23/09 Rachel Very good story line. Would recommend everyone to watch it. 5 stars
8/15/09 Jeff Wilder Good "you are there" war picture. 4 stars
6/09/09 bw Solid War movie and historically accurate 5 stars
4/17/09 melodi One of my favorite movies...It is awesome. 5 stars
3/24/09 Craig Movie was great. Not many people know that super 65 actually went down 5 stars
10/22/08 Shaun Wallner Awesome Story! 5 stars
9/17/08 The Prince of Phenominal the greatest war movie of all time 5 stars
5/15/08 PAUL SHORTT BEAUTIFUL IN ITS UGLINESS AND SAD IN ITS BEAUTY 2 stars
4/18/07 Stevo UK If Star wars were more like this, then i would like it. 5 stars
11/29/06 Chris Sweet, Awesome, Exellent 5 stars
9/22/06 Alyssa Hale Excellent movie! The actors were great! 5 stars
8/20/06 Wayne Read the reality at: www.socialistworker.org/2002-1/395/395_08_BrendanSexton.shtml 3 stars
7/22/06 Indrid Cold Ever since Saving Pvt Ryan, all war movies have had that stark, documentary look. 4 stars
5/27/06 Poof Goriest war film but it's still good 3/5 4 stars
5/23/06 Agent Sands *I don't think the movie has enough action. Just not enough. *(sarcasm) 4 stars
1/16/06 Frank Rountree I'm a retired U.S. Armed Forces veteran, and this movie was awesome! Stand up and salute! 5 stars
12/03/05 cooler one of the best war movies ever made 5 stars
11/20/05 Moctezuma A knockout 5 stars
11/16/05 Adrian Fucking awesome in every way. Incredible action and themes all play out perfectly. 5 stars
8/28/05 Monster W. Kung A disgusting propaganda PIECE OF SHIT. 1 stars
8/23/05 Alyson Generally I don't like war movies but Ewan is hot<3 3 stars
8/18/05 ES Good action but like the whole history behind it, a little too 'yeah we're the USA!' 3 stars
8/08/05 nads the military is for rednecks and suckers. 3 stars
8/07/05 Phil Slick aesthetics yet gritty, this movie really makes you realise the horrors of war. 5 stars
6/22/05 R.W. Welch Starkly realistic account of ambushed mission. A sharply directed nail-biter. 4 stars
6/18/05 ALI F A GREAT SHOWING THE RAHGERS AT THEIR BEST 5 stars
6/11/05 Lucy Not only is Ewan in it but Josh is too! Score!! 4 stars
6/08/05 CJ saving private ryan and this=best war movies of all time 5 stars
5/04/05 Ronin one of the best modern warfare movies. Maybe even the best 5 stars
4/19/05 Jimmy Best war film of all time and definatly must be seen 5 stars
3/13/05 Connes A very good movie 4 stars
12/25/04 DAN Great 5 stars
12/24/04 Matt F. Visually perfect 5 stars
10/31/04 Shawn good movie 5 stars
10/08/04 Vince Amazing cinematography, but hard to tell one character from the other... 4 stars
9/28/04 Archanist_101 WHAT THE FUCK ARE YOU TALKING ABOUT 'CS'??????????????????????????????????????????????????? 5 stars
9/23/04 CS could it get any worse? 1 stars
7/30/04 DJ Wtf? Pwnt. 5 stars
6/28/04 cinkcool great movie 5 stars
6/22/04 Kenyon Foxworthy The score is great 5 stars
6/07/04 c this film is great.It really shows you what war really is about 5 stars
3/20/04 Nannette This movie is a real tear jerker. It was a wonderful movie 5 stars
1/31/04 R Very good, displays the fortitude of soldiers 5 stars
11/25/03 Carl Handratty Slyder, did you ever study basic grammar? Doesn't look like it-"It's sure is..." 5 stars
11/25/03 tatum A technical marvel, but emotionally hollow 4 stars
10/15/03 Nic Barber Movie is good, but should be more like book! Dissapointing. 2 stars
5/20/03 Kay Its really good its show the truth to war both ups and downs 4 stars
4/11/03 Jack Bourbon What the film misses seems to simultaneously enhance its purpose. 4 stars
1/26/03 malcolm nice action and effects. zero plot and characterization 3 stars
12/31/02 Chowie-Pie Wow, this movie was very very good, but heartbreaking to think that it's all true 5 stars
12/29/02 Jack Sommersby Jingoistic, context-free garbage. 2 stars
12/23/02 3man Superb movie. Makes you feel like you are there. 5 stars
10/22/02 cinkcool Its not about the gore or the action, its about the conflict and what happened. 5 stars
10/20/02 Connoisseur the gore here makes 'private ryan' look like a disney movie.... bad movie tho 2 stars
9/29/02 Peter Sherlock NO NO NO sludge. 1 stars
9/25/02 Eric Gritty, intense war epic is just brilliant. William Fichtner, Tom Sizemore are standouts. 5 stars
9/20/02 James WHOA!!! Amazing...Hoot, Schtugart, Gordan, Eversman...all extraordinary men 5 stars
8/25/02 Turkish Good stop voting twice, evn tho this is a great movie 5 stars
8/14/02 GOOD one of the greatest war movies ever 5 stars
8/14/02 Bryan Brooks Just don't look for a message or a plot. 3 stars
8/07/02 Obi Wan Whoa! One of the greatest war movies!! Top 5 for sure!! 5 stars
8/06/02 Monster W. Kung An inane piece of crap. 1 stars
7/31/02 GOOD most realistic war movie ever 5 stars
7/25/02 palaboy101 gritty realism 4 stars
7/21/02 sdjfsdkjf better than we were soldiers but not as good as saving private ryan. Very good stuff. 4 stars
7/18/02 Rod Williams They opted for action over character, story over plot, explosions over speeches. Enjoyable! 5 stars
7/15/02 patricia it was to freaking gruesome.i mean does every war movie have to have pointless violence? 3 stars
7/09/02 Eric With its amazing battle scenes and great cast, BHD is the best war film ever. 5 stars
7/04/02 gary vidmar Just goes to show you how Clinton, as a pres., SUCKED ALL ASS! 5 stars
6/22/02 spyguy2 Great amped up action until implodes and becomes monotonous and cliched. Dubious backstory 3 stars
6/18/02 Del Alot of unmentioned Al-Qaeda stuff and most of the starving were Christians... Good, tho. 4 stars
6/16/02 The Bomb 69 completely exhausting, in a good way, Ridley can do no wrong 5 stars
6/10/02 Me Horrible! It has absolutely no plot, script or acting 1 stars
6/08/02 Becky Excellent movie 5 stars
6/07/02 Joe Levy Great! 5 stars
5/24/02 I'm in (L) with a jedi breathtaking 5 stars
5/17/02 viking One of the most powerful war films ever made !!! 5 stars
5/12/02 Matt Much better than the steaming turd that was Behind Enemy Lines 4 stars
5/12/02 Hepta Hooty Overlong collection of sometimes riveting, always tedious, war snippets. 3 stars
4/28/02 Magnum Craphole Quite simply the worst war movie I have ever seen. 1 stars
4/21/02 Phoenix Excellent war film. Gritty and realistic. 5 stars
4/06/02 spacecowboy I loved BHD. I almost cried after realising the futility of war. Great Work. 5 stars
4/05/02 ellie Most graphic, memorable and genuinely brilliant war movie I've seen. 5 stars
4/03/02 girl decient movie but not one I'd see again 4 stars
4/01/02 kjell i loved it 5 stars
3/31/02 benjamin i loved it as much as saving private ryan 5 stars
3/31/02 Film Guy What a Fucking great movie 5 stars
3/28/02 Subberke this movies gives a view of what does people went through !!! it's the best movie in years! 5 stars
3/22/02 daniboy seriously overrated 2 stars
3/20/02 Magnus Persson You said it - fucking awesome! 5 stars
3/12/02 spaceworm An arcade game, complete with disposable bad guys and loud noise. ACKACKACK! 3 stars
3/09/02 pete pls reveiwer eric, read the book. the 'war is hell' comment is quite empty given the facts. 4 stars
3/07/02 sumixam Grows on you - don't expect to be as shocked as 1st time you saw SPR 5 stars
3/06/02 Monster W. Kung Not very good. Has visuals and direction, but lacks intelligence. 3 stars
3/04/02 Doug Unbeleivable? Get a fuckin clue. Im in the Army, nothin was unbelivable. 5 stars
3/03/02 Derek Cool 5 stars
3/01/02 Jimbo Well made film but pretty depressing overall. 3 stars
2/27/02 Shams Huque After LOTR, the best film of the year! 5 stars
2/27/02 rebecca best war movie of the year, thats saying somthing! 5 stars
2/26/02 Bueller Straightforward, unblinking, mostly historical account. Reminiscent of "Tora! Tora! Tora!" 4 stars
2/26/02 ownerofdajoint oneofthebestwarmoviesinthelasttenyearsunforgettablerivetingandunnervingmakesyouangry 5 stars
2/24/02 Alex Brimsfield PERFECT...ABSOLUTELY AWESOME 5 stars
2/24/02 Francis unremittingly grim, boring, cliched, cardboard, unbeliveable, and failed attemps at humour 2 stars
2/23/02 Shrike Intense and utterly relentless. 5 stars
2/22/02 Matthew Smith after the first half hour, the film turns chaotic and never stops 5 stars
2/22/02 mwildema good stuff 5 stars
2/20/02 Linda (very middle-aged) Heartbreaking, tragic, poetic, complex cinematically & politically, painful, anti-war 5 stars
2/20/02 Piz very engaging and exciting, different and unique, yet very Bruckheimer-ish 5 stars
2/18/02 Jim Intense 4 stars
2/18/02 Superdave This movie should be required study at Military acadamies and colleges. First Rate! 5 stars
2/17/02 Clarance Better than Saving Private Ryan... Horrific war scenes combined with touching reality/truth 5 stars
2/17/02 ToneCapone Too bad the Marines didn't spearhead the mission, none of that would've happened. OOH RAH 5 stars
2/15/02 The Boy In The Designer Bubble The starving Samolian women looked like fashion models. 3 stars
2/15/02 Ziggy Stardust no serious questions are raised or no deep emotion... just horrific war scenes n' such... 5 stars
2/15/02 JB Very expensive, very explosive, very simple, very boring. 2 stars
2/12/02 elizaveta It was traumatizing - unsurprisingly. Also, I had a hard time following who was who 3 stars
2/12/02 Doug Very good. The movie was overall acurate, only caught someone calling a sgt sir once :) 5 stars
2/11/02 the Grinch Aiken, try actually seeing the movie or reading the book...U.S. used as U.N.'s heavies. 4 stars
2/11/02 Nicole Great movie, a far cry from Pearl Harbor thank god 5 stars
2/10/02 Vincent Kennedy Good movie, character development would have made it a great movie 4 stars
2/09/02 Suzz Film raising important questions about sending men into war 5 stars
2/08/02 jawsboy24 Not as good as I hoped. Corny, but stylish. Not worth 4 stars, but worth a look 4 stars
2/08/02 Chris Mallari Black Hawk Down, the movie 4 stars
2/08/02 Monday Morning Who needed a script...it was all gun battles. As shallow as they come & way too long. 2 stars
2/05/02 Aiken Drum 18 Americans dead to 10,000 Somalia's. Lets make the U.S out as the good guys? er... 1 stars
2/05/02 necronomIV Very "incomplete" film....doc on History Channel much better 2 stars
2/03/02 Dave T Another propaganda film depicting US soldiers as heroes, when they were really curled up in 1 stars
1/30/02 Phil M. Afficianado Realism and chaos that leaves you limp. Have a stiff drink afterward; it blitzed my brain. 5 stars
1/29/02 TimmyTomorrow Another movie that tells the non-military person that war is hell. 3 stars
1/28/02 Mister Char This movie is a piece of patriotic crap, why can't Ridley Scott make another Gladiator 1 stars
1/28/02 jack who can hate this 5 stars
1/26/02 Steven Young Informative but not at all entertaining.. movie should have been an hour shorter. 2 stars
1/25/02 David A. Unless U. S. security is at risk, stay the !!**?*!@!$?!! out of other countries' wars. 4 stars
1/25/02 Julia A sensless waste of time and $. An excuse to enflame the hurt pride of US. 1 stars
1/24/02 Randy Gives the audience an idea of what hell is really like. 5 stars
1/23/02 nkf seeing this movie helps me appreciate what our guys overseas face 5 stars
1/23/02 lisa this was one of the best movies i've seen since saving private ryan 5 stars
1/23/02 Stephanie Realistic viewing of the many flaws in war. 4 stars
1/23/02 Crystal BEST MOVIE!!!!! A MUST SEE!! 5 stars
1/23/02 kishuta Powerful. War is Hell and this shows it like it is. 5 stars
1/22/02 travis i love it.it even made the large crowd walk out quiet at the end 5 stars
1/22/02 Anus Is it me or did he white people in the cinema cheer when the black guys got it in the end? 4 stars
1/22/02 The Man Brutally intense. Like the opening of Saving Private Ryan for 2.5 hours. Very good. 5 stars
1/21/02 Todd Beamer A must see!! How War movies should be made..all the time!! 5 stars
1/21/02 thejames Only see this if you have a stomach made of steel 4 stars
1/21/02 G-Man My thumb hurts. 5 stars
1/21/02 Glenn Louderback It was like reading the book. One of the best movies I have seen. 5 stars
1/21/02 Rachel Daly beautiful 5 stars
1/21/02 Victoria Laniel Crackin' 5 stars
1/20/02 Tim Ortiz Excrutiatingly real, almost a documentory, it was a great film 5 stars
1/20/02 Bad Kitty good depiction of a historical incident--great movie 4 stars
1/20/02 ajay not as cheesy as I though it was going to be. Oh yeah, Josh Hartnett is an ass. 3 stars
1/20/02 Chris K. This was produced by Jerry (PEARL HARBOR) Bruckheimer. That's not good! 3 stars
1/19/02 Obi Wan A Great War movie, kinda like Hamber Hill w/More action and bigger budget!!!! 5 stars
1/18/02 Todd Best war movie ever 5 stars
1/18/02 Anus Maybe you CAN have too much action. 3 stars
1/18/02 CaMiLlA Awesome movie, saw it twice and will probably see it again soon!! Good piece of work! 5 stars
1/15/02 Cammy This was an aweosme movie, and this is coming from a girl. In no way a propaganda film.:-) 5 stars
1/13/02 Gay Tooth Fairy I wouldnt of minded some drama. I know it really happened. Better than Private Ryan. 3 stars
1/13/02 JB This propaganda was beautifully made but rather boring. All reality aside. 3 stars
1/11/02 A Dissident This movie is a piece of Hollywood propaganda, given the timing of it's release 1 stars
1/04/02 Obi Wan Oh God! This is what Action Flicks should be like, what War movies should be about! Must C 5 stars
12/30/01 Jeremy_Glick Whoa!!! Gimme more of this!!! 5 stars
12/30/01 Todd Makes the battle scenes in Saving Private Ryan look like saturday morning cartoons. 5 stars
12/19/01 Harper Sloane Decent war film and Bruckerheimer leaves the flags and kleenex at home. 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  18-Jan-2002 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  21-Feb-2002




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast