More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.43

Awesome56.25%
Worth A Look: 30%
Average: 13.75%
Pretty Bad: 0%
Total Crap: 0%

4 reviews, 56 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Rob Gonsalves

Roman J. Israel, Esq. by Peter Sobczynski

Coco (2017) by Peter Sobczynski

Prey (2017) by Jay Seaver

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Mystery Science Theater 3000: The Movie
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Justin Helmer

"Needs more funny."
3 stars

Being a lifelong resident of Minnesota, itís been no small point of pride that Mystery Science Theatre 3000 was born on local cable in the Twin Cities. I have been following the TV show through Comedy Central, and more recently the SciFi channel. In short, I love this show. Which is probably why I was surprised to find myself not enjoying the movie that much.

On television, MST3k feels subversive; the premise sets itself up as a reaction to the amazing shit that Hollywood has foisted on us over the years. Mike Nelson is shot into space by his bosses at Gizmonic Institute and forced to watch bad b-movies until he goes insane. His only companions are two robots that were built by the stations previous occupant; they are also the reason that he canít just make the movies stop. As a defense against this evil scheme Mike and the bots make snarky comments at the movie.

This is a game many of us have played over the years, itís no surprise that the show took off since we all seem to be inclined to do it. I think this is why the movie fell apart for me as well. At some level, I was still upset to have paid to see a shitty movie. Whatís worse; a shitty movie in re-release.

As with any comedy so much is subjective, if I remember correctly, the television shows usually had upwards of seven hundred jokes per episode. At some point it just becomes a question of averages, some of it will make you laugh some wonít. Here again, the movie didnít make me laugh as much as the show. It might have been because of the movie in question This Island Earth , or it might have been because the jokes seemed to come at a much less manic pace.

Overall youíd be better served by getting some of the tapes of the episodes that Rhino has been putting out. Somehow this great show just didnít survive the translation intact.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=570&reviewer=315
originally posted: 01/08/03 06:49:06
[printer] printer-friendly format  
TV to Screen: For more in the TV to Screen series, click here.

User Comments

4/29/09 Dr.Lao Nothing more than a high budget version of the TV show, and This Island Earth is not bad! 3 stars
4/29/07 William Goss Funniest when seated, and yet not as hilarious as certain episodes. 4 stars
8/26/05 ES "there goes a stupid, stupid man' = wish I had seen more of the tv show 4 stars
7/21/05 Kenny I left the iron plugged in when i watched it. And I didn't care!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
4/30/05 DM Funny, but too short and "This Island Earth" really isn't that bad. 4 stars
3/23/05 indrid cold Just an average MST3K episode, meaning it's funnier than most other comedies. 4 stars
2/06/05 Pants Weenieman away! 5 stars
6/16/04 franknutz too bad its shorter than a regular episode and near impossible to get on dvd anymore 5 stars
3/27/04 blue A-FUCKING-MAZING!!! 5 stars
4/27/03 leon %%0qwe i WISH SHOW WAS STILL ON!JAWS THE REVENGE,FREDDY GOT FINGERD,BATMAN AND ROBIN,EXT.HAHAHAHAA 5 stars
1/21/03 Matt Thiel There are deleted scenes that Universal *ordered* to be cut. We deserve an SE DVD release! 4 stars
1/15/03 mans0n its just like an episode, nothing new here! and "crowes" voice is different which sucks! 3 stars
1/10/03 Ange Faitore The end credits are the BEST! Amazing Rando, that Rando stuff *kills* me! 5 stars
1/08/03 y2mckay "WHOOP DE SHIT" - funniest line. 4 stars
1/07/03 Jon "Thumb the Toad" lyrik *dies laughing* 5 stars
1/07/03 Skeeboarder This is absolutely THE funniest movie ever made! Go see it or get a life! 5 stars
10/15/02 Charles Tatum Honestly, the funniest movie ever made 5 stars
6/19/02 Film Dude Yeah, Mike sucks ass... but the movie is still fucking funny! 5 stars
6/09/02 Kyle I never thought I'd be saying this, but... I agree with Andrew Carden. *Shudders* 5 stars
4/25/02 Mister Char hilarious material, there are too many funny one liners to list .... 5 stars
1/26/02 Seth Berg THE GREATEST SHOW ON EARTH 5 stars
12/10/01 The Bomb 69 laughed from beginning to end!!! 5 stars
11/23/01 Andrew Carden I Just Love How This Shows All Of These Stupid Movies, It's Great! 5 stars
9/05/01 Butterbean They had funnier TV episodes than this movie. Mike Nelson looks even hotter on big screens 3 stars
8/18/01 Dakamus It's alright, but nothing can stand up to the original episodes with Joel. Mike sucks ass. 3 stars
8/09/01 E-Funk This is a genuinely funny-ass film. MST3K is so well-written and thought out...I loved it. 5 stars
7/10/01 kegs Snazzy!!!!! 5 stars
6/09/01 cinkcool Very Funny. Too bad the series is gone. 5 stars
5/05/01 buck futter buck my futter! 5 stars
4/28/01 Hawkeye "Calling Doctor Jemima...." Rent this movie! You'll laugh yourself silly. 5 stars
4/25/01 J THE cult classic of 1996! 5 stars
2/28/01 Soggy Bottom Boy Didn't stand out from the TV version. 3 stars
2/26/01 jonny bravo weiner man! 5 stars
2/14/01 Karen Of course MST3K's fucking awesome! Brains are optional for most shows -- you need one here! 5 stars
2/14/01 TomServo its way too good 5 stars
2/07/01 Macarthur Student The greatest and saddest victim of bad marketing hacks. 5 stars
2/05/01 Diego Romero Thatīs not funny Ruth,I was a slave 5 stars
1/31/01 Nellie's mother sucks cocks in hell! great! 5 stars
1/31/01 Big Isil Good fun, different comedy riffing that we all do at home. Too short, though. 4 stars
12/27/00 TomServo too funny 5 stars
3/10/00 David Rogers MST3K ROCKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
8/23/99 Physh You can still taste it weeks after seeing. 5 stars
7/05/99 Thanos6 The only thing funnier than the movie is the TV series. 5 stars
5/21/99 J. Random Hacker I drove hundreds of miles to see this, and it was worth it! You'll laugh your ass off! 5 stars
3/31/99 TIE Girl Hmm...suddenly I have this refreshing mint flavour 5 stars
1/25/99 Scion of Sailor Jupiter If there is a God, there will be a sequle sometime in my life. 5 stars
11/16/98 Lord Of The Dunce Genius. 5 stars
9/28/98 Heather Holder A cult classic! Even if you've never seen the show, you'll like this one! 5 stars
9/26/98 Michael Grote It rocked 5 stars
9/26/98 Pat Flanagan Would have been even better if Gramercy didn't fuck it up. Viva MST3K!! 5 stars
9/25/98 angevines C'mon, bite me, I'm a toaster strudel! But caution, my filling might be hot! 5 stars
9/25/98 ShadowStar Glad I saw it... more gald I didn't travel to Manhattan to see it in a theater. 4 stars
9/23/98 Jason Rosenbaum If you love the show, you'll love the movie. It's pretty much the same. 4 stars
9/21/98 Johny Not in the mood for plot driven films and need some wise ass humor? This is good stuff. 4 stars
9/05/98 bizzy is that a poptart? hahahahhahahhhahahah 4 stars
8/25/98 Mister Whoopee I've never had a girlfriend that didn't hate this thing. Big stars for that, I say! 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  19-Apr-1996 (PG-13)
  DVD: 27-May-1998

UK
  N/A (PG)

Australia
  03-Oct-1996 (PG)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast