More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.48

Awesome80.89%
Worth A Look: 6.09%
Average: 1.39%
Pretty Bad: 3.6%
Total Crap: 8.03%

4 reviews, 337 user ratings


Latest Reviews

November Man, The by Jay Seaver

Hana-Dama: The Origins by Jay Seaver

Creeping Garden, The by Jay Seaver

Seventh Code by Jay Seaver

Me and You by Peter Sobczynski

Man in the Orange Jacket, The by Jay Seaver

Midnight Swim, The by Jay Seaver

Lucy by Daniel Kelly

White Storm, The by Jay Seaver

Giovanni's Island by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Spirited Away
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by David Cornelius

"Meh. I repeat: it's just a big fat meh."
2 stars

So I find myself in the strange, defensive position of being one of only eight people on the globe to not like “Spirited Away.” The film, from acclaimed Japanese animation master Hayao Miyazaki (“My Neighbor Totoro,” “Kiki’s Delivery Service”), has been trumpeted as something of an instant masterpiece since its release. And no, I didn’t care for it too much.

Well, OK, I liked parts of it, sure, but more often than not, I found myself bored, and, in the end, it’s not a film I’d recommend to anyone but hardcore anime fans. While there’s plenty to admire here, it’s hardly the triumph general consensus has hailed it to be.

The story seems as simple as any fairy tale. Ten-year-old girl Chihiro (voiced by Daveigh Chase in the American dubbed edition - don’t worry, the DVD thankfully offers the original, better Japanese track as well) is upset that her family is moving to a new town. Along the way, her dad gets the car lost in the woods, and soon they stumble upon what seems to be an abandoned amusement park. Despite Chihiro’s warnings, her parents quickly scarf down some food they find conveniently sitting out - and are soon turned to pigs as the price for their gluttony.

Chihiro, understandably freaked out, becomes more confused when she realizes she’s suddenly in some sort of Wonderland/Oz/Wonka Factory dream world filled with bizarre creatures and strange beings. It turns out to be - no kidding - a bath house for weary spirits and gods, and soon Chihiro finds herself having to work, the latest slave hired by the cruel, giant-headed mistress Yubaba.

Up to this point, the film’s not too bad. While Chihiro’s a fairly annoying character, and the “bath house slaves” premise is a bit too creepy in a kiddie prostitution kind of way, there is an odd charm at work, thanks to an explosion of imagination that’s quite elegant. There are creatures here unlike anything I’ve ever seen, indescribable monsters and otherworldly beings that express a total absence on creative limitation.

But the story hits a wall. The plot becomes as freeform as the characters, and we’re treated to a series of (occasionally confusing, rarely entertaining) episodes in which our heroine explores this strange new world. There’s stuff about, among other things, a giant baby, a mischievous spirit named No Face, and a “stink spirit,” which wasn’t very interesting the first time I saw it, in “Dogma.” None of this makes much sense, but it’s not really supposed to; it’s all so “dreamlike” and such. But it’s not very interesting. The funny parts aren’t funny, the thrilling parts don’t thrill. For this entire middle section of the movie, I’d say an entire hour, I found myself bored. Utterly, totally bored.

The story picks up in the final fifteen minutes or so, when the screenplay awakens from its slumber and gets rolling again, with a finale that’s quite stirring. Where was this energy before? I started to think the movie might have been far more effective had the middle hour been given a solid trim. The opening and closing scenes have plenty of “wow” moments, but there’s not a single minute of the middle section that stuck in my mind, or even made me care if the power stayed on long enough for me to see the next scene.

Ultimately, “Spirited Away” is a movie that’s often great to look at, but not that much fun to watch, if that makes sense. The animation is lively (aside from a few distractingly broad slapstick moments, typical to the anime style, that make the film look like nothing more than an elaborate “Pokémon” episode), and Miyazaki - who not only wrote and directed, but drew a good chunk of the animation himself as well - once again shows he’s a master of visual imagery. But this means nothing if the story doesn’t connect. The ideas shown here would make a nifty picture book, but tying the random creations together without a workable plotline causes the audience to lose interest.

So yes, “Spirited Away” is a triumph of imagination, but it’s also a failure of storytelling.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=5714&reviewer=392
originally posted: 02/16/07 14:25:31
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

8/10/14 Movie Critic This movie is like the best anime movie ever, in my opinion. 5 stars
8/04/14 Rock This movie is a religion teacher. It is full of religious animist spirits. 2 stars
7/03/14 14 Year Old You reviewed the plot, not the meaning. The symbols are what separate this from US cartoons 5 stars
7/02/14 Sruthi You missed its commentary on greed, pollution, child prostitution, and humanity as whole. 5 stars
6/11/14 Annoyed I like how everyone who has a bad review of this film is either VERY ignorant or immature 5 stars
5/29/14 jzjtpvfswiy USA 2 stars
2/19/14 Ujxfkmzw USA 5 stars
2/06/14 ulrookkkkrb USA 3 stars
11/25/13 Vanessa C. One of my favorite Miyazuki film. Everyone would love it. 5 stars
10/29/13 John Your reference to Dogma couldn't be more amateur and out of place in this review. 5 stars
9/25/13 Alexander While I respect your opinion, I strongly disagree. 5 stars
7/23/13 John Gilbert Contradiction: 1 of 8 to like, yet you say 'causes audience to lose interest' hmmm 5 stars
7/07/13 John Chihiro's shoes should have grown a mouth and ate the bugs carrying coal. NO REASON. 1 stars
3/27/13 brad asspergers tight ass movie 5 stars
10/18/12 Ben Heberlein This movie was enriching while preserving childlike innocence. Great watch for anyone. 5 stars
7/27/12 naomi well i guess its not everyones "cup of tea" i however adore this movie 5 stars
6/10/12 Sean Great animation, otherwise is like Alice in Wonderland on drugs. Too weird, too random. 1 stars
3/23/12 Joe91 I loved this film… and I'm not normally a huge anime or fantasy fan. 5 stars
11/24/11 The film won't spoon feed you. Once again, a masterpiece gets turned down by cynics who refuse to use their own effort. 1 stars
10/09/11 Therese This is one of my all time favorite movies, absolutely amazing. 5 stars
8/11/11 Shaina Breaks the boundaries of cinematic storytelling. Only stupid, tasteless people can hate it. 5 stars
3/21/11 Georgia Mason Hill Miyazaki once again amazes with a story with heart, soul, and self growth. Brilliant! 5 stars
3/21/11 Kiniest Most people who don't like it are watching Family Gay. David Cornelius can go **** himself. 5 stars
3/18/11 KAP This movie got me hooked on Hayao Miyazuki's work- really good 5 stars
3/17/11 james labrigas this film is truly amazing especially the message it conveys to its critical viewers. 5 stars
2/11/11 John Shetler Your review shows how cynical and devoid of basic human emotion you've become. 5 stars
11/30/10 Marty Spirited Away is a great film. you must think animation is beneath you 5 stars
7/08/10 R Moura Reviews, however positive, are words. Only Miyazaki himself can make you believe. 5 stars
6/30/10 J Smith Beautiful 5 stars
6/21/10 Old fogey Many beautiful moments (esp start & end), but not enuf to sustain movement for 2 hrs 4 stars
5/22/10 jeff I have watched this movies for 4 times, and I still want to watch one more time. 5 stars
4/28/10 Allyssa absolutely brilliant!!! never seen better! Japan really knows their stuff :D 5 stars
3/15/10 JIM this is an amazing film and the story is not hard to understand or connect with what is tal 5 stars
2/23/10 JayKay I loved the movie. It never gets old! 5 stars
2/12/10 Jacks So this is 'not a real movie'.... HOW? 5 stars
2/07/10 Hillary You have to be reasonably intelligent to understand the story and how amazing it is. 5 stars
1/30/10 CalCal I've seen this movie a lot and it never gets old, it's just perfect in everyway. 5 stars
1/12/10 kevin this is such a great movie! it's so obvious that they've made more then 4 billion dollar! 5 stars
1/08/10 Ivan This movie is way superior to American animated films. The story is totally umpredictable. 5 stars
1/08/10 Jane those who didnt like it are most likely men. Who prefer action movies and have no lives :D 5 stars
12/30/09 Amanda Y. American kids movies just got a kick below the belt. 5 stars
12/29/09 Derp Wow, this site sure is full of pretentious fucks. Anyhow, decent film is decent. 4 stars
12/22/09 Jay S Can somebody tell me what's so nice about this film? A junkie could have written this. 1 stars
12/17/09 Jason give me back those 2 hours of my life.... seriously 1 stars
10/26/09 Jan The author of this article has a frat boy's intelligence and taste in films. 5 stars
10/26/09 Cheesepuff 101 BEST ANIME movie ever! Kicks Ass 5 stars
10/25/09 Fehmi Anyone who leaves a comment saying "it was gay" is an pompous ignoramus. 5 stars
10/25/09 Artisan Amazing film! Strong, powerful messages of friendship & love; rich plot. OPEN YOUR MINDS! 5 stars
7/21/09 Lawl_Mart A failure for close-minded Westerners whom are only akin to seeing guns and explosions. 5 stars
7/07/09 joe blog it was gay 1 stars
7/03/09 The Essence of Stoopid My favourite movie of all time! Miyazaki has done it again! Check out Porco Rosso though... 5 stars
6/24/09 someone it alright but i prefure REAL movies 3 stars
4/11/09 V Random and pointless. 2 stars
3/28/09 Tyler Sciortino Gorgeous and moving. 5 stars
3/22/09 Duke of Omnium Visually sumptuous: The Phantom Tollbooth meets Alice in Wonderland by way of Time Bandits. 5 stars
3/21/09 Hiroshi A masterpiece! Please see it! 5 stars
3/14/09 fclnz Great wishes! 000.423ok4.us/ ">Patrick deuel i weigh 1 xjdxt 2 stars
2/03/09 oh yeah!!! One of the best movies i've ever seen and even though I saw it back in 2003, I still love i 5 stars
12/08/08 Jykinturah May seem disjointed in the way it draws realism from fantasy. Real does not equal Linear. 4 stars
11/07/08 I see the message in this animation Fact she learnt to accept change and make new friends means nothing at all to the plot? pff 5 stars
9/17/08 David Cohen Many films claim to be "a modern day fairy tale," but this one actually delivers the goods! 5 stars
9/10/08 CDM The best anime movie yet. the ones panning it, are simple minded & lost 5 stars
9/06/08 Andrew Outstanding film, incredible musical score, overall unmissable. 5 stars
9/02/08 Tom great movie, i don't understand how some could call it "boring" or "ghastly"..... 5 stars
8/21/08 Owen A ghastly bore repleate with only the most stunted vestiges of metaphorical meaning. 1 stars
8/19/08 siriuslynow Amazing artwork and feel. It felt like you were living a spectacular dreaming. Marvelous. 5 stars
8/05/08 Sherr. Wow, you one raters obviously don't know good movies. 5 stars
7/07/08 Amanda I found there was no actual story, everything seemed pointless. 1 stars
6/26/08 Mario Anime fans would love this, but its hard to sit through if your not one. 4 stars
6/16/08 Ave It's more than just worth a look. "Spirited Away" is an incomparable masterpiece! 5 stars
6/08/08 Alex It's a must watch. Anyone who didn't enjoy this movie has no appreciation for art. 5 stars
5/27/08 PAUL SHORTT CLUMSY IN EXECUTION AND LACKS THE COMPLEXITY TO SUSTAIN A FILM OF TWO HOURS 1 stars
5/20/08 sprrtdgrl94 i didnt enjoy it much, it is just another fairy tale 3 stars
4/28/08 sydd 1000x better than mass produced disney crap 5 stars
4/07/08 Alex awesome, don't miss it, great anime film 5 stars
10/17/07 Michael You should know more about the jap culture and the movie's theme to criticise it 5 stars
8/18/07 jacobs anyone confused about the overall theme of the movie should go to wikipedia, david? 5 stars
7/31/07 Aaron Hayao Miyazaki’s film Spirited away is a story about a 10 year old girl named Chihiro who 5 stars
7/12/07 Ash It scores well because mostly only anime buffs have seen it. Boring, plotless drivel. 1 stars
7/08/07 Luke Clearly the people who didnt enjoy this film are emotional cripples 5 stars
4/16/07 mayaah haha! this moooviieee was alritee.. but ii wouldn't give it a FIVE star .. thats too much.. 3 stars
4/15/07 Gary Goaziou Disney's corrupt hands 1 stars
3/11/07 Michael unmissable 5 stars
2/28/07 CARLENE HAYTON I loved this movie 5 stars
2/16/07 Vip Ebriega A fantastic fairy tale, imaginative for the kiddies, and poetic for the adults. 4 stars
1/23/07 Stephanie I love it! It is so awesome! 5 stars
1/22/07 laura this film is the best of all anime films 5 stars
1/17/07 Ernest Greenwald Brilliant beyond description. 5 stars
1/09/07 Bitchflaps Entertaining and atmospheric, shame about the lack of character development. 4 stars
1/02/07 Stephen I useally can't stand anime, but this was really good. Please stop flaming it. 4 stars
12/03/06 -_-''' Very difference from Akira........But it rocks..it is just to unique.... 5 stars
11/05/06 Toniiee man dis moviiee rules nice plot and all 4 stars
11/01/06 Sarah Extremely beautiful, if you didn't like you don't have an open mind. There're great themes! 5 stars
10/09/06 Super.Meeh Dis Movie Was SUPER SWEET!!xD 5 stars
10/05/06 layla its the dumbest movie about notting 1 stars
10/03/06 Jared "This movie sucks?" Ha, you wish. A true masterpiece, worth seeing. 5 stars
10/01/06 drew i loved it it made me cry at the end but i wish it would've ened a bit happyier but good 4 stars
5/31/06 William Goss Interesting, lovely, but not all that great. (flinches from rabid Miyazaki fans) 4 stars
4/24/06 jena dominguez the movie was really nice! i love it! 5 stars
3/28/06 Brian Meyer Nothing less than spectacular! Non-otaku probably won't get it. 5 stars
3/20/06 R.W.Welch Imaginative 'toon. Probably helps if you know some Japanese mythology. 4 stars
2/09/06 Joyce Kuang 5 stars
1/26/06 Sean Hartlieb One of the best out their. 5 stars
1/17/06 Jack pure garbage 1 stars
11/06/05 April Wilson This is one of the best animated films I have ever seen. 5 stars
10/29/05 Tom n brocki its fuckin ace!!! the 3 heads r ace!!! "OIOIOI" u hav 2 woch it 5 stars
10/05/05 Jesse Taylor Tied with The Incredibles as the best animated movie ever. Miyazaki is a genius. 5 stars
9/27/05 Eden Wow 5 stars
9/20/05 Jonathon Holmes a masterpiece 5 stars
9/13/05 ray mero I'm mighty tired of Miyazaki's plucky girls, but admire some of his imagery. 4 stars
8/30/05 jason wong this is a very good and excellent animation movie.... 5 stars
8/13/05 Ben Quinn Further proof that Miyazaki is the king of modern animated films 5 stars
7/03/05 Charlie Amazing animation and ideas combined create a movie like this one. 5 stars
6/19/05 Sean Lane Yet another incomprehensible Miyazaki story. Pretty and empty. Numb fans will love it. 2 stars
5/27/05 Mider Golden cimematic exprience 5 stars
1/03/05 t-1000 better than akira kurosawa's works!! 5 stars
12/02/04 AM SKIPPY 4 stars
11/07/04 DM Holy shit, this movie kicks ass 5 stars
9/27/04 Joe Worst that Dawn of the Dead 1978 if thats even possible 1 stars
8/21/04 House of the Dead If only Disney would pull its head out of its ass, we'd have AMERICAN movies like this! 5 stars
8/10/04 kyotomatt Decent, but not great. Miyazaki substitutes image for story. 3 stars
7/09/04 J Cadiramen WOW! Sheer animated beauty, with a luscious soundtrack and compelling, gripping story! 5 stars
6/07/04 Recurring Dream weird and amazing 4 stars
6/03/04 Bill Hicks Magic. 5 stars
5/21/04 Agent Sands Kids are way better off watching this than those talking-animal movies. 5 stars
5/02/04 HorrorScribbler "The Wizard of Oz" on acid 5 stars
4/26/04 Bostok OMG THIS MOVIE ROXORD YOUR AZz! 5 stars
4/05/04 Alex an excelent movie of fantasy 5 stars
3/31/04 sansho Typically imaginative feast of fantasy from Miyazaki. 4 stars
3/31/04 true review - correct review everytime most over rated movie ever, plotless bore, hit yourself in the head with a hammer instead 1 stars
3/20/04 truth one of the worst animated movies ever, boring, pointless, no plot, ending tacked on 1 stars
3/18/04 Umbrella Corporation. My brother loves it... !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
3/13/04 Charles Read my lips: FREAKING AMAZING!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
3/08/04 ashly griffith you should make apart 2 5 stars
3/04/04 Star-Crosser Disney, TAKE NOTE!!! Remember when you guys used to make movies like this? 5 stars
2/07/04 dede wicked 5 stars
1/24/04 CC OK... 4 stars
1/02/04 jade there is nothing to describe is it's so wicked 5 stars
1/02/04 Brat-Sampson Simply Magical. 5 stars
12/31/03 Roger Lilley I was spellbound by the unfamiliar characters and setting; beautiful animation 5 stars
11/18/03 HakuFan whoa...ive never seen anything this good! this is the first miyazaki movie i've ever seen! 5 stars
11/18/03 *A Monotonous Creton who loves Tom Hulce* truth is right, it sucks fucking, flaming "Lance Bass kissing a skunk's ass" balls!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
11/18/03 alex A leasurely unfolding revelation. Knocks Beauty & the Beast as an all-time favourite 5 stars
11/11/03 ookami Speaks for it self. Miyazaki rules ! 5 stars
11/08/03 Lily-5 I loved this movie!! It was so good! Anime isnt my thing, but wow! It's worth your time! 5 stars
11/05/03 LOTRROTK WOW! i usually dont watch animated movies..but this one was really good! 5 stars
11/03/03 Lex I loved it!!!! It was the best put together flick, ive ever seen 5 stars
10/28/03 truth worst animated movie ever made. period 1 stars
10/28/03 Kitty B. omg YUCK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
10/21/03 Irino-Tenshi Irino-kun does the best job in this movie! its my all-time favorite! 5 stars
10/21/03 Ohakambanchiwa wow! a great movie! a must see for everyone! theres no reason why you shouldnt watch it! =D 5 stars
10/16/03 Nikki Jean Theophobia go see a john belushi movie instead. never liked it. 1 stars
10/15/03 Monjuli! ^_^ LOVE THIS MOVIE!! Of course, any of Miyazaki's works is good! ^^ And Irino Miyu! 5 stars
10/15/03 Juliann I love this movie! the jap version is MUCH better, of course it is it has IRINO, MIYU in it 5 stars
10/11/03 KooKuKrazeeKitti go watch the blues brothers instead. fucking sucked 1 stars
9/22/03 MellCat_Slayer_de_Jake crap crap crap crap crap!!!!!!! i hate japanese animation! this was lower than crap!!!!!!!! 1 stars
9/15/03 Mike Just wonderful. 5 stars
8/28/03 anna We're unworthy. Now imagine the non-dubbed, non-Americanized version. 5 stars
8/06/03 Mike Krasienko I am a big fag but Japanimation chicks turn me on! 5 stars
7/24/03 Kit It's such a great movie for anyone 5 stars
7/23/03 Redbird I cannot convey into words my feelings on how magical this film is 5 stars
7/16/03 Chance One of the most imaginative, deep, and touching movie ever 5 stars
7/09/03 Rod Johnston If that Yubaba was a little younger then I would give her a go! She is kinda hot 5 stars
7/07/03 Jaime Fukutake One helluva movie! 5 stars
7/05/03 Samako this is such a amazing film! they HAVE to make a sequel! 5 stars
6/29/03 heater perfect 5 stars
6/28/03 InDenZ amazing artwork 5 stars
6/26/03 Shyann It's very heartwarming and creative, a great anime 5 stars
6/23/03 Abookar This movie is absolutely amazing. I have to see it again and again. 5 stars
6/19/03 Jared It's very heartwarming and creative. I want to be a River Spirit just like Haku! 5 stars
6/18/03 Jm Wonderful and very entertaining. Definitely buy this if you like Disney films. 5 stars
6/17/03 Loving Angel it's better than i think!!! i love it!!! but most of all i love Haku!!! 5 stars
6/16/03 monkey slayer It's a great little film, but the english dub, now that i think of it couldve been better. 5 stars
6/15/03 Caellum Allan - www.time-out.i8.com Phenomanal...... 5 Stars! 5 stars
6/12/03 morgan dacumos the artistry was magnificent and the characters were very reallistic, it was a great film 5 stars
6/08/03 andi they need to make a sequel i wanna kno wat happens to kohaku 5 stars
6/07/03 Chris Very distinct animation. Very dream like. 5 stars
5/24/03 Simone Battlesnake i cried it was so great! i can watch it again and agian and agian! his work is AMAZING! 5 stars
5/23/03 Ryan F. OMIGOD. This is godamned incredible. One of my top two favorite animated features. 5 stars
5/12/03 Doc Shock Enjoyable eye candy with a story to boot! 4 stars
5/12/03 Joy Anna Fennig This is the best work yet of Miyazaki's films. I love this movie so much!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
5/06/03 Erika It was one of the best movies I've ever seen. It deserves to be be rated far above awsome! 5 stars
5/05/03 David wow....say no more 5 stars
5/04/03 Princess Alkenet This may be one of the best films I've ever seen. I was sad when it ended. 5 stars
4/29/03 Noraida Che Mustafa like lost in the new world. Full of magic and love. 4 stars
4/23/03 Bronwyn Frey The only anime i like ... love 5 stars
4/23/03 Genjo Sanzo Great!Keep up the good work!! 5 stars
4/22/03 Kevin Awesome, excellent, remarkable, brilliant, outstanding, splendid, marvelous, ellegant! 5 stars
4/22/03 Jack People who dislike this movie just don't understand it... one of the best animated movies 5 stars
4/22/03 Kassie Horton I love Haku He is So Cute especealy when a dragon 5 stars
4/21/03 Grey Fox Don't watch this movie. It is a waste. Dreadful. 1 stars
4/20/03 Punch buggy Story makes no sense, characters make no sense, ridiculous, almost unwatchable, long boring 1 stars
4/18/03 The Talking Elbow Absolutely beautiful, how can you NOT like this movie? Wow... Damn that was good.... 5 stars
4/18/03 Morgan I love this movie!! I hope he makes a second one. I will be the first one in line to see it 5 stars
4/18/03 DSlagel64 In this time of rage, watching this gentle film was a soul-revivng breath of fresh air. 5 stars
4/18/03 Stephanie Throckmorton Best animated feature? Fooie! Overlong and too often nasty. 2 stars
4/17/03 Brian Heist AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
4/13/03 STCK Should have been chosen for the "Best Picture." 5 stars
4/11/03 RenHoek Another Miyazaki masterpiece that left me speechless. Animated films can't get any better! 5 stars
4/10/03 Taylor Easily the best Miyazaki film and the best movie of the year! 5 stars
4/07/03 Zea This is a great movie that everyone can enjoi! 5 stars
4/07/03 Sami Raykeen An awsome movie. if you don't see it you're really missing something 5 stars
4/06/03 BLAAAAAH! THIS MOVIE IS LIKE ALICE IN WONDERLAND ON STERIODS!!!! 4 stars
4/01/03 Ryan Pure, unconventional creativity 5 stars
3/31/03 Mark Johnson one of the most brilliantly created films i have ever had the pleasure to see. 5 stars
3/31/03 Artemis Caulfeild Great plot line and outstanding graphics. A must see. 5 stars
3/30/03 Brian miyazaki proves himself a god once again 5 stars
3/30/03 Matt Thiel I liked it 4 stars
3/30/03 Tristan Absolutely beautiful! 5 stars
3/30/03 Danny Miller Worst movie ever, funniest movie ever though 1 stars
3/28/03 azn_otaku Miyazaki at his best! Even better'n "Kiki's Delivery Service" I expect (One of my favs!) 5 stars
3/27/03 Warlock55 Simply put, an amazing film 5 stars
3/26/03 k Hayao Miyazaki's movies are a bore and over rated 1 stars
3/26/03 rik so special 5 stars
3/18/03 Farrah Cool! the movie is so cool, especially Haku 5 stars
3/09/03 Kaori Murata Fantastic! Best anime film I've ever seen! 5 stars
3/08/03 Wallis Exploring the unknow and imagination with the girl keeps my eyes on the screen all the time 5 stars
3/07/03 Kaori Murata best anime I've ever seen.....Wow!! 5 stars
3/05/03 Kari Barns This movie was cool! 5 stars
3/03/03 qdorfman 4 friends. 1 reaction. Eh. 4 stars
2/16/03 Jen renders Shrek, Monsters Inc. beaten w/ a wet noodle 5 stars
2/14/03 Coronet One of Miyazaki's best. 5 stars
2/08/03 leia One word : BRILLIANT.. 5 stars
2/06/03 Blinding One of the best dramatic anime ever! 5 stars
2/05/03 Yubaba Best Anime Film I've ever seen!!!!! 5 stars
2/03/03 lisa Congratulations to all the Annie Award winners!! 5 stars
1/24/03 animae_love This movie Kicked ASS and Chewed bubblegum 5 stars
1/11/03 elizabeth its really great 5 stars
1/08/03 TheBomb69 magical epic, although I enjoyed Mononoke more 5 stars
1/06/03 Karzus Best Film ever 5 stars
1/05/03 Goofy Maxwell Rivals any children's fantasy film, live action or animated. 5 stars
1/01/03 sambo nothing can be as good as this 5 stars
12/27/02 alien assassin Disney will never be this good !!!!! 5 stars
12/23/02 aiken drum even saw the dub and liked it. A creative journey. 5 stars
12/21/02 Matthew Murphy This Movie can Kick the Shit out of other Anime Movies 5 stars
12/20/02 Hendra Top Notch Anime 5 stars
12/13/02 j.LynBrewbaker You have to go the restroom before this epic movie you won't be able to move during it. 5 stars
11/28/02 jackie Lee It was awesome, best japanese movie I've seen 5 stars
11/28/02 Nekoshounin Proof that such beauty can be expressed without an excess of conversation 5 stars
11/28/02 Westwind excellent journey into a child's world as an adult 5 stars
11/27/02 Thurgo I've been waiting my whole life for a no-face movie--just didn't know it 5 stars
11/26/02 Cloukin WOW 5 stars
11/21/02 ********* **** I want a good picture without that suckyass Chihiro in it 5 stars
11/20/02 Vera Lynn This movie is absolutely beautiful. Worth seeing. again, and again... Yee fat mouses ^^ 5 stars
11/19/02 Jonathan One of the best movies I've ever seen 5 stars
11/18/02 Winson Fucking Awesome 5 stars
11/16/02 Anime_Addict Absolutely brilliant, beautiful and magical landscape, sooo funtastic. Shouldn't be missed! 5 stars
11/16/02 Killer Squirrels Mononoke-Hime, Spirited Away, s'all good. 5 stars
11/15/02 Elizaveta Breathtaking and amazing! Makes you realize how little we know about Japanese reality. 5 stars
11/12/02 hi_isme Is not about what you see, is what it makes you feel & imagine. 5 stars
11/12/02 Robert Miher II Once again dethroning Princess Mononoke, Spirited Away is my new favorite film 5 stars
11/11/02 -Rancor- Beautiful Movie filled with breathtaking scenery and a wonderful story to back it up. 5 stars
11/11/02 maysam great!!viva miyazaki 5 stars
11/10/02 WinterLaurel Gorgeous, Miyazaki rocks! 5 stars
11/09/02 Sean Pavone Mayazaki's Genius stands true! He's created yet another masterpiece! 5 stars
11/09/02 Betsy Dienes Fascinating, beautiful and and little scary 5 stars
11/09/02 Keynisha this movie was the best anime i've EVER seen! it was fucking awesome 5 stars
11/08/02 Doc Roe I love this movie 5 stars
11/08/02 Jay Horita Loved the scenery, plot, animation, and music. Beautifully done. 5 stars
11/07/02 Chihiro Fucking Amazing! 5 stars
11/07/02 Andrew Actually, this was one of his works where CG was used. The integration was just that good. 5 stars
11/07/02 Megan McGlone Perfect. Miyazaki's best yet! 5 stars
11/07/02 Melswick The best of the best! 5 stars
11/07/02 Wilson Second to none! 5 stars
11/06/02 Iggy Disney wishes it could come up with a movie this wonderful on it's own. I love it. 5 stars
11/06/02 Sphynx19 Wow. 5 stars
11/05/02 havoc Beyond Awesome.. 5 stars
11/05/02 K.C. Selby I love this movie. Love, love, love. The animation is stunning and the story excellent. 5 stars
10/30/02 Joseph James One of the best anime I've seen in years 5 stars
10/29/02 Getchell Williams AWSOME! 5 stars
10/28/02 C. Copperpot Damn near the most enjoyable movie I've seen in years! 5 stars
10/27/02 J Pusel Fantastic 5 stars
10/25/02 Ray An absolutely stunning trip! 5 stars
10/22/02 julie My 12-year-old kept whispering in my ear, "This is incredible," and he is damn picky. 5 stars
10/20/02 John McKain shoot me know 1 stars
10/20/02 Michael I never knew anime could be like this...an experience you will never want to forget 5 stars
10/20/02 Amina Loucas I forgot that I was watching an animation. Just incredible! 5 stars
10/18/02 James what else can be said 5 stars
10/18/02 Oliver Does for animation what '2001' did for sci-fi and what Hitchcock did for suspense. 5 stars
10/17/02 Marc Hairston Miyazaki's best film ever 5 stars
10/14/02 Ryan Simply Amazing! 5 stars
10/13/02 angel murano i loved the movie and haku is soooo cute! 5 stars
10/12/02 warmer fy great 5 stars
10/09/02 james otto one of the best movie of 2002!! 5 stars
10/09/02 SFK I've never seen an animation so brilliant and beautiful. 5 stars
10/05/02 Charles Lacz One of Miyazaki's best! 5 stars
10/03/02 Frederick Albert Worth to watch again and again and again.................. 4 stars
10/03/02 Tim R So much imagination the screen can barely contain it all. 5 stars
10/03/02 Steven G. I think I actually saw it first in Japan and was blown away!! 5 stars
10/01/02 ajay I saw it based on these reviews and had to leave 35 minutes in. Did I just not 'get it'? 1 stars
10/01/02 Andruw Yeh imaginative and breathtaking 5 stars
10/01/02 Nessus Beautiful, inventive, fun. 5 stars
9/30/02 Zefram Mann A beautiful animated movie that puts heart and soul above flash and effects. 5 stars
9/30/02 Paradox Artist Wow. Wow. Wow. Wow. Wow. A rare, beautiful treat. 5 stars
9/29/02 Neil It's even better subtitled, Eric. Chichiro by her original actress is really funny. 5 stars
9/28/02 Winson Awesome 5 stars
9/28/02 Roger Lee Incredibly awesome... more emotional and moving than i thought it would or could be :) 5 stars
9/28/02 Steffan There are no words to describe how good it was. It is the best movie I have ever seen 5 stars
9/28/02 Yoh-right Brilliant! 5 stars
9/27/02 J-rose IT KICKS THE MOST ASS FOR ANIMATED FILMS THIS YEAR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
9/26/02 Bobby hong Don't miss it. 5 stars
9/24/02 John Totally amazing! It is a must-see for everyone!! 5 stars
9/24/02 Ricky C. one of the year's best films!!! 5 stars
9/24/02 Joe This film is the reincarnation of the deity Himself. 5 stars
9/24/02 Susannah P. This is NOT a remake of Alice in Wonderland: It's a gorgeous movie in its own right. 5 stars
9/23/02 Cindy Tong Great movie!!! 5 stars
9/23/02 Movie_guy Great movie that is nothing like I have ever seen! Definitely worth to watch. 5 stars
9/23/02 Yakobusan epic 5 stars
9/23/02 Ely Lester Fantastic, poetic 5 stars
9/23/02 Tom Wilkes Worth seeing multiple times just to drink in all the gorgeous details. 5 stars
9/22/02 Daniel Skondin It plateaued at, "Call me Granny." Still worth seeing though. 5 stars
9/21/02 Nyal wow 5 stars
9/21/02 Evil Ange No other anime or cartoon movie can even COMPARE to this! 5 stars
9/17/02 Shiva Ashita It's Fascinating 5 stars
9/11/02 Hito Excellent. Almost like a plot upgrade from mononoke. 5 stars
9/05/02 Christy This was a beautiful movie rich with culture, i very much enjoyed it :) 5 stars
9/04/02 Chihiro (Yes really) A Masterpiece of childrens animation. Disney looks shallow and amateurish in comparison 5 stars
9/04/02 Chris Meadows Truly incredible; deserves a Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon level of success; here's hoping! 5 stars
8/27/02 ~misha breathtaking visuals and the story is wonderful 5 stars
8/27/02 Tommy Backstrom The best ever from Studio Ghibli! 5 stars
8/26/02 Paul See it today! 5 stars
8/25/02 leemubai The best fantasy story even seen on big screen 5 stars
8/24/02 Sully come...who are you kidding....this movie touches mud.... 1 stars
8/19/02 boo Miyazaki manages to make a story for and about pre teen girls that's accessbile to anyone. 5 stars
8/08/02 Kat Kramp Beyond Gorgeous, Enjoyable and moving for all ages. A must see in theaters film!!! 5 stars
8/07/02 Azumanga fan This film is rich both visually and storywise. Best of all Miyazaki films! Go see it nowi 5 stars
8/06/02 Rafael Simply one of the most beautiful films ever made. 5 stars
7/26/02 BluPhoeniX Awesome to an ungodly degree. See it. NOW. 5 stars
7/06/02 Padster One of the best films I have ever seen. A MUST SEE. Strangely moving.. 5 stars
6/13/02 Rick M An amazing film, one of the few where the animation tells as much of the story as the words 5 stars
5/14/02 Sean Simply one of the all-time best films 5 stars
5/11/02 Kevin wow. 5 stars
4/26/02 Rockitman007 Sorry, but this one wasnt all that hot. 2 stars
4/20/02 XenoKefka One of the best anime film ever! Awesome, with some unforgettable scenes!!! 5 stars
2/03/02 Xian Superb anime. The review sez it all. 5 stars
1/21/02 Soap Lando Amazing - Amazing - Amazing - Amazing - Amazing ... 5 stars
1/19/02 Rego Allegro The best 2001 movie - It is a shame if this movie can't get any world wide release. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  20-Sep-2002

UK
  N/A

Australia
  12-Dec-2002


Directed by
  Hayao Miyazaki

Written by
  Hayao Miyazaki

Cast
  Rumi Hiiragi
  Miyu Irino
  Takeshi Naitou
  Yasuko Sawaguchi



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast