More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.53

Awesome29.17%
Worth A Look: 27.78%
Average: 23.61%
Pretty Bad: 5.56%
Total Crap: 13.89%

3 reviews, 54 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Rob Gonsalves

Roman J. Israel, Esq. by Peter Sobczynski

Coco (2017) by Peter Sobczynski

Prey (2017) by Jay Seaver

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Craft, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by spork-girl

"Fairuza Balk? Yeah, I did her."
4 stars

Never Cambell! And apparently she's a beatnik or something.

This movie is fun. It's like all mystical n shit, but it has hot chicks in it, so the boys won't get bored.

Summary:A group of misfit girls get into witchcraft...'cause it's cool, plus they want revenge for the cruelty thier classmates have done to them. And boy, do they ever get it. The new girl in town (Robin Tunney) gets adopted, and a power struggle ensues between herself and the leader (Fairuza Balk, in her finest role, I normally find her tiring.) It escalates to using magic as a weapon.

The effects are cool, the chicks are hot, the premise is predictable and the developments even more so. But it delivers. Robin Tunney does a fine job. Neve Campbell holds her own, even if she is ugly for 3/4 of the time, and the racism sub plot with Rachel True is well planned out and delivered (esp. since the villaness is Marsha from the Brady Bunch Movie, this entirely believable. You know those Bradys are all bigots.)

This movie is probably the best choice available for a slumber party. Cause it's all about female bonding and rivalries. And the good guys win. But it's good to snuggle with too, and just plain fun among friends.

I highly reccomend it. 4 sporks up.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=574&reviewer=6
originally posted: 09/02/98 13:45:19
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

1/07/13 Kennan I just saw this for the first time a few days ago and LOVED it. 5 stars
12/11/12 Lisa One of my favourite movies! 5 stars
4/14/11 art i take back my previous review[from last year],this is a GRAND FABLE! 5 stars
6/21/10 Sarah The best film about witchcraft I've seen. 5 stars
5/17/10 art ONLY A SICKO WOULD LIKE THIS! 1 stars
1/06/09 the dork knight How odd. Faiuza Balk looks hot even though I normally find her hideous. 3 stars
10/08/08 Shaun Wallner I really enjoyed this film. 5 stars
2/18/08 art i think the girl's were ON DRUG"S 2 stars
1/10/07 johnnyfog I hate you so much Robin Tierney. Catch it just to see Fairuza! 3 stars
10/26/06 yasday skppity do da daye 3 stars
9/16/06 Tracy Not true of witches at all... I am pagan myself and this film, alhough good, is false 2 stars
6/05/06 misty great 5 stars
12/05/05 cody a good witch movie, good visual effects and story, bad ending 3 stars
10/26/05 Nectar_of_the_tards I dug it!!! 4 stars
9/27/05 tatum Cute girl cast, but highly overrated 3 stars
8/18/05 ES Rebecca- a one sentence kinda gal, but she's right in one way, this movie is crap 1 stars
7/17/05 Rebecca Continuing the "Nature religions MUST be the devil's work" ideal. Would rather be blind. 1 stars
3/10/05 Gray I know multiple Wiccans that hate this movie 1 stars
11/08/04 Andrea I loved it and i want to own it 5 stars
7/01/04 Ashley Awesome 5 stars
5/22/04 Franky Farquharson Awesome. So true to the real thing 5 stars
2/20/04 Shit KiD I love this movie! Fairuza Balk ruuuls!!! I just love her =) *Blessed Be* 5 stars
2/04/04 Bre IT WAS GREAT! 5 stars
6/01/03 mee AWESOME 5 stars
1/20/03 scott JUST OKAY 3 stars
1/16/03 Brandon LeBoeuf Fairuza Balk ROCKS! 5 stars
9/16/02 SEANN'S GIRL THIS MOVIE ROCKED!!!!! I LOVED IT!!!!! IM BEING NANCY FOR HALLOWEEN!!!!!!!! 5 stars
7/31/02 KMG PRETTY COOL 4 stars
5/25/02 Cat Great Movie, what you do comes back to you threefold 5 stars
5/15/02 Blake This was a really crafty movie. 5 stars
3/02/02 Alan Smithee Better than I was expecting. The girls are hot, but I was hoping for some nudity...... 4 stars
1/12/02 Andrew Carden Fun, Roller Coaster Ride. Mediocre, but Still Quite Good. 4 stars
7/31/01 Gary Entertaining, but with more rounded characters and a lot more subtlety it coulda been more. 3 stars
6/10/01 Serial_Monk_the_Jawbreaker This movie was scary. Illustrates what can happen to people when they abuse their power 5 stars
5/08/01 Gracy Lionheart Sigh...giving pagans a bad reputation...an ok movie though. 3 stars
4/01/01 Jesse L this movie is cool...for some reason gay people don't like it though.. 4 stars
2/01/01 Hannah Buckingham Not very scary, very unbelivable and predictable 1 stars
1/31/01 Big Isil a rental, maybe, but my waste a nice day? 1 stars
10/14/00 Jed Better than "Little Witches" but only slightly better. 1 stars
4/08/00 Jed Not the worst but certainly not the best witch movie. 1 stars
3/16/00 TIGGER Very good. Not very scary, good spells 5 stars
2/07/00 Kyle Broflovski A truly original teen horror flick without ten-thousand lameass knockoffs. 5 stars
12/06/99 PurityJustBegs Goth Girls.. gotta love 'em! Especially Fairuza. A gooey guilty pleasure 4 stars
11/04/99 Mickey "Father Death" MacJohnstmyster Neve is good , the movie isn't . One girl is the ugliest fucking thing i have ever seen . 2 stars
7/01/99 Elizaveta Bah! To hell with this! 2 stars
4/10/99 Michael Grimm Not just bitchin' "Witchin" 4 stars
2/18/99 Piz wasn't funny, wasn't scary, wasn't well acted...wasted rental. 1 stars
11/25/98 Fred Why Witch Movies Suck 101. Core class for Hollywood. 1 stars
10/27/98 Silent Rob Better than it shoulda been, worse than it coulda been 3 stars
10/25/98 Lord Of The Dunce This is a guilty pleasure of mine. 5 stars
9/27/98 katherine luved it. i like scary witchcraft stuff. 5 stars
8/31/98 Mister Whoopee I always get her name wrong, but I dig Fairuza Balk *SO* much. 4 stars
8/29/98 Matt it was decent, but lost my interest after a while.. i was watching it for Neve 3 stars
8/25/98 Miss Stress fairuza balk just plain scares me, that's why i liked it. 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  03-May-1996 (R)
  DVD: 12-Sep-2000

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast