More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
1.79

Awesome: 6.25%
Worth A Look: 9.82%
Average: 7.14%
Pretty Bad: 9.82%
Total Crap66.96%

5 reviews, 82 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

Breadwinner, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Crossroads (2002)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Dust For Eyes

"More poor than pop"
2 stars

Britney Spears acting talents are shown to the world in this made to measure vehicle, but there isn't much talent on display here. Directed by Tamra Davis, Spears should have done a remake of Davis's previous film Guncrazy. At least then there would have been young girls with guns.

All actors want to be rock stars. You only have to watch a music movie and watch the actors gleefully take on the role of some sort of prancing, self-obsessed egomaniac with no talent. It must be just something that they naturally take to. While this practice often leads to disaster (Like Rock Star and Queen of the Damned) it can have some success with efforts such as Velvet Goldmine, Almost Famous and the all time classic Spinal Tap.

When the crossover moves are in reverse and the pop stars start making it to the movies, the chance of success plummets. You would think that some should make a good fist of it, as the visual element of pop stardom has always been important. Yet the pop star actor is littered with embarrassing misfires: Madonna, Mick Jagger and post-neighbours Kylie Minogue. David Bowie fails just as much as he succeeds.

The worst thing about it is that it seems so self-indulgent. That it is merely a marketing gimmick and sound track album tie-in cash cow opportunity.

Continuing this fine tradition of gimmick sound track album tie-in cash cow opportunity is pop princess of the moment Britney Spears in her first go at feature film exploitation in the form of Crossroads.

Lucy (Spears) is a bit of a nerd (ha!) and is not sure she wants to go to college as her dad (Akroyd) wishes. Eight years earlier Lucy, and friends Kit (Saldana) and Mimi (Manning) had buried a time capsule which kept objects representing their dreams and goals for the future that will be reopened when they graduate high school.

Their friendship sours through the eight years, but to the behest of a now pregnant Mimi they get together on graduation night to reopen the capsule. Seeing what was inside rekindles their friendship and for differing reasons they decide to go on a road trip to Los Angeles along with Mimi's friend Ben (Mount).

Whilst I learnt that Not A Girl, Not Yet A Woman is in fact not about transsexuals as I had first thought, I didn't really get much from this film. Apart from noting that it would seem very unlikely to do a road movie and not once see a Coke can anywhere.

The story stretches for credibility - and misses. The girls suspect something serious about Ben, but incredibly ignore it. Their motivations for going on the trip are weak and Mimi in particularly needs a reality check. The poetry and singing talents exhibited by Lucy are just way too convenient and not all that convincing anyway.

The acting is at times prissy and Spears is trying just way too hard. Remember those scenes in Mulholland Drive when Naomi Watts was reading her audition lines with Laura Harring and how atrocious she was, and then how dramatically improved she was in the actual audition? Well Spears performance is like she got all her tips from the former scene.

The music is at times painful, but it should appease her fans a little.

So it all adds up to an, Oops I did a crap film. It's as expected I guess. And we would expect nothing less from the people behind this film.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=5756&reviewer=166
originally posted: 04/19/02 10:59:21
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

12/10/14 dr.lao "I'm not a girl, I'm not yet a woman" and you're no actress either 1 stars
6/04/08 IRIDIAN i loved it iv watched it like 10000000 times 5 stars
2/18/08 Tiffany Losco I liked this movie. It came out when I was a teenager. 4 stars
3/01/07 Beau not a masterpiece! but not sheer dumb either!!!! altho it was really a dumb movie 2 stars
2/23/07 David Pollastrini Britney was hot before she went Psycho! 1 stars
5/26/06 jon burton i loved the movie. It taught many very useful things. 5 stars
4/21/06 shalom mm the film is so good and so i love it only if i could see britney spears face to face 4 stars
1/03/06 Wiseman I was forced too watch ( my Girl friend ) I dumped her right after the movie. 1 stars
9/26/05 Anthony G I was so bored I had to whip out my dick to be entertained. 1 stars
9/18/05 tony Britney spears should fucking get murdered with a knife for this shit! 1 stars
8/31/05 ES Man and car full of girls, man turns on good music, girls whine, until bad music turned on 1 stars
8/06/05 Duffyboy666 Poor An acting debut really deserves better. 2 stars
7/20/05 Chris Even my mom hated it... 1 stars
6/15/05 Daveman Shit on a stick 1 stars
5/23/05 Dr. Lecter I wish bubonic plague on Spears 1 stars
5/09/05 melissa pathetic 1 stars
3/16/05 Chris Stephens Words can't describe how bad this is 1 stars
3/13/05 Charlene Javier Fell asleep immediately. 1 stars
3/09/05 pepperann224 movie is a waste of time. 1 stars
12/05/04 Kristina Williams Spears in her pink pnties can't even save this 1 stars
11/23/04 Natasha It was okay but Britney could have done a little better. 4 stars
7/24/04 Sandy Turynowicz not that good 3 stars
7/21/04 April Gupton I'd rather get a root canal than see this again 1 stars
7/19/04 lucas excellent 5 stars
7/14/04 Daveman Fairly well crafted considering the banal, cliched material. 2 stars
6/06/04 valerie hart she must of been desperate dnt give up ur day job it had nothing to it not worth a look 1 stars
5/07/04 Britney Spears into pruning hooks Britney's a better actor than singer but shouldn't get carried away quite yet. 4 stars
4/14/04 John Aster Habig She can't write songs, sing songs, play songs, dance or act she's a 5x threat 1 stars
1/25/04 Elena how are films like THIS made when there are real intelligent aspiring filmmakers out there? 1 stars
11/22/03 Amanda Too terrible for words 1 stars
11/13/03 Kitty B. get a like, jamie lynn!!! ur sister sucks and ure gonna hav 2 live with it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
8/31/03 Kitty Kelso i feel SOOOOO sorry 4 dan aykroyd. couldnt they've given a legend like him a bettr role??! 1 stars
7/16/03 your worst goddamn nightmare haha, i saw this with some buddies, the theatre was empty, c'ept for some ol' dude jackin' 2 stars
6/23/03 John Aster Habig The fact that Britney is bigger than Neil Young and Dustin Hoffman is simply blasphemous 1 stars
5/22/03 fartzrgood this movie kept me in stitches...or was that "On the Line"? 1 stars
5/04/03 Collin Britany Don't Go Away Mad, Just Go Away And Dont Make Any More Movies 1 stars
4/01/03 Jenna Furr Better that its year's best pic winner, SHITCAGO (but almost all 2002 flicks are). 4 stars
2/21/03 The Bint JESUS id rather cut off my head with a chainsaw and shove it up my ass than watch this shit 1 stars
1/11/03 Can't stand Britney Give this twit some Clearasil and send her on her way 1 stars
12/30/02 JhAtrai sux like britney on a record exec 1 stars
9/01/02 Phoenix I couldn't help but jerk-off looking at Britney in her underwear. I want to suck her tities 4 stars
8/04/02 KMG I WANT TO MOUNT ANSON! 3 stars
7/20/02 ! Britney acting.... I know enough 2 stars
7/11/02 .Choadushouse. THis movie wasn't as bad as i expected it to be. Plus the scantily Britney parts made good! 4 stars
5/26/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi wats with the poem, im not a girl, not yet a woman? jesus, even britney could ave done bett 1 stars
5/22/02 Film Person I'm DEFINITELY not a Britney fan, but she did a good job in the movie. 4 stars
5/15/02 Stud CHICK FLIK!! 5 stars
4/30/02 Jack Off No stripping or raping? Damn, hows the underwear shots though? 4 stars
4/22/02 Film Dude FUCK YOU ANDREW, I'M NOT SEEING GLITTER OR ON THE LINE!!!! 1 stars
4/18/02 Claxner Oxjaw Whatyouknow? Some singers CAN act. Pleasant surprise from Britney! 4 stars
4/01/02 Nikki I'm not Britney's biggest fan, but this was a great movie. 5 stars
3/25/02 Jimmy Very Bad Movie 1 stars
3/14/02 john say hello to the razzies brit!joins matrix as a double header for bad movies 1 stars
3/08/02 STEVE FIRST THERE WAS CROUCHING TIGER, THEN THERE WAS PEARL HARBOR,NOW COMES CROSSROADS BIG WHUP 1 stars
3/02/02 Ong Yu Jian I think she should stick to singing & swinging her tits onstage. 1 stars
2/27/02 JJ Someone, please shoot that pop-tramp. YUCK! 1 stars
2/27/02 Whitney Absolute Crap 1 stars
2/23/02 Julie Even more dissapointing than I ever thought possible 1 stars
2/22/02 Cheryl YUCK! 1 stars
2/21/02 RKM Even my 13 yr old niece thought it went nowhere 1 stars
2/20/02 Chris K. Britney might look good, but her acting and singing are terrible. 1 stars
2/20/02 siro At certain points, I found myself wondering if the whole thing was just a sick joke.I wish. 1 stars
2/20/02 Jake a stupid vehicle. 1 stars
2/20/02 spankachu who told britany it would be a good idea to act? 1 stars
2/20/02 AK47 This is the second terrorist attack! 1 stars
2/20/02 Judith Latham Spyguy2 and Meryl K are ON THE MONEY!!! Their remarks had had me on the floor laughing!!!! 1 stars
2/19/02 KCobain Rampage pretty much sums it up for me. 1 stars
2/19/02 Rampage F**k you, Britney, and your stupid movie too. You suck! 1 stars
2/19/02 Daniela Francescone She was actually good! 5 stars
2/18/02 krista very good, I liked it and I'm not a britney fan 5 stars
2/18/02 Britney Fartknocker My 12 year old cousins hated this movie worse than me!! 1 stars
2/17/02 Spyguy2 B.S. is everything that's wrong with our culture. A lip-synching soulless corporate entity 1 stars
2/17/02 Bri ok movie-looked hot in underwear 4 stars
2/17/02 Meryl K. I want to drag that tramp out into the street and shoot her for forcing this upon us. 1 stars
2/16/02 Mel What else would u expect a britney movie to be? It's one huge slutty pepsi commercial 1 stars
2/16/02 kasey It has britany spears.I would rather be tided and forced towatch peal harbor 1 stars
2/16/02 White Rabbit I would rather set myself on fire than see this movie 1 stars
2/16/02 shelley smith Frighteningly bad, not even my neices wanted to see it. 1 stars
2/16/02 Todd Whoever Ok'd this movie should be tied down and beaten with a rubber hose. 1 stars
2/15/02 Joe Deblow Britney Spears like totally sucks and I hope she like gets hit by a bus 1 stars
2/15/02 jack This is like 2 hours of MTV. Wretched. 1 stars
2/12/02 Cyrus Britney Spears can't act so she plays the role of Britney Spears 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  15-Feb-2002 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  18-Apr-2002


Directed by
  Tamra Davis

Written by
  Shonda Rhimes

Cast
  Britney Spears
  Taryn Manning
  Dan Aykroyd
  Kim Cattrall
  Justin Long
  Anson Mount



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast