More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.95

Awesome45.45%
Worth A Look: 32.32%
Average: 7.07%
Pretty Bad: 2.02%
Total Crap: 13.13%

4 reviews, 75 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

Fashionista by Jay Seaver

I Love You, Daddy by Rob Gonsalves

Jailbreak by Jay Seaver

Attraction (2017) by Jay Seaver

Thousand Junkies, A by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Super Troopers
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Scott Weinberg

"For those who consider Police Academy too highbrow."
3 stars

The 5-man comedy troupe Broken Lizard hit Sundance with their slob comedy Super Troopers, and it was the first movie snatched up for distribution. Fox Searchlight is taking the gamble on this one, and if the non-stop TV commericals (and the cute little toy promos dispensed at the screening) are any evidence, they've put a lot of money behind Super Troopers. While I doubt this flick will prove to be a big hit, the intermittently hilarious Super Troopers is certainly destined for a long life as a cult favorite and fraternity house masterpiece.

Some comedies (Animal House, Blazing Saddles, Airplane!, etc.) deliver the goods on a rapid-fire basis, thereby cementing their 'classic' status, while farces of lesser stature are content to deliver one good belly laugh for every five gags that don't fly as highly. Such is the case with Super Troopers; there are several damn funny bits, but unfortunately they're wedged between some dry spells that run for as long as fifteen minutes.

The plot covers the familiar ground of "let's save our school/hangout/police station from demolition and somehow do it through a non-stop parade of fart jokes, pot sessions and moments of mass destruction". The heroes of Super Troopers are a quartet of Vermont Highway Patrolmen who get a big kick out of goofing off, torturing motorists and humiliating one another. Their lazy ways may be ending soon, as the Governer is threatening to close the Police Station down unless these crazed cops manage to distinguish themselves.

There is of course a crew of villainous local cops who will stop at nothing to sabotage the whacked-out troopers. All of the devious tricks, pointless political subplots and requsite romance subplots are mere frameworks on which to hang some truly profane and funny gags. (The film's opening bit, in which two troopers mercilessly harass a trio of pothead teens, is quite entertaining.)

The best laughs in the film come from the sarcastic and raunchy banter between the various officers. Jay Chandrasekhar (who also directed) is effortlessly amusing as Lt. Thorn, and the other four members of Broken Lizard (Kevin Heffernan, Steve Lemme, Paul Soter and Erik Stolhanske) quickly settle into a comfortable 'vibe' with one another. When these five guys are in a room riffing on each other, Super Troopers is at its best. Veteran actors Daniel van Bargen (Shaft) and Brian Cox (Manhunter) are on hand as the two warring police captains, and their efforts range from quite amusing to somewhat irritating. Wonder Woman fans may notice the brief and pointless cameo by Lynda Carter as the Governor of Vermont.

As a team, the Broken Lizard guys have an obvious chemistry together and they squeeze laughs out of simple barbs and snappy comebacks. Also impressive is their affinity for doing "anything for a laugh". The insufferable Officer Farva (played by Heffernan) withstands some truly humorous humiliations and it works because the actor stays in character perfectly. Plus, you have to give a little credit to a big fat guy who will bare it all for a cheap giggle...

Unfortunately, there's too much "other stuff" going on besides the sophomoric silliness. Despite the presence of some solid laughs, the movie as a whole moves at too languid a pace for a comedy of this style. At 103 minutes, Super Troopers is about 15 minutes longer than it needs to be. Seemingly not content to be merely a pointless slob comedy (where it acquits itself rather well), Super Troopers seems a bit too intent on actually presenting a cohesive story, despite its lazy pacing and myriad plot holes.

In other words: It's no masterpiece, but you'll giggle.

Most definitely a 'beer and pretzels' type of comedy, Super Troopers will appeal to the fifteen year old in all of us. While this one is as raunchy and silly as most modern comedies, the Broken Lizard crew manage to elevate this one into something noticably better. It wont grace many Top Ten lists, but Super Troopers manages to entertain quite capably for 70% of its overlong running time.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=5760&reviewer=128
originally posted: 02/14/02 16:52:55
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

12/09/12 Simon a skit collection, but so many quotes and shared laughs with it, that's 5 stars for life 5 stars
1/25/11 Diehard if u don't like this hope u boys like Mexico and ur a loser also give it 2nd look or 30 5 stars
8/11/08 Jon G Only cheeseheads and corn balls will like..Not funny.....Garbahge 1 stars
10/08/07 Indrid Cold The only Broken Lizard movie that doesn't suck; filled with strange, funny moments. 4 stars
4/19/07 Stevo UK Apparently the american police are idiots, according to this film. 1 stars
1/04/07 Ronin very funny 4 stars
12/12/06 Frank "Sing it again rookie biatch!" Definatley in my top ten all time. 5 stars
12/11/06 AJ Muller Hilarious; these guys rock. Not for the easily offended/prudish - All Hail The Lizard!! 5 stars
9/02/06 Del "He's already pulled over! He can't pull over anymore!" 4 stars
5/29/06 Johnny Chimpo This sucks all ass 1 stars
9/27/05 Kevin Your cells are 8x10. Ours are 9x9.....no big deal 5 stars
9/22/05 Jordan Awesome 5 stars
8/29/05 Eddie am i saying meow? 5 stars
8/27/05 ES 'Who wants a moustache ride?'= one sickly funny line a comedy does not make 1 stars
7/01/05 A Sense of Humor A great funny movie 5 stars
4/12/05 clatz Fantastic movie, not everyones cup of tea. 4 stars
11/13/04 Tilley Love it. Full of good quotes, and you pick up a few more each time you watch. 5 stars
8/03/04 stefan andersson sickest movie ever 5 stars
4/10/04 james paul davis funny as all hell.I couldnt breath I was laughing so hard 5 stars
2/29/04 mike when it slows down it sloooooows down, but for the most part, a very funny movie. 4 stars
2/27/04 partybabe820 THIS MOVIE ROCKS! one of the funniest movies i've ever seen and definitely my favorite 5 stars
1/12/04 adelleda fizz i loooove this movie!! its seriously one of my favorite movies!!! 5 stars
11/02/03 nenbar HI-larious opening scene 4 stars
9/25/03 ahg im shot qwweer 4 stars
9/13/03 Igor THE FUNNIEST OPENING SCENE I HAVE EVER SEEN. Rest sucks though. still 5 stars for the open 5 stars
9/02/03 Greg Absolutely hilarious, some great great great one liners 5 stars
8/24/03 Shawn A classic comedy!!! Awesome! 5 stars
8/16/03 John Funniest damn movie ever! Great movie for stoners! 5 stars
7/07/03 Alex Should've gone straight to video 1 stars
5/12/03 Jim Amiable nonsense that manages to throw in an actual plot and a few real characters 4 stars
5/07/03 Jody Great movie! very funny 5 stars
5/01/03 Calan This movie is my absolute favorite 5 stars
4/15/03 Jack Bourbon Pants-Pissing Laughs! Gotsta love the final act. 4 stars
3/30/03 Nick Funny as hell. You laugh about it more in retrospect 5 stars
3/25/03 Christina This movie is so retarded, but it's sooo hysterical. I loved it. 5 stars
1/20/03 Jon Novistki Funniest movie, ever! Even after watching it for the 10th time 5 stars
1/07/03 Fish Eye everyone giving this 5 stars is a movie insider - IT SUCKED! 1 stars
1/06/03 Lana This movie is the best! I could watch it over n over again n never get tired of it!! 5 stars
1/03/03 Rache this movie is one of the funniest movies ive ever seeN!! 5 stars
12/28/02 spacecowboy-00x HAHAHAAHHAH GOOD GOD! I've never laughed so much!!! ahahahahah WOOO! Farvo!!!!!! hehehe 5 stars
11/19/02 Nepeta Meow this is a funny movie ! 5 stars
11/19/02 tupac stevens When u watch this movie u dont stop laughing 5 stars
11/11/02 jimmmmmy AMAZING 5 stars
11/06/02 LParker Comedic genius 5 stars
10/27/02 MarktheShark6 Favra has the funniest part of any movie I've ever seen. Period. Chicken fucker. 5 stars
10/14/02 Jessica Meierotto " I loved this movie so much I watch it like everyday! 5 stars
9/30/02 W.C. The Best Cop Movie Ever!! 5 stars
9/26/02 Morally Sound "Oh shit, I got you good you fucker!" Hahaha. 5 stars
8/19/02 .Choadushouse. Hilarious! Not many movies are better to watch with a gang of friends and a loaded bong! 4 stars
8/14/02 Del He's already pulled over.. he can't pull over anymore! 5 stars
8/13/02 Shayna I thought this movie was funny as hell, but then again Im just your average teenager. 4 stars
8/11/02 Film Guy It was funny. but it wasnt that funny. It wasnt great 3 stars
8/10/02 Jared Smith one of the funniest movies i've ever seen, laughin the whole time 5 stars
8/09/02 Film Dude Funniest first 10 minutes to a movie I've seen in a while. 4 stars
8/07/02 spyguy2 Turned it off after 25 minutes. 1 stars
8/07/02 Kristy Fuckin Hillarious ive seen it like 10 times now 5 stars
8/04/02 KMG (.)(.) 1 stars
7/31/02 cici MY FAVORITE MOvie in the UNIVERSE! 5 stars
4/27/02 daena best comedy, better than jay and silent bob 5 stars
4/25/02 Tiffany Faye Hawthorne Makes DROP DEAD FRED or MEET THE DEEDLES look like CITIZEN KANE! 1 stars
4/25/02 Iris Dementia Preacox Apparently Stephanie van der Kellen ain't the biggest goofball in Vermont after all! 1 stars
4/24/02 Natalie Stonecipher Never a good sign when title rhymes with something more interesting, like POOPER SCOOPERS. 2 stars
4/16/02 Nick Goodner I ate 38 hotdogs throughout the movie 5 stars
4/15/02 Peter Truschinger I've seen it twice and would see it again 5 stars
4/10/02 Kelly i've seen it twice and couldn't stop laughing! 5 stars
3/16/02 Dom Corleone I walked out. 1 stars
3/14/02 Ryan this movie is awomse and u should really go see it 5 stars
3/03/02 Poofter don't even try to compare this to Police Academy. PA is stupid humor 4 stars
2/21/02 War Against Crap Maybe it doesn't insult YOUR intelligence, but as for mine... 2 stars
2/21/02 Amanda Funniest movie I've seen in a long time! 5 stars
2/20/02 siro Funny as fuck....You are a dickhead if you disagree. 5 stars
2/18/02 turd I laughed my balls off. 5 stars
2/17/02 Mark A complete waste of time punctuated with a few laughs and a lot of groans. 1 stars
2/17/02 hey very funny movie. 4 stars
2/17/02 Andrew Carden Unfunny and Lame Monty Python Rip-Off. See Police Academy 6 Instead. 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  15-Feb-2002 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  14-Mar-2002




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast