More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.36

Awesome63.33%
Worth A Look: 20.83%
Average: 8.33%
Pretty Bad: 3.33%
Total Crap: 4.17%

6 reviews, 84 user ratings



Y Tu Mama Tambien
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Trevor Gensch

"A suprising offering"
4 stars

Two hormonally charged teenagers meet beautiful, older Spanish woman Luisa at a family wedding in Mexico City, and are filled with lust. Drunk on her beauty and copious amounts of alcohol, they ask her to join them on a road trip to a mythical remote beach called Boca Del Cielo - Heaven's Mouth

There is nothing like a bit of controversy to provide a last minute boost to ticket sales at a BIFF screening - thanks to an article in the BIFF newsletter concerning the banning of this particular film at a recent New Zealand film festival tickets to Y Tu Mama Tambien were hard to come by.

Its not hard to see why our near neighbours got a bit squeamish about showing this film; it is quite graphic in its portrayal of teenage sex, masturbation, group sex and teenage lust.

Surprisingly though the film has a lot of humour in it - mainly at the expense of our randy and dimwitted male leads - their constant rivalry and desire to bed the Spanish beauty blinds them to each others needs.

An interesting device is the presence of a narrator who at various points interjects to provide a summary of what happens to a particular character, situation or even animal after our three leads have passed by it or interacted with it. At times tragic, at times funny it adds another interesting dimension to the events of the film.

While it probably deserves the word of mouth it is getting, Y Tu Mambien does not deserve the censorship applied to it by other parties. Well worth a look.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=5792&reviewer=343
originally posted: 06/29/03 08:59:30
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2005 Brisbane Film Festival. For more in the 2005 Brisbane Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

3/24/14 PAUL SHORTT GIDDY, RAUNCHY AND PROVOCATIVE 3 stars
6/01/10 User Name Like American Pie- except more intelligent. And Spanish.. 4 stars
5/09/07 Nic what can i say other than- offering a dream like exsistance with super sexy stars 5 stars
8/02/06 Agent Sands Comfy, atmospheric, incredibly sexual slice of life. 5 stars
11/23/05 Jin Smut. I can get this with any trashy american film 1 stars
7/20/05 Chris Its the smarter Mexican version of American Pie 5 stars
12/08/04 Selene I love it 5 stars
10/28/04 Daveman Alfonso Cuaron proves himself to be one of the greatest contemporary directors. 5 stars
8/22/04 tatum Touching, sad, and sexy as hell 5 stars
8/06/04 Maureen Loved it. 5 stars
5/27/04 DM Smart, funny and frank, but the leads pissed me off at times 4 stars
5/07/04 Ross slow story line, almost to the point of boring. 2 stars
2/04/04 glenn george menor one of the best.. very rare.. very true.. 5 stars
12/15/03 asdf 1234 5 stars
12/02/03 matt okay not that great! 3 stars
11/20/03 HorrorScribbler Hypnotic. The final revelation pulls everything together. 4 stars
11/12/03 kimberley h. This movie offers a lot to the viewers, more than that meets the eye. 5 stars
9/28/03 Harry Clearly one of the best crossover roadtrip movies made. 5 stars
8/13/03 lm excellent... 5 stars
8/06/03 Lorenz Esguerra Amazing movie! So engaging! 4 stars
5/21/03 mr. Pink One of the best movies of 2002. A passionate, moving, hilarious, sexy classic in the making 5 stars
5/16/03 Piz Slow starting out but an overall winner 4 stars
3/25/03 Maegs I loved this movie... 5 stars
2/26/03 y2mckay Triangle man, Triangle man, said it better than I can 5 stars
2/04/03 Drunk Love Y tu mama tambien, eh Triangle Man? 4 stars
1/09/03 Goofy Maxwell "We can do a little sumthin' sumthin", but can we still B friends? 4 stars
1/06/03 Jade Ramirez Years' Best! 5 stars
1/04/03 Vikki This was well, well worth the view!!!!!! 5 stars
1/01/03 Andy Todes if you rate this less than 4 stars it's a travesty. what was the last film YOU made? 5 stars
12/28/02 Stevo Funny, fast, sexy, moving, everything; great movie 5 stars
12/08/02 Phil M. Aficionado Almost awesome. Earthy, gritty, kooky, and entertaining. 4 or 5? See it and decide. 4 stars
12/02/02 Ange Cook an amazing film that should be seen by all; unstoppable 5 stars
11/29/02 Gaiia excellent!!! 5 stars
11/06/02 brentley Excellent movie, from start to finish. 5 stars
11/02/02 beatriz a nice quest for self-knowledge......i would'nt mind going on a trip with those two.. 5 stars
10/27/02 Diana What I would give,to spend one night with Tenoch and Julio 5 stars
10/24/02 jamierich If you want a male bonding flick, see Jules and Jim, not this pale copy. 1 stars
10/24/02 Catstepper Sadly inevitable ending 5 stars
10/22/02 oscar this is just reality, the best I've seen. muy bueno 5 stars
10/12/02 kron awesome....they should premeir it in the usa 5 stars
10/09/02 mirko lujan amores perros (love's a bitch) is a great film too... 3 stars
10/04/02 Joaquin Santiago Great movie! Also worth watching is "Amores Perros" 5 stars
9/23/02 yavanna very hot and sexy 5 stars
9/04/02 wintermute pretty dull, wish they had tacked some interesting characters into it. 2 stars
8/22/02 Pierce Lanson VERY sexy,VERY open, VERY revealing (of onesself), VERY excellent 5 stars
6/08/02 ownerofdajoint what a great fucking movie!it'll stay with you/take your thoughts down some different roads 5 stars
5/29/02 Allenda A waste of money despite some cute guys getting naked. 1 stars
5/29/02 brentley Excellent movie! Stunning visuals, emotional acting & an all-around great story. 5 stars
5/29/02 simon templar gorgeous people great story 5 stars
5/27/02 marmlstein fab 5 stars
5/26/02 Bonnie I wanna see it again! 5 stars
5/26/02 john c. smith wow 5 stars
5/25/02 Bulaklak Very funny and realistic. 4 stars
5/24/02 jessica One of the best movies I've seen. Five stars. 5 stars
5/23/02 Jamie It was good 5 stars
5/22/02 Dave K Excellent movie. Loved the hotties!! 5 stars
5/22/02 Carol Like Mexico, it's beautiful, sad and rejoices in life 5 stars
5/20/02 Ben Wilson a fresh, raw, real movie that leaves you thinking 5 stars
5/20/02 Erica it was so great 5 stars
5/19/02 lex Great film. beautiful, heartbreaking, irreverent...!!!Fabulous. 5 stars
5/19/02 Louis Mexican Porn, straight and simple 2 stars
5/17/02 Carlos Jaramillo This movie is great on many levels 5 stars
5/16/02 natasha about what you lose and gain in the process of growing up 5 stars
5/14/02 Karen (GoodAsDed@aol.com) can't wait for the DVD 5 stars
5/14/02 mslemon unbelievable...not just a sex movie...so much more 5 stars
5/13/02 Nick2k good movie. but not excellent. i think sex (like mullholland dr) gave it 100% with critics. 4 stars
5/13/02 me oh man, this movie has so many awesome levels to it, its insane! 5 stars
5/12/02 westchamp unbelievably good - about life, what you miss, what you pass by 5 stars
5/12/02 carlos Like watching real life unfold on the screen which films should be all about. 5 stars
5/10/02 Ella A nice glimpse of upper class Mexican life...good character building. 4 stars
5/10/02 cwsox one of the most amazing films ever; the script reveals more each time I see it 5 stars
5/10/02 Gordo great movie with a surprising twist at the end 5 stars
4/30/02 Rob uplifting rites of passage 5 stars
4/29/02 Ralph Deeds Quite a good movie but not as good as Amores Perros or American Beauty. 4 stars
4/29/02 Todd Plummer A great litmus test for a new romance -- if you're secure in your own sexuality. 5 stars
4/29/02 mark goode fantastic movie - even better with your girlfriend 5 stars
4/29/02 melania the movie misses 1 stars
4/10/02 C_nemo the peakover is a very neat touch since it doen't just say what is going on right now 5 stars
4/09/02 KoHawk siggy 1 stars
4/09/02 wintermute I agree, more nudity was necessary for that 5th star. 3 stars
3/30/02 System of a Down Movie needed more nudity 2 stars
3/28/02 Goose Road movie+Alfonso Cuaron+good writing+social insight into modern-day Mexico= Bad ass movie 5 stars
3/23/02 Heather Very funny, explicit, sexy movie about two young men and their road trip with an older woma 5 stars
3/21/02 Otis Buckshot This is a wonderful movie about relationships, sex, and being young 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  29-Mar-2002 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  22-Aug-2002 (R)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast