More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.19

Awesome51.3%
Worth A Look: 26.62%
Average: 16.23%
Pretty Bad: 1.3%
Total Crap: 4.55%

7 reviews, 112 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Star Wars: Episode VIII : The Last Jedi by Jay Seaver

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Ice Age
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Andrew Howe

"Spend some quality time with your inner child"
3 stars

If your duties include entertaining children under the age of five you’ll be seeing this film whether you like it or not, but for everyone else I offer the following advice: Ice Age is not the next Toy Story, but it’s not another Dinosaur either, so if you set your expectations at a realistic level you’ll enjoy it as much as the knee-high brigade in the front row.

The screenplay won’t be winning any awards for originality, since it’s concerned with nothing more than a mission to return a human child to its tribe, while the character roster adheres to the commandments laid down by Mr. Disney’s writing team some sixty years ago. There’s Manfred, a gruff but good-hearted mammoth (Ray Romano); a coldly calculating sabre-tooth tiger who learns the value of unconditional friendship (Denis Leary); a bumbling sloth named Sid who exists for no better reason than to provide comic relief (John Leguizamo); and an impossibly cute sprog, none of whom possess the verve of Pixar’s most enduring creations. However, the meanspirited character traits that marred Atlantis are largely absent (except for the villain of the piece, whose murderous demeanour would be right at home in a David Fincher film), so walking a few miles with this ragtag band of pilgrims is not without its charms.

The character animations are suitably expressive (though Sid’s pretty damn ugly, which probably explains why I never noticed any sloths on those “Nature’s Natural Beauty” wildlife calendars), but the Achilles heel of computer-generated animation – the plastic appearance of human characters – is present and accounted for, and the backgrounds are surprisingly lacklustre (this is a function of the setting – it’s difficult to lay on the eye candy when your colour palette consists of varying shades of white). There’s a couple of impressive action set-pieces, however, including a hugely enjoyable ice-slide sequence that’s as good as anything out there.

Most modern-day animated features pepper the narrative with references that will only be appreciated by an adult audience, but Ice Age’s fancy packaging disguises an old-school effort that makes few concessions to older viewers. There’s an upside to this approach, however – it’s not as inventive as Shrek, and it lacks the depth of the incomparable Toy Story, but it harks back to simpler times, when you could enjoy a well-crafted bedtime story without having to worry about where your next in-joke was coming from.

Ice Age invites us to become invested in the central quartet's quest, and despite their generic personalities you’ll be behind them all the way. The film has a big, overblown heart, shoring up the unremarkable storyline with appealing testaments to unlikely friendships, noble causes and the ever-present possibility of redemption, and certain scenes promote an emotional connection that could conceivably end in tears (a touching sequence where Manfred reflects on the fate of his family is exceptional, and will traumatise impressionable youngsters for the term of their natural lives). The humour, on the other hand, is the usual hit-and-miss affair – an extended run-in with a bunch of brainless dodos is strained, but the interplay between the characters is occasionally inspired, and a running gag concerning a hapless squirrel’s mission to plant an acorn is worth the price of admission alone (it’s Looney Tunes for the digital age, and that can’t be a bad thing).

Ice Age is a kid’s film that’s aimed squarely at its target market, but if you haven’t lost the ability to wind back the years for eighty minutes you’ll find much to like. It may not be the first DVD you’ll reach for on a rainy Sunday afternoon, but when it comes to pleasant entertainment you can never have too many choices.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=5798&reviewer=193
originally posted: 03/14/02 19:03:33
[printer] printer-friendly format  
Trilogy Starters: For more in the Trilogy Starters series, click here.

User Comments

11/16/14 Jarvis Could you transfer $1000 from my current account to my deposit account? <a href=" htt 5 stars
11/14/14 Fredric Could you transfer $1000 from my current account to my deposit account? <a href=" htt 3 stars
11/14/14 Porfirio What's the last date I can post this to to arrive in time for Christmas? <a href=" h 3 stars
11/13/14 Lindsay What's the last date I can post this to to arrive in time for Christmas? <a href=" h 5 stars
11/13/14 Hannah What's the last date I can post this to to arrive in time for Christmas? <a href=" h 3 stars
11/10/14 Pierre Could you transfer $1000 from my current account to my deposit account? <a href=" htt 2 stars
10/24/14 Jose I'd like to open a business account <a href=" ">bimatoprost online reviews</a> In the pas 4 stars
4/14/13 Homo habilis I would rather be gored by a woolly rhinoceros than watch this movie again 2 stars
12/24/09 Jeff Wilder Not bad. But Shrek and Monsters Inc were better. 3 stars
5/03/09 Dane Youssef Ice Age melts you heart. Dreamworks' "Ice Age" brings more magic than Disney has in ages. 4 stars
1/13/09 Anonymous. a really good animated film and there are cmnts of a major perv under this. :D 4 stars
8/23/08 Little Buddy Released after Titan A.E and Anastasia. 5 stars
7/24/08 Shaun Wallner My daughter loves this movie! 5 stars
5/19/08 PAUL SHORTT CRACKLES WITH SLICK, EYE-CATCHING ANIMATION AND OFF-THE-WALL-HUMOUR 3 stars
2/18/08 Pamela White just like Jungle Book in the snow 4 stars
10/19/07 mb Not Lasting 3 stars
10/15/07 MP Bartley Better than the overrated Shrek and Finding Nemo 5 stars
5/23/07 caity IT WAS GREAT!!!! 5 stars
2/03/07 David Pollastrini great animation 4 stars
1/26/07 JR The whole fam watched with glee...and a few tears as well. Great! 5 stars
11/13/06 cody one better pixar disney movies that even good for older kids to watch. 4 stars
11/04/06 becky this one was not even close to great. it was average at best 3 stars
10/02/06 Lisa Craven One best kids' movies out there...loved the characters and plot 5 stars
6/05/06 Wipef Funny and touching 5 stars
4/10/06 chris f totally rocks great movie!!! 5 stars
12/14/05 cartoon mania i LOVE Sid, he is some character 5 stars
11/26/05 Kimberly wang It is the best movie i ever saw! 5 stars
11/16/05 Steven Brady Piece of Garbage 1 stars
10/12/05 Tom Burns a good kids movie. adults can enjoy it too. 5 stars
8/22/05 kerry smith best movie ever 5 stars
8/11/05 ES meh 3 stars
7/31/05 rdb I loved it, it rocks, ice age rules!!!!! 5 stars
7/25/05 Luke BlackAdder This is the worstest film ever made 1 stars
7/05/05 Mark Radburn Prehistoric mammals Suck. Thumbs way Down! 1 stars
5/04/05 Quigley the football spoof was totally funny, but the one who steals the show is the dinky squirrel 5 stars
4/01/05 Carolyn Cherry I liked It 4 stars
3/26/05 hannaho Fun, but still no match for any Pixar film. 4 stars
3/26/05 Denise Very funny! 5 stars
3/24/05 me It ain't bad, but I found it somewhat empty 3 stars
3/16/05 Chris Stephens Great Movie lots of fun 4 stars
3/12/05 Alice Colwell loved it 5 stars
3/12/05 STEPHANIE BERMEA THIS FILM IS CUTE AND FUNNY. 4 stars
3/04/05 Littlepurch Perhaps not as good as the Pixar ones but stil great and my 9-year-old cousin jus loves it" 5 stars
2/14/05 Angela Saunders Hilarious, great addition for a child or adults DVD librabry. 4 stars
1/22/05 veronica Cruz i think is a really good movie. it,s one of my favorites. i love it! 5 stars
1/09/05 Luke Blackadder Ice Age is Gay and it sucks 1 stars
12/01/04 bob Great movie, loved it, classic 5 stars
11/20/04 Mark Ice Age is the Worst Movie ever, Prehistoric Mammals suck 1 stars
10/23/04 mike kinnish very good film for kids and adults 5 stars
7/08/04 Denise cute 4 stars
6/03/04 Daveman Good, but not very original. 3 stars
5/31/04 Nobody Funny the first time...boring after a while 4 stars
3/26/04 bikehorn I have animated films. But I love this one. I even cried, worth a look 5 stars
2/18/04 Adrian Swift Fantastic! But wheres the Talking Sid the Sloth plushy? 5 stars
1/27/04 Katie Malone Great film, animation could've been better . . . 4 stars
12/10/03 Tdeee the best 5 stars
8/19/03 I Would Once again, as they did in Antz, Dreamworks demonstrate their inferiority to Disney/Pixar. 3 stars
6/16/03 monkey slayer not the most original one on the block, but makes up for it in humor and style. excellent. 5 stars
6/10/03 Goofy Maxwell Not a glacial shift in CGI, but when parched, even the clink of ice-cubes is refreshing. 4 stars
5/23/03 Mr. Do Breathtaking animations, superb expressions on the faces.. I love this one. 5 stars
4/17/03 Jon "Thumb the Toad" Lyrik Hilarious homage to Looney Tunes. 5 stars
3/24/03 Jenny This is a movie that no one can beat 5 stars
3/03/03 Francy This movie gives freshness to old cartoon clichés with new interesting ideas. 5 stars
2/07/03 Turtle It reminded me a lot of Shrek and Monsters Inc., but only better. 5 stars
1/07/03 Maggie The squirrel was absolutely spectaculat :D 5 stars
1/06/03 Charles Tatum Funnier than "Shrek," love David Newman's score 5 stars
1/05/03 Punk_Ass The characters were funny, predicatible story but wtf, i was entertained. Scrat Rocks! 4 stars
12/26/02 Chad Wonderful-- Sid is God 5 stars
12/12/02 Josh Makes you appreciate the hard work of Disney and Pixar 3 stars
12/10/02 Keith Good graphics, but boring and predictable. 3 stars
11/23/02 Jon Gotta love that squirrel... 4 stars
10/28/02 Zaharin Hamid aka The Movie Samseng A combination of Shrek and Monsters Inc. It's worth a watch. Ray Romano you rock! 4 stars
9/03/02 palaboy101 its in the same league as "Toy Story", "Shrek", and "Monsters Inc." 5 stars
8/08/02 ! Entertaining stuff! 5 stars
7/05/02 TEUN:) Very GOOODDDDD 5 stars
6/02/02 Chris If this dones't seem all that fresh, know it was made before Shrek or Monsters Inc. 5 stars
5/30/02 Keith Comeford A fun movie, but feels awful derivative of Disney and Pixar stuff. 3 stars
4/29/02 ReD_OrB SCRAT IS THE SUPREME RULER OF THE WORLD i'm gona buy an acorn see ya 5 stars
4/25/02 AgentDS I just looooooove that squirrel 4 stars
4/25/02 Rachel B. Kickass film...especially Sid..."Uncle Fungis?" 5 stars
4/21/02 Katrin Mechler und Matthias Füchtenkordsjürgen The best we have seen !!! Laugh laugh and laugh ..... laughpain when you see this film 5 stars
4/19/02 john deven this movie is the shit!!! must see this film 5 stars
4/19/02 Richard vause I am a retard 5 stars
4/18/02 Steve Brown Average - lots of animation cock-ups 3 stars
4/18/02 Hannah Ritz SCRAT RULES 5 stars
4/17/02 ESta GREAT! I love it! Very funny at all! 4 stars
4/17/02 reinhard Lambacher Very good, lovley 1 stars
4/16/02 kelvin torres this movie is even better than shrek 5 stars
4/15/02 Emele Darkstar This movie was friggin' cool...even for a kid's movie. Denis Leary is great. Go Diego! 5 stars
4/14/02 sevasti giannaki i never stoped laughing! I also cryed once 5 stars
4/13/02 Thor-Leo Didn't laugh once 3 stars
4/12/02 Lyndsi I loved this movie. It was brilliantly advertised too. 5 stars
4/11/02 Jimmy This is truly a film for all ages. I loved it! Now where in the hell are the film's action 4 stars
4/11/02 Sputnik I laughed harder than all the little kids in the theater put together! 5 stars
4/09/02 Ilia B. Best CG Cartoon Ever! 5 stars
4/04/02 Spanky Beginning and the end are the only funny parts. I hope you like animal falling down jokes. 1 stars
4/04/02 lauren mccreight it's no Shrek....buts its good. 4 stars
4/01/02 spaceworm Yet another CGI animated film better than the over rated SHREK. 5 stars
3/25/02 Michael Grimm don't understand the average reviews, I'm 28 and I laughed ALOT!!! 5 stars
3/22/02 orpy Not bad, great for kids 4 stars
3/21/02 Nightwing Better then Fianl Fuckingpee 5 stars
3/19/02 James It lacked some of the humor that I've come to expect from other cgi movies. 3 stars
3/17/02 Julian LOL, I absolutely loved it! 5 stars
3/17/02 Rampage much better than Antz 5 stars
3/16/02 J I dunno OK, I'm in agreement with 95% of the raters here. 5 stars
3/16/02 Overkiller Fucking Awesome? It's only Friday morning! Just how many people were at YOUR sneak preview? 3 stars
3/15/02 TimmyTomorrow Best movie this year!!! 5 stars
3/14/02 kathesmith Best cartoon I seen this year! Layouts are incredible! 5 stars
3/14/02 linda higham all your thumbs up & then some 5 stars
3/14/02 Mike Kaz awesome!! very funny, and a VERY differnt look. 5 stars
3/13/02 skafunkrastapunk a great film. it has heart. you won't be disappointed. 5 stars
3/12/02 Jesus Christ The world is only 4000 years old, this could not have happened. 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  15-Mar-2002 (PG)
  DVD: 14-Mar-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  21-Mar-2002




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast