More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.19

Awesome51.3%
Worth A Look: 26.62%
Average: 16.23%
Pretty Bad: 1.3%
Total Crap: 4.55%

7 reviews, 112 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Ice Age
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Slyder

"A very well-made animated film for everyone"
5 stars

For most of my adulthood, few animated films have caught my attention enough to make me actually sit down and watch them. Some of them were great to watch ("The Iron Giant," "Toy Story," "Finding Nemo"), and some were just plain uninteresting ("Dinosaur," "Space Jam," and any anime film except "Robotech" and "Knights of the Zodiac"). "Ice Age," though, managed to get my attention more than once, and finally I rented it and watched it completely. It never disappoints, its a very well made, hilarious film that is sure to please anyone regardless of age. Even more, this film is one of the few animated films that actually manage to make you think about yourself and the nature that surrounds you.

The premise is very familiar. All animals are migrating to the south to avoid the Ice Age that is approaching, all except Manfred (voice of Ray Romano), a shrewd, cynical woolly mammoth who decides to go into the north, though for what reason we never know. On the way, he stumbles into Sid the sloth (John Leguizamo, no really!) whom he manages to save from a pair of angry rhinos. Sid is the comic relief of the movie (obviously), and decides against Manfreds wishes to hang around with him.

Nearby, a small village is attacked by saber-toothed tigers, and a family there is forced to separate: While the man goes on to fight and chase the sabers, the woman manages to save their baby with her life, and it ends up right into Manfred and Sids care (reluctantly by Manfred). Hot on her trail and joining the herd is Diego (Dennis Leary), a saber who is ordered to bring the infant back alive. He offers himself to help Manfred and Sid to bring the baby back to the humans. Along the way, all four will have to rely on each other to survive the Ice Age, and try to bring the baby back to the humans while a squirrel with a nut named Scrat weaves his way through.

The animation is close to perfect. Sure, it isnt Pixar, but since when does ALL digital animation have to come from Pixar? There are certain fake spots as there are with several digitally animated films in which the images and surroundings simply look too clean, but thats just a detail that doesnt have any effect in the movie as a whole. The animation was actually made by director Chris Wedges and his crew at Blue Sky studios, who were responsible for the innovative Ray Tracing type of light software, which sets its own type of digital animation, very different from Pixar's software, and in a certain way, more realistic.

But what matters in films like this is the story. It doesn't matter if you have the best computers and the latest CGI digital animation shit, if you dont have a good story, its all for nothing. That's the problem I had with several other animated flicks like "Dinosaur" and even worse, with "Space Jam." "Ice Age," though, has a very good story. Sure, it has some splices from other stories and other formulas, but its certainly well made, full of hilarious comedy scenes like the dodo bird scenes (Ive heard of these crackpots), the scenes with Scrat (a running joke but very effective), and a toboggan slide scene inside a cave. There are also some very tender moments, and, interestingly, a few moral lessons thrown in for good measure.

During the cave scene were shown, in a very good splice of classic hand-made animation, a little bit of background for Manfreds cynicism and grumpiness. It's very touching and thoughtful, and will spin off some emotions and some thoughts about us as humans and how animals can also have the same feelings as us. Very, very few animated films manage to throw in morals like these and most just concentrate on the comedy and the story itself. Kudos to Chris Wedges and his crew for this film, since they manage a solid piece here. (On a sidenote Wedges gained notoriety for his Oscar-winning animated short film "Bunny," a moving, well-made short which is included in the DVD and which I highly recommend.)

The voices are very good from Romano and, surprisingly, from Leary. And though Sid can get a little annoying from time to time, I do give credit to Leguizamo and his comedic talent for bringing up such a voice for him.

In the end, I heartily recommend this film to anyone, kids and adults. Its a very well-made animated film, and one of the few animated films not made by Disney that has been truly successful ("All Dogs Go To Heaven," anyone?). Its not a film that will set the world on fire or anything (though it did get a well-deserved Oscar nomination for Best Animated Film), but simply, if you want to have fun either by yourself or the family, this one is worth the rent.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=5798&reviewer=235
originally posted: 12/03/03 14:48:43
[printer] printer-friendly format  
Trilogy Starters: For more in the Trilogy Starters series, click here.

User Comments

11/16/14 Jarvis Could you transfer $1000 from my current account to my deposit account? <a href=" htt 5 stars
11/14/14 Fredric Could you transfer $1000 from my current account to my deposit account? <a href=" htt 3 stars
11/14/14 Porfirio What's the last date I can post this to to arrive in time for Christmas? <a href=" h 3 stars
11/13/14 Lindsay What's the last date I can post this to to arrive in time for Christmas? <a href=" h 5 stars
11/13/14 Hannah What's the last date I can post this to to arrive in time for Christmas? <a href=" h 3 stars
11/10/14 Pierre Could you transfer $1000 from my current account to my deposit account? <a href=" htt 2 stars
10/24/14 Jose I'd like to open a business account <a href=" ">bimatoprost online reviews</a> In the pas 4 stars
4/14/13 Homo habilis I would rather be gored by a woolly rhinoceros than watch this movie again 2 stars
12/24/09 Jeff Wilder Not bad. But Shrek and Monsters Inc were better. 3 stars
5/03/09 Dane Youssef Ice Age melts you heart. Dreamworks' "Ice Age" brings more magic than Disney has in ages. 4 stars
1/13/09 Anonymous. a really good animated film and there are cmnts of a major perv under this. :D 4 stars
8/23/08 Little Buddy Released after Titan A.E and Anastasia. 5 stars
7/24/08 Shaun Wallner My daughter loves this movie! 5 stars
5/19/08 PAUL SHORTT CRACKLES WITH SLICK, EYE-CATCHING ANIMATION AND OFF-THE-WALL-HUMOUR 3 stars
2/18/08 Pamela White just like Jungle Book in the snow 4 stars
10/19/07 mb Not Lasting 3 stars
10/15/07 MP Bartley Better than the overrated Shrek and Finding Nemo 5 stars
5/23/07 caity IT WAS GREAT!!!! 5 stars
2/03/07 David Pollastrini great animation 4 stars
1/26/07 JR The whole fam watched with glee...and a few tears as well. Great! 5 stars
11/13/06 cody one better pixar disney movies that even good for older kids to watch. 4 stars
11/04/06 becky this one was not even close to great. it was average at best 3 stars
10/02/06 Lisa Craven One best kids' movies out there...loved the characters and plot 5 stars
6/05/06 Wipef Funny and touching 5 stars
4/10/06 chris f totally rocks great movie!!! 5 stars
12/14/05 cartoon mania i LOVE Sid, he is some character 5 stars
11/26/05 Kimberly wang It is the best movie i ever saw! 5 stars
11/16/05 Steven Brady Piece of Garbage 1 stars
10/12/05 Tom Burns a good kids movie. adults can enjoy it too. 5 stars
8/22/05 kerry smith best movie ever 5 stars
8/11/05 ES meh 3 stars
7/31/05 rdb I loved it, it rocks, ice age rules!!!!! 5 stars
7/25/05 Luke BlackAdder This is the worstest film ever made 1 stars
7/05/05 Mark Radburn Prehistoric mammals Suck. Thumbs way Down! 1 stars
5/04/05 Quigley the football spoof was totally funny, but the one who steals the show is the dinky squirrel 5 stars
4/01/05 Carolyn Cherry I liked It 4 stars
3/26/05 hannaho Fun, but still no match for any Pixar film. 4 stars
3/26/05 Denise Very funny! 5 stars
3/24/05 me It ain't bad, but I found it somewhat empty 3 stars
3/16/05 Chris Stephens Great Movie lots of fun 4 stars
3/12/05 Alice Colwell loved it 5 stars
3/12/05 STEPHANIE BERMEA THIS FILM IS CUTE AND FUNNY. 4 stars
3/04/05 Littlepurch Perhaps not as good as the Pixar ones but stil great and my 9-year-old cousin jus loves it" 5 stars
2/14/05 Angela Saunders Hilarious, great addition for a child or adults DVD librabry. 4 stars
1/22/05 veronica Cruz i think is a really good movie. it,s one of my favorites. i love it! 5 stars
1/09/05 Luke Blackadder Ice Age is Gay and it sucks 1 stars
12/01/04 bob Great movie, loved it, classic 5 stars
11/20/04 Mark Ice Age is the Worst Movie ever, Prehistoric Mammals suck 1 stars
10/23/04 mike kinnish very good film for kids and adults 5 stars
7/08/04 Denise cute 4 stars
6/03/04 Daveman Good, but not very original. 3 stars
5/31/04 Nobody Funny the first time...boring after a while 4 stars
3/26/04 bikehorn I have animated films. But I love this one. I even cried, worth a look 5 stars
2/18/04 Adrian Swift Fantastic! But wheres the Talking Sid the Sloth plushy? 5 stars
1/27/04 Katie Malone Great film, animation could've been better . . . 4 stars
12/10/03 Tdeee the best 5 stars
8/19/03 I Would Once again, as they did in Antz, Dreamworks demonstrate their inferiority to Disney/Pixar. 3 stars
6/16/03 monkey slayer not the most original one on the block, but makes up for it in humor and style. excellent. 5 stars
6/10/03 Goofy Maxwell Not a glacial shift in CGI, but when parched, even the clink of ice-cubes is refreshing. 4 stars
5/23/03 Mr. Do Breathtaking animations, superb expressions on the faces.. I love this one. 5 stars
4/17/03 Jon "Thumb the Toad" Lyrik Hilarious homage to Looney Tunes. 5 stars
3/24/03 Jenny This is a movie that no one can beat 5 stars
3/03/03 Francy This movie gives freshness to old cartoon clichs with new interesting ideas. 5 stars
2/07/03 Turtle It reminded me a lot of Shrek and Monsters Inc., but only better. 5 stars
1/07/03 Maggie The squirrel was absolutely spectaculat :D 5 stars
1/06/03 Charles Tatum Funnier than "Shrek," love David Newman's score 5 stars
1/05/03 Punk_Ass The characters were funny, predicatible story but wtf, i was entertained. Scrat Rocks! 4 stars
12/26/02 Chad Wonderful-- Sid is God 5 stars
12/12/02 Josh Makes you appreciate the hard work of Disney and Pixar 3 stars
12/10/02 Keith Good graphics, but boring and predictable. 3 stars
11/23/02 Jon Gotta love that squirrel... 4 stars
10/28/02 Zaharin Hamid aka The Movie Samseng A combination of Shrek and Monsters Inc. It's worth a watch. Ray Romano you rock! 4 stars
9/03/02 palaboy101 its in the same league as "Toy Story", "Shrek", and "Monsters Inc." 5 stars
8/08/02 ! Entertaining stuff! 5 stars
7/05/02 TEUN:) Very GOOODDDDD 5 stars
6/02/02 Chris If this dones't seem all that fresh, know it was made before Shrek or Monsters Inc. 5 stars
5/30/02 Keith Comeford A fun movie, but feels awful derivative of Disney and Pixar stuff. 3 stars
4/29/02 ReD_OrB SCRAT IS THE SUPREME RULER OF THE WORLD i'm gona buy an acorn see ya 5 stars
4/25/02 AgentDS I just looooooove that squirrel 4 stars
4/25/02 Rachel B. Kickass film...especially Sid..."Uncle Fungis?" 5 stars
4/21/02 Katrin Mechler und Matthias Fchtenkordsjrgen The best we have seen !!! Laugh laugh and laugh ..... laughpain when you see this film 5 stars
4/19/02 john deven this movie is the shit!!! must see this film 5 stars
4/19/02 Richard vause I am a retard 5 stars
4/18/02 Steve Brown Average - lots of animation cock-ups 3 stars
4/18/02 Hannah Ritz SCRAT RULES 5 stars
4/17/02 ESta GREAT! I love it! Very funny at all! 4 stars
4/17/02 reinhard Lambacher Very good, lovley 1 stars
4/16/02 kelvin torres this movie is even better than shrek 5 stars
4/15/02 Emele Darkstar This movie was friggin' cool...even for a kid's movie. Denis Leary is great. Go Diego! 5 stars
4/14/02 sevasti giannaki i never stoped laughing! I also cryed once 5 stars
4/13/02 Thor-Leo Didn't laugh once 3 stars
4/12/02 Lyndsi I loved this movie. It was brilliantly advertised too. 5 stars
4/11/02 Jimmy This is truly a film for all ages. I loved it! Now where in the hell are the film's action 4 stars
4/11/02 Sputnik I laughed harder than all the little kids in the theater put together! 5 stars
4/09/02 Ilia B. Best CG Cartoon Ever! 5 stars
4/04/02 Spanky Beginning and the end are the only funny parts. I hope you like animal falling down jokes. 1 stars
4/04/02 lauren mccreight it's no Shrek....buts its good. 4 stars
4/01/02 spaceworm Yet another CGI animated film better than the over rated SHREK. 5 stars
3/25/02 Michael Grimm don't understand the average reviews, I'm 28 and I laughed ALOT!!! 5 stars
3/22/02 orpy Not bad, great for kids 4 stars
3/21/02 Nightwing Better then Fianl Fuckingpee 5 stars
3/19/02 James It lacked some of the humor that I've come to expect from other cgi movies. 3 stars
3/17/02 Julian LOL, I absolutely loved it! 5 stars
3/17/02 Rampage much better than Antz 5 stars
3/16/02 J I dunno OK, I'm in agreement with 95% of the raters here. 5 stars
3/16/02 Overkiller Fucking Awesome? It's only Friday morning! Just how many people were at YOUR sneak preview? 3 stars
3/15/02 TimmyTomorrow Best movie this year!!! 5 stars
3/14/02 kathesmith Best cartoon I seen this year! Layouts are incredible! 5 stars
3/14/02 linda higham all your thumbs up & then some 5 stars
3/14/02 Mike Kaz awesome!! very funny, and a VERY differnt look. 5 stars
3/13/02 skafunkrastapunk a great film. it has heart. you won't be disappointed. 5 stars
3/12/02 Jesus Christ The world is only 4000 years old, this could not have happened. 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  15-Mar-2002 (PG)
  DVD: 14-Mar-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  21-Mar-2002




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast