More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.48

Awesome: 23.81%
Worth A Look38.1%
Average: 9.52%
Pretty Bad: 19.05%
Total Crap: 9.52%

3 reviews, 66 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Mission: Impossible
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by spork-girl

"This review will self destruct in 4..."
4 stars

This is one of the best adaptions of a TV series ever made. Because it updates everything, but leaves in characters, and most importantly, the atmosphere.

And, the cool gadgets.

Summary: Tom Cruise, "he of the distorted mouth with one tooth at the center of his face" stars as Ethan Hunt, a member of an IMF team which is apparently double crossed on a mission and Ethan and some pouty-lipped french slut are the only survivors. Between misleading, plot twists, reversals and triple crossings, the result is an excellent suspense movie.

The movie suceeds on many levels. The special effects are breathtaking, the plot is just as twisting and unpredictable as we want, and more. The villans are evil the women are beautiful except for the french bitch and the heros are cool. And the gadgets are beyond high tech and boy, do they come in handy.

One of the best in its genre.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=580&reviewer=6
originally posted: 09/06/98 08:30:18
[printer] printer-friendly format  
TV to Screen: For more in the TV to Screen series, click here.
Trilogy Starters: For more in the Trilogy Starters series, click here.

User Comments

8/12/13 hank crap--bs plot--ending-waste of time 1 stars
4/30/12 roscoe the is shit. no action. no story or intrigue. one of worst 1 stars
1/06/12 Aravind A very well made film :) 5 stars
8/15/11 Wiseguy70005 @Andrew Carden: A 7-year TV series is hardly short-lived. 4 stars
2/05/09 Faraz J OK movie witha an ok plot. No fun. This is supposed to be MI! 2 stars
12/02/08 Rapfan sucks 2 stars
11/22/08 The Dork Knight I still don't know what the plot is about. 3 stars
10/13/08 Shaun Wallner I really enjoyed this film. 5 stars
5/20/08 PAUL SHORTT STARTS WITH A WHIMPER... AND YOU GUESSED IT... IT SELF DISTRUCTS 1 stars
3/16/08 Pamela White plot can be confusing 4 stars
11/19/07 Chris Underrated movie, a good spy movie. 4 stars
10/24/07 Ivana Mann Outrageously cockeyed drama that assumes confusion=deep,amazing plot.Think again DePalma! 2 stars
7/02/07 johnnyfog I defy anybody to understand the plot!! 4 stars
3/09/07 johnnyfog Really, really, really, really, really confusing. But good 4 stars
2/16/07 Vip Ebriega It's not impossible to like this movie. 4 stars
9/05/06 Sepi53 Super action film, with Tom Cruise best performance ever!! 5 stars
8/05/06 nicolecrom2678 Thought is was one of Tom Cruises best. Great action 4 stars
6/16/06 dave SIck movie, the best in the series 5 stars
2/14/06 Anthony Feor Cruise at his best. This movie ruled 5 stars
9/26/05 Jonathon Holmes I want my fucking money back, Cruise 1 stars
8/27/05 ES Could have been better, second movie not worth the bother 3 stars
8/07/05 Indrid Cold Some memorable scenes, but really just another disposable summer blockbuster. 4 stars
7/03/05 Quigley not the greatest spy film, but had its moments. cruise, however, was a low point 3 stars
5/26/05 tony Very Suspensful, Thrilling and above all EXELLENT. Byfar the best action movie of 1996. 5 stars
12/20/04 Daveman Not too bad, entertaining spy film, although there is an inescapable element of camp to it. 3 stars
10/04/04 Ian This is my all time favorite movie w/out a doubt! Emmanuel Beart &.....Hannah are gorgeous 5 stars
5/31/04 Nobody Complex mid bending thriller...you need to watch it 2 or 3 times to really get it 4 stars
5/06/04 J.Peckerfoot its good,shame emilio dies..hey ho. 3 stars
3/18/04 Umbrella Corporation. Now this is Tom Cruise's fine hour of entertainment... Message will self-destruct in 5 secs 4 stars
12/06/03 john has nothing to do with the TV show - other than that it's boring 1 stars
9/06/03 Dimitri Aubert Good spy movie, though very unrealistic at the end... 4 stars
7/21/03 Monster W. Kung The best thing I can say about it is that compared to Woo's sequel it's gr... gre... better 2 stars
4/11/03 Fizikalec Great movie, great atmosphere, great twists, if there wasn't the channel scene and Kruger. 5 stars
12/03/02 Gazza E Great action movie...just don't think about it too much 4 stars
11/23/02 Croweater Whats so confusing about the plot? I liked twists and complexity it reminds me of the show! 5 stars
11/20/02 Ethan Hunt You know how you can figure this one out, Pay ATTENTION< ITS NOT XXX 5 stars
10/14/02 Charles Tatum Action and nothing more 4 stars
7/25/02 Justin Tom Cruise is terrific! 5 stars
12/23/01 Andrew Carden Very Pale and Dull Adaption Of The Short-Lived TV Series. 2 stars
12/04/01 The $1.98 Pyramid Who has the time to watch the plot 30 times in a row to understand it? 4 stars
11/12/01 R.W. Welch Not bad most of the way but finale is much overdone. 3 stars
9/12/01 Butterbean A smooth spy film that you have to watch twice to understand. 4 stars
8/10/01 Mr. Hat Tom Cruise is a really bad actor. 2 stars
8/09/01 E-Funk This is a great movie...a bit hard to follow...but nonetheless, great. 5 stars
7/10/01 TLsmooth Ethan Hunt would kick the horse piss out of James Bond. Bond movies suck!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 4 stars
6/10/01 J Better (but not much better) than the sequel. It was good but the storyline was overrated. 3 stars
2/17/01 Heff Where is the story line!!! The action is good but the rest is SHIT!!! 1 stars
2/14/01 Jake Very slick and smart 5 stars
1/06/01 Connoisseur not one second did I know what was going on 1 stars
11/28/00 Cristopher Revilla good move, but the helicopter-train chase wasn't that believable 4 stars
11/13/00 The EVIL Penguin Much better than the sequel 4 stars
2/25/00 Overflow Bitch Better than I thought it would be. Very cool. 4 stars
12/15/99 Paul A fun and fast moving movie 4 stars
4/04/99 Albert I want to be lying on the CIA computer room floor when Cruise wires down and lands on me. 5 stars
2/19/99 Piz a really smat, fun movie, that isn't as hard to "get" as people made it. 4 stars
12/11/98 Scion of Graveheart Oh, look! Tom Cruise! -1 star for "guy always get the girl" hoax. Not bad. 4 stars
12/10/98 Skip Danner The famous Mr. Phelps does the unthinkable (if not the impossible): turns traitor. 2 stars
12/01/98 Mr.Pink Great Fun!! 4 stars
11/24/98 Fred An action movie without any action. Now I've seen everything. 1 stars
11/12/98 Jules Jim is the bad guy? What a cheap, childish attempt at suspense... Lame 2 stars
10/15/98 {{{OZ}}} Stylish, not too far from the original, but not overly exciting, for mine. 3 stars
10/15/98 MR HOLLYWOOD !! Confusing as hell....but deserves alot of credit,couldnt understand a word from emmanuelle. 4 stars
9/06/98 Admiral Mung Bean Soda (+/- 12db) Spies. Gadgets. International intrigue. Zzzzzz. 2 stars
9/05/98 Badass I was the only one who understood this film the first time I saw it. 4 stars
8/28/98 Johny Why is this film so hard to understand? 4 stars
8/25/98 Mister Whoopee Nigh incomprehensible. Had none of the coolness of the TV series. 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  22-May-1996 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  27-Jun-1996 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast