More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.44

Awesome72.94%
Worth A Look: 10.59%
Average: 9.41%
Pretty Bad: 1.18%
Total Crap: 5.88%

6 reviews, 49 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Welcome to the Dollhouse
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by spork-girl

"Brendan Sexton III is hot."
5 stars

Her name is Dawn Weiner. And it gets worse for her.

Dawn Weiner is the seventh grade focus of this very well done piece of film. Played superbly by Heather Matarazzo, we follow Dawn through her life as a social outcast, and as the middle child who gets no attention (some of us know what that's like *sniff*) from her parents, who are obsessed with their older, nerdy, completely focused on college older son, and their picture-perfect, ballet-classes younger daughter.

The plot is twisted, surprising, and delightfully weird. I think a lot of people will relate to this flick. Unless you're a sports-and/or-frat-and/or-well-adjusted. Which, If you've ever read one of my reviews, you pretty much know that I am none of those things.

Spork sez: "this movie kicks total ass"

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=581&reviewer=6
originally posted: 09/03/98 10:56:40
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

3/10/17 Anne Selby I can identify with some of the jr high hell...well done! 4 stars
9/08/11 Monica C best movie ever--life as it is! 5 stars
4/10/10 art a film set in new jersey,NEED I SAY MORE!? 1 stars
11/08/09 Joan Marie It's a terrible movie 1 stars
5/28/09 art RATED B FOR BAD! 1 stars
5/27/09 Josie Cotton is a goddess More realisitic than most documentaries 5 stars
5/20/09 art "WELCOME TO THE DOGHOUSE" 1 stars
8/25/06 Indrid Cold Somewhat overrated, but still an unusually frank, intelligent look at social outcasts. 4 stars
12/05/05 Jack Sommersby Long on crudeness, quite short on genuine wit and incisiveness. 2 stars
12/03/05 Jennifer S. I wanted to see something resolved in the story, but overall it was a decent movie. 3 stars
9/27/04 alicia quite possibly the worst movie i've ever seen.. and i've seen some damn bad movies. 1 stars
8/25/04 Jessica one of my favorites 5 stars
7/09/04 Rachel Wow, this movie is fucking histerical and me and my friend Jack loved it! 5 stars
6/17/04 jessie o'briant its awsume;bredan is a freakin' HOTTIE 5 stars
6/05/04 MyGreenBed It's fine, but not on par with "An Angel at my Table" nor "Parents". 3 stars
4/28/04 chunxiao jiang being shocked 4 stars
11/24/02 Charles Tatum Wonderful, hard to watch, perfect 5 stars
11/17/02 movie guy A REALLY GOOD FILN 5 stars
9/16/02 Julia I really enjoyed this movie, i can watch it over and over and like it every time! 5 stars
9/10/02 R.W. Welch Journey through junior hi hell; slightly overdrawn but has an original touch. 4 stars
1/20/02 Andrew Carden Life Sucks...and This Is The Movie That Covers The Topic. 5 stars
12/30/01 sarafina I hate it so much I squirmed in my seat. Simply divine 4 stars
10/29/01 Carly like happiness, cruel and hilarious 5 stars
7/09/01 Roy Smith So painfully honest it's sometimes hard to watch. But you must! 5 stars
6/06/01 perverted pixie Apart from the under use of Lolita - bloody perfection! Dawn I knew how you fucking felt. 5 stars
4/25/01 Spetters Happiness has more scope, but this is still brilliant! 5 stars
4/19/01 colette wonderfully brutal 5 stars
3/05/01 sanam who else was pissed that Dawn didn't get with Brandon(hot)?? my heart went out for him 5 stars
3/03/01 mad hatter Excellent work. Great stroy and acting. 5 stars
2/25/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) OH FUCK!!! I AM DAWN WEINER!!! 5 stars
2/21/01 Rocket Boy Hilarious and horrifyingly sad at the same time. 5 stars
1/28/01 Tokyo Buck The movie is tight! 5 stars
11/25/00 Blubberbot A great film. 5 stars
7/12/99 ken heine the dope smoking scene was cool. 5 stars
6/15/99 Bevan R. Clark Not as good as "Happiness"yet it'll still go down as being a great subversive masterpiece. 5 stars
4/11/99 Alonzo (alc311@hotmail.com) Weiner Dog rocked!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
12/01/98 Evil Buffy this film was so depressing,funny & weird so i loved it. sick n twisted the way reality is 5 stars
11/26/98 Mr.Pink Ending is a shocker. Funny and painful. 4 stars
11/09/98 Lord Of The Dunce I thought I was going to hate this, but it was awesome. Suburbia at it's worst. 5 stars
10/28/98 Silent Rob Stellar character execution. A solid piece of 'life as art' filmmaking. 5 stars
10/18/98 Kwyjibo Awesomely real. Mantazarro was awesome, but the role was perfect for her. 5 stars
10/08/98 cheryl_ann it was pretty good, in a really fucked up kinda way. 4 stars
10/02/98 Johny Seriously bothered me, but in the way it was designed too. Well done. 4 stars
9/25/98 helgeas Wiener is so mean. She'll grow up and be Roseanne or something. 5 stars
9/18/98 Couch Potato Critic A truly anazing film about the angst of being young and unpopular. 5 stars
9/09/98 MikeF I don't remember 7'th grade like that. but the movie still rocked. 5 stars
9/06/98 Admiral Mung Bean Soda (+/- 12db) Disturbing. The first movie to bring tears to my eyes since Schindler's List. 5 stars
8/29/98 Mister Whoopee A great little indie. Bizarre. 5 stars
8/25/98 Miss Stress i felt sorry for the poor girl. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  24-May-1996 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Sep-1996




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast