More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.07

Awesome27.12%
Worth A Look: 17.22%
Average: 16.5%
Pretty Bad: 14.06%
Total Crap: 25.11%

23 reviews, 559 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

Fashionista by Jay Seaver

I Love You, Daddy by Rob Gonsalves

Jailbreak by Jay Seaver

Attraction (2017) by Jay Seaver

Thousand Junkies, A by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Star Wars: Episode 2 - Attack of the Clones
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Scott Weinberg

"The Force is strong with this one..."
5 stars

Reviewing the latest entry in the world’s most popular movie series is almost an exercise in pointlessness; one critic is unlikely to sway anyone towards or away from a movie event this mammoth, and even those who were irritated and annoyed by the earlier chapter are still waiting with bated breath for the newest installment.

You’ll find as many articulate and varying opinions of the “new” Star Wars movies as you’d find bounty hunters in a Mos Eisley cantina, and I represent just one of those voices. Many have bemoaned a trite screenplay (a seemingly unfair complaint in an outer space fairy tale), wooden acting performances and an over-reliance on CGI wizardry (I’d rather have an overabundance of gee-whiz effects than not enough, particularly in a film that takes place in a “galaxy far, far away”), but those seems like rather grinchy attitudes for judging the Star Wars movies.

The immortal “original trilogy” contained more than its share of overbaked lines of dialogue, stiff acting performances and FX that bordered on self-parody, yet nobody seems to bash the superlative Empire Strikes Back for its flaws. (And yes, ESB does have some flaws!) While Attack of the Clones is by no means a perfect movie, it more than fits in with its Star Wars brethren, and it’s one of the most sensational movies I’ve seen in a long time. (“Sensational” as in it repeatedly jarred and tickled my senses, and not just as a synonym for “Great Movie!”) Those who felt that Episode 1: The Phantom Menace was an affront to the Star Wars legacy should be suitably impressed with this new entry, while those who actually enjoyed Part 1 (like myself) will be pleased to see that the ‘finer points’ of that movie have been improved upon considerably in Attack of the Clones.

Picking up ten years after the first chapter, Attack of the Clones depicts a universe on the edge of a dangerous revolution. Former Queen Padme Amidala is narrowly avoiding the attention of some nefarious assassins when old friends Obi-Wan Kenobi and Anakin Skywalker appear on the scene. Padme is meant to participate in a crucial Senate vote, and there are hidden adversaries who will stop at nothing to bend the Senate’s will to their evil intent. In an effort to protect the beautiful and brave Senator, Anakin is given his first true assignment: escort Padme back to her painfully gorgeous planet of Naboo, while Obi-Wan sets out to discover the source of the government insurrections.

Anyone familiar with the Star Wars universe is well aware that the vile Senator Palpatine is the puppet-master behind the devious machinations, but Attack of the Clones has a great time introducing several new players to the saga. From shape-shifting assassin Zam Wesell to a stunningly powerful Jedi Master named Dooku to the ultra-cool Jango Fett, Lucas and company have taken steps to ensure there are enough baddies to sneer at. If The Phantom Menace was about introducing heroes, this chapter is about newly-discovered villains.

Yet there is a romantic sweetness at the center of Attack of the Clones that’s been absent from all the previous Star Wars adventures. Sure, we all wanted Han Solo and Princess Leia to get together, but that relationship never really approached anything resmbling a true ‘romance’. As Anakin and Padme spend time together on her picturesque home planet, a romantic connection starts to blossom, and it helps invest an emotional interest that’s generally been lacking since The Empire Strikes Back.

OK, Hayden Chistensen may not be the next Laurence Olivier, but he hardly deserves the critical lambasting he’s been receiving up to this point. Christensen is a bit tough to warm up to, what with his cocksure arrogance and impatient complaining, but I think the actor pulls off precisely what Lucas intended; you care for him because he’s a hero, but his underlying intensity and discontent make for a character you don’t entirely trust. If a few of the more ‘sweet’ moments come off as jarring or unrealistic, maybe that’s because they were meant to. Keep in mind that we are watching what is essentially a ‘mythological history’. I for one quite enjoyed the entire ‘romance subplot’, because A) Lucas is wise enough to never allow Anakin to become a ‘puppy dog’ and B) Natalie Portman is easy to fall in love with.

Ewan McGregor easily offers the finest performance in the film. Acting as a surrogate father to the impetuous Anakin, his Obi-Wan gets most of the film’s best moments, and McGregor is a fine enough actor to make lines like “Anakin, you’ll be the death of me” humorous instead of cornball. Portman is also much more accessible than in Episode 1, and this time around she’s given much more to do than parade about in elaborate costumes and Kabuki makeup. Any actor who’s performed to nothing but ‘bluescreens’ will tell you how painfully difficult it can be, but these two have their characters down pat by now and center all the CGI mayhem with an all-too-necessary core of humanity. Conversely, actors like Chistensen and the generally fantastic Sam Jackson seem perpetually constrained by having to perform in an empty room.

While the burgeoning love affair between Anakin and Padme is the backbone for the full-length tale (which will conclude in three years with Episode III), Attack of the Clones features a ton of stand-alone sequences that will thrill and delight the Star Wars faithful. A mercurial space race through the crowded streets of Coruscant kicks things off, and along the way we get numerous battles, chases, escapes and explosions. As in all the Star Wars adventures, we are spirited off to one otherworldly landscape after another, and the result is nearly exhausting.

Avoiding the ‘three movies at once’ style of editing employed in most of the Star Wars flicks, Lucas wisely allows his numerous plot threads to weave into one astonishing finale, during which you’ll have to stop cheering long enough to appreciate the few great surprises. One of our old favorites displays some heretofore unseen fighting prowess, a brief mention of the villain's ultimate plan brought a brief chill to my spine, and the irrepressable droid duo of R2-D2 and C-3PO has its inception in the most manic of places: an all-out arena battle sequence that makes the adventures of Maximus in Gladiator look like a walk in the park.

On the whole, the screenplay (by Lucas and Jonathan Hales) delivers a phenomenal adventure story, intercut with a tentative love affair and the nefarious governmental exchanges that capably bridge Episode 1 to its inevitable conclusion. Yes, there are a handful of uncomfortable moments, but (again) occasionally stilted dialogue is nothing new to this sci-fi series. Complaining that a film this entertaining has a few clunkers in the script is akin to sending back a delicious steak because the corn is a little underdone. Star Wars is not Hamlet, nor should it be.

This is the kind of movie that you can rate on the ‘seesaw’ scale. On one side you can place everything that’s wrong with it: a handful of screenplay howlers, a few wooden deliveries by a young actor, Lucas’s consistent disability at directing human beings, etc. On the other side of this seesaw, you can plop everything that’s RIGHT with Attack of the Clones. All the amazing chases and superlative sound effects, the clever references to future events, the reappearance of characters we love, and the sheer non-stop spectacle of it all. Look at it that way, and I’m picturing a seesaw ride being shared by Jabba the Hutt and a particularly skinny Jawa. Simply put, the ‘good stuff’ in Attack of the Clones so outweighs the bad…that the bad is hardly worth mentioning.

Attack of the Clones is a deliriously fun time at the movies. The special effects are simply unsurpassed in quality, and more than one scene will leave your jaw dangling. Those who grew up on the wildly popular Star Wars films will appreciate the attention to detail and the few early-history surprises, while newcomers will simply adore the visual splendor and rapid-fire action scenes.

It’s clear that George Lucas will never earn another Best Picture nomination for this series, but so what? As far as summer-time escapism, big-budget crowd-pleasers, and “popcorn flicks” that DON’T require you to ‘leave your brain at the door’ go, Attack of the Clones is an excellent movie, over 2 hours of the most fun I’ve had at the movies in a long time. Get your lightsabers ready; it’s going to be a busy summer.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=5827&reviewer=128
originally posted: 05/16/02 12:37:16
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

3/13/17 morris campbell IT SUCKS 1 stars
2/20/15 Chris Jarmick better than Episode 1 but barely two stars 2 stars
2/15/15 enicmatic al worst film ever made even batman and robin are better 1 stars
2/08/15 russel worst fucking movie ever!!! 1 stars
11/25/14 Fletcher Jerome Was ok 3 stars
12/14/13 nbaBLnLfuladuJo PvlVXfDouLEXJw 3 stars
12/12/13 WUODNpsQI AuBbLssUEwQKfpqPpP 5 stars
4/16/13 George Lucas SHINY COMPUTER MAKE BETTER MOVIE 2 stars
8/29/12 Pedro Rafael Cruz Awesome as are all Star Wars movies! 5 stars
9/08/11 Todd Teghtmeyer Better than the first prequel movie but still not very good. 3 stars
5/29/11 Shaun A Boring action sequences, atrocious acting and writing. 1 stars
6/19/10 Heather hated it 1 stars
5/31/10 gc At least we get to see the Jedi in action, a decent sequel to Phantom Menace 4 stars
1/03/10 PAUL SHORTT STUNNINGLY BEAUTIFUL, VISUALLY DAZZLING AND FIERCELY ACTION-PACKED 4 stars
10/24/09 Boy64 At the same time, I have to admit that a lot of blacks act exactly as he describes, and unl 5 stars
10/23/09 driver70 It is a little disheartening to know the future of Wika search. , 4 stars
7/12/09 the dork knight Muddled CGI porn. No substance or humor. 1 stars
3/30/09 hens middleton coole I prefer an examination of prostate 1 stars
8/07/08 Shaun Wallner Great Action!! 5 stars
7/22/08 the dork knight easily the worst of the new trilogy 2 stars
7/06/08 dan halberg dizzying and rather pointless 2 stars
3/25/08 Isaac M. Baranoff Watch with RiffTrax, if at all. 1 stars
3/03/08 Mike love everything star wars but not as good as some. 4 stars
12/14/07 Jason Weak protagonist, good support cast. Great SFX. 4 stars
11/21/07 G. Webster flat,boring and Christensen is possibly the worst actor in it. 2 stars
10/25/07 Ivana Mann Hayden Christensen is giving Keanu a run for his money in the Worst Actor Ever category. 1 stars
7/02/07 bob lmao at anyone who paid money to see this!! 1 stars
4/18/07 Stevo UK Fuck the kids. throw in some gore, and swearing and a real sense of war. not just shit. 1 stars
4/18/07 Tracey Chambers garbage. 100% crap 1 stars
3/25/07 henry actually no phantom menace is slightly better not that it matters tho its all bad 1 stars
3/20/07 dude better than Phantom Menace 4 stars
3/17/07 Darth Binks I liked it initially, but last time was utter boredom 2 stars
2/16/07 Vip Ebriega Begun, the Clone War has. 5 stars
2/03/07 bob lol better than episode one!!not ,they all bite ass,dis film is fooking shit!! 1 stars
1/28/07 mets1986 Better than Epiisode 1 4 stars
1/20/07 turd ok ep1 was bad but this dont even deserve 1 star!eat shit lucas 1 stars
1/03/07 david anthony good movie but learn to keep your arm on anakin 5 stars
12/29/06 David Pollastrini kind of slow 3 stars
12/04/06 DasuberDing a step in the right direction but not quite there... 3 stars
11/23/06 Austin Wertman VERY DISAPPOINTING 3 stars
11/12/06 hunter better than part 1, with awesome effects and star wars action, yoda kicks butt this one. 4 stars
10/06/06 Basher i cant believe people compare this utter shit to lotr 1 stars
10/02/06 Terry The worst of all Star Wars. Even episode I blows this one away. 1 stars
10/02/06 Jeremy Davies yoda saved this one 3 stars
9/14/06 Lori Love the movie, it connects with the rest of the films, and is full of action & very sweet 5 stars
8/10/06 Dragon The Artist From here, forward, the Skywalker-Amadalla love story was campy,but other than that, COOL!! 4 stars
8/01/06 robo hideous shit? yes indeed 1 stars
7/14/06 David Cohen Better than epsiode I (what isn't) but still assumes the audience is stupid 3 stars
6/08/06 ES Too much comic relief, not enough cool 3 stars
6/01/06 abcdefz Incredibly bad; inept, ludicrous, and the first truly boring Star Wars movie 1 stars
5/19/06 drydock54321 worth watching again and again 5 stars
5/12/06 mr.seraph a very beautiful movie 4 stars
5/01/06 Jack Snotty. What was the ending about anyway? 1 stars
4/20/06 Becky So forgettable that I almost forgot I saw it in theatres. Now that I remember, I want my $ 1 stars
3/22/06 me starwars haters are gay 5 stars
2/26/06 Dan This movie rocked. Honestly, do you guys wan't medicore battle scenes, or cool CGI ones? 5 stars
1/10/06 hunt my favorite fight in this movie was yoda vs count dooku, cool movie 4 stars
1/09/06 bob01 This movie is boring and has bad acting. 2 stars
1/08/06 Quigley it's amazing how bad some actors are. great CG, though; kudos to Christopher Lee and yoda 4 stars
11/30/05 bob it rocks 5 stars
11/26/05 cr one of my favorite star wars flims, great visual effects and yoda kicks butt 4 stars
11/18/05 catherine edwarads that movie is the best and so is natilie portman 5 stars
11/13/05 cooler shit.star wars sucks 1 stars
11/12/05 Jim sleeth Star Wars always take the viewer on X Wing journey 4 stars
11/11/05 Mark Radburn Fuckin piece of shit film 1 stars
11/03/05 jazza YAAAWWWNNNNN ! New Star wars episodes are God-awful cgi RUBBISH ! 1 stars
10/06/05 Tyler Alleen Natile your cariacter is amazing You Rock! 5 stars
9/22/05 Fritz Acting is crap. Story is senseless. Only one good action scene. Worst SW by far. 1 stars
9/14/05 Jonathon Holmes I sense a grave disturbance in the Force 3 stars
9/08/05 Bloodclot "wat cretins"...hmmm...a wonderful oxymoron from just a moron. 4 stars
9/02/05 Zack :( disapointed 3 stars
8/28/05 D Buckley Why is the chosen one such a whiner? 3 stars
8/27/05 .... lol some ppl are givin this shit more than 2/5 wat cretins 1 stars
8/26/05 EZ Okay 4 stars
8/16/05 ES Anakin- Oh Padme I slaugtered a whole village. Padme- there there you're just misunderstood 2 stars
8/03/05 littlebill SFX=bent ships n tanks glowin ball shit designed to sell fukin toys 1 stars
8/02/05 Quigley the special effects were awesome, but the acting and dialogue was so heinous and horrid. 3 stars
7/28/05 .... ive seen turds down my topilet with more acting talent 1 stars
7/27/05 CJ Only worth a look because its star wars. III is 10 times better 4 stars
7/25/05 Indrid Cold Almost as big a let down as Phantom, but still blows away 99% of all other sci fi movies. 4 stars
7/20/05 Chris Mediocre at best, the dialogue and acting were terrible! 2 stars
7/17/05 Brandy Harrington ummmmmmmm, no. 1 stars
7/02/05 van zwaar ummm 1 stars
6/30/05 Dr. Zoidberg Worst-acted giant CGI irritant in history 1 stars
6/21/05 R the best Star Wars parody since Spaceballs! 1 stars
6/20/05 darick Better than the first 3 stars
6/19/05 .... send in the clowns 1 stars
6/16/05 adrian ace better than epsiode one, but not hte same as the original trilogy 4 stars
6/12/05 Gecko Fanfoot All the actors must be CGI. No ensemble of humans could act that badly 1 stars
6/10/05 K. Sear Not as bad as Episode,1 but still pretty bad. 2 stars
6/08/05 Anthony G I can't remeber this much excitment since my last bowel movement! 1 stars
6/06/05 Cassander Love Christopher Lee 5 stars
6/05/05 Ubu the Ripper Just when you think Episode I was rock bottom, the bottom falls out and drops 40 stories. 1 stars
6/02/05 JFK great star wars film. great love stroy. 5 stars
5/31/05 The Hitman I would chose TOTAL CRAP, but I give it a "PRETTY BAD" for the Yoda fight. Yawn. 2 stars
5/29/05 Alyson This made me wanna see the next one. Ewan is a hot jedi. 4 stars
5/27/05 Quigley though has quite a bit of cheap eye candy like phantom, is still visually stunning 4 stars
5/24/05 sbpat21 wooden, silly, dumb 2 stars
5/24/05 Carolyn Rathburn Great, wonderful 5 stars
5/23/05 Monster W. Kung Is this fucking soap opera or something? Good? Give me a break. 2 stars
5/22/05 Cham A fun bad movie 4 stars
5/20/05 Dan GREAT STAR WARS EDITION, Love scenes were fake though. 5 stars
5/17/05 E-FUNK GEORGE LUCAS IS A HAMSTER-CRAMMING BROWNIE HOUND. THIS FILM IS PROOF. 1 stars
5/15/05 Graeme Much better than the first, sets up what should be a great episode III 4 stars
5/15/05 Ric Great f/x, but the action's mostly borin and the acting's second-rate. 2 stars
5/15/05 Indrid Cold For the 5th movie in a series, it's not bad. But the lack of depth is a huge let down. 3 stars
5/13/05 dogs smells like ass 1 stars
5/09/05 Ubu the Ripper This film sucks all ass. Empire Strikes Back still rules. 1 stars
4/29/05 Negative My God Slyder is a baffoon. Film school first, jack ass. 4 stars
4/24/05 Quigley the CG is perfect, the battles stunning, and YODA WAS AWESOME! but its acting was just sick 5 stars
4/22/05 Pippin007 Better than Episode 1 3 stars
4/14/05 armand groovy! 5 stars
3/26/05 Denise doesn't compare to the originals 3 stars
3/25/05 dwarzel Anyone notice the clones don't actually attack anyone? 4 stars
3/25/05 Paul OWNED 5 stars
3/13/05 Ronin better than the phantom menace, but it doesn't at all mean that this is good. 3 stars
3/04/05 Chris Stephens some of the worst asting ever 3 stars
3/04/05 .... beef = welsh 1 stars
3/03/05 beef star wars awesome gwaaaaaaaa yes yes yes 5 stars
2/23/05 Joseph Venanzi More like Attack of the Clowns 3 stars
2/17/05 Daveman $115 million on a film with lines like "toxic dart" and "good work my young padiwan".. sick 1 stars
2/17/05 Cody Better than first prequel movie , more action and fun! 4 stars
2/16/05 Miranda Lahr the first three were better but its ok 4 stars
2/11/05 bob thedwarf indeed utter shite 1 stars
2/09/05 Lisa Jochelson I thought nothing could be as bad as THE PHANTOM MENACE. I was wrong. 1 stars
2/08/05 Richard Linxwiler Liked it but love mist all "Star Wars" stuff 3 stars
2/07/05 Kenneth Helmick Better than the first episode 2 stars
2/06/05 Charlene Javier At last, someone with the balls to say it. 1 stars
2/04/05 Dan FUCKING AWESOME! 5 stars
2/02/05 Agglepraxis As fun as a urine-soaked paper hat. 1 stars
2/02/05 Philip Taylor it sucked 3 stars
2/02/05 Casey Becher Good film ruined by the return of Jar Jar. 4 stars
2/01/05 bongeezer Yawn 3 stars
2/01/05 Gladys Paradowski Star Wars is getting boring. 2 stars
2/01/05 John this is good for star wars dans 3 stars
2/01/05 Angela Like there is any question with Lucas, great movie! 5 stars
1/18/05 JJ na it sux m8 1 stars
1/14/05 Turtle Probably the worst of the series thus far, but pretty damn enjoyable. 4 stars
1/13/05 Tom Benton Considerable improvement over "Menace". It's nice to see some familiar faces ... 4 stars
1/10/05 keithers.. Ewan McGregor helps ...hayden is a weak actor....too much pointless action 2 stars
1/05/05 redhand woud have been better if first half was cut out 1 stars
1/03/05 keithers.. A second weak entry to the saga... 3 stars
1/03/05 give me a break Hell it's much better than Phantom, I enjoyed it 4 stars
12/27/04 Steve I thought it was the best Star Wars film to date. 4 stars
12/27/04 Louie Better than Phantom Menace but the story and acting still stunk. 2 stars
12/24/04 roy TOTAL SHIT JUST LIKE PHANTOM,DO GO THINKIN EP3 WILL BE GOOD CUZ IT WONT 1 stars
12/24/04 Dan GREAT FUCKING MOVIE! GREAT ABSOLUTELY GREAT, except love sequences. 5 stars
12/16/04 Andy Quirion you can make a sandwich and still not miss anything 3 stars
12/15/04 Jack Bourbon Watch the DVD, skip the love scenes, and you have a very good movie 5 stars
12/09/04 Kristina Williams stiffer acting than most pornos 3 stars
10/24/04 jonny boy newSWfilmsareutterwank/lotrEEdvdrulesoverthis...dum lightsabresfag 1 stars
9/26/04 Alex not too bad at all, acting sucjs though 5 stars
9/20/04 Dan Fucking rocks man, how could you dis this film. Love scenes kinda iffy, but still good. 5 stars
9/18/04 Naka Worthless. Soulless, poorly-made, and empty as fuck. Stick with the originals. 1 stars
9/09/04 JT How could Lucas take the piss out of his own film?! 2 stars
9/03/04 Vince G Man must have been stoned out of his mind when he saw that 2 stars
8/14/04 G-man best Star Wars movie of all 5 stars
8/10/04 kyotomatt Try Star Bores:Attack of the Tools 1 stars
7/10/04 Bobbo A little stale at times, but good storyline. Loved the Yoda fight. 4 stars
7/08/04 Stevo Next time, I'd rather have 2 hrs straight of jedi fighting. 2 stars
7/08/04 Denise the new don't have the feel of the originals it doesn't even feel like the same series 3 stars
7/07/04 Saigo Lucas is a coniving, money-driven hack with no creative vision. Let the man die. 1 stars
6/28/04 Snaggler Great action! Awesome effects! It's Star Wars, baby! 5 stars
6/11/04 Daveman An ugly, stupid film worth seeing for its spectacular CGI. 2 stars
6/03/04 Angel Scary!Stalker!Anakin, Boring!Obi, and Padme's leather Wonderbra dress was as stiff as she. 2 stars
6/01/04 Nobody Let's hope 3 is better. This one is way too effects-oriented! Finally got a cg Yoda though 3 stars
5/24/04 Butterbean I was done with the Star Wars franchise after seeing this silly shit. 2 stars
5/01/04 Read it, Seen it, Done it Barely better sequel 2 stars
4/27/04 Lestat Maybe the best chapter in the whole saga! 5 stars
4/22/04 Belly Sweet ass! I'm with the majority that loved it! Haters stay home for 3 5 stars
4/09/04 Sigma I can't believe Lucas ruined the coolest character in the SW universe Boba Fett 2 stars
3/31/04 jedi fuckface holy shit! this was awful! i cried for mankind! 1 stars
2/21/04 Denise Duspiva Not worthy of the originals 3 stars
1/31/04 Dr.Lecter This movie is such an abomination, watching it causes cancer 1 stars
1/24/04 CC Worst Star Wars ever... 1 stars
1/23/04 c.r a love this movie, it has great story,visual effects and yoda kicks butt! 4 stars
1/22/04 Stephen Spielborg Even I could make a better movie, and I suck! 1 stars
1/19/04 MelissaNYC Jaw saw it again. God this movie really IS awful. I hate the Annakin/Amidala love story. 1 stars
1/16/04 Gecko Fanfoot Pathetic. Watch as Hayden Christensen shakes down a changeling for a day-old weiner. 1 stars
1/14/04 Eric Good effects, but the movie's just not that fun. 2 stars
1/01/04 Sitting Fence Stick an Actor in a blue box, tell them its the Grand Canyon and this is what you get. 2 stars
12/24/03 gman wow. i fuckin' hate anakin, amidala, and everyone SAVE kenobi...thanks for the waste, Lucas 2 stars
12/23/03 Chris I no big star wars fan but I thought it was fine. It looked really neat and was fun. 4 stars
12/17/03 God SUCKSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS 1 stars
12/03/03 Agent Sands (previously Mr. Hat) Pretty boring, although Amadala's getting hot & Yoda vs. Christopher Lee is hilarious. 3 stars
11/28/03 john much better than episode #1 - still too long but saved by John Williams great score 4 stars
11/25/03 Lord Chu Frikkin' Awesome. 5 stars
11/12/03 FFFFFFFF Pitful. 1 stars
11/12/03 dddddddddddd powerfull! 5 stars
11/07/03 Capt' Fox second longest commercial I ever saw 1 stars
11/03/03 American Slasher Goddess An improvement over part one,although it is cheesy at times, I still enjoyed it. 4 stars
10/26/03 Erik Van Sant Awful. Hayden is awful. Story is awful. Lucas is responsible for this abortion of a movie. 1 stars
10/21/03 Dave 45 minutes into the film, you stop caring about the CGI and you just get bored. 3 stars
10/11/03 Millie Excellent!!! Hayden I love you! 5 stars
10/06/03 DM Well done at points, but a only a slight improvement over Episode 1- STILL too much CGI 2 stars
10/03/03 Ogamikoto Brings a tear to my eye, in the good way 5 stars
9/08/03 jonah the real kids movie of 2002! 1 stars
9/06/03 Dimitri Aubert Better than phantom menace, but still far from a cult movie. 3 stars
8/28/03 anna Lucas proves he's the hack Empire Strikes Back hinted at ;) 3 stars
8/14/03 kaiserwave The game is better than the movie 1 stars
8/11/03 Mike Krasienko I luv zand cuz it fucking rocks dog 5 stars
8/10/03 King Star wars?!? More like Crap Wars! 1 stars
8/09/03 Will Green I absolutely fucking loved the first 3, but I'm not going to be biased towards this. Shame 2 stars
8/05/03 jonah fast foward please! 1 stars
8/04/03 Joman better than episode 1 but thats not saying much 2 stars
8/04/03 Wolf I actually liked SOME things about TPM; as for AOTC, I *NEVER* want to see it again! SuxAss 1 stars
7/24/03 Lstat Best movie I've seen in years! An awesome movie-going experience. 5 stars
7/23/03 pokesmot Is there anything lower than "Sucks." First 3 were a masterpiece 1 stars
7/04/03 T3 Hate to say it, but the first three were better movies.. 3 stars
6/26/03 cochese Lucas, please stay away from episode 3! The actors sucked too. 2 stars
6/19/03 Jack Bourbon What a great plot. What terrible love scenes. Cool locations. 5 stars
6/19/03 Jim Great visuals and action scenes hampered by mediocre story and weak acting 3 stars
6/15/03 dayne johnson it is so bad that it is difficult to explain how much without pie charts and midgets 1 stars
6/05/03 J.J Crap, Crap, and more Crap! 1 stars
6/04/03 Mr. Do It just didn't got my attention, despite FX etc. just an average scifi movie 3 stars
5/31/03 Jareth Any sort of crap story that's in this film is overwhelmed by the admittedly amazing effects 2 stars
5/26/03 Bobo While the Movie is uneven, it is a true Sci-Fi Classic 5 stars
5/24/03 TheOthersFan plot summary: actors get paid insane $ to deliver the most embarassingly stupid lines ever 1 stars
5/05/03 Mike Hughes Better than Episode 1 5 stars
4/29/03 Dave Worse than the Phantom Menace, a weaker music score than before, but some nice CGI 3 stars
4/24/03 GWhooya It's so pathetic, it's not even funny. 1 stars
4/24/03 GWB its better than rep 5 stars
4/22/03 Punk_Ass One big pile of ass. the acting sucked. SFX were awesome!! my god this movie Sucks Ass 1 stars
4/19/03 Ubu the Ripper Wow! What a huge disappointment. Mind-blowing FX with no plot and limp and shallow acting 2 stars
4/15/03 King Kong you call this good? 1 stars
4/11/03 Jack Bourbon A fun movie to look at and listen to, and the DVD lets you skip the love (torture) scenes. 4 stars
4/02/03 PTP This movie isn't perfect for even one second. 1 stars
4/01/03 Mr. Do boring. Relief: Just one more to go ... 2 stars
3/31/03 Perry SUCKS ALL ASS! 1 stars
3/23/03 George Lucas Yes, I relied on stilted dialogue and horrific acting to buttress a dopy script. 2 stars
3/17/03 Cameron Slick Containing more of what made the Star Wars fun, AOTC is an improvement over TPM. 5 stars
3/17/03 G-man The best film ever to hit the screens 5 stars
3/12/03 TheOthersFan modern standards of movie acting have reached a new low. A shameless indignity. 1 stars
3/12/03 It Attack of the clowns more like it. 1 stars
3/12/03 Crapensen Lotr rules and this movie doesn't! 1 stars
3/11/03 J.J Lucas should use the force but apparently he forgot how. 1 stars
3/10/03 PRS Even better than TPM (which I liked) !! Almost there George! EP 3 should rock ! 5 stars
3/09/03 Butt-head C'mpn. It wasn't great, but it didn't suck either. I'll take the middle road on this one 3 stars
3/09/03 Peter Wilson Tron flopped because of special effects, but it's still better than this Clones. 1 stars
3/07/03 DIRTY HARRY WITH MAGNUM FORCE LORD OF THE RINGS WAS MUCH BETTER,EVEN TRON IS BETTER THAN THIS 1 stars
3/06/03 SS What are you doing George? Stop this self-centred indulgence in crap. 1 stars
3/05/03 J.J Yuck! 1 stars
2/24/03 darth balls I concur with May - crap. hayden christensen as anakin? '' dude, i'm a jedi, dude.'' faggy. 2 stars
2/23/03 Otis McGrover The action's improved since Episode I, but it's still missing a soul. 2 stars
2/21/03 May Crap! piece of crap! 1 stars
2/21/03 Lucas killer the biggest load of B.S. to walk the grace of this planet 1 stars
2/21/03 tonephreak Actually, I didn't see the whole film. I couldn't watch it. It was THAT bad. 2 stars
2/20/03 Ultron Lucas got his muse back 4 stars
2/18/03 stuntman how do u go from empire to this? 1 stars
2/15/03 Mk Finish George Lucas! This movie sucks big time! 1 stars
2/13/03 Bigjimmysol Gets better everytime you watch it 5 stars
2/13/03 Adele Pelleritoq Have seen 15 times on Imax - bought DVD - and I don't own a player! 4 stars
2/11/03 joe a george should of never made these new movies 1 stars
2/11/03 Mark Green Well i was so dissapointed here i am almost a year later and im still pissed off 1 stars
2/11/03 Ubu the Ripper George Lucas Has Jumped the Shark...This Movie Blows 1 stars
2/08/03 ^ZuLu^ there is some power here - much better than episode 1! 5 stars
2/05/03 123 compared to the first trilogy, this is far from legendary status, great yoda scene though 3 stars
2/01/03 LORD OF THE RINGS AND THE SHAWSHANK REDEMPTION ABSOLUTE BOLLOCKS -- THE LORD OF THE RINGS KILLS IT HANDS DOWN 1 stars
2/01/03 Al Kyda This movie blows if you know what I mean! 1 stars
1/30/03 Rock Angle IF YA SMELL WHAT LUCAS IS CRAPPING! 1 stars
1/30/03 Gaiia i fell asleep after the first 20 minutes 1 stars
1/30/03 Weenus This movie gives a new definition to 'suck' 2 stars
1/24/03 Andy Bronson cgi turd being wiped in the faces of the people who even consider this to be average 1 stars
1/22/03 Koo The action scenes were good, however, Anakin cant ACT. ACTING SCHOOL BUDDY.He was 100% shit 3 stars
1/19/03 Dave For the first hour and 45 mins, I was somewhat entertained. After that... I just got bored. 3 stars
1/19/03 Pete Anakin whines and whines and whines and whines. Oh yea Yoda does some shit=3.95 rental 2 stars
1/17/03 Jake I have to agree that Lotr is the trilogy today. Pass up on this crap. 1 stars
1/17/03 Greg Your comments are bullshit. Though you are right on some bits. 5 stars
1/15/03 blah That was pathetic! 1 stars
1/15/03 poolshark Somewhere above ep.1 and below the first three. 4 stars
1/15/03 Stevie kick don't make me laugh. 1 stars
1/15/03 Ryan Lange I believe this movie outdid the predecessor in every aspect and was a great movie 5 stars
1/08/03 Ray Awesome middle movie! Ties nicely with the Saga! 5 stars
12/30/02 Joy Wonderful, I really enjoyed it. 4 stars
12/28/02 anniebelle nice try. not. 2 stars
12/23/02 Ryback LOTR is the Thriligy of today, This is crap! Lucus F*** this up 2 stars
12/23/02 3man Better than Ep 1 4 stars
12/23/02 E-Rock Hard to believe this is part of Star Wars. It's just... Crap... 2 stars
12/22/02 Flashback2003 Teenybopper love scenes and crappy fight scenes. Stupid movie period. 1 stars
12/21/02 C3PO i'm programmed for bad comic relief, not destruction! 2 stars
12/20/02 Andrew F Could and should have been so good......... 3 stars
12/19/02 Bluto ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ barf 1 stars
12/12/02 Spawn What a waste of money 1 stars
12/11/02 kilroy sucks to the max! worst movie of the year! 1 stars
12/10/02 Zefram Mann The acxting is flat because Lucas is a completely mediocre director. 3 stars
12/09/02 PyThomas Only thing keeping this from 5 stars is Hayden's pathetic performance 4 stars
12/08/02 Michael Keyes Best movie without character development I've seen. Plus, it's Star Wars! 5 stars
12/05/02 Dave This is not Star Wars, neither is the Phantom Menace. This is shite (as we say it here). 3 stars
12/05/02 Dipo Entertaining enough to watch just once. 2 stars
12/03/02 George Jung It's like Lucas bent me over and fucked me in the ass with those new goddamn DVDs. 1 stars
11/28/02 Cecil George Lucas should stop writing these new *suck* trilogies 1 stars
11/28/02 Kelli Natalie and Hayden are cute 5 stars
11/27/02 Sara Clones suck! 1 stars
11/26/02 Ahhhhh!!!! Now this is more like it. 5 stars
11/26/02 Quentin Beck Fantastic visually and had kept my interest in every seen. And one word: YODA!! 5 stars
11/26/02 Boba jet What happen? Star Wars use to rule? but this? 1 stars
11/17/02 Jenna Each starwars they come out with just gets better and better!! 5 stars
11/15/02 Andrew sucks! Yoda's scene can't even save this movie 1 stars
11/14/02 Billy Dawson This movie is more fun than a dipole moment! 5 stars
11/13/02 Charles Tatum Great effects, but when did George Lucas forget how to create good characters? 2 stars
11/13/02 Penis Breath It made me horny 5 stars
11/07/02 Joe Stark (Bio Man) This movie kicks ass. Love story=corny, but who cares?!!!!! 5 stars
11/05/02 Robert B. Reiiichchhhh Could have done w/out the mush dialogue. Loved it anyway though! 5 stars
11/05/02 Michael Buehler Only one more left until Lucas can crawl in a hole an quiely succumb to his brain tumor 2 stars
10/27/02 Matt Neopalitano Jedis kick ass, Anakin whines his way into Amidala's pants. 3 stars
10/16/02 mrchar pretty lame 2 stars
10/10/02 Nam Great Trailer but nothing was great when I watched it. Sucked big time 1 stars
10/07/02 Dr Sky Tower This flick both sucks and blows! Hayden Christiensen ruined it with his lameo 'acting' 1 stars
10/07/02 TheOthersFan Only Yoda is able to almost save an unabashedly insipid pantomime love story/pseudo-epic. 1 stars
10/03/02 Ron Sanchez Crappy story , haydens a pussy 1 stars
9/30/02 binks very slow - battle at geonosis too short 3 stars
9/28/02 snowconehead they should have given Plo Koon some dialogue 5 stars
9/27/02 Naphsid Rageniv Much better'n episode 1, w/Natalie Portman coming into her own as an actress. 4 stars
9/26/02 Fred One of the worst movies this summer! Not even worth a bootleg download. 1 stars
9/17/02 Don Sucked big time! I hope episode 3 turns out better than the this and the first one. 1 stars
9/14/02 spaceocowboy I'm looking forward to the DVD-release. 5 stars
9/11/02 Magnum Craphole They transformed Star Wars into a fucking soap-opera! A fucking painful experience. 1 stars
9/11/02 Terry The new star wars suck! They should just relauch the originals on dvd 1 stars
9/10/02 JAKE Regardless of the plot I still think this is gonna be a great sounding DVD. 5 stars
9/10/02 .Choadushouse. Horrible acting (especially Christiansen)...and a generic plot. Stick with the originals! 2 stars
9/10/02 John McNew An absolute triumph! The acting did NOT suck and the script WAS well-written 5 stars
8/30/02 tk421 you have alot of explaining to do!!!!! 3 stars
8/30/02 Steve Hated it! two hours of boredom. 1 stars
8/30/02 owenmeany2 Who came up with the idea that amazing, jawdropping visuals arnt worth shit. 4 stars
8/22/02 chouck being "better than episode 1" still leaves plenty of room to suck 2 stars
8/18/02 Craig Third best SW movie. Better than Return of the Jedi. 4 stars
8/14/02 Bob This movie sucks even when compared to Spiderman! 1 stars
8/12/02 Michael Carruthers Brilliant, this movie is. 5 stars
8/11/02 MackeyDaManiac Only for cyber-fans programmed to love whatever they see as long as it has SW label on it! 3 stars
8/11/02 Dave Bainum It i is a pretty good show. 4 stars
8/07/02 Al Q Bobson Better than "Phantom Menace," but not by much. Still bland. 3 stars
7/26/02 indrid cold not a movie for non-star wars fans. 5 stars
7/25/02 murat starts slow but the rest is great fun . Don't miss the scene where yoda fights. 5 stars
7/22/02 Joshua Irizarry It was a great movie 5 stars
7/21/02 KMG I THINK A BETTER TITLE WOULD BE: CURE FOR INSOMNIA 3 stars
7/19/02 gary vidmar Please! The movie was excellent! Not perfect, but very entertaining. 5 stars
7/17/02 Siruss Horrible, never watch it again, it is trash 1 stars
7/16/02 Chaz Clunky, sloppy movie with the Star Wars title attached. You suck Lucas! 1 stars
7/09/02 Richard So dull I almost walked out before the end 1 stars
7/07/02 Math and Metal Yoda fight scene; please... Sandpeople slaughter; show it! Jedi fights; small is better. 3 stars
7/06/02 SW fanatic This was worse than The Avengers. I don't think it can even qualify as a film. 1 stars
7/06/02 JussMatt Definately an in between film.... a bunch of filler info,but not so much movie... 4 stars
7/05/02 los man Pukiest romance I've ever seen! FX good but Lucas is overdoing it. Miss Alec G's presence 2 stars
7/04/02 gary vidmar a great popcorn movie. See it in the theaters while you still can! 5 stars
7/04/02 A Big Fan Truly a great movie. 5 stars
7/04/02 Bob Bobson the worst thing i ever had the misfortune of seeing. Worse than Battlefield Earth 1 stars
7/03/02 The Bruiser George, you are an asshole, please give your camera to Sodderberg and give us all a break 1 stars
7/03/02 Monster W. Kung Truly a sad movie. 1 stars
6/29/02 Andrew This movie is bad but not quite as bad as Ep 1 the original trilogy rocks thou 1 stars
6/29/02 Darth Voose Makes you want to join the dark side. 2 stars
6/28/02 Film Guy I aint a big STAR WARS fan. but this was not that bad 4 stars
6/27/02 Billy D Williams keep it up dummy you failed again Lucas! whats next Lando as Darth Vader's father! 1 stars
6/24/02 Blade This is Star wars! not the Phantom Menace! Fuck Jar Jar, he must die!!!! Fuck him!!!!!! 5 stars
6/23/02 Phoenix As good as any other Star Wars movie. Christensen needs acting lessons though. 5 stars
6/22/02 Obi Wan Just saw this again, the last 40 mins are incredible. I wanted unedited Yoda scene!! 5 stars
6/22/02 Kever FUCK ALL OF YOU!!!!! THIS MOVIE SUCKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
6/21/02 luke yoda, palpatine, mace, OB1, padme, anakin, watto, dooku, jango are all awesome!!!!! 5 stars
6/20/02 Chris I'd feel that Lucas would let us down, but he didn't this time! 5 stars
6/19/02 John Prag Gold !!! Now this is Star Wars ! Fantasy at its best !! 5 stars
6/18/02 absolut9007 P.O.S. Worse than the first because this one is lethargic eye candy. 2 stars
6/18/02 Mickie D Great movie! Yoda kicks some sith A$$ 5 stars
6/18/02 Bart Better than TPM, fun in parts, dead in others 4 stars
6/17/02 Philip F Kromer Better than episode 1, worse than episode 6 3 stars
6/16/02 JO They could have come up with a better title...still a great movie 5 stars
6/16/02 Human Shield Empire, Star Wars, Episode II, Jedi, Episode I. 4 stars
6/15/02 Bob Evans Took me a while to see it. Was well worth the wait 5 stars
6/15/02 Cheaps If you think this sucks, get a life. You're probably too critical. Open your mind, ass. 5 stars
6/14/02 TJ Worst (and slowest) of the saga. Liked Hayden. Hate to see him become Vader. 4 stars
6/14/02 Steven Young Even our kids thought it was only "so-so" 1 stars
6/12/02 Eloise attack of the clowns 2 stars
6/11/02 spaceworm These prequels are David Lean glacial - not that there's anything wrong with that... 4 stars
6/11/02 Obi Wan The last 45mins alone is worth the admission, the battle scene is how all battles should be 5 stars
6/10/02 Average Joe I felt nothing... 1 stars
6/10/02 Chris A brillant edition on all levels. Critics need to except it as it is not what it could be. 5 stars
6/09/02 Diana Farrar Good show! It ranks somewhere in the middle of the saga. 4 stars
6/09/02 masrelleh Episode II? To quote the Comic Book Guy, "Worst episode ever." 1 stars
6/08/02 CA Nootch Open your mind and it's great entertainment. Great Star Wars installment. 5 stars
6/07/02 TJ Glad George chose Hayden, but wish he had provided better love story dialogue. 4 stars
6/07/02 Joe Levy Let me just say that you naysayers are morons incapable of higher mental thought processing 5 stars
6/06/02 james what would crowds have said if spider-man was this bad? 1 stars
6/06/02 Jessica A bad movie- Simple as THAT! 1 stars
6/05/02 Hotaine Funny, I don't remember the original trilogy being about politics. 1 stars
6/05/02 Mortis Let go of your anger and join the force! Ummm...Tuscan Raider Taters! 5 stars
6/04/02 mrchar ehhh, i suppose it was worth the 5.75 i paid for it 3 stars
6/04/02 malcolm finally Yoda does something; awful dialogue 3 stars
6/04/02 gromm "SW is about fantasy, emotion, and ENTERTAINMENT," and unfortunately it mostly fails in Ep2 2 stars
6/04/02 ElMeanYo Laugable dialogue, exciting finish.. I want to see the next one. 4 stars
6/04/02 NSMan When will people realize that SW is about fantasy, emotion, and ENTERTAINMENT. Great movie 5 stars
6/03/02 del riley Just Average. Very pretty visuals, but no substance. Needed more Jango Fett! 3 stars
6/03/02 Michaelb14 Lucas has redeemed himself for the travesty of episode I 5 stars
6/03/02 RyGuy People who hate Star Wars are unimaginative morons. 5 stars
6/03/02 Kelsey A. Was awesome, i luved it, cant wait to see nest 1!!! 5 stars
6/03/02 cleansparks the poorly done romance really takes away from the rest of the film (which is very good) 3 stars
6/02/02 tnt waste of time 1 stars
6/02/02 Adam Voorhees Just not good enough, too dull but better than ep1 only cause it was less annoying! 2 stars
6/02/02 Dark Barřn Not Another Space Teen Movie! 1 stars
6/02/02 Chris A brillant edition. Critics stop comparing these new editions to the oringals. 5 stars
6/01/02 maximal01 On second thought:don't see this shit. George, you fucked up BIG. So I say:FUCK PREQUELS!! 1 stars
6/01/02 maximal01 Go shell out a wad of money on this ass-numbing movie, and watch George's ego for two hours 2 stars
6/01/02 Soggy Bottom Boy Best roster of monsters in series, good FX, but not much else. 4 stars
6/01/02 Steve Walker Great effects. Where is character development and story? Episode IV is still the best! 3 stars
6/01/02 Thor, God of Thunder. Steve in Prague must have seen an entirely different movie. Or is an idiot. 5 stars
5/31/02 Zvaigţňu kari: II daďa. Klonu uzbrukums Jaunâkâs sâgas darbîba notiek 10 gadus pçc Zvaigţňu kari: I daďa. 4 stars
5/31/02 Superman The last 45 min. Spectacular! Acting wasn't great but who thought StarWars was shakespere 5 stars
5/31/02 visionsof the love story was no worse than any meg ryan chick flick. a little heavy on the cgi. 4 stars
5/30/02 JJ. thomas the acting in this one was no where near Super Mario Bros. the movie. Now that was bad! 5 stars
5/30/02 John Monaco AOTC is vastly underrated. Why can't people sit back and enjoy ? Pull the stick out...... 5 stars
5/30/02 Nyartholep The whole romance angle was unbearable. 3 stars
5/30/02 Girl 9 It's okay.Stiff and forced acting from some main characters made it hard to watch at times. 3 stars
5/30/02 Phyrkrakr Didn't flow at all like the first movies, but the action was great. 3 stars
5/30/02 Arkhan Lucas desperately needs to hire someone else to write and direct. 2 stars
5/30/02 Keith Comeford Probably best SW since Empire Strikes Back but Lucas ought to get a real writer & director 4 stars
5/29/02 Jamer Jumps a lot between being a "film" and a "movie" (see Bowfinger). Not my fav SW, but good. 4 stars
5/29/02 Incubator I haven`t seen previous parts, but it just freaking rules by itself 5 stars
5/29/02 Blackops Nothing epic, last 45 minutes were good but couldn't save this movie. 2 stars
5/29/02 Brian A blast and a half! 5 stars
5/29/02 brentley Tremendous special effects & action scenes! Dialogue, as usual, was stilted & wooden. 4 stars
5/29/02 ajay The love scenes were EP2's Jar Jar Binks. Why can't they just make a *good* star wars? 3 stars
5/28/02 Indrid Cold I thouroughly enjoyed this technological masterpiece. Who cares about a little cheese? 5 stars
5/28/02 the Knave At least it was less contrived than Ep.1 3 stars
5/28/02 will yawn. it's alright as part of the series but as a single movie it lacked. 3 stars
5/27/02 Akira_773 Y2; Smits is supposed to be Bail Organa, Leia's adoptive father. Oh yeah, really fun movie 4 stars
5/27/02 Gamblor DEEP hurting. My braincells have mostly regenerated from the assault 2 weeks ago 1 stars
5/27/02 hugomom Just a few thoughts about Episode 2. 3 stars
5/26/02 Goldhammer Nauseatingly bad acting, vacuous plot, should have made Chris Lee a good guy 3 stars
5/26/02 ParasiteX Not perfect, but none of the Star Wars movies (or any movie) are. Worth seeing again. 5 stars
5/26/02 G2 No plot, bad acting, no heart what a waste of time and money 1 stars
5/26/02 Coitus Best way to put it - myself, and my 2 buds ALL would pay ANOTHER $9 to see it a 2nd time.! 5 stars
5/25/02 Greyjack I'd criticize the actors for being wooden, but jeez, the lines they were given were crap. 3 stars
5/25/02 KRP The pieces of the jigsaw start to fit; romantic angle childish, almost destroys film 4 stars
5/25/02 UniTech Very good, not getting enough credit. Has its flaws, but nothing is perfect. SW is back. 5 stars
5/25/02 K Carlson There's no more faith in the force! 1 stars
5/25/02 The Spam Handler Better story, Mature characters=great acting, young characters=need acting lessons 4 stars
5/24/02 I'm in (L) with a jedi obi won is back and betta than eva!!! special effects kicked arse! me-sa love masta obi won 5 stars
5/24/02 Davide Star Wars is back to the grand adventure of Empire 5 stars
5/24/02 Dark Barřn No no no! This is all wrong! It became another teen movie!!!! 1 stars
5/24/02 Captain Highcrime Hayden, Just stand there & look pretty. We're not paying to hear you talk. 4 stars
5/24/02 Florian Heer Some wasted time, compared to episodes 4 through 6 1 stars
5/24/02 D'Morph Worst romance I've ever had the misfortune of sitting through 2 stars
5/24/02 Bellerophon Unemotional, Soulless and Superfluos! 1 stars
5/24/02 Matt Chez Much better, Hayden is convincing 5 stars
5/24/02 PaRaZyTh It SUCKS!!! 1 stars
5/23/02 General Disarray it was gr8... u complain of bad acting and such, but look at episode IV for example... 5 stars
5/23/02 Chris Attack of the "days of our lives" followed by a great movie. 4 stars
5/23/02 Anarchy Azmi episode 3=feels like a billion light years away 5 stars
5/23/02 Darth The movie was better than I expected! 5 stars
5/23/02 Paul Barton Lucas is selfish, he has no idea how to make a movie anymore, let someone else direct/write 1 stars
5/23/02 mara z. wicked awesome 5 stars
5/22/02 P.Rodriguez Crap acting? They friggin had on act on blue screen. I reckon that alone makes the film grt 5 stars
5/22/02 King Kong "insipid dialogue", "like diarrhea"...aw SHUT UP ya asses! This is not art,--it's FUN! 5 stars
5/22/02 Weird Andy Straight to video acting performances, lame CGI, insipid dialogue 1 stars
5/22/02 n6ko like diarrhea, i kept wondering when it would end 1 stars
5/22/02 TomF Great last half hour; Why would any woman fall for that whiny guy Anakin? 4 stars
5/21/02 scott A well done adventure, the last 40 min alone are worth your 8 bucks. 5 stars
5/21/02 Wynter Lust If you're a Star Wars fan, you'll love it. If you're not, you'll enjoy the action scenes. 5 stars
5/21/02 Leon Trotsky How can anything this loud and flashy be BORING? Lucas managed it... 2 stars
5/21/02 ^Elendil^ It's Star Wars, so you know what you are in for - worthwhile escapism. 4 stars
5/21/02 kishuta Much better that Ep 1. This is closer to what a Star Wars movie should be. 4 stars
5/21/02 Movie Expert Spiderman: very bad movie, SW2: spectacular , don't have to be a Star Wars fan to enjoy it 5 stars
5/21/02 Jimmy James meh. better then ep1, but not by much. dialogue is atrocious 3 stars
5/21/02 Pap-shmear Could've done w/o the romance, but this movie was awesome anyway! Critics suck all ass!! 5 stars
5/21/02 Mad Hatter Excellent movie. Ep.3 will show how little the critics understand myth making. 5 stars
5/21/02 PeteFountain Where are you negative critics coming from? This movie was pure fun/entertainment. Not art! 5 stars
5/21/02 G Tatter This Film is Awesome, episode 3 will be darker. 5 stars
5/21/02 Bruce seeinf Yoda use a lightsaber makes this one awesome 5 stars
5/21/02 Jake Christensen blew. The dialogue and acting were awful. 3 stars
5/21/02 Shrike Despite its problems, Star Wars is back 4 stars
5/21/02 Janx Awesome movie. Don't listen to these nay-sayers, they're fools. 5 stars
5/21/02 Unanon Cheezy romance and a plot that makes me think the Cheese must be Swiss! Sith ruled. 3 stars
5/20/02 Dyl It was -ish..but the fact that the bad empire was jarjars fault is hilarious... 4 stars
5/20/02 Roy Smith Crappy writing, nothing but CGI, characters blah, Portman has a very nice body. 3 stars
5/20/02 Dustin Saw the midnight show on the 15th. The place was a MADHOUSE of pure joy!! Loved it! 5 stars
5/20/02 Kubus Great movie. Just parts with Anakin and Amidala suck. 5 stars
5/20/02 P.Rodriguez 2 All the Critics out there. Don't take it too seriously. Enjoy the ride. I DID! 5 stars
5/20/02 Zesty Great comeback film for Lucas. A truly entertaining fantasy adventure 5 stars
5/20/02 Ben Lucas couldn't direct traffic 1 stars
5/20/02 The Bomb 69 Lucas attempts Love Story, YUK!!! 3 stars
5/20/02 ddp worst acting, script, and love story since Pearl Harbor 1 stars
5/20/02 Kensi bloody awful-someone buy rights to SW and remake the prequel 1 stars
5/20/02 Ryback better than episode 1, but not as good as the trilogy... 4 stars
5/20/02 ^ZuLu^ At last this feels so much like Star Wars again. Worth every minute watching! 5 stars
5/20/02 davis horner fablous movie the best 5 stars
5/20/02 Fetch Goldberg I've seen less sucking in a porno 1 stars
5/19/02 natasha Ewan McGregor is more dazzling than any special effect 4 stars
5/19/02 Darth Haggis We cant beat each other with the knowldge of the force lets use our ligthsabersLOL DUMB!!! 1 stars
5/19/02 Jack Doesn't compare at all to the orginal trilogy, too much cgi crap..looks to fake..bad diolog 1 stars
5/19/02 Tito Dixson Wicked 5 stars
5/19/02 Some Guy It was very lacking. Anakin's constant ranting and raving about Kenobi gets tiresome. 2 stars
5/19/02 Andrew Only the Mother plot had emotion or was ingaging, quick George get yourself an edittor 3 stars
5/19/02 DJ Infite and The Conscience Object This was a terrible movie, George should trade his ewok suit, for porno rights 1 stars
5/19/02 Joe Bloe This movie doesn't follow Star Wars at all it is just a crap movie and is too unrealistic. 2 stars
5/19/02 Count Dooku Not a perfect movie, but it was a thrill ride! THANK YOU GEORGE!! 5 stars
5/19/02 Grand Master Yoda strong is this movie with the force....wait for the next installment i cant 5 stars
5/19/02 dan better than ep. 1, but why gloss over anakin killing the tusken raiders like that? 4 stars
5/19/02 Banky Edwards I can't even begin to explain how much I liked this movie.....WOW!!!! 5 stars
5/19/02 Monster W. Kung It gets better towards the end, but it's certainly nothing to write home about. 3 stars
5/19/02 Cleo could have worked on the script more - but hell were the affects amazing, yoda is the man! 4 stars
5/19/02 Kyle The first hour made me want to hurt myself, but the rest of it kicked ass. 4 stars
5/18/02 Shane Robert Myers Gorge Lucas knows what people want and gives!!! and may the force be with you... always!!!! 5 stars
5/18/02 Mibidy Mo The story was far better than the first. Go Yoda Go !!! 5 stars
5/18/02 bullit17 The Slave I's sonic charges are the COOLEST things I've EVER seen or heard. EVER. 5 stars
5/18/02 Ricky Way better than the last one to come out. 5 stars
5/18/02 Bo yoda is a badass 5 stars
5/18/02 john just lousy ... computer stuff fine ... no substance ... trite dialogue ... mediocre plot .. 2 stars
5/18/02 spacecowboy JESUS CHRIST!! 5 stars
5/18/02 Darth Haggis Very good movie, i still want more character development. I know what happens GIVE ME MORE! 4 stars
5/18/02 Dark Barřn Ugh. 2 stars
5/18/02 Robert OK Lucas redeemed himself. Felt like a real Star Wars film. And Jar-Jar really was evil! 5 stars
5/18/02 rue the whirl do it for yoda while we get ourselves a soda 3 stars
5/18/02 The Graduate Sorry guys. It's pretty, the last 45 minutes kick ass, but the love plot is loathsome. 3 stars
5/18/02 Michael B The Jedi battle IS DAMNED FUCKIN GREAT!!! However, story and characters are moderate to bad 4 stars
5/18/02 Danielle Ophelia And he's back in the game!! 5 stars
5/18/02 Spanky No matter how pretty you make it, Barney still sucks. 1 stars
5/18/02 Paladin I hated Anakin from square one.He's a little prick.Dialogue/Story/Acting sux.Too much CGI 1 stars
5/18/02 Dr Laura Is A Bitch (Doo dah, doo dah...) Anakin's lines are horrible. Everything else kicks ass. 5 stars
5/17/02 Andy K Fucking RoXors !!! AOTC is OUTSTANDING !!! 5 stars
5/17/02 Uncle Salty Terrible, all CG, no story, weak acting, Phantom menace minus Maul, Couldn't wait to leave. 1 stars
5/17/02 TLsmooth OMG!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
5/17/02 Digi What a ride! 5 stars
5/17/02 Todd Great fucking movie! 5 stars
5/17/02 Silellak Impressive. Most impressive. Really sets the stage for badass Episode 3. 4 stars
5/17/02 viking Lucas strikes back !!!! 5 stars
5/17/02 E-Funk With everything this film had to offer by way of effects and hype, it stunk just like PM. 2 stars
5/17/02 Gyro The Force is rekindled. Yoda kicks major ass. 5 stars
5/17/02 Mace Homo Climax didn't meet expectations, but Hayden wasn't bad, and it's a lot better than Ep. 1 5 stars
5/17/02 thoughtpolice Couldn't ask for more. Truly wondrous to behold. The Best SW film (til Ep 3) 5 stars
5/17/02 K It's no spiderman.. but still fun. 4 stars
5/17/02 thoughtpolice Couldn't ask for more. Truly wondrous to behold. The Best SW film (til Ep 3) 5 stars
5/17/02 Imiru Daly It brought my cynical, 29-year-old self back to my early 80s childhood. Bravo, George!!! 5 stars
5/17/02 Chris This movie kickes all ass! Yoda schooling Dooku was the best seen ever! 5 stars
5/17/02 Keith Langman entertaining but...starwars lost it's mystical attraction...it's all fun now 3 stars
5/17/02 brent young great addition to the series. it was worth the wait, the lines, and the cash... 5 stars
5/17/02 gary The wait was worth it 5 stars
5/17/02 Obi Wan The long wait has ended . . .and the next one has begun!!! See you May of 2005!!! 5 stars
5/17/02 Darren Shea Aside from a wooden Natalie Portman (which sinks the romance scenes) it's damned good! 4 stars
5/17/02 Ryan Fans of the Star Wars saga will be floored. wow. 5 stars
5/17/02 Adam Voorhees George ur supposed to entertain us to show off what ur Apple Mac can do! but Yoda rocked!! 3 stars
5/16/02 Nick2k fuck spider-man. i forgot to blink & breathe while watching episode ii. a non-'fanboy' 5 stars
5/16/02 Brian easily one of the most entertaining movies i have ever seen. far exceeded expectations. 5 stars
5/16/02 Jeredi Hoooo-lyyyyy helllllllllllll this is awesome 5 stars
5/16/02 COUNT DOOKU The critics don't have a clue. This movie is the real deal! 5 stars
5/16/02 Paul the best 5 stars
5/16/02 Dom Corleone Party's Over! 5 stars
5/16/02 sd don't get too excited - unless u r < 18 3 stars
5/16/02 Den Finally a good movie 5 stars
5/16/02 Dallas Bob This movie is fun 5 stars
5/15/02 KR Saw a shitty mpeg and it still looked great! Totally kick-ass! 5 stars
5/15/02 Not a Star Wars fan and hate the old movies, but loved this one The critics are full of shit. This movie totally rocks in every way. Critics=on crack! 5 stars
5/15/02 COUNT DOOKU Definitely worth seeing in the movie theatre 5 stars
5/15/02 PeteFountain Christopher Lee was sensational, and the story was great! 5 stars
5/14/02 MaG Yoda Is awesome...... little dispointted with the story line but not much 4 stars
5/14/02 Thomas A dazzling action fest w/spectacular effects, and a darn fine story. 5 stars
5/14/02 Adrian Hunt Some crappy dialogue, a couple of bad SFX, but it's Star Wars, in all it's glory! 5 stars
5/12/02 Boba Fonts Seen in a press preview: splendid 5 stars
5/12/02 trevor langdon fucking awsome, I want to see the next one NOW! 5 stars
5/12/02 Rachel Stevens Perfect, Lucas has reached the state of film-making nirvana 5 stars
5/11/02 lord shadow the best 5 stars
5/11/02 Franklin Pearce WOW! 5 stars
5/10/02 D Amazing 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  16-May-2002 (PG)
  DVD: 22-Mar-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  16-May-2002




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast