More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.35

Awesome64.91%
Worth A Look: 17.54%
Average: 10.53%
Pretty Bad: 1.75%
Total Crap: 5.26%

3 reviews, 39 user ratings


Latest Reviews

To Be Takei by Jay Seaver

Hercules (2014) by Daniel Kelly

Hal by Jay Seaver

I, Origins by Greg Ursic

Boyhood by Daniel Kelly

Uzumasa Limelight by Jay Seaver

Goal of the Dead by Jay Seaver

Yasmine by Jay Seaver

Mr. Go by Jay Seaver

Hercules (2014) by Brett Gallman

subscribe to this feed


Beneath Clouds
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Stephen Groenewegen

"Meditative"
5 stars

What the characters say in Beneath Clouds isnít nearly as important as whether they choose to speak and why.

Two indigenous teenagers leave outback Moree for different reasons. The light-skinned Lena (Danielle Hall) seeks her Irish father in Sydney and sees no hope or purpose in her present environment. Vaughan (Damian Pitt) has just escaped from a detention centre.

During their road trip to Sydney, Lena and Vaughan are subtly transformed by their exposure to each other. Mostly, itís their contrasting perceptions of indigenous and white society that are challenged.

In their first film roles, Pitt and Hall contribute remarkably assured, naturalistic performances. The meditative direction of Ivan Sen, in combination with Allan Collinsí striking outdoors photography, emphasises the beauty of the landscape. Sen counterpoints the natural grandeur of terrain and sky with the occasional human ugliness encountered on the journey, much as Terrence Malick and cinematographer John Toll highlighted warís horrors in The Thin Red Line.

Beneath Clouds marks a transition from shorts to feature-length film for writer-director-composer Ivan Sen. On the strength of his debut, calling Sen a filmmaker to watch seems the understatement of the year.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=5828&reviewer=104
originally posted: 10/08/02 13:08:43
[printer] printer-friendly format  
For more in the Australian series, click here.
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2005 Brisbane Film Festival. For more in the 2005 Brisbane Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

8/30/10 coon dumb niggers 1 stars
4/08/10 james terrible movie, dialogue almost put me to sleep and had boring roles and vague ending 1 stars
11/16/07 janelle pitt thats my big brother and i think it is a great film and interesting to watch 5 stars
4/14/07 aglak 22 brilliant film,brilliants actors,beautiful. 5 stars
1/31/07 David fantastic scenes and good actors but could have had a better ending 4 stars
5/30/06 casey boring and sleepworthy but good images and actors 2 stars
5/10/06 jessica great film with powerful messages about trust and identity 5 stars
12/14/05 Noemi Cortejosa Beneath Clouds is a film on Aboriginal identity: Vaughn accepts it, Lena does not 5 stars
11/29/05 Thomas Well done. Really reaches out 5 stars
10/04/05 mark sorensen reality hits home hard 5 stars
9/19/05 Kelly Really, Really bad 1 stars
8/14/05 kailey james it great but the ending isn't 4 stars
1/23/05 Elizabeth Fale Excellent Movie I Love It 5 stars
12/20/04 Ian Henderson One of the best films to come out of Australia recently. 5 stars
7/18/04 cherie hargrave this is very good and its a movie i will never forget 5 stars
4/29/04 - i love it, and its real life not some pitty story. 5 stars
4/20/04 jess booby its fantastic 5 stars
4/14/04 Dylan Williams Excellent Film 4 stars
3/11/04 Raman Arora The movie is very good and emotional, has lot of humour and facts 4 stars
2/04/04 Mandamullin a moving film that juxtaposed country drama and deep realism 5 stars
11/12/03 seb narwal A great movie 5 stars
9/12/03 Liz Innovatively disturbing 5 stars
8/14/03 Cherie Gardiner it was a very good movie cause the car was my sisters boyfriends 5 stars
5/28/03 daniel kane OWEN WAS GREAT 5 stars
5/25/03 Jimi A subtle beauty 5 stars
5/04/03 sami unreal fav movie gotta see it! 5 stars
12/22/02 Lucinda Brilliant! Sven is a genius! 5 stars
11/04/02 robi awesome, touching, objective, deep 5 stars
9/29/02 Peter Sherlock Very very good. An Oz classic. Authentic. Thought-provoking long after. 5 stars
9/26/02 kahlia blair this at the moment is my fave film 5 stars
8/28/02 viking The best Aussie movie of 2002 5 stars
8/23/02 Kjaramindi Dennison It was good 5 stars
8/19/02 vivien xeros the best film i have seen this century 5 stars
8/19/02 Andrew Trigger Fantastic! 5 stars
8/08/02 Michelle Crowther Leaves you feeling like you've been through an industrial wringer. Stunning, fantastic 5 stars
8/06/02 janelle pitt damian is my oldest brother and i'm proud of him 5 stars
6/27/02 Edmond Nixon I intend to follow Sen's upcoming work 5 stars
5/30/02 ^Elendil^ A perceptive and beautiful film. A lot to think about. 5 stars
5/28/02 Ant A film that is both hypnotic and authentic, this is a great and important film. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  14-Jan-2002 (NR)
  DVD: 07-Sep-2010

UK
  N/A

Australia
  23-May-2002


Directed by
  Ivan Sen

Written by
  Ivan Sen

Cast
  Tristan Bancks
  Danielle Hall
  Damian Pitt



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast