More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.7

Awesome80.1%
Worth A Look: 11.52%
Average: 6.81%
Pretty Bad: 1.05%
Total Crap: 0.52%

5 reviews, 161 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Citizenfour by Greg Ursic

Women Who Flirt by Jay Seaver

Snowpiercer by Rob Gonsalves

Rosewater by Jay Seaver

World of Kanako, The by Jay Seaver

Tommy (2014) by Jay Seaver

Hunger Games, The: Mockingjay, Part 1 by Daniel Kelly

Goodbye to Language by Jay Seaver

Mea Culpa by Jay Seaver

Homesman, The by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Alien
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Scott Weinberg

"For those who want to be scared in a primal way."
5 stars

OK, so tell me with a straight face that you can watch Alien in a dark silent room and it's not scary? Well, you're a damn liar.

Look, it's simple: You're in this giant, cold, wet, drippy, metal and steel maze (that literally has no escape) and there's this giant killer monster out there, only it keeps changing, so you will never know what it looks like. You have no real weapons, but the thing bleeds acid that can melt your skin, so you don't really want to hurt it. There are a few others around, but you're easily the smartest and you're already near panic.

There's your scenario. Throw in some dark and foreboding music and lighting, that's Alien. Director Ridley Scott shows with Alien (and Blade Runner) that he is a true visionary. (We just need to hope he always gets scripts like these.) The cast is solid, with Yaphet Kotto, Tom Skerritt and Ian Holm as standouts. Of course, this is where Ripley got her start, and she plays the role brilliantly, with equal parts intelligence, fear, common sense, and humanity.

Alien has proved to be one of the most influential science-fiction movies of the past 30 years, and it's also one of the most entertaining. It's smart, graphic, gloomy and dark. This one is an absolute must for any self-respecting movie fan.

I watch it every time it comes on cable. It also has a great distinction of having an equally brilliant sequel, but Alien will always be a classic in my book. Another of those "It changed my life when I saw it as a kid" movies.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=583&reviewer=128
originally posted: 10/29/99 16:50:14
[printer] printer-friendly format  
Trilogy Starters: For more in the Trilogy Starters series, click here.

User Comments

8/03/14 iwjeiixnrre USA 3 stars
10/10/12 austin one of the scariest movies of all-time 5 stars
1/22/12 Predator Muhhhaaaah - Terrific 5 stars
5/15/11 stephen nettles MY FAVORITE MOVIE OF ALL TIME!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
2/19/11 Ark So scary I still can't watch the scene where it gets Dallas! And I am a big athletic guy! 5 stars
8/24/10 Joseph It just doesn't get much better than this 5 stars
5/04/10 Jeff Wilder If Aliens is the greatest sci-fi action movie ever, this is greatest sci-fi horror. 5 stars
4/17/10 PAUL SHORTT EFFECTIVELY HANDLED AND BRILLIANTLY SUSPENSEFUL 5 stars
11/02/09 art HORRIBLE! 1 stars
8/29/09 Julian There have been so many copycat versions but .... say no more 5 stars
8/19/09 Jon B This film didn't scare me, but the pacing and atmosphere is top notch scifi 5 stars
8/04/09 Steve Hock Klaxons flashing, Mothers calm voice, a running cursing Ripley. Super scene! 5 stars
7/12/09 then came bronson THE scariest movie since Jaws and Texas Chainsaw 5 stars
4/12/09 K. Sear The ultimate in gothic sci-fi horror. A true classic. 5 stars
5/25/08 ben dover amazing movie with an incredible atmosphere 5 stars
1/05/08 Mo An awesome, spellbinding movie; but did Ripley really need to go after that fucking cat?! 5 stars
9/25/07 Rogue Gallart Classic! What film should be! Ridley Scott is a Master! 5 stars
7/28/07 Wee Todd Didd The first is still the best. 5 stars
5/03/07 john I think it's overrated. It's unique but it didn't really scare me at all. 3 stars
3/26/07 Ken Scary and amazing 5 stars
2/21/07 action movie fan great sets and special effects make this a powerful shocker 4 stars
2/15/07 R.W.Welch Great suspense. One of the top five sci-fi operas. 5 stars
2/03/07 Vip Ebriega One not to be forgotten. 4 stars
10/02/06 Jeremy Davies Great movie, but far outclassed by aliens 4 stars
9/22/06 Booksworm Made the mistake of seeing it on cable;not scary at all,but still a damn good movie!! 5 stars
9/04/06 David Pollastrini a bit slow in places but still great. 5 stars
8/10/06 Dragon The Artist A great science fiction classic.Simply legendary!! 5 stars
7/12/06 David Cohen Forget the rapidly degenrative sequels, this is the real deal 5 stars
5/05/06 dionwr Superbly made B-movie 4 stars
5/05/06 Uri Lessing Intense and scary 5 stars
5/03/06 MP Bartley A brilliantly oiled, edited and designed film. Pure horror. 5 stars
5/03/06 Matt Seaver It doesn't quite hit me as I think it should, but I certainly don't dislike it. 3 stars
5/02/06 Ryan_A Not a horror guy, but I do love this one... 5 stars
5/02/06 PaulBryant Sigourney just doesn't do it for me. 3 stars
5/02/06 David Cornelius My tummy's not feeling too good 5 stars
5/02/06 William Goss Wow. A landmark horror movie, and a personal all-time fave. 5 stars
5/02/06 EricDSnider Truly suspenseful 5 stars
5/02/06 Alex Paquin Haven't seen it -- I'm not much into sci-fi / horror 3 stars
5/02/06 HBS-SH Only movie directed by Coppola's favorite editor. 5 stars
4/18/06 Dave A great science fiction horror masterpiece. 5 stars
3/04/06 omar best sci fi movie ever...except for the sequel 5 stars
2/11/06 movie_buff Gritty, chlostrophic, scary & they keep it real - a watermark for the genre. 5 stars
1/13/06 Perry Mason Brilliant sci-fi horror. 5 stars
1/11/06 Tamara D.Leonard Such a classic SciFi thriller. So many memories on the opening night in the theater. 5 stars
1/04/06 cody This movie has bad ass sexy sigourney weaver, cool effects and scary but not good as it 2 4 stars
11/21/05 chris great stuff!! 5 stars
10/31/05 Quigley slightly overrated and not very scary, but I can see why it's a classic. it's gross, too 4 stars
9/06/05 Zack wayyyy better then the others 5 stars
8/24/05 Eden A b-movie dressed up as an a-movie. Very well made 5 stars
8/16/05 ES Slow to the point of ponderous, paved the way for aliens 4 stars
7/18/05 Brandy Harrington Great movie 5 stars
7/03/05 Eddie Great Movie 5 stars
6/22/05 Manu Ginobli Great movie 5 stars
4/27/05 lio bloody brilliant film 5 stars
4/17/05 Russell Hobbs psychology dominate force in pic,for those wove seenit manytimes, watch it witn sund off 5 stars
4/17/05 Cary Gordon The ultimate, genre defining SF suspense picture. 5 stars
4/01/05 Richard Box The Best Alien creature ever is born FANTASTIC 5 stars
3/23/05 indrid cold More horror than sci-fi, and not a particularly good horror movie. 4 stars
12/15/04 Etheridge Hoogendijk OD-ing on creepy sound effects while story gets spread way too thin. 2 stars
11/14/04 X $ % & ! I wish I had acid blood. 5 stars
11/13/04 Samuel Very scary film. Alot of people don't agree, but I think its better than the sequel. 5 stars
11/04/04 Lord Durvok 2 Four words guys: Best. Fvcking. Movie. Ever. 5 stars
9/01/04 A upton Love those panties,,mmmm 5 stars
8/26/04 Aaron Smith the alien is just a monster, no depth to him whatsoever 3 stars
8/02/04 magaafi not bad........ 5 stars
7/21/04 Patjng the 1st and the best' 5 stars
6/21/04 Stab Wounds Yay. 5 stars
6/16/04 franknutz great film i think the original is better than directors cut but see them both 5 stars
3/20/04 Jack-pyschO-Lantern Sorry, but this is isnt as good as the others... Even the last one was better. 3 stars
2/23/04 Kyle A pace and mood-setting that rivals "The Shining". GREAT stuff! 5 stars
12/24/03 Joel W. De Sario An invincible,leathal, haunting creature with digusting eating habits results in desparate 5 stars
12/08/03 john the sfx are still great! a sensational sci fi thriller! 5 stars
12/08/03 bz The re-release still holds up after all these years. 5 stars
11/28/03 alien assassin still has the ability to shock. 5 stars
11/21/03 Shelby Sherman Horror films should scare you....Alien does! 5 stars
11/01/03 American Slasher Goddess A Sci-Fi gem. 5 stars
10/07/03 jawsboy24 Pretty much a masterpiece! GREAT SFX, acting, cinematography, directing, music, etc. ****'s 5 stars
10/02/03 Spiderfan729 Loved it! Better than Terminator by a loooonnnngggg shot! 5 stars
9/01/03 Lord Durvok II Not only best of the four, but one of the best Sci-Fi/Horror films ever. I love it! 5 stars
8/07/03 Alice Best science Fiction ever. 5 stars
8/06/03 Double G alien rules 5 stars
6/21/03 Sammy jason should watch it again because this movie rocks!! 5 stars
4/16/03 Andrew Carden Weaver Is Great, The Effects Is Fantastic...but Goes On Far Too Long!!! 4 stars
3/04/03 Aceman True masterpiece! 5 stars
12/29/02 Jack Sommersby The best sci-fi/horror film ever made! 5 stars
12/18/02 C.reeves A good sc-fi movie 3 stars
10/30/02 mallory i love it 5 stars
10/29/02 Josť in my opinion, the very scariest film ever 5 stars
10/26/02 Charles Tatum Still scary after all these years 5 stars
9/30/02 sdfr the original deep space shocker, and still the best ever. 5 stars
9/26/02 Morally Sound This is the on;y "Alien" flick in the series I didn't like. 3 stars
8/23/02 Bluto So Scary because it was belivable technology, not sanitized like Star Trek 5 stars
7/25/02 CVJ Excellent in every way 5 stars
7/04/02 gary vidmar Creepy and tense. The monster is probably the scariest I have ever seen 5 stars
5/29/02 Kyle Fuck you, Andrew. Being a critic doesn't mean criticizing everything. 5 stars
4/27/02 maximal01 Freaky. The ending is great, and it's scary because it's unseen. 5 stars
4/09/02 lauren mccreight the best of the four alien movies.....period. 5 stars
3/23/02 Steve Mackey After seeing "The Relic", "Alien" looks more and more like the best scifi ever made. 5 stars
3/23/02 lowenklee dreamlike, very disturbing 5 stars
3/20/02 Steve Mackey Probably the best quality sci-fi movie ever made. 5 stars
2/20/02 Xaver Fun to watch Weaver kick alien ass. 4 stars
1/11/02 tc sigourney's crack now thats scary 5 stars
12/21/01 Andrew Carden Watchable Movie Overall, but No Momentum, and The 2nd Was Better. 3 stars
12/21/01 OSVALDO pepin 5 stars
11/27/01 Monday Morning Needs less talk, more tit. 3 stars
10/29/01 Jake This movie doesn't look, sound or seem outdated! Best Sci-Fi movie forever. No contest. 5 stars
10/16/01 Shane Robert Myers!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Its O.K. but not much horror ike the other seqeuls!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 3 stars
10/07/01 jawsboy Ridley's finest work along with Gladiator. quite a bit better than Blade Runner 4 stars
10/04/01 Phoenix Good acting and frightening moments save this from being a typical monster-in-space movie. 4 stars
9/06/01 spaceworm (boo!) 5 stars
9/05/01 Crunchy Frog In space, no one can hear you stick your finger up a dog's ass 5 stars
8/07/01 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) This movie kicks ass. It's definitely a cult classic, too. 5 stars
7/28/01 Henry Ginsberg One of the best si-fis ever made . 5 stars
7/16/01 Nazi dad Ruined some new jeans first time I ever saw it. 5 stars
7/01/01 Rampage brilliant and freaky 5 stars
6/30/01 King Jackass Classic. 5 stars
6/28/01 Stewart The chest-bursting scene is the highlight of this movie. The acting is pretty good, too. 4 stars
5/09/01 Jake This will be the best sic-fi movie, forever!!!! Doesn't matter what anyone else says. 5 stars
5/07/01 Gracy Lionheart Loved It. It is a great film to add to one's movie collection. 5 stars
4/23/01 Skip Young Aliens was much better. 3 stars
3/13/01 Sthenno Best sci-fi horror film ever!Perfect cast,acting,directing,set design,and Alien! 5 stars
2/25/01 Schpydah One of the best horror films ever. The horror is gorgeous and perfect: somebody slap me. 5 stars
2/25/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) Ah, yeah.... 5 stars
2/13/01 CJ O' Callaghan Horror film with tension thats hard to take at times. ridly scott - direct alien 5, please! 5 stars
2/01/01 jordan best scifi movie of all time? 5 stars
1/19/01 fifu worth look a very cool movie 4 stars
1/14/01 Invader The movie is slow mostly,but its the real terror when it occurs. 5 stars
12/28/00 Destruction Worker The DVD has one kick@$$ menu! 5 stars
11/14/00 Corporal Dodgson A bevy of thematic motifs, outlined by a hybrid horror-scifi haunted house tale. Amazing 5 stars
11/13/00 The EVIL Penguin a classic 5 stars
10/24/00 Viking How about a Director's cut to commemorate it's twentieth anniversary 5 stars
9/28/00 Jmpsnoopy This movie was scary as hell! 5 stars
7/11/00 Matthew Bartley A MILESTONE FOR A VERY GOOD REASON 5 stars
6/16/00 XXX Ridley Scott's best, and the best of the four Alien movies. 5 stars
6/13/00 danilo much more exciting than overrated Aliens! Awesome! 5 stars
6/08/00 TERRIE SMITH Some good jolts in this first entry in the series but ALIENS was even better 4 stars
6/03/00 perverted pixie My favourite of the series- the stomach poping scene cannot be beat! 5 stars
4/16/00 JDC Great feeling of loneliness and isolation. In space, no one can hear you scream... 5 stars
4/16/00 BB-15 Still the best of the series. 5 stars
2/11/00 Kyle Broflovski Great, but..."Aliens" is better. And that's the bottom line, cuz Kyle B. said so!!!! 4 stars
11/22/99 Jedi15 A gripping and terrifying film! Wonderful performances. Also, check out Aliens and Alien 3. 5 stars
8/20/99 Dante Possibly the best film ever made - it is PERFECT! 5 stars
7/25/99 Krishna Manohar A Classic. A great first chapter to a great series. 5 stars
6/21/99 Ed Wood Top 5 of all time 5 stars
6/14/99 Dylan mmm...great. 5 stars
6/04/99 Ah Dooey Scary as hell, better than I Know What You... and Urban Legend! 5 stars
4/30/99 Rob Mckechnie I was lucky enough to see this in the cinema a few weeks ago, and its still scary! 5 stars
4/20/99 Lucas jackson a great sci fi they do not get much better than this 5 stars
3/30/99 little jerry The eerie mood Scott creates is superior to Cameron's Rambo approach.Best sequel-Alien 4. 5 stars
2/20/99 chuck-d How can anyone not like this? Suspense, aliens, cool sets, full of grit 5 stars
1/27/99 Goofaloo Any movie that can spark three sequels (and counting) is a classic. 5 stars
1/25/99 YellerDog Groovy. 5 stars
1/23/99 C Dub One bad ass flick! 5 stars
11/29/98 Mike F It was boring. I didn't like it. 2 stars
11/26/98 Mr.Pink Nailbiting suspenser! 5 stars
11/24/98 Ray Russ We are not worthy! The video sits atop my alter. 5 stars
11/24/98 Lord Of The Dunce It never could get better. 5 stars
10/27/98 Silent Rob A classic in 2 veins. What more could you want? 5 stars
8/31/98 Mister Whoopee Giger created a masterpiece here. Compare it to the latest and puke. 5 stars
8/28/98 Chuck-D like empire and star wars, the second was higher quality, but the first is BETTER! 5 stars
8/24/98 {{{OZ}}} The original and best. A classic. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  25-May-1979 (R)
  DVD: 06-Jan-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  13-Nov-2003 (R)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast