More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.07

Awesome: 2.82%
Worth A Look: 5.63%
Average: 11.27%
Pretty Bad56.34%
Total Crap: 23.94%

4 reviews, 47 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


High Crimes
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Greg Muskewitz

"Criminally ridiculous."
2 stars

Court Marshall drama with Ashley Judd as a civilian lawyer, butting into military matters when her chameleon husband is charged for the murder of nine indigenous women and children.

Ripe with twists and turns the typical plot machinations for a military conspiracy movie we have a number of prime cover-up or infiltration suspects, as well as doubt cast upon the defendant. But with each turn of a corner, there is an omniscient attitude of who cares?. While Carl Franklin is working in overtime to eke out convolution after convolution, his faceless direction plows along like any first-time studio helmer. Rather, it places him back in the company of his earlier work (Nowhere to Run, Punks), proving decent turns such as Devil in a Blue Dress and One True Thing to be quite aberrant.

With Morgan Freeman, Jim Caviezel, Amanda Peet and Adam Scott.

[Not to be bothered with.]

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=5835&reviewer=172
originally posted: 12/20/03 17:45:02
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/03/08 Lenny Zane Painful seeing Amanda Peet slumming in this typical Ashley Judd wallow. 2 stars
5/18/08 PAUL SHORTT OVERLONG, PREDICTABLE THRILLER 1 stars
1/07/08 Shannon This was the best movie ever, James Caviezel was steaming hott!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
9/27/07 Shelley Splinters Really, Sugarfoot? WHOSE lifetime deserves to be so afflicted? 1 stars
9/19/07 Sugarfoot Ashley Judd really does belong on Lifetime and not in the multplexes. 1 stars
6/20/05 R.W. Welch Overplotted conspiracy flick is okay most of the way but phony finale sinks it. 2 stars
10/26/04 Fenstwhip Shiggins Shit! Ashley Judd and Jesus in the same movie. You'd think they'd annihilate each other! 2 stars
8/04/04 Katie I wasn't even paying any attention to the movie, it was so boring! 2 stars
6/21/04 Rock Hound Could have been an episode of J.A.G., which I regard with utter contempt and loathing. 1 stars
4/27/04 4x4 Pretty bad. Although Amanda Peet looks hot. 2 stars
4/04/04 Tiffany Faye Hawthorne Compelling until twist ending, when same old Ghastly Judd bites our butts. 2 stars
3/30/04 Marcia Lartz Come on, EricDSnyder, DOUBLE JEOPARDY was much better than this! 2 stars
3/02/04 Ashley Judd Wrong, Jim! I've never had any crap in me! I shit chocolate ice cream! 3 stars
2/26/04 Jim Ever notice how Ashley Judd gets the crap beat out of her on a Rocky-like regularity? 1 stars
2/21/04 Denise Duspiva Okay 3 stars
2/04/04 Chris I actually like this film. It has a very good cast but the ending needs work. 4 stars
1/21/04 Jack Sommersby Well-crafted but palpably absurd and idiotic. 1 stars
1/20/04 Charles Tatum God, this stunk 1 stars
10/06/03 Doc Hollywood Absolute Trash. The twist was just there to fill more movie time. 2 stars
9/01/03 Phil M. Aficionado Well acted but implausible and predictable story line and Hollywood antics 3 stars
7/21/03 Udoka I thought it was okay. 3 stars
4/22/03 Marcia Lartz Come on, EricDSnyder, DOUBLE JEOPARDY was much better than this! 2 stars
4/20/03 Tiffany Faye Hawthorne Compelling until twist ending when same old Ghastly Judd bites our butts. 2 stars
4/19/03 Wendy Welch Don't knock it too much, Jim. If it's the only way to regularity..... 2 stars
4/19/03 Ashley Judd WRONG, Jim! I've never had any crap in me. I shit chocolate ice cream! 3 stars
4/19/03 Jim Ever notice that Judd gets the crap beat out of her on a Rocky-like regularity? 1 stars
4/17/03 Veronica Foxx (The Raven-Haired Temptress) Judd: Same shit, different shovel. Freeman doesn't deserve this cinematic ass-rasping. 2 stars
4/12/03 Jack Sommersby Asinine, unbelievable plotting undermines good perfs and agile direction. 2 stars
1/05/03 EDS i thought it was ok 4 stars
11/06/02 Allison Lafferty Too bad Ashley J wont declare moratorium on killing, being beatup & being framed for murder 2 stars
10/27/02 MarktheShark6 I thought it was pretty good, Freedman being an alcoholic was hilarious though. 3 stars
9/27/02 Marcia Lartz Come on, EricDSnyder, DOUBLE JEOPARDY was much better than this! 2 stars
7/05/02 Tiffany Faye Hawthorne Compelling until twist ending when same old Ghastly Judd bites our butts. 2 stars
6/08/02 Allison Lafferty Too bad Ashley J wont declare moratorium on killing, being beatup & being framed for murder 2 stars
6/07/02 Ashley Judd WRONG, Jim! I've never had any crap in me. I shit chocolate ice cream! 3 stars
6/07/02 Jim Ever notice that Judd gets the crap beat out of her on a Rocky-like regularity? 1 stars
6/04/02 Veronica Foxx (The Raven-Haired Temptress) (ha93s164.d.shentel.net) Judd: Same shit, different shovel. Freeman doesn't deserve this cinematic ass-rasping. 2 stars
6/02/02 QT Pie Great Movie! 5 stars
6/02/02 Chris This is a crimaly good movie with solid assured performances. Questionable ending. 4 stars
5/16/02 Allison Lafferty Too bad Ashley J wont declare moratorium on killing, being beatup & being framed for murder 2 stars
5/11/02 Jim Ever notice that Judd gets the crap beat out of her on a Rocky-like regularity? 1 stars
4/21/02 Janine Lay I agree with Erik, I guessed he was guilty right off the bat and stupid plot 3 stars
4/17/02 Ziggy Stardust a bad movie all around. the director should be proud. 2 stars
4/13/02 JB Yet twish endings are becoming pretty cliche. Morgan Freeman has good moments. Judd!!! 4 stars
4/10/02 Veronica Foxx (The Raven-Haired Temptress) Judd: Same shit, different shovel. Freeman doesn't deserve this cinematic ass-raping. 2 stars
4/07/02 Arthur Yorra A big,confusing,ridiculous tease so that the movie can have a surprise ending. 2 stars
4/07/02 Todd Why the fuck do I subject myself to this shit? 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  05-Apr-2002 (PG-13)
  DVD: 27-Aug-2002

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-May-2002




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast