More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.67

Awesome79.84%
Worth A Look: 12.02%
Average: 5.04%
Pretty Bad: 1.94%
Total Crap: 1.16%

7 reviews, 216 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Destiny: The Tale of Kamakura by Jay Seaver

Buffalo Boys by Jay Seaver

Mandy by Rob Gonsalves

Road Not Taken, The by Jay Seaver

Great Battle, The by Jay Seaver

True Fiction by Jay Seaver

Pick of the Litter by Jay Seaver

Fahrenheit 11/9 by Peter Sobczynski

House With A Clock In Its Walls, The by Peter Sobczynski

Life Itself (2018) by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Aliens
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by charhas

"The T2 of the 'Alien' franchise"
4 stars

If you liked the first one for all the futuristic stuff and want to see more ass-kicking, well, here ya go...

Alien, the first movie in the (now) four part series starring Sigourney Weaver and our favorite acid-blooded creepy-crawlies, was a great example of a multi-genre film: suspense, horror, and science fiction. The second film, Aliens, is much more of a mainstream science fiction thriller. A bigger movie with bigger actors and bigger sets, it features alot more aliens fought with new weapons. Basically, this movie lacks the gritty hard-edged appeal of the original, but it has a slick video-game feel which makes it much more accessible to the average viewer. Personnally, I like the original, unless it's me and 20 drunken buds who want to cheer as the aliens bite it.

Besides, what can be wrong with a movie in which Bill Paxton proclaims, "Game over, man..."

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=584&reviewer=40
originally posted: 02/19/99 11:42:15
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/30/16 morris campbell terrific sequel but i prefer the original 4 stars
4/27/16 Ken It's not just one of the best sequels, but one of the best movies ever. 5 stars
4/13/15 jokerass lol 1 stars
8/07/14 David Hollingsworth exhilarating, intense and sharp sequel 5 stars
4/05/13 David Hollingsworth One of the greatest sequels that is so good, that it deserves its own sequel 5 stars
7/23/12 coop a awesome movie better than part 1 5 stars
3/23/12 Quigley Truly one of the all-time great sequels. 5 stars
1/18/12 Marc DC Get away from her, you b#tch! 5 stars
11/09/11 s russo A magnificent cinematic example of monstrous maternal power. 5 stars
7/18/11 Flipsider This movie has brilliant sound design. Incredibly intense and fun!! 5 stars
4/20/11 man awesome 5 stars
2/19/11 Ark One of the few, maybe the only sequel I have ever seen as good as the first! 5 stars
9/24/10 PAUL SHORTT INTENSE, EXCITING SEQUEL WITH A GOOD STAR PERFORMANCE 4 stars
7/24/10 bagwell5 In my top 10 movies of all time. Better than ALIEN. Great action & cool characters. 5 stars
5/04/10 Jeff Wilder The greatest sci-fi action film of all time. 5 stars
3/28/10 Shaun A There is no greater alien war movie. 5 stars
10/04/09 U.R. Gay Hicks is so f'in hot! This movie owns all others 5 stars
8/19/09 Jon B Some great scfi and action but lacks the smarts of the first movie. 4 stars
7/16/09 Steven M This film is just as good as alien! Good action/ Special effects etc.. michael biehn wow! 5 stars
5/03/09 feolindo the best movie ever made. period. 5 stars
4/12/09 K. Sear One of the only sequels to a classic that is also a classic. 5 stars
10/07/08 Shaun Wallner Scary Story!! 5 stars
5/25/08 ben dover amazing.pkr more like stevie wonder you blind fuck 5 stars
2/29/08 pkr the most pointless alien. period. 3 stars
10/09/07 breastman Easily Camerons masterpiece and the best of the quadrilogy 5 stars
7/03/07 lotr fan terminator 1,this film and warhammer40k make me rofl at starwars 5 stars
6/26/07 Mike Kidd Narrowly beats Terminator/Alien/Blade Runner to best scifi flick ever made. 5 stars
5/12/07 action movie fan terriffic!!~! one of the best of it,s kind!!! 5 stars
5/03/07 john My favorite movie! I don't care if people don't think it's as intelligent as the first. 5 stars
5/01/07 donovan great mix of horror and suspence 5 stars
4/27/07 Sharlatan pure-classic,this film got me all hyped inside like starwars never will 5 stars
4/25/07 Rob Haney great movie, any knocks against it are from cry those may or may not possess a soul 5 stars
4/17/07 Steven Cotton Fuckin' ACE. one of the best films ever. 5 stars
4/17/07 R.W.Welch Doesn't attain the tension level of the original, but close enough. 4 stars
3/02/07 Russ London Genius, but don't make adverse comparisons with its predecessor if you can't spell the word 5 stars
2/03/07 Vip Ebriega Way better than its predessecor and way, way better than the sequels to follow. 5 stars
2/01/07 AJ Muller Horror/sci-fi as asskicking, unstoppable action flick. Classic. 5 stars
11/11/06 cooper my alien movie of whole series, anybody whose does not flim is high. 5 stars
11/07/06 David Pollastrini great fx 5 stars
10/02/06 Jeremy Davies Incredible movie, far better than the original. One of the best 40 or 50 movies ever! 5 stars
10/02/06 Icarus How could you not like this movie? 5 stars
9/21/06 Raymond Moore Great movie but I would hjave liked to see some of the space marines heavy weapons used on 4 stars
7/12/06 David Cohen Make Rambo a woman and put her in space, sounds like a winner, right? Wrong! 2 stars
4/18/06 Dave Great followup and a classic in its own right. 5 stars
3/09/06 Dk Probably the best sequel ever 5 stars
1/13/06 Perry Mason The first one rocked, this one is a mess. Nice title though. 1 stars
12/25/05 Rob Larmer Very well done film, picks up were the last one left 5 stars
11/25/05 cr my most favorite movie of any genre, action ,great acting,suspense,and a awesome movie 5 stars
10/31/05 Quigley the aliens are shown more in this one, proof that they are what they are: awesome! 3 stars
10/31/05 Wisamane I personnaly thought the first one sucks, But the Sequels ARE AWWWWSOME!!!!!!!!!! 3 stars
10/13/05 K. Sear Best sci-fi film ever. Simply awesome. 5 stars
9/27/05 millersxing Humans acting so dumb in the face of killer aliens, they're really just meat with eyes. 4 stars
9/15/05 Tom Burns My favorite of the 4 ALien films. Great action too. 5 stars
8/24/05 Eden Not visual poetry like the first but still a great epic sci-fi action film. 5 stars
8/16/05 ES The best of the series, the suspense of the 1st, plus the action the later ones failed on 5 stars
8/11/05 Hudsons' Corpse This film will smash you about and leave you for dead. 5 stars
8/09/05 21 Gay Gay Gay 1 stars
4/22/05 Sex-o-Matic RIPLEY! RIPLEY! RIPLEY! RIPLEY! RIIIIIPPPPLLLLEEEE! 2 stars
4/17/05 Cary Gordon Unlike the original this is a great blend of Sci Fi and Action, and it works! 5 stars
4/06/05 Ethan Best movie ever, period. See it! 5 stars
4/01/05 Richard Box THE BEST MOVIE EVER MADE . THATS A FACT ! 5 stars
3/24/05 matjaž This and Seven samurai on the same list? Think again. 2 stars
3/18/05 indrid cold Slow start, but becomes very very good. Brilliant, over the top, climax! 5 stars
3/09/05 Los Daddy I want to be a Marine. My top 5 all time...Ahead of its time w/ SE..."Game Over Man" 5 stars
2/28/05 Stacey Gillespie GREAT FILM, HICKS TOOLS ALL!!!!! 5 stars
11/01/04 Dan Game over man! GAME OVER!!!!!!! 5 stars
10/14/04 Lt. Matheus Matty PRETTY DAMN GOOD! 5 stars
9/20/04 Lord Durvok 2 Completely over-hyped, but still a great movie. (Alien was better) 4 stars
9/16/04 Samuel I thought it was very suspensful and very scary. 5 stars
9/11/04 Naturezrevenge Aliens are inspiring. Giger combined all of man's fears into one+ mother. Clever classic! 5 stars
8/26/04 McReady In Antartica I've been hounded by The Thing, but this is just wack! 5 stars
7/27/04 Whatevr I've watched this movie 100 times and its still just as good 5 stars
7/23/04 X scary as hell 5 stars
7/21/04 Patjng all movies should be like this 5 stars
6/16/04 franknutz great great great not as good as alien i think but make sure you see the directors cut. 5 stars
6/03/04 Luke Masterpiece 5 stars
5/25/04 DMF It's pretty good, but c'mon, was there any real suspense in it? 3 stars
5/25/04 Daveman Entertaining, action packed, but inferior follow up to Alien. 4 stars
5/09/04 SEPULTALLICA This and Platoon best '86 movies 5 stars
5/06/04 Alien fan Fuck this pwns! Alien finally on the top 20. 5 stars
5/05/04 oshgowrehgaureog osdighspofdigh 5 stars
4/25/04 Vicious One of the best ever. 5 stars
4/12/04 tony montana As good as terminator 5 stars
4/11/04 American Slasher Goddess Engaging and exciting sequel to the brilliant original. 5 stars
4/02/04 chad great movie........must see 5 stars
4/01/04 terry exellent best science fiction film ive seen ridley scotts best film 5 stars
3/20/04 Jack-pyschO-Lantern THIS IS WITHOUT A DOUBT, THE BEST ONE IN THE SERIES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
2/23/04 Whatevr best sci-fi ever 5 stars
2/23/04 Thomas For a 1986 movie, this is just fucking awesome. You must have this in your collection. 5 stars
1/26/04 Boris Smith Kick-Ass Movie with non-stop action...Bill Paxton was hillarious! 5 stars
12/24/03 Joel W. De Sario This is where this series should had ended. How about a prequel about that alien ship. 5 stars
12/15/03 Kung Jerker A truly great movie. 5 stars
12/08/03 john not as dense and eerie as the first script isn't that great but a great "shoot'em up" - 4 stars
11/01/03 American Slasher Goddess Exciting and engaging sequel to the classic original. 5 stars
10/27/03 Stacey Quick You are so absolutely RIGHT!! Um, it's CORPORAL Hicks, however. Lt. Gorman, & Sgt. Apone. 5 stars
10/14/03 Obi Wan 1st Full Viewing, WOW. Arguably Best Sci-Fi flick!!! Better than the first!! 5 stars
10/05/03 Boris Smtih Best Sci-fi movie ever made 5 stars
10/02/03 Spiderfan729 It's hard to decide between the first and this one. Both are ULTIMATE sci-fi movies! 5 stars
8/30/03 Christian Adair Mann There is something about chicks who kick butt. Go Ripley and Vasquez! 5 stars
8/07/03 Elliott Lon outstanding movie, none better 5 stars
8/07/03 Alice a great sequel 4 stars
8/06/03 Double G awesome 5 stars
6/30/03 Ken I've seen it well over twenty times and am still amazed at how well it holds up! 5 stars
6/28/03 Dave Hopman Great Sequel! 5 stars
6/21/03 Sammy better than the first alien movie to me..... 5 stars
4/11/03 Andrew Carden Sigourney Weaver Is Amazing In This High-Energy Thriller. Cameron's Direction Is Super. 5 stars
3/28/03 Jack Bourbon Possibly the best movie ever made. Ever. And I'm not even a Sci-Fi guy. 5 stars
3/28/03 Gray hero and villian's being female is a MEANINGFUL part of the story? me like! +kick ass film 5 stars
3/21/03 guy hunt best one of all 4 of them with exactly the right combination of action and thrill. my favoi 5 stars
2/12/03 Monster W. Kung Never been impressed by it. Too much action, not enough suspence. Average, not more. 3 stars
1/04/03 Jack Sommersby Deriviative and simplistically developed. More is not always better, James. 2 stars
12/23/02 3man Cameron does it again. Excellent movie! 5 stars
12/21/02 bangbang BEST ACTION MOVIE EVER. 5 stars
12/10/02 C.reeves a awesome movie,better than the original 5 stars
11/05/02 Vicious Excelent sci fi, excellent horror, excelant action, excelant drama. 5 stars
10/29/02 José the best sequel 5 stars
10/18/02 COF FUCKING AWESOME 5 stars
9/30/02 sdfr this is a roller coaster ride, a first rate action thriller ! 4 stars
9/26/02 Morally Sound The best in the "Alien" series. 5 stars
7/29/02 Tony Fortunato Fucking Incredible! 5 stars
7/25/02 AIDAN WICKED 5 stars
7/25/02 CVJ the best besides the first and maybe even better 5 stars
7/11/02 Andy H. A science-fiction/action/horror movie with oscar nominations for best acting? Unbelievable 5 stars
6/07/02 Jake Close enough to perfect! Memorable characters "Vasquez" 5 stars
5/29/02 Film Guy Awesome intense battle scenes but thats all the movie was. not really a strong story behind 4 stars
5/29/02 Kyle Easily one of the best movies of all time. Wayyy better then Alien, even though that ruled. 5 stars
5/29/02 Movie Expert Not as emotianly powerful as Terminator 1,2 but it's still one of the best action movies. 5 stars
5/22/02 Charles Tatum Dump the damn kid! 4 stars
4/01/02 Joe Schulz Fucking Awesome 5 stars
3/14/02 Rockitman007 This is one of my all time favorites!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
3/07/02 Alan Smithee An almost perfect action film. Dark, violent, action packed and nihilistic. 5 stars
3/06/02 jack mister james cameron sucks. but thi movie is good. and he co wrote. pretty impressive. 5 stars
3/06/02 Ashley Corpening As inGorrillas in M. 1-note actress lucks out as exactly what movie needed. 4 stars
3/03/02 Shrike Camerons masterpiece of SF action horror is a beast of a movie 5 stars
2/20/02 Xaver Simplistic plot...but fun. 4 stars
1/03/02 Jake Crappy alien eggs and too unbelievable at times. Still a very cool movie. For 80's too! 4 stars
12/03/01 Monster W. Kung One of the most overrated movies of all time. Inferior to the original. 3 stars
11/22/01 travis who says titanic and t2 had more action?love thosealiens 5 stars
10/31/01 Sumixam Easilly best of the series and possibly the greatest movie one liner ever 5 stars
10/16/01 Shane Robert Myers!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Better than the first... Its a James Cameron Classic!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
10/09/01 Andrew Carden The Best Of All 3. An Unforgettable Ending. 5 stars
10/07/01 jawsboy great action and sfx and camera work, but it takes too long to get going & isn't scary. 4 stars
10/01/01 travis aliens is a masterpiece 5 stars
9/29/01 Phoenix Simply put, Aliens is a sci-fi classic. 5 stars
9/29/01 Phoenix Simply put, Aliens is sci-fi classic. 5 stars
9/27/01 Xerox I enjoyed the first and third. This was cliched all over the place.It was still good. 4 stars
9/24/01 earlybird3 Aliens and Jaws: the best monster movies ever!! 5 stars
9/06/01 spaceworm So much fun it could give you a headache. 4 stars
8/09/01 E-Funk This is the ultimate action/sci-fi/horror flick. The best of the series. 5 stars
8/07/01 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) Nastier, bloodier, bigger, just as good. 5 stars
8/02/01 KC Au Awesome movie! "Get away from her! You bitch!" - what a great line! 5 stars
7/28/01 Steve A sci-fi/action classic, great movie, but it's long and moves slow in parts. 4 stars
7/28/01 Henry Ginsberg Not as good as the original ,but still good fun . 4 stars
7/26/01 Sandy Allan Exploration of feminist issues, and IT ROCKS 5 stars
7/14/01 Gary Durso One of the top 50 films of all time 5 stars
6/25/01 Rampage Damn, this movie rocked! Better than Tomb Raider, and Ripley owns! 5 stars
6/23/01 erik the movieman Could be the film that SCARED me the most! I LOVE it! Hudson RULES!!!! 5 stars
5/09/01 Jake A step down from Alien.. but it is still a great movie,with lots of guns and tension. 5 stars
4/22/01 fifu juist watching it i change my rating a neat movie the original is better 4 stars
3/23/01 Andy Meakin Top film..watch it and forget Alien3&4 5 stars
3/14/01 Sthenno Not as good as Alien,yet the music,directing,Ripley and the queen are the standouts. Great. 5 stars
2/25/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) I must INSIST that everyone see this movie. I'll whoop ya if you don't! 5 stars
2/01/01 jordan NOT better than the first one. very good though. 5 stars
1/25/01 Stewart Ball The best of the "Alien" movies. Even better than the first. Ripley kicks ass! 5 stars
1/19/01 fifu a cool movie i never give 5's but this one needs to have it 5 stars
1/02/01 Msitrab Cameron is God 5 stars
11/13/00 The EVIL Penguin The best of the ALIEN trilogy 5 stars
10/29/00 Big Al blows away the first and is the most intense rockin movie ever 5 stars
10/28/00 Mic If only they could combine the suspense of the first with the action of the second... WOW! 4 stars
10/24/00 Viking The ultimate kick ass movie !!! 5 stars
10/23/00 P. Rodriguez Right on WR. one for the masses yes, but really action sci fi kicks ass! 5 stars
9/22/00 White Rabbit Are you kidding ? way better than the first 5 stars
9/20/00 Jeff good, but not as good as the first one 4 stars
9/02/00 Bruce Loved it!! 5 stars
7/05/00 ste cool as fuck 5 stars
6/27/00 Bioweapons division Great action movie! Very intense! 5 stars
6/17/00 JC Better than the original, also one of the best sequels ever. 5 stars
6/16/00 XXX Almost better than the original! Weaver is fantastic! 5 stars
6/13/00 danilo HELLO?! NOT AS GOOD AS THE ORIGINAL! The action is almost as confusing as Armageddon 3 stars
5/15/00 bullit17 Intense. Thrilling. Crepy. Plus Paxton is a hoot. 5 stars
5/03/00 matt Cameron is the master of sequals. Better than original. Paxton is brilliant!!!! 5 stars
4/16/00 JDC Probably my favorite action film ever. Not only exciting, but emotionally involving. 5 stars
4/16/00 BB-15 Second-best of the series! Cameron's best work. 5 stars
4/10/00 Myself Awesome, but not as good as Alien. 5 stars
4/08/00 Bruce Almost unbearably intense, a great movie 5 stars
3/31/00 movieman Behind Terminator 2 this is James Cameron's best film 5 stars
2/07/00 Kyle Broflovski Almost too good to be true!!! Carnage in outer space? I LOVE IT!!!!! 5 stars
1/29/00 Ripley GET AWAY FROM HER, YOU BITCH!!! 5 stars
1/24/00 Dr. Dolittle a great movie 5 stars
1/10/00 dr.d amazing 5 stars
11/22/99 Jedi15 A sequel up to par with the original. Intense, exciting, and not to mention SCARY. 5 stars
11/19/99 msf6 One of the greatest action movies ever entertaining all the way through w/ great ending 5 stars
11/12/99 Bladder Simply put, the finest movie *ever* made of any genre 5 stars
8/11/99 Japtalian I sure would like some o' that Octurian poontang! Great movie. 5 stars
8/10/99 Ted Wetzel Aliens is a movie that never stops to take a breath.A good film,but the original is better. 4 stars
7/25/99 Krishna Manohar I place this at the same level as Alien 3. Breathtaking. 5 stars
6/28/99 Chris Gianaras Badass adrenaline rush. 5 stars
6/25/99 David Keech A sequel that betters its damn good predecessor. Who woulda thunk it possible? 5 stars
4/20/99 Lucas jackson This movie is awesome,especially if you like to see Paul Reiser killed,fuck him!!! 5 stars
4/13/99 Jon Jackson I like Aliens. 5 stars
3/18/99 Madcap Yeeeeahhhhh, hey MikeF, anyone ever mistake you for a critic? 5 stars
1/25/99 YellerDog "LET'S ROCK!" 5 stars
1/23/99 C Dub Almost as bad ass as the first, but with more adrenaline. 5 stars
1/03/99 Dasha Fantastic movie. Sigourney Weaver is GOD. 5 stars
12/07/98 Shadow Raider The best of them all! In other words, I liked it. 5 stars
12/04/98 Mike F I didn't like it. 2 stars
11/27/98 Mr.Pink Perfect! 5 stars
11/24/98 Ray Russ *THE* sequal of all sequals - including T2. 5 stars
10/27/98 Silent Rob A rocket sled through the nightmare-horrors of war. 5 stars
10/18/98 Kwyjibo Paxton kicked ass here, but they should have stopped at this one. It ruled all balls. 5 stars
9/26/98 Slabs Cameron makes me cream!!! 5 stars
9/10/98 Bruce Willis' mama. Dig that funky sequel, white-boy. "THEY'RE ALL AROUND US - WE'RE GONNA FUCKIN' DIE, MAN!" 5 stars
9/07/98 Johny Another great sci-fi/action from Cameron 5 stars
9/07/98 BBReBozo I've dreamt this movie. Fucking incredible. 5 stars
8/28/98 Chuck-D Not as good as the original but better quality. 5 stars
8/24/98 {{{OZ}}} Bill Paxton had the best lines in this, still awesome, if contrived. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  18-Jul-1986 (R)
  DVD: 01-Jun-1999

UK
  29-Aug-1986

Australia
  02-Feb-1987 (MA)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast