More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.54

Awesome: 8.33%
Worth A Look53.13%
Average: 25%
Pretty Bad: 11.46%
Total Crap: 2.08%

6 reviews, 60 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Changing Lanes
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Greg Muskewitz

"Two-way crossing."
3 stars

Closer to Changing ‘Lines — as in storylines — as the focus is passed back-and-forth between Samuel L. Jackson and Ben Affleck’s characters until their vehicular collision intersects.

After that, Jackson is late for a custody hearing, thus losing, and Affleck leaves behind an important file folder for a hearing. Both take turns wreaking havoc in one another’s day. Supposedly, we’re supposed to by into the characters’ moral distress, which has the tendency to come only after they have already put forth their actions. Jackson is persuasive in his role, which especially causes problems since he is constantly undermining the capability of Affleck. The fast pacèdness still cannot make due for the artificial intellectual stuffing, while everything else remains flimsily devoid.

Directed by Roger Michell. With Sydney Pollack, Toni Collette, William Hurt and Amanda Peet.

[See it if you must.]

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=5859&reviewer=172
originally posted: 12/11/02 12:18:08
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/14/17 morris campbell effective thriller 4 stars
12/05/10 fmc Jackson is more believable than Affleck. Pollack overwhelms. 4 stars
8/27/08 Shaun Wallner This movie has some great scenes in it. 4 stars
5/15/08 PAUL SHORTT BLEAK AND COMPLEX THRILLER 3 stars
1/15/07 David Pollastrini a bit slow in places but still good 4 stars
11/03/06 AJ Muller only "slow" if you can't appreciate character/story/mood - A+ for actors and script. 4 stars
8/20/05 ES This is definately one for the forgettable pile, neither inspires nor reviles 3 stars
4/03/05 Charlie Bit Slow 3 stars
3/30/05 R.W. Welch A little too contrived but manages to hold your interest. WAL most of the way. 4 stars
8/19/04 Peter B. Very good and involving! 5 stars
8/09/04 paolo enea it is a vey good movie 5 stars
7/08/04 Denise more story then i thought it would have 3 stars
6/24/04 Daveman Fails in what it aims to achieve because of the overabundance of irritating melodrama. 2 stars
4/28/04 Chaske Faulk good movie, not bad at all 3 stars
3/26/04 Alfred Guy More characters than crashes. it was better than I thought it would be. 4 stars
3/21/04 Linda Ellis Interesting story, kept my attention. 4 stars
3/18/04 Maria I thought the show was a worth looking at!! It had a good story line. 4 stars
3/17/04 Alfred Guy Better than I thought it would be. 3 stars
7/04/03 Jim Strong performances overcome a story that eventually becomes over the top. 4 stars
5/15/03 Den Beire Dont waste time and money on this. Sam jackson is, as always, the only good thing about it. 2 stars
3/25/03 Jack Sommersby Not too believable, but the story and characters are fascinating. 4 stars
11/26/02 Matthew Smith interesting film and a good cast 4 stars
11/26/02 Punk_Ass I really enjoyed the hell out of this film, nice supirse too, I saw no trailers or reviews. 4 stars
11/17/02 snowconehead Very predictable but still decent 4 stars
11/09/02 ^ZuLu^ too bad: very forseeable, too much of a stereotype, expected more of it. 3 stars
11/09/02 Nicole Too many plot holes to be ignored....irritating and horrid 2 stars
11/08/02 TLsmooth The Samuel L. I know would have bitchslapped the ho and stole the kids. 2 stars
10/19/02 palaboy101 It will make you think twice before doing something. 4 stars
10/09/02 spyguy2 At the level of made-for-TV. Totally over-rated. 2 stars
9/20/02 Phil M. Aficionado Needs to have a more credible story line before getting up on its pulpit; just so-so 3 stars
9/20/02 Eric Affleck and Jackson are wonderful, the movie is one of the year's best. 5 stars
9/13/02 rania it is very very nice, it's ethical 5 stars
9/12/02 palaboy101 Makes you think 4 stars
8/26/02 Martin I usually love Ben and Samuel....but I too wanted that time in my life back....... 2 stars
8/05/02 David A. This movie gets very preachy--be honest and don't hold grudges. Come on! Grow up! 2 stars
7/23/02 Bueller Ben Affleck as a lawyer? Right! Next, you'll say he's playing someone who works at the CIA! 3 stars
7/04/02 KMG Makes me detest the rich even more 4 stars
6/08/02 ownerofdajoint good performance by jackson/plot goes limp at end... 4 stars
6/05/02 cleansparks great movie. samuel jackson is once again excellent. 4 stars
5/26/02 Joseph Berger Excellent movie, strong writing, good acting, especially Toni Collette and Samuel Jackson, 4 stars
5/25/02 Suzz Stoopid, boring and totally implausible. 2 stars
5/24/02 Krakanova Uninspired acting, lame (but plausable) story 1 stars
5/12/02 Benjamin Leatherman Boorrrrrrring! Blah blah blah, at the end of the day I do more good than evil. Whatever. 2 stars
5/10/02 maverick Film Afficianado's spelling lacks "credability." LOL 4 stars
5/10/02 malcolm well, i'm not a lawyer. way too many of those fuckers. 4 stars
4/30/02 Film Afficianado Implausible. Lousy script. Completely lacks credability if you are a lawyer. 2 stars
4/30/02 The Bomb 69 just kept waiting for the suspense to build and then... nothing, total Hollywood ending!! 2 stars
4/27/02 Sarah really great movie--Ben Affleck and Samuel L. Jackson are excellent!!! 5 stars
4/27/02 JZA A decent movie, but you'll forget about it minutes after leaving the theater. 4 stars
4/26/02 Andy Enjoyable though the ending was lame, should have been a tragedy. Hollywood has no balls. 3 stars
4/24/02 Jimmy James meh, worth watching once 3 stars
4/23/02 KMG Very good movie....Affleck is a shit, SLJ is pissed off as usual 4 stars
4/21/02 Janine Lay good story line, but very slow moving and boring at times 3 stars
4/20/02 Film Guy Good movie.but way to over hyped 4 stars
4/18/02 Nick2k wow. this movie was really good. this'll make up for affleck's pearl harbor crap. 5 stars
4/17/02 El Scorcho Only 4 comments? This movie looked like it sucked ass, but was involving and mature. A- 5 stars
4/15/02 Emily great 5 stars
4/15/02 Film Dude Not bad. A bit tedious though. 4 stars
4/14/02 Akira_773 Excellent movie. Don't miss, if you value your moviegoing sanity 4 stars
4/12/02 Dmitri Tiomkin The worst kind of Hollywood "formula". The plot creaks mechanically. 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  12-Apr-2002 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  21-Nov-2002




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast