More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.52

Awesome: 17.46%
Worth A Look: 15.87%
Average: 7.94%
Pretty Bad: 19.05%
Total Crap39.68%

3 reviews, 45 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Hal by Jay Seaver

I, Origins by Greg Ursic

Boyhood by Daniel Kelly

Uzumasa Limelight by Jay Seaver

Goal of the Dead by Jay Seaver

Yasmine by Jay Seaver

Mr. Go by Jay Seaver

Hercules (2014) by Brett Gallman

Wish I Was Here by Jaycie

Predestination by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Sweetest Thing, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Rob Gonsalves

"Carefree commitmentphobe Cameron Diaz stumbles across Mr. Right."
4 stars

'The Sweetest Thing' pretty much got used as a toilet when it came out. I don't know why. It's not great or inspired by any means, but it's cute and amusing enough. I think it suffered from critics' general weariness of gross-out humor, and 'The Sweetest Thing' has its share.

In the unrated version, anyway (I can't speak for what was shown in the R-rated theatrical cut, not having seen it), there's the glory-hole scene, the maggot-ridden-leftovers scene, the pierced-penis-meets-tonsils scene, incessant frank girl talk about sex, and the one segment I know wasn't in the theatrical version, "The Penis Song." Cameron Diaz, Christina Applegate, and Selma Blair lead a restaurant full of diners in an exuberant song-and-dance number set to the beat of Right Said Fred's "I'm Too Sexy" ("You're too big to fit in here, too big to fit in here," etc.). The idea of it is funny. It goes on a bit past the point it makes, though.

Jason Bateman is nearly unrecognizable under his beard, but he's pretty damn funny as the shameless brother of Diaz' love interest Thomas Jane. Applegate has only improved with age -- physically and comedically -- and she throws herself wholeheartedly into the role of Diaz' best friend and roomie. Neglect not Selma Blair, who proves in this film and Storytelling that there's very little she won't do on the grounds that it might be bad for her image. I mean, any actress who's willing to sing the Aerosmith ballad from Armageddon with an off-camera cock in her mouth...

I laughed now and again. Much of it is simply too farcical to be credible in the real-world context the movie sets up, and screenwriter (and South Park veteran) Nancy M. Pimental, apparently eager to prove that girls can write just as raunchy as boys, borrows a bit too much from the Farrelly brand of comic-nightmare public humiliation (most of which involves poor Selma Blair). But the leads are fun to spend 90 minutes with, the dialogue is sometimes sharp, and the movie in general takes its cue from Cameron Diaz' freewheeling ass-jiggle down the street right at the start. Plus, any comedy that makes room for a bit by Parker Posey as a bride who insists "I'm beautiful! I'm beautiful!" has its heart in the right place.

The sight of blond, bubbly Diaz surrounding herself with two best buds -- one brunette, one dark-haired -- certainly recalls the dynamic of Charlie's Angels (though this film did not repeat the earlier blockbuster's box-office, suggesting that Diaz still has yet to be an asses-in-seats star all by herself). And when the ladies gab about sex the movie plays a bit like a cruder version of Sex and the City (the city here being San Francisco).

If you're gonna rent it, hold out for the unrated disc. It's the gaudy red box, as shown above right. If you're gonna go with it, go all the way.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=5860&reviewer=416
originally posted: 02/21/07 11:21:10
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

12/17/09 Nora These talented actresses debased themselves for nothing 1 stars
7/23/09 K. Glass A raunchy, rollicking comedy that garners, at the very least, covered-up snickers from all 5 stars
3/07/08 kiwi Absolute arse, the "penis song"... must be top 10 in the worst movie moments of all time. 1 stars
5/02/07 Tanith It is so funny and is a good learning lesson too. 5 stars
2/18/07 PrinceofMars The flick is crappy but I'd die for Christina anyway. 2 stars
2/05/07 lee This is what happens when women try to be funny. Worst movie ever! 1 stars
7/10/06 William Goss Despite the cast's genuine chemistry, the film lacks sincere laughs. 2 stars
1/02/06 cody hey it ok romantic comedy flick with sexy chicks, but it kind corny and had silly ending 3 stars
12/01/05 SG72 I just about peed my pants laughing! 5 stars
11/27/04 Jim Amusing nonsense. Applegate deserves to be a much bigger star. 3 stars
12/08/03 lilcutie funny as hell 5 stars
9/17/03 Ashley Corpening How do you know, pj? Most names before yours look pretty gender-neutral. 5 stars
6/03/03 Virgil I wasted 84 minutes watching this shit 1 stars
5/31/03 J. Sladen This movie was so bad, I left 5 minutes into it. 1 stars
5/12/03 Jack Bourbon I liked it, maybe because of the ass-slappable cooze who got the cock stuck in her throat. 4 stars
4/13/03 Jack Sommersby Pretty desperate stuff. Not as bad as reported, but far from recommendable. 2 stars
3/23/03 pj oh my, but all the awesomes are by girls and all the sucks by boys...? 3 stars
3/21/03 May Q. Horney Best unabashed comedy since DUMB AND DUMBER. 5 stars
3/15/03 The spam handler Oh my no. Not right. 2 stars
3/10/03 PRS Sorry, but this had me cracking up the entire time. A fun, mindless movie. LOVED APPLEGATE 5 stars
3/07/03 Taylor Fladgate :( 1 stars
2/27/03 sean don't take it seriuously, and you might like it. 3 stars
2/20/03 Dave Crap, apart from the hilarious 'penis' song. 2 stars
12/30/02 Zaharin Hamid aka The Movie Samseng I switched off my brain and still found nothing to laugh at. Stick to "Sex and the City". 1 stars
10/09/02 Blubberbot boring 1 stars
10/07/02 Colin Selby a waste of my time and everybody elses 1 stars
10/03/02 jessica A GREAT MOVIE 5 stars
9/15/02 Bob Brimson I'd rather suck a tramps pants than watch this again. 1 stars
9/12/02 Uncle Salty See It Alone, Then Kill Yourself 1 stars
9/12/02 laron chapman funnier than theres something about mary. 5 stars
9/10/02 John McNew The feminine rendition of 'Slackers', Oh boy... 1 stars
9/03/02 Girl 9 Sweet it is NOT. Just plain ridiculous. 1 stars
9/03/02 seldom scene why do you guys hate this so much? it is very funny! 5 stars
8/28/02 viking funny as a hole in your head 1 stars
8/28/02 Boris Savc Diaz great. movie not so 3 stars
7/21/02 Peter Brook Why oh why is the divine Cameron in the middle of this glop? 1 stars
6/13/02 Edith the Maid and Meredith the Mermaid Falters, but in long run Cameron Diaz pulls out a decent raunchy romp.(beats VANILLA SKY!) 4 stars
5/11/02 Veronica Foxx (The Raven-Haired Temptress) I, too am offended that this is a gross out chickflick. As a chick, this horseshit stinks! 1 stars
4/30/02 wintermute I walked out after 40 mins. I am offended any studio thought i might want to watch this. 1 stars
4/17/02 Boogie Fleener Selma Blair should have been the star...of a different, superior movie altogether. Annoying 2 stars
4/16/02 zak don't waste your money 1 stars
4/16/02 kelvin torres one of the best comedy i've ever since 5 stars
4/16/02 Jake Utter crap. 1 stars
4/14/02 Banky Edwards Pretty Funny! Better than I expected, good gross out - funny jokes and hot hot women!!!!!! 4 stars
4/13/02 Lauren Diaz and Applegate have GREAT onscreen chemistry, but it is Applegate who steals the show 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  12-Apr-2002 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  25-Jul-2002




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast