More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.95

Awesome: 12.05%
Worth A Look: 21.69%
Average: 22.89%
Pretty Bad36.14%
Total Crap: 7.23%

6 reviews, 47 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

Fashionista by Jay Seaver

I Love You, Daddy by Rob Gonsalves

Jailbreak by Jay Seaver

Attraction (2017) by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Unfaithful
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Stephen Groenewegen

"Taking ďadultĒ out of adultery"
2 stars

Unfaithful is Adrian Lyneís typically glossy updating of Claude Chabrolís La Femme Infidele.

Diane Lane is superb as the New York housewife with a loving husband (Richard Gere) and precocious son (Erik Per Sullivan) who embarks on an affair with a French book dealer, Paul (Olivier Martinez). She meets Paul by chance but he flirts with her and makes her feel sexy, and itís enough for her to childishly abandon her adult inhibitions.

The set-up - and first hour or so - of Unfaithful is believable and compelling. These are mature people conducting an affair that didnít begin for contrived reasons. But the film unravels badly when Gere wises up and decides he has to assert his masculinity in response. Unfaithful becomes a stupefyingly inept thriller as ludicrous turn follows ridiculous twist. All empathy for the characters is lost.

The poorly conceived and infantile second half all but erases the memory of an intelligent and well-realised opening.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=5906&reviewer=104
originally posted: 09/19/02 13:49:20
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/22/17 morris campbell interesting well acted film 4 stars
11/20/14 Sharon Moving performance by Gere. Great by Lane. So sad. Makes you think. 5 stars
1/10/14 Michelle calling a child actor "gruesome" makes you lack credibility 1 stars
10/14/11 Paul I cant forget Diane being fucked in the bathroom 3 stars
1/02/10 Gsat No one can get away with adultery... 4 stars
4/11/08 Dogman Diane Lane is HOT HOT HOT...oohhhhh yeah!!! 4 stars
8/28/07 Albert Bayarcal the movie was good but the thruth was denied. 2 stars
6/13/07 al smith diane lane jesus is she so sexy what a body 3 stars
1/28/07 David Pollastrini sexy 3 stars
11/11/06 cody a strong first hour with sexy diane lane and soap opera second half. overall average 3 stars
10/15/06 burim kabashi no coment, very nice movie 1 stars
7/10/06 cyman1000 wonderful, fantastic. Lane is caught in a sexual frenzy, very intense-i understand that. 5 stars
5/07/06 chienne Diane Lane...far remove from Lorena Wood, Richard still wooden, but I like it. 4 stars
8/27/05 ES Is Gere ever in a movie that is not about adultry? M. Douglas and him have similar tastes 1 stars
4/12/05 Ronin not bad 3 stars
3/21/05 Sid Savillo/Novelist/Scriptwriter Stimulating ( to the brain) saga of an obsessive "love" without boundaries beyond marriage 5 stars
2/14/05 MEsw Not bad, not great and Diana Lane turns a fine performance 3 stars
2/01/05 Jeff Anderson This film kicks FATAL ATTRACTION'S ass. Diane Lane is a SEXY, BRILLIANT MARVEL IN THIS!!!!! 5 stars
9/13/04 Jim Adrian Lyne keeps making the same movie, but he does it fairly well. 4 stars
4/09/04 LIAM JACKSON what i wouldn't give to be olivier martinez in that doggy style scene. Lane is hot! 5 stars
1/26/04 me simple and cliched but well cast 3 stars
10/23/03 Goofy Maxwell Last half is a CSI episode w.o. the investigation, ruining a fine first half. 3 stars
10/01/03 TheOthersFan ridiculous.... could be unintentionably passed off as a black comedy 2 stars
8/18/03 Phil M. Aficionado Sommersby's review is right. Plot contrivances and story gaps undo great performances 3 stars
7/09/03 Gil Carlson Better than reviewed here. See this instead of Far From Heaven. 4 stars
5/23/03 bear dude, the sex scenes in this movie r better than playboy! check it out guys, good stuff 1 stars
2/24/03 SGT. TICKLEBELLY fun to see the french guy's head bashed in....the french are all gay. 2 stars
2/10/03 Janell Miller sucks,sucks,suck,sucks major dick 1 stars
2/04/03 Trixie Diane Lane was awesome 4 stars
1/05/03 malcolm death by sno globe 4 stars
12/28/02 Rayna Kuzio I really liked this movie, but not the ending.... 5 stars
12/25/02 Film Dude ...did I see the same movie as everyone else? 4 stars
12/16/02 Laurian Diaconescu If you can't see further than the sex scenes, it's really sad.A great movie.Very realistic. 5 stars
11/29/02 mike smith awesome 5 stars
11/17/02 Tim Taylor Another notch for Adrian Lynne! 4 stars
11/13/02 carl herman Lynne cheats us out of exploring many great results of infidelity; STD, saving the marriage 3 stars
10/03/02 Heidi Ho Suspense succumbs to comedy of coincidence: stuck elevator & auto collision. 3 stars
9/29/02 Peter Sherlock Very very ordinary 2 stars
8/03/02 Me Not You Freak has one of the funniest reviews I've read. Right on ! 1 stars
6/10/02 Heather Gender reversal of Fatal Attraction, great performance from Diane Lane, weak plot though 4 stars
6/08/02 ownerofdajoint diane lane makes it all worthwhile......say no more..... 5 stars
6/03/02 Poumpus and better than you Well it was just average but the fucking was awesome sometimes 5 stars
5/31/02 Flick Chick a hell of a lot better than "About A Boy" 3 stars
5/25/02 Suzz Predictable; even the sex got boring. 3 stars
5/17/02 Veronica Foxx Eric's right, starts w/interesting premise and does well, but then it just drops the ball. 2 stars
5/15/02 john loved it 4 stars
5/15/02 Film Guy I kinda was like BORED out of my mind 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  10-May-2002 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast