More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.95

Awesome: 12.05%
Worth A Look: 21.69%
Average: 22.89%
Pretty Bad36.14%
Total Crap: 7.23%

6 reviews, 47 user ratings



Unfaithful
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Natasha Theobald

"Oh, the woe!"
2 stars

Most movies are based around circumstances being different for at least one moment in time, leading to the events of the story. This movie is so filled with happenstance, coincidences piled one on top of another into a huge dung-heap, that it loses the viewer after just a couple of turns in the winding road. I couldn't even enjoy the sex, which seemed like it should be fairly enjoyable. The pleasure was all wrapped up in guilt and consequences -- which, I know, was sort of the point.

Connie Sumner (Diane Lane) is a suburban housewife and mother. She makes breakfast in the morning, sends her boys off into the world, and waits at home for them to return. But, on the windiest day ever, she decides she needs to go into the city wearing a billowy skirt for the wind to pick up in order to buy sparkly party crap she probably could have gotten at the dollar store down the road. It doesn't matter, because a lot of the stuff blows away. She is left stranded with no cab, bloody knees, and an open door into the world of Paul's apartment.

Paul Martel (Olivier Martinez) is young, gorgeous, and French. More than that, he's well read. Connie is drawn to him and the apartment, returning more than once to take them both in. She gets caught up in the thrill and terror of her choices and starts to lose a grip on the life she had once known and on herself, as well.

Edward Sumner (Richard Gere), Connie's husband, knows something is awry when she doesn't want to trade scrub-a-dubs in the tub with him. He has her followed and learns her secret. The rest of the movie, then, is how he chooses to respond and the aftermath.

The performances are good, particularly that of Diane Lane, who goes through about 3000 emotions and changes and is able to let them all show. Richard Gere also seems quite human in rage and in pain. Olivier Martinez manages to be a little smarmy and still desirable. It's really hard to hate anyone for their actions, because, for the most part, they seem marginally plausible if not completely ill-advised. Erik Per Sullivan of "Malcolm in the Middle" plays son Charlie. He is cute, which adds to the guilt of what his mommy is doing.

I can't tell if this was meant to be a cautionary tale or an embittered wail against the forces of the universe which conspire against innocent people, weilding the weapon of chance. Either way is a cop-out, I think. Paul says there are no mistakes, that you do what you do. Well, they did.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=5906&reviewer=317
originally posted: 02/18/03 07:33:30
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/22/17 morris campbell interesting well acted film 4 stars
11/20/14 Sharon Moving performance by Gere. Great by Lane. So sad. Makes you think. 5 stars
1/10/14 Michelle calling a child actor "gruesome" makes you lack credibility 1 stars
10/14/11 Paul I cant forget Diane being fucked in the bathroom 3 stars
1/02/10 Gsat No one can get away with adultery... 4 stars
4/11/08 Dogman Diane Lane is HOT HOT HOT...oohhhhh yeah!!! 4 stars
8/28/07 Albert Bayarcal the movie was good but the thruth was denied. 2 stars
6/13/07 al smith diane lane jesus is she so sexy what a body 3 stars
1/28/07 David Pollastrini sexy 3 stars
11/11/06 cody a strong first hour with sexy diane lane and soap opera second half. overall average 3 stars
10/15/06 burim kabashi no coment, very nice movie 1 stars
7/10/06 cyman1000 wonderful, fantastic. Lane is caught in a sexual frenzy, very intense-i understand that. 5 stars
5/07/06 chienne Diane Lane...far remove from Lorena Wood, Richard still wooden, but I like it. 4 stars
8/27/05 ES Is Gere ever in a movie that is not about adultry? M. Douglas and him have similar tastes 1 stars
4/12/05 Ronin not bad 3 stars
3/21/05 Sid Savillo/Novelist/Scriptwriter Stimulating ( to the brain) saga of an obsessive "love" without boundaries beyond marriage 5 stars
2/14/05 MEsw Not bad, not great and Diana Lane turns a fine performance 3 stars
2/01/05 Jeff Anderson This film kicks FATAL ATTRACTION'S ass. Diane Lane is a SEXY, BRILLIANT MARVEL IN THIS!!!!! 5 stars
9/13/04 Jim Adrian Lyne keeps making the same movie, but he does it fairly well. 4 stars
4/09/04 LIAM JACKSON what i wouldn't give to be olivier martinez in that doggy style scene. Lane is hot! 5 stars
1/26/04 me simple and cliched but well cast 3 stars
10/23/03 Goofy Maxwell Last half is a CSI episode w.o. the investigation, ruining a fine first half. 3 stars
10/01/03 TheOthersFan ridiculous.... could be unintentionably passed off as a black comedy 2 stars
8/18/03 Phil M. Aficionado Sommersby's review is right. Plot contrivances and story gaps undo great performances 3 stars
7/09/03 Gil Carlson Better than reviewed here. See this instead of Far From Heaven. 4 stars
5/23/03 bear dude, the sex scenes in this movie r better than playboy! check it out guys, good stuff 1 stars
2/24/03 SGT. TICKLEBELLY fun to see the french guy's head bashed in....the french are all gay. 2 stars
2/10/03 Janell Miller sucks,sucks,suck,sucks major dick 1 stars
2/04/03 Trixie Diane Lane was awesome 4 stars
1/05/03 malcolm death by sno globe 4 stars
12/28/02 Rayna Kuzio I really liked this movie, but not the ending.... 5 stars
12/25/02 Film Dude ...did I see the same movie as everyone else? 4 stars
12/16/02 Laurian Diaconescu If you can't see further than the sex scenes, it's really sad.A great movie.Very realistic. 5 stars
11/29/02 mike smith awesome 5 stars
11/17/02 Tim Taylor Another notch for Adrian Lynne! 4 stars
11/13/02 carl herman Lynne cheats us out of exploring many great results of infidelity; STD, saving the marriage 3 stars
10/03/02 Heidi Ho Suspense succumbs to comedy of coincidence: stuck elevator & auto collision. 3 stars
9/29/02 Peter Sherlock Very very ordinary 2 stars
8/03/02 Me Not You Freak has one of the funniest reviews I've read. Right on ! 1 stars
6/10/02 Heather Gender reversal of Fatal Attraction, great performance from Diane Lane, weak plot though 4 stars
6/08/02 ownerofdajoint diane lane makes it all worthwhile......say no more..... 5 stars
6/03/02 Poumpus and better than you Well it was just average but the fucking was awesome sometimes 5 stars
5/31/02 Flick Chick a hell of a lot better than "About A Boy" 3 stars
5/25/02 Suzz Predictable; even the sex got boring. 3 stars
5/17/02 Veronica Foxx Eric's right, starts w/interesting premise and does well, but then it just drops the ball. 2 stars
5/15/02 john loved it 4 stars
5/15/02 Film Guy I kinda was like BORED out of my mind 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  10-May-2002 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast