More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.08

Awesome45.1%
Worth A Look: 31.37%
Average: 15.69%
Pretty Bad: 1.96%
Total Crap: 5.88%

2 reviews, 39 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Predestination by Jay Seaver

Faults by Jay Seaver

Lucy by Brett Gallman

Kumiko, the Treasure Hunter by Jay Seaver

And So It Goes by Peter Sobczynski

Huntresses, The by Jay Seaver

Fatal Encounter, The by Jay Seaver

No Tears for the Dead by Jay Seaver

In Order of Disappearance by Jay Seaver

Cheatin' by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Frighteners, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by K-Dog

"WAKE UP AMERICA! LOVE THIS FILM."
5 stars

I waited two years for this film, from rumours through script drafts to now....

In my opinion this film is one of the best Comedy Horrors EVER made.. I cannot see one fault.. So lets take it step by step..


1- Acting.. Michael J Fox is Back and better than ever.. Jeffrey Combs is so freaky (It's good to have him back in view again) John Astin is funny as hell. Jake Busey I actually really liked (Which is VERY odd for me) The rest of them all do a fine job.

2- Script.. There is not one bad part of the script.. every line gets the desired response. It is indebted to a few other films for pinching ideas, but this pulls them off so well.

3- FX.. Now for a new Zeland FX house to produce better CGI than Hollywoood? Is that possible..? OF COURSE IS IS YOU TOSSER.
These people care about what they produce. And in this film the FX are a master stroke and in my opinion a key point in cinema to show the best in CGI.

4- Direction.. Peter Jackson is my God of directors.. Nothing I have seen of his has lacked originallity. Everything is directed for respose, and is so inventive. This film is no difference, Peter Jackson has come into view of the US here. He can rival any director. Who on their resume have films like Heavenly Creatures, Bad Taste, Meet the Feebles, Brain Dead, Frightners, and soon Lord of the rings??? NO-ONE. All hail the bearded one. BTW this is the only filmmaker I honestly think is a genius with his art.

5- Music.. Superb.. Superb.. Superb..

6- Sound FX - Now these are exceptional especially on DVD with Dolby Digital 5.1..

To sum up.. WAKE UP AMERICA! LOVE THIS FILM.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=591&reviewer=23
originally posted: 09/03/98 01:37:14
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

8/19/13 David Marsden One of my favourite films.Mixes many genres and creates a thrilling ride! 5 stars
1/13/11 PAUL SHORTT SMART AND ORIGINAL 3 stars
2/21/10 hko Peter Jacksons finest after heavenly creatures 4 stars
1/03/09 Mack Peter Jackson's absolute best! 5 stars
2/03/07 Vip Ebriega If you like The Exorcist and Ghostbusters, you'll love this 4 stars
12/27/06 Agent Sands Itís no In the Bedroom, but it's one of those ones you save for a certain time of year. 3 stars
2/24/06 omar covers kinda misleading but its definitely a great movie 5 stars
1/24/06 JM Synth Not scary (is it meant to be?) not funny, or inventive or that much fun... but not bad 3 stars
12/07/05 casey o'dell the movie kicked ass and jeffrey combs is the man in it. 5 stars
11/29/05 Ralph If you love horror comedy, this is your film. 5 stars
11/24/05 kokoro nobody watched this movie when it was released now these fanboys come out of the closet 1 stars
8/18/05 ES Easy K-dog, dont blow a valve, this movie is good popcorn eating fun 4 stars
11/19/04 Zeus Awesome movie! 5 stars
8/06/04 Anthony G Good movie 5 stars
7/12/04 X Yet another kick-ass movie by Peter Jackson 5 stars
3/24/04 john johnson the grim reaper character:shit scary! 5 stars
3/01/04 Star-Crosser Jackson's best, next to those ring movies. 5 stars
1/22/04 American Slasher Goddess One of the most overlooked big budgeted movies of 1996. 4 stars
10/30/03 R.W. Welch Not a bad plot line really, but excessive FX overwhelm the story. 3 stars
10/24/03 HorrorScribbler Terrific. Great chemistry between Fox and Alvarado. 5 stars
10/20/03 Josh Standlee This is my favorite movie! Seriously, I'm not kidding! 5 stars
8/27/03 Gray cool, touching, weird, disturbing,.... worth seeing 5 stars
3/08/03 Jack Sommersby Underrated and misunderstood. Richly textured and creatively developed. 4 stars
10/17/02 Charles Tatum How can I like this when the cast looks miserable? 3 stars
8/19/02 Jim Best horror/comedy since Ghostbusters, and much stronger on the horror than that one. 5 stars
8/12/02 KMG Could've been good, but instead plot was confusing and weird 3 stars
6/20/02 Film Dude The ending is crap, but the rest is good. 4 stars
2/23/02 Mark Lloyd Wonderful premise, wonderful plot, wonderful acting 5 stars
1/15/02 Andrew Carden Stupid and Dumb Movie With Scary Plot, but A Result That Is Too Funny. 2 stars
12/22/01 mark conway crappppppppp 1 stars
11/20/01 Chris K. Hey, it's from the same dude behind BAD TASTE and BRAINDEAD! How good can it get? 5 stars
9/06/01 Gary Funny and surprisingly suspenseful, but it's too long and the finale's crap. 3 stars
8/08/01 Mr. Hat Cool. 4 stars
6/09/01 Turtle It pays a small homage to Ghostbusters.... Who could turn down a film that does that? 4 stars
7/20/99 Matthew Bartley Perfectly paced,funny and scary 4 stars
7/05/99 Sleeper This filum rocks. 5 stars
10/13/98 philip oh my god it has michael j. fox 1 stars
9/15/98 cheryl_ann peter jackson is the man! 4 stars
8/30/98 Johny Deserves 2.5, I'll round up because Jackson has done much better before 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  19-Jul-1996 (R)
  DVD: 29-Nov-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast