More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 

Overall Rating

Worth A Look: 31.37%
Average: 15.69%
Pretty Bad: 1.96%
Total Crap: 5.88%

2 reviews, 39 user ratings

Latest Reviews

Bound for the Fields, the Mountains, and the Seacoast by Jay Seaver

Trumbo (2015) by Jay Seaver

Creed by Peter Sobczynski

Joseph: King of Dreams by Jaycie

Good Dinosaur, The by Jay Seaver

Good Dinosaur, The by alejandroariera

Victor Frankenstein by Jay Seaver

Exhibition (1975) by Charles Tatum

D2: The Mighty Ducks by Jaycie

By the Sea by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed

Frighteners, The
[] Buy posters from this movie
by K-Dog

5 stars

I waited two years for this film, from rumours through script drafts to now....

In my opinion this film is one of the best Comedy Horrors EVER made.. I cannot see one fault.. So lets take it step by step..

1- Acting.. Michael J Fox is Back and better than ever.. Jeffrey Combs is so freaky (It's good to have him back in view again) John Astin is funny as hell. Jake Busey I actually really liked (Which is VERY odd for me) The rest of them all do a fine job.

2- Script.. There is not one bad part of the script.. every line gets the desired response. It is indebted to a few other films for pinching ideas, but this pulls them off so well.

3- FX.. Now for a new Zeland FX house to produce better CGI than Hollywoood? Is that possible..? OF COURSE IS IS YOU TOSSER.
These people care about what they produce. And in this film the FX are a master stroke and in my opinion a key point in cinema to show the best in CGI.

4- Direction.. Peter Jackson is my God of directors.. Nothing I have seen of his has lacked originallity. Everything is directed for respose, and is so inventive. This film is no difference, Peter Jackson has come into view of the US here. He can rival any director. Who on their resume have films like Heavenly Creatures, Bad Taste, Meet the Feebles, Brain Dead, Frightners, and soon Lord of the rings??? NO-ONE. All hail the bearded one. BTW this is the only filmmaker I honestly think is a genius with his art.

5- Music.. Superb.. Superb.. Superb..

6- Sound FX - Now these are exceptional especially on DVD with Dolby Digital 5.1..


link directly to this review at
originally posted: 09/03/98 01:37:14
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

8/19/13 David Marsden One of my favourite films.Mixes many genres and creates a thrilling ride! 5 stars
2/21/10 hko Peter Jacksons finest after heavenly creatures 4 stars
1/03/09 Mack Peter Jackson's absolute best! 5 stars
2/03/07 Vip Ebriega If you like The Exorcist and Ghostbusters, you'll love this 4 stars
12/27/06 Agent Sands Itís no In the Bedroom, but it's one of those ones you save for a certain time of year. 3 stars
2/24/06 omar covers kinda misleading but its definitely a great movie 5 stars
1/24/06 JM Synth Not scary (is it meant to be?) not funny, or inventive or that much fun... but not bad 3 stars
12/07/05 casey o'dell the movie kicked ass and jeffrey combs is the man in it. 5 stars
11/29/05 Ralph If you love horror comedy, this is your film. 5 stars
11/24/05 kokoro nobody watched this movie when it was released now these fanboys come out of the closet 1 stars
8/18/05 ES Easy K-dog, dont blow a valve, this movie is good popcorn eating fun 4 stars
11/19/04 Zeus Awesome movie! 5 stars
8/06/04 Anthony G Good movie 5 stars
7/12/04 X Yet another kick-ass movie by Peter Jackson 5 stars
3/24/04 john johnson the grim reaper character:shit scary! 5 stars
3/01/04 Star-Crosser Jackson's best, next to those ring movies. 5 stars
1/22/04 American Slasher Goddess One of the most overlooked big budgeted movies of 1996. 4 stars
10/30/03 R.W. Welch Not a bad plot line really, but excessive FX overwhelm the story. 3 stars
10/24/03 HorrorScribbler Terrific. Great chemistry between Fox and Alvarado. 5 stars
10/20/03 Josh Standlee This is my favorite movie! Seriously, I'm not kidding! 5 stars
8/27/03 Gray cool, touching, weird, disturbing,.... worth seeing 5 stars
3/08/03 Jack Sommersby Underrated and misunderstood. Richly textured and creatively developed. 4 stars
10/17/02 Charles Tatum How can I like this when the cast looks miserable? 3 stars
8/19/02 Jim Best horror/comedy since Ghostbusters, and much stronger on the horror than that one. 5 stars
8/12/02 KMG Could've been good, but instead plot was confusing and weird 3 stars
6/20/02 Film Dude The ending is crap, but the rest is good. 4 stars
2/23/02 Mark Lloyd Wonderful premise, wonderful plot, wonderful acting 5 stars
1/15/02 Andrew Carden Stupid and Dumb Movie With Scary Plot, but A Result That Is Too Funny. 2 stars
12/22/01 mark conway crappppppppp 1 stars
11/20/01 Chris K. Hey, it's from the same dude behind BAD TASTE and BRAINDEAD! How good can it get? 5 stars
9/06/01 Gary Funny and surprisingly suspenseful, but it's too long and the finale's crap. 3 stars
8/08/01 Mr. Hat Cool. 4 stars
6/09/01 Turtle It pays a small homage to Ghostbusters.... Who could turn down a film that does that? 4 stars
7/20/99 Matthew Bartley Perfectly paced,funny and scary 4 stars
7/05/99 Sleeper This filum rocks. 5 stars
10/13/98 philip oh my god it has michael j. fox 1 stars
9/15/98 cheryl_ann peter jackson is the man! 4 stars
8/30/98 Johny Deserves 2.5, I'll round up because Jackson has done much better before 3 stars
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:

Discuss this movie in our forum

  19-Jul-1996 (R)
  DVD: 29-Nov-2005



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast