More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.13

Awesome: 15.85%
Worth A Look: 3.66%
Average: 8.54%
Pretty Bad: 21.95%
Total Crap50%

3 reviews, 64 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Her Smell by Peter Sobczynski

Under the Silver Lake by Peter Sobczynski

Chaperone, The (2019) by Jay Seaver

Missing Link by Jay Seaver

Master Z: Ip Man Legacy by Jay Seaver

Hail Satan? by Jay Seaver

Diane by Rob Gonsalves

Spider-Man: Into The Spider-Verse by Rob Gonsalves

Dragged Across Concrete by Rob Gonsalves

Aquaman by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Enough
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Collin Souter

"Here's what happens when you make a movie out of Mad-libs"
2 stars

I think the print I watched of “Enough” may have been defective. The first half of the movie may have been for the guy mastering the DVD, because it had chapter stops acting as cues. Signs such as “Hey,” “How they met,” and “You can run” flashed every now and then, but then half-way through, they stopped. The second half may have been a blooper or outtakes reel, because I found myself laughing more than anything else. With dialogue such as, “You have an ANIMAL right to protect yourself and your child,” they couldn’t possibly be serious. An Animal right!?! The main character works in a greasy diner, what about the animal’s right to not being eaten?

I’m getting off track. Much to my confusion, the print I watched actually turned out to be the right one. “Enough” has many inconsistencies such as the one I mentioned above that the whole affair feels cut and pasted together like a page of Mad-libs. (Let’s see, I need a noun here…How ‘bout ‘Long lost father played by Fred Ward!’ Yeah, that’s hilarious!) In fact, let’s do that. Let’s see how one would describe this movie if one had to insert the right words in a book of Mad-libs, just like when we were kids. OK, here we go:

One upon a time, there lived a (noun, female) waitress in a diner named Slim (Jennifer Lopez). She had friends, one of whom is named (name of annoying person)____Ginny____ (Juliette Lewis). One day, Slim meets a seemingly nice guy named (‘Rocketeer’ guy) ___ Mitch___ (Billy Campbell) who ends up (verb) __marrying__ her. He wins (noun)_____bread____ and they move to the suburbs.

They have a child, (Name, with description) Gracie, more annoying than the Pepsi girl. One day Mitch beats the crap out of Slim because (Convenient reason)she’s a woman and he’s a man. She snags Gracie and gets the hell out of there. She (Plot point that never works)__moves really far away from him__ and tries to start a new life. But Mitch just happens to have (Name, with convenient occupation) ____Joe, a friend who’s a cop__ and he tracks her down, in spite of the fact that the woman and child changed their names to (New name that will be forgotten) ____Erin_______ and (Roaylty) Queen Elizabeth, respectively.

Slim also has (noun, uninteresting character)__a protective and good-looking guardian__(Noah Wiley), who she eventually sleeps with. Once in a financial bind, Slim turns to (Silly name, with laughable plot point) __Jupiter, her long lost father played by Fred Ward__, a hateful and abandoning father who, (Lifetime movie-of-the-week cliché)__out of guilt for not being there for her all these years__, eventually gives her (Only happens in the movies) __enough money to buy a house__.

But Mitch tracks her down and (Gerund verb)_ass-kicking_ and (Plural noun)__car chases_ ensue. Slim, after getting nowhere with lawyers, (Turning point that sets up 3rd act. Make it good!) __ships her child off to live with Juliette Lewis and decides to take up kick-boxing__. She then (verb) breaks into Mitch’s house and proceeds to (verb)__beat the living snot out of him__. The end.


Gee, that was kinda’ fun. Most movies of this kind seem to be written in this way. A couple weeks ago, Adrienne Lyne brought us his “Fatal Attraction” re-make “Unfaithful.” Both movies offer sleaze and moral ambiguity for the sake of a cheap thrill, but at least in “Enough,” somebody gets their ass kicked for doing the wrong thing, where as in “Unfaithful,” the wife gets away with an extra-marital affair with Pepe Le’Pew and the husband gets away with the murder of said Stinky Guy. Neither of them apologizes for their actions and both feel it would be good to grab the kid and high tail it to Mexico. Both movies feel flimsily constructed on a K-Mart assembly line.

The performances in “Enough” are across-the-board ridiculous. Why cast Jay-Lo in a role where the part calls for her to be petite and plain-Jane? The ugliest thing one can say about Jay-Lo is that her yellowish skin tone is starting to resemble the mannequin zombie from “Return of the Living Dead.” How should women in the audience feel when jokes are made about Slim’s looks? She’s Jennifer-frieakin’-Lopez!

Many months ago, I wrote an article about shallow pop stars who have ventured into movie roles only to see their career sink as a result. Jay-Lo may be breaking new ground. Here, we have a once-talented young actress, who ventured into the shallow arena of pop-superstardom, only to have us question her talents as an actress. Furthermore, we must question her abilities to pick good scripts. “The Wedding Planner”!?! “Angel Eyes”!?! Enough, already!!! And how did a movie this inept and laughable get made under the supervision of screenwriter Nicholas Kazan (“Reversal of Fortune”) and the eccentric Michael Apted? Somebody, please, fill in those blanks!

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=5914&reviewer=233
originally posted: 05/27/02 06:49:59
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

1/06/11 Josie Cotton is a goddess Boring, but with a nice final 2 stars
11/03/10 PAUL SHORTT CONTRIVED AND PREDICTABLE 2 stars
5/16/09 Jack Sommersby Odious, overlong and overwrought to the nth degree. 1 stars
8/31/08 Shaun Wallner Awesome storyline! 5 stars
1/28/07 David Pollastrini J. Lo is hot! 3 stars
1/22/07 Bitchflaps EricDSnider's review is myopic and patronising. Does he know anything about spousal abuse? 3 stars
6/17/06 nicolecrom2678 I liked it. JLO kick's some ass at the end! 3 stars
6/15/06 William Goss Oh, boy. J. Lo can kickbox. Life goes on. 2 stars
6/08/06 Ashley Hinz Intense, but forgettable. 4 stars
1/17/06 Anthony Feor Whats next, Jen stars as debbie lane a desperate housewife 3 stars
12/23/05 cody a good supsense drama with jlo, she kicks butt, gives her best perf. ever, go girl 4 stars
10/01/05 corrine handle a touchy subject with great care. 5 stars
9/06/05 R M JOB WELL DONE 5 stars
6/18/05 Spanky Lusious What's bigger JLo's Head or her Ass? 1 stars
5/13/05 Bushra Absolutely the best woman-kicking-man-ass movie after Double Jeopardy! 5 stars
4/15/05 Lauren I loved this movie, i thought it was very entertaining. jlos excellent acting helped 5 stars
3/23/05 clinger26 i am suprised my friend's DVD player didn't spit it out to cut my head in half 1 stars
10/15/04 a robinson this movie was very good 5 stars
10/05/04 Herman van der Meij How stupid can you go? 3 stars
9/27/04 NJ Cup Winner 95-00-03 J Lo, how low can you go? This is a tired, unnecessary flick 1 stars
7/02/04 Jack Murder Is Murder regardless of how pur your motives are, but the writers here are stupid 1 stars
3/19/04 Chris A good film...for me to POOP on! 1 stars
2/14/04 Dan Lipsky This movie is total garbage.the plot and characters are totally unbelievable. 1 stars
1/13/04 Helius No "this is ENOUGH" pun from me. I'll just say it sucks like a Hoover in a black hole. 1 stars
1/06/04 beautie the worst movie i ever saw!!!! did i say total crappp??? 1 stars
9/18/03 Jake Great film! 5 stars
7/21/03 Amelia absolutely excellent film. Really touching and dramatic. My fave film and i reccomend it! 5 stars
5/19/03 Goofy Maxwell More brutal than going a round w/ Slim's kickboxing guru...No mas, no mas. 1 stars
5/08/03 Chassidy yancy It was a great movie to me. 5 stars
4/22/03 mr. Pink Unbelievably hilarious. The plot and acting are one of the most unconvincing ever. 1 stars
4/10/03 Natalie Stonecipher If Ashley Judd had a heart, she'd eat it out being out-ballbusted like this! 1 stars
3/18/03 Shadaan Felfeli The first 10 minutes were more than enough. 2 stars
3/02/03 Micky O'Neal 1 stars
1/27/03 Dani O. I'd rather be skinned alive and dunked in a tub of vinegar than hear J-Loathe's name again. 1 stars
11/23/02 Amy Fast foward to the last fifteen minutes and save brain cells 2 stars
11/20/02 ScrewBeeDoo Women are too weak! They need movies like these to fullfill their male bashing fantasies! 1 stars
11/14/02 Seth Can we say 'Lifetime movie" this shoulda been free. 1 stars
11/13/02 Andrew Carden Silly, but Intriguing and Action-Packed Fun 4 stars
11/06/02 JiniRose GREAT! Women can learn NOT to be victims! The Husband needed a good Ass Kicking! 5 stars
10/07/02 TheOthersFan Utterly unfounded pop-feminism plot line, but J.Lo makes it an oddly entertaining romp. 3 stars
8/28/02 Natalie Stonecipher If Ashley Judd had a heart, she'd eat it out being out-ballbusted like this! 1 stars
7/18/02 kitt4film@hotmail.com I resent the idea that any woman would find this film good!!! 1 stars
6/25/02 Rhesus Yes, I am a male sexist pig. I would chew on J-Lo's ass all night RUFF RUFF RUFF!! 1 stars
6/22/02 Kever booooooooooo 1 stars
6/17/02 Mikeyboy I truly enjoyed this movie, see it for yourself and never mind the bad reviews, they're off 5 stars
6/15/02 Snoop-dummy dog This movie was a waste of $$. Last J-Lo movie I will EVER see 2 stars
6/08/02 ownerofdajoint if you like jennifer lopez go see this flick/my eyes were riveted to her beautiful selfe 5 stars
6/02/02 stud AWSOME 5 stars
6/02/02 Chris Lopez makes this film a paronid guilty pleasure. 3 stars
6/01/02 SaveMe! shockingly stupid and offensive, anybody caught cheering in the end should be deported 1 stars
5/31/02 Janine Lay so fucking stupid, what did she become, a ninja? 1 stars
5/31/02 Shelley Smith I think the titile says it all: ENOUGH with the J-Lo. Utter Crap!!! 1 stars
5/30/02 Dr Laura Is A Bitch (Doo dah, doo dah...) I had ENOUGH after ten minutes. 1 stars
5/30/02 Caiphn What was I thinking ... 1 stars
5/29/02 Todd Bitch can't sing, bitch can't act, I want my fucking money back! 1 stars
5/29/02 The Great Garbonzo Yay... another "men are all fucking pigs" flic. God I hate Hollywood. 1 stars
5/28/02 The Bomb 69 Her ass looks great but when she opens her mouth I want to shove an apple in 1 stars
5/27/02 Kyle I don't care if Jennifer Lopez is hot. She needs to be seriously injured. 1 stars
5/25/02 Danielle Ophelia You can see the same damn thing on Lifetime. Every day. For FREE. 1 stars
5/25/02 Darth Sidious Her ass emotes better than she does, mayunh. 1 stars
5/25/02 Veronica Foxx Calling Lopez Slim is like calling Roger Ebert ,Stick. Only thing slim is the plot! Sucks! 1 stars
5/25/02 Matt Makowka Just say, "J to the N-O!" 1 stars
5/24/02 Joe Deblow J'ho's ego is just as big as her collasol ass, and reeks just as bad. 1 stars
5/16/02 Allison Lafferty Jennifer, you were great in WEDDING PLANNER. Quit trying to be another Ashley Judd! 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  24-May-2002 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  17-Oct-2002


Directed by
  Michael Apted

Written by
  Nicholas Kazan

Cast
  Jennifer Lopez
  Bill Campbell
  Dan Futterman
  Juliette Lewis
  Fred Ward
  Noah Wyle



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast