More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.49

Awesome: 29.23%
Worth A Look36.92%
Average: 6.15%
Pretty Bad: 9.23%
Total Crap: 18.46%

4 reviews, 41 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Spirit: Stallion of the Cimarron
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Greg Muskewitz

"Gaining no ground against Disney."
1 stars

A DreamWorks entry into the animation division to compete against Disneyís over-extended reign.

While a movie such a Shrek (DreamWorks also) surely gains some extra ground in its scathing parody and in-jokes of Disney-related characters and paraphenilia, had the references been omitted for strictly made-up replacements, the movie was still a clever, inventive comedy that didnít find itself limited to the enjoyment of children. Spirit could hardly been seen as competition; not only is it restrained to a very youthful crowd, based on itís lack of excitement and simplicity of story, but any kid who can begin to follow the coherency of a motion picture would be bored by this movieís restrictive participation. Itís a would-be western about a wild horse ó who doesnít speak ó that is first captured by the evil white man, and then borrowed by the good Indian. Aside from the abecedarian artwork, falling along the lines of an under-budgeted TV cartoon, the exiguous story that is offered is likely in most cases to be rejected and returned.

With the voice of Matt Damon.

[Not to be bothered with.]

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=5916&reviewer=172
originally posted: 12/21/03 15:07:52
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/19/15 WALTER The best animated film since The Lion King. 5 stars
8/04/12 Brittany Davis This animated movie lands squarely in the "strictly for kids" animated film 2 stars
11/19/07 Tiffany Losco I loved it. Great 5 stars
2/17/07 Tomara Cook I love it soo soo much it rocks 5 stars
12/17/06 David Cohen Dull and overly enamored with its own pretennsions 2 stars
3/12/06 Shaun Wallner Good Movie 3 stars
6/06/05 Kieran One of the greatest movies ever made. Bryan Adams soundtrack was special. Spirit rules. 5 stars
11/24/04 Ashley I love it 5 stars
9/21/04 Helen Bradley Brilliant 5 stars
8/14/04 N.P.D. Technically good. But has a lack of character and plot is cliched. Only for kids (girls). 2 stars
7/14/04 amit show animation 5 stars
6/22/04 horse crazed gurl if they wanted the movie to be more real they wouldn't have spirit lap up water like a dog 4 stars
6/01/04 Sean Scanlan Well 3 stars
5/14/04 derfroy best animatiom ever, gripping story with music to tell the tail of a horse!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
4/25/04 Carla cartoons arent always boring and kid-y, this was good 5 stars
4/11/04 Wildcarde1 i dont really like cartoons but was pleasantly surprised 4 stars
2/21/04 Denise Duspiva Good 4 stars
2/09/04 kay kay i tough it was the best 5 stars
1/20/04 Crystal One of the BEST movies 5 stars
1/16/04 Sana it was a really great movie with a great moral that some ppl are too shallow to see. 5 stars
12/23/03 Chris It was terrfic to see a film define the genre but it got boring after a while. 3 stars
11/24/03 Sihuhe Everybody who don't like this film is stupid. This film is amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
8/30/03 Briana Dunne I totally am in LOVE with this movie, every horse lover needs to see it! It's awsome! 5 stars
8/30/03 Kristin C. this movie rocks. im 13 and love it. it makes me feel spirited, and it's soudtrack rocks 5 stars
7/30/03 Jon Lyrik Annoyingly PC, overused 3D animation, terrible music, flatly written, dull. 2 stars
7/08/03 Alice Very nice. 4 stars
6/06/03 Gray not ONE of the soldiers was an ok guy?!! BS! 1 stars
4/19/03 Ubu the Ripper Even my kids hated this mindless excuse to squander talent. 1 stars
10/14/02 Katharina Merkel Spirit is a great movie which is touching and funny at one time! You'll love it!!! :) 5 stars
9/26/02 Charlotte McSweeney Spirit is fantastic 5 stars
9/08/02 Carla Metzger So squeakily politically correct, even horse-lovers should revolt! 1 stars
9/06/02 Priscilla Postlethwaite So politically correct that title character has to fart out wrong end; 1 stars
8/15/02 Gary Woodhouse Kids loved it, nice mix of animation & CGI. You get involved with characters, I even cried! 4 stars
7/09/02 orpy naaaaayyyyyy, whiiinnnnyyyyy 3 stars
6/25/02 Black Beauty Drivel - Bryan Adams is Elton John 1 stars
6/14/02 spaceworm I dunno, that soaring eagle looked like a comic sidekick to me... 4 stars
5/28/02 devon White I agree with Vidmar for once. Enough is enough 1 stars
5/27/02 Alex Furrow beautiful animation with bland songs and a boring, uninspired and predictable story. 2 stars
5/25/02 J I'm suprisingly going with Bob Atkins on this one. 5 stars
5/24/02 Bob Atkins beautiful American grandeur 5 stars
5/23/02 Veronica Foxx I detest those fourlegged creations of Satan. All that naying & shit got f'n annoying fast 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  24-May-2002

UK
  N/A

Australia
  20-Jun-2002


Directed by
  Kelly Asbury

Written by
  John Fusco

Cast
  Matt Damon
  Bryan Adams
  James Cromwell
  Daniel Studi



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast