More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.37

Awesome: 8.06%
Worth A Look: 17.74%
Average: 17.74%
Pretty Bad: 16.13%
Total Crap40.32%

3 reviews, 44 user ratings



Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Greg Muskewitz

"Lock those secrets, and this movie, away forever!"
1 stars

A high-falouting chick-flick, one of those kinds neither for “chicks” or anyone else, about a young playwright’s lifetime of misery from her screw-loose, alcoholic mother.

The writer, Sandra Bullock, has an article published featuring her, which misrepresents what she meant about her kooky mom, Ellen Burstyn, who of course reads the magazine and goes to such lengths as to cut her daughter out of all the family pictures and take her out of her will. It’s up to Burstyn’s cronies, a trio of biddies who randomly call out “ya-ya,” to shanghai Bullock from New York to Louisiana by giving her a roofie and revealing their “divine secrets.” In other words, suffering through series after series of flashbacks, anecdotes and explanations. It ranges from excessive sentimentalism to gaudy sensationalism to inexcusable mawkishness. And the actresses, no matter what level they usually belong at, are embarrassing enough to lock away in the basement.

Directed by Callie Khouri. With Maggie Smith, Jack Garner, Ashley Judd and Fiona Flanagan.

[Not to be bothered with.]

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=5933&reviewer=172
originally posted: 12/20/03 15:43:16
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

3/17/15 Lynn Honest, full-fledged exploration of parental relationships; Ashley Judd was outstanding. 5 stars
6/06/10 Monday Morning A small step for chick, a giant leap for chickflickdom. 3 stars
1/09/10 Tbone Great Movie. Layered, interesting, love the idea of looking back & learning about people 4 stars
7/26/09 the dork knight The one movie Judd failed to utterly destroy. Of course, she's only in flashbacks. 3 stars
1/28/09 PAUL SHORTT A PLEASANT BUT LESS THAN SATISFYING BIG-SCREEN EXPERIENCE 3 stars
7/06/07 mb Didn't hold me. 2 stars
1/16/07 Meredith Harshaw How does this cast rate even a notice?? 1 stars
9/23/05 Cheryl Mayfield Pretty crappy, but seeing Ashley Judd step in doodoo was worth it. 2 stars
8/24/05 ES My girl loved steel magnolias, terms of endearment and hated this thing= there you go 1 stars
12/27/04 d c Southern 'chick flick' balderdash of the highest order 2 stars
6/01/04 Henrieke Grift It was a good movie... a little on the long side 4 stars
5/07/04 Ross Waste of time 1 stars
2/21/04 Denise Duspiva Typical 3 stars
8/25/03 Eileen Apperson Ashley Judd step in doodoo? Yuck! Hope it wasn't mine! Don't want MY doo doo so polluted! 2 stars
8/19/03 Slobodan Milosevic Wow! Secrets of EGGS sisterhood? Nice eggs! Happy Easter! Vrlo dobro! 1 stars
8/17/03 Consuela Sanchez Ya! Ya hemos visto toda esta mierda! 1 stars
8/17/03 Iris Dementia Praecox Sorry to disillusion you Cheryl, but I'm sure they didn't use real doodoo in filming it. 1 stars
8/15/03 Cheryl Mayfield Pretty crappy, but seeing Ashley Judd step in doodoo was worth it. 2 stars
8/06/03 Bruce Clayton The movie from start to finish is flawed. 1 stars
8/06/03 SEXY MAN MAMA SISTER OF YA-YA Sisterhood-Pick up, Ya-Ya - Mana, Divine-Heatlh 1 stars
7/17/03 Terrance Rogers It was dramatic but it was real good 5 stars
6/26/03 cochese The name annoyed me so much I couldn't watch it. 1 stars
6/25/03 Goofy Maxwell Poor script & direction...bad accents & acting...a weak adaptation. 2 stars
6/22/03 Lord Help Me Highly Irritating from opening reel to closing credits. I hope the producers lost money. 1 stars
4/26/03 Slobodan Milosevic Wow! Secrets of EGGS sisterhood? Nice eggs! Happy Easter! Vrlo dobro! 1 stars
12/29/02 Flick Chick KAH-KAH! 2 stars
12/23/02 Iris Dementia Praecox Sorry to disillusion you Cheryl, but I'm sure they didn't use real doodoo in filming it. 1 stars
11/13/02 Andrew Carden Other Melodramatic Film, Has A Great Cast and Oscar-Calibur Screenplay 4 stars
11/06/02 Consuela Sanchez Ya! Ya he visto toda esta mierda! 1 stars
10/11/02 Cheryl Mayfield Pretty crappy, but seeing Ashley Judd step in doodoo was worth it. 2 stars
9/13/02 Priscilla Postlethwaite Total disconnect between potentially moving (if unlikely) story and title voodoo. 3 stars
8/28/02 The Chronic Mastubator (ha30s247.d.shentel.net) Is there an actress more annoying than Judd? All chick flicks like this should be outlawed. 1 stars
7/27/02 Peter Brook I went to see this movie all by myself, no girls attached, and actually enjoyed it 4 stars
7/26/02 Jake Obnoxious Chick Flick! 1 stars
7/11/02 Kristen YAYA!!! 5 stars
7/09/02 Janine Lay not enough development into why the mother had a nervous breakdown! 2 stars
6/22/02 gunter yes, this is THE chick movie we've all been fearing 1 stars
6/21/02 Gary Vidmar Ya Ya Ya. Ya, I love dis movie mon. Ya Ya Ya. I am a loser 5 stars
6/14/02 spaceworm What?! I'll have "Pretty Crappy" all to myself? Done! 2 stars
6/12/02 me awesome! 5 stars
6/10/02 poetchuck Touching drama with some good one liners 4 stars
6/09/02 The Chronic Mastubator Is there an actress more annoying than Judd? All chick flicks like this should be outlawed. 1 stars
6/09/02 Todd Proof that the Antichrist is alive, and owns a movie studio in Hollywood. 1 stars
6/05/02 Wendy Mead If anything divine can come from this cast and director, I'll eat my shit! 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  07-Jun-2002 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  22-Aug-2002




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast