More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.67

Awesome: 28.57%
Worth A Look33.33%
Average: 21.43%
Pretty Bad: 9.52%
Total Crap: 7.14%

2 reviews, 30 user ratings



Hunchback of Notre Dame, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"It's 3 stars, bordering on 4."
3 stars

It's a bit of a toss-up.

On the one hand, it's beautifully animated. The character of Esmerelda is probably the most sensuous looking cartoon since Jessica Rabbit, and the backgrounds are stunningly detailed. The crowd scenes (almost entirely computer generated) are huge and surprisingly well done. The voice work is fine her, though unremarkable. Demi Moore is actually all right as Esmerelda.

On the other hand, the story is weak. Quasimodo has been reduced to goofy looking, rather than the horribly disfigured character he was in the novel, and Judge Frollo (a priest - or some other religious character - in the book, as I recall) is so inherently evil that he terrifies the younger children more than a hunchback ever could. What's more, there's *4* characters that are eclusively comic relief: 3 talking gargoyles and a goat (which sounds like the name of a bad movie itself). The songs are unmemorable.

So this one's up in the air. It's pretty evenly balanced among goods and bads, so this is something you're going to have to make a decision on. Far less boring than Pocahontas, but lacking the grand scale of The Lion King. More exquisitely animated than Hercules, but lacking the focus of Beauty And The Beast.

If you're an animation fan, see it. If you don't want to see a classic of literature reduced to a musical, skip it.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=596&reviewer=7
originally posted: 09/10/98 01:59:49
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/22/15 WALTER THE BEST DISNEY FEATURE SINCE CINDERELLA AND SLEEPING BEAUTY. 5 stars
8/13/15 Hope Suprisingly dark. Beautiful animation and music 5 stars
10/20/11 Magic So nearly a masterpiece. So nearly the best 90's Disney movie. BUT THE GARGOYLES. GAH. 4 stars
2/20/11 Zach The soundtrack from Alan Menken/Steven Schwartz is heaven to listen to. A Disney Classic. 5 stars
4/30/09 Dominic THE HUNCHBACK OF NOTRE DAME is the best Disney film since CINDERELLA and SLEEPING BEAUTY. 5 stars
1/10/09 Bethany Cox One of the best disney films of the 1990s. Esmeralda pretty. Frollo best character in movi 5 stars
4/01/08 Quigley One of Disney's better recent films. Deserves to become an animated classic. 5 stars
12/11/07 SamanthaP the story is very dark, and so is the song about her burning in hell, WTF? but i love it!!! 5 stars
9/03/06 Dragon The Artist One of my favorite,childhood memories & films; the sh*t to own!!!! 5 stars
7/18/06 David Cohen Disney has done much worse 3 stars
6/20/06 Herculade Primary showpiece of traditional animation at its best. Dark and involving story keeps drw 4 stars
8/30/05 ES All I can say is that those are some damn fast archers (see when they jump off bridge) 4 stars
2/18/04 john the animation is good but the film is strangely univolving 2 stars
9/05/03 Booya That Frollo guy is twisted......it turns me on..... 5 stars
4/19/03 Ubu the Ripper Fascinating only in its accurate portrayal of greedy, immoral clergymen. 2 stars
10/18/01 Andrew Carden A Very Very Exciting and Well Animated and Created Movie, That Is At A Great Length. 5 stars
9/09/01 Butterbean Disney took a grim novel and made it into a heart warming movie. I liked it 4 stars
5/03/01 Gracy Lionheart Ugh...why? Love my book...butchered by movie...ugh. 2 stars
4/09/01 Gary This is my second favorite Disney movie of all times. KILL FROLLO! 5 stars
2/14/01 Richard Wright A good script and decent animation elevate this above the usual Disney fare. 4 stars
11/24/00 The Evil Penguin This should be kept in the attic for good 1 stars
11/04/00 Jed Not a bad disney film at all. Though it isn't uncommon disney stuff. 4 stars
10/27/00 viking The animation is nice to look at but the songs are forgettable !!! 3 stars
9/06/99 Weird Andy The Laughton and Chaney versions ride roughshod over this abortion. Read the book. 1 stars
7/22/99 Isis Dark, gothic, wonderful ... ! But are with young children (a little bit too terrifying) ! 4 stars
12/13/98 Carl Grand! Majestic! One of Disney's best animated films! 5 stars
11/30/98 MR HOLLYWOOD !! Too dark for kids....great for everyone else,bit too musical though in an unoriginal way. 4 stars
10/29/98 Silent Rob It takes place in France...need we say more? 3 stars
10/18/98 Kwyjibo Can't credit this film with anything other thanmaking my baby niece hide behind the sofa 1 stars
9/29/98 katherine Read the book. all the disney cartoons r the same. 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  28-Jun-1996

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A


Directed by
  Gary Trousdale
  Kirk Wise

Written by
  Victor Hugo
  Irene Mecchi
  Tab Murphy

Cast
  Tom Hulce
  Demi Moore
  Tony Jay
  Kevin Kline
  Paul Kandel
  Jason Alexander



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast