More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.81

Awesome32.1%
Worth A Look: 28.4%
Average32.1%
Pretty Bad: 3.7%
Total Crap: 3.7%

9 reviews, 27 user ratings



Your Friends & Neighbors
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by davebo

"'Oh, you're an artist?'"
3 stars

If you haven't had sex yet, this movie isn't gonna be much inspiration.

okay, i agree that Jason Patric was pretty darn good and all, but i found this movie to be boring and somewhat uninspired. blah blah relationships blah blah emotional trauma. haven't we seen this all before? the only thing that really struck me as cool was Apocalyptica's cover of Enter Sandman, <PLUG>Go pick up "Plays Metallica" and "Inquisition Symphony" at your local store or the net</PLUG> my girlfriend wanted to see this one with me cause the ads made it looks so funny and interesting, anyway we didn't get the chance and i'm kinda glad, she'd probably just have broken up with me :P

Just rent something more uplifting, like Schindler's List :P

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=60&reviewer=30
originally posted: 09/17/98 02:16:30
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

7/05/14 Dane Youssef LaBute one again shows us just how far we've yet to go. Why does he do it? Because we do. 4 stars
8/17/06 William Goss Has moments, but tries too hard at times (read: Patric) to be harsh and cruel to no end. 3 stars
10/05/00 Spetters Patric, all is forgiven. Even Speed 2. 5 stars
5/12/00 Judy Terrible. Poorly written. No protagonist, no climax, nothing happens. And repulsive. 2 stars
10/14/99 johnny bluejeans the coldness in YF&N made "in the company of men" look like the teletubbies. 5 stars
10/12/99 Frank McKeithan Most hilarious thing I've seen since "Mommy Dearest" - sets a new standard for camp! 5 stars
10/07/99 Frank Curigliano I don't think anyone writes assholes quite like director La Bute. Good stuff. 4 stars
8/13/99 T McN One of the worst. A waste of their celluloid and our time. 1 stars
7/26/99 Suzanne I loved it and wanted to kick the people who walked out! 5 stars
4/09/99 Randall Labute knows how to capture the side of man and woman which is never shown in film 5 stars
10/27/98 Silent Rob Another man-hating triumph by LaBute.You may need some years under belt for the full impact 5 stars
10/26/98 me i have never before actually walked out on a movie. ever. this time i did. 1 stars
10/21/98 PirateGirl Sketchy characters at best, no new insights, boring. Unless you REALLY love Ben Stiller. 2 stars
10/17/98 Mr Showbiz LaBute strikes again with a more irresistibly entertaining black comedy. 5 stars
10/13/98 grunter Brilliant chunks 'o dialogue -- Patric's "l'il Timmy" monologue worth admission alone 5 stars
9/29/98 Marty in St.Louis with the exception of one out of place Jason P. scene, the film rules. 5 stars
9/21/98 Negative Creep I walked out of this film 1 stars
9/16/98 Christian Remde Dark, Twisted...like coffee at Starbucks 4 stars
9/15/98 Gamma *clap* *clap* *clap* *clap* *clap* nuff said. 5 stars
9/14/98 Chip Taylor Anything with Ben Stiller is king.Come on, he directed Jim Carrey's best,"The Cable Guy". 5 stars
9/13/98 Miss Stress well, there was one funny part to this movie. one. 2 stars
9/12/98 shamus D St Clair great movie, took my significant other with me and we had sex anyway :) 5 stars
9/09/98 Badass Brilliant. 5 stars
9/08/98 Young Einstein Really enjoyed this movie. LaBute is a comer. 5 stars
8/25/98 Kimberly Jason Patric is great. 3 stars
8/25/98 Johny solid sophmore effort for LaBute 4 stars
8/22/98 Mister Whoopee Can the fact that this is good make up for Jason Patric? Speed 2 lives long, bitch. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  19-Aug-1998 (R)
  DVD: 24-Aug-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Jul-1999 (R)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast