More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.81

Awesome32.1%
Worth A Look: 28.4%
Average32.1%
Pretty Bad: 3.7%
Total Crap: 3.7%

9 reviews, 27 user ratings


Latest Reviews

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

Almost Coming, Almost Dying by Jay Seaver

Blade Runner 2049 by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Your Friends & Neighbors
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by FrankG

"Is it me?"
4 stars

Let me just say that Neil LaBute is fucked up... and I love him for it.

Some of the stuff that is written (and I hope not experienced) and put into this movie is just really fucked up. Mr. LaBute must be a complete freako, or can at least realate to one.

The story follows, mainly, Ben "There's Something about Mary, MTV Music Awards" Stiller and Aaron "I look nothing like myself from 'In the Company of Men'" Eckhart. They are best friends, and are each suffering from relational strife caused by their inability to give a good rompping.

And then... there's Jason Patric, who plays Cary. And Cary is the reason why I say Neil LaBute is one dirty boy. If you thought Aaron Eckart's 'Barry' was one knaving bastard, then Cary was his daddy and taught him a little of what he knows. Jason Patric's performance is the highlight of the movie. Its work getting through the couple of slow moving points just to see his work. I would love to see LaBute make another asshole character in the future just so Patric can play it. Hey... there's nothing wrong with a little type-casting.

Oh and one more thing... Ben Stiller is ugly. I never thought so before. I'm a big fan of his and everything, but in this movie he is just plain ugly. And he's having sex while being ugly, so that doesn't help matters. But Jason Patric is a hunk (not a personal opinion, just a fact). So, he makes up for it... if you care about such things.

All in all, good to great performances all around. The quintessential "do not take your significant other to this movie" movie. Trust me. You'll never have sex again.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=60&reviewer=4
originally posted: 09/11/98 05:04:37
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

7/05/14 Dane Youssef LaBute one again shows us just how far we've yet to go. Why does he do it? Because we do. 4 stars
8/17/06 William Goss Has moments, but tries too hard at times (read: Patric) to be harsh and cruel to no end. 3 stars
10/05/00 Spetters Patric, all is forgiven. Even Speed 2. 5 stars
5/12/00 Judy Terrible. Poorly written. No protagonist, no climax, nothing happens. And repulsive. 2 stars
10/14/99 johnny bluejeans the coldness in YF&N made "in the company of men" look like the teletubbies. 5 stars
10/12/99 Frank McKeithan Most hilarious thing I've seen since "Mommy Dearest" - sets a new standard for camp! 5 stars
10/07/99 Frank Curigliano I don't think anyone writes assholes quite like director La Bute. Good stuff. 4 stars
8/13/99 T McN One of the worst. A waste of their celluloid and our time. 1 stars
7/26/99 Suzanne I loved it and wanted to kick the people who walked out! 5 stars
4/09/99 Randall Labute knows how to capture the side of man and woman which is never shown in film 5 stars
10/27/98 Silent Rob Another man-hating triumph by LaBute.You may need some years under belt for the full impact 5 stars
10/26/98 me i have never before actually walked out on a movie. ever. this time i did. 1 stars
10/21/98 PirateGirl Sketchy characters at best, no new insights, boring. Unless you REALLY love Ben Stiller. 2 stars
10/17/98 Mr Showbiz LaBute strikes again with a more irresistibly entertaining black comedy. 5 stars
10/13/98 grunter Brilliant chunks 'o dialogue -- Patric's "l'il Timmy" monologue worth admission alone 5 stars
9/29/98 Marty in St.Louis with the exception of one out of place Jason P. scene, the film rules. 5 stars
9/21/98 Negative Creep I walked out of this film 1 stars
9/16/98 Christian Remde Dark, Twisted...like coffee at Starbucks 4 stars
9/15/98 Gamma *clap* *clap* *clap* *clap* *clap* nuff said. 5 stars
9/14/98 Chip Taylor Anything with Ben Stiller is king.Come on, he directed Jim Carrey's best,"The Cable Guy". 5 stars
9/13/98 Miss Stress well, there was one funny part to this movie. one. 2 stars
9/12/98 shamus D St Clair great movie, took my significant other with me and we had sex anyway :) 5 stars
9/09/98 Badass Brilliant. 5 stars
9/08/98 Young Einstein Really enjoyed this movie. LaBute is a comer. 5 stars
8/25/98 Kimberly Jason Patric is great. 3 stars
8/25/98 Johny solid sophmore effort for LaBute 4 stars
8/22/98 Mister Whoopee Can the fact that this is good make up for Jason Patric? Speed 2 lives long, bitch. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  19-Aug-1998 (R)
  DVD: 24-Aug-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Jul-1999 (R)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast