More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.51

Awesome30.36%
Worth A Look: 27.68%
Average: 16.96%
Pretty Bad: 12.5%
Total Crap: 12.5%

5 reviews, 82 user ratings



Cable Guy, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by the Grinch

"America just wasn't ready for this movie."
5 stars

I have to profess something. I love Ben Stiller. And I love Ben Stiller's seemingly ordinary, but profoundly twisted sense of humor. And this movie has Ben Stiller written all over it. I almost gave this 4 stars, but I knew deep down that I would've been holding back!

For those of you who, like me, religiously watched the brilliant "Ben Stiller Show" during all ONE of its seasons, I don't have to tell you that this movie was like a 'Fuck You Fox Network!' reunion. All the principle people from the Ben Stiller Show were present, taking their patented jabs at contemporary America. I can only guess that much like Stiller's much-admired/short-lived variety show, The Cable Guy went over the public's head like Bill Shatner's toupe in a wind tunnel.

I don't know, maybe people wanted the over-the-top Carey they knew from the Mask and Ace Ventura? Maybe they expected Dumb and Dumber, Too? Whatever the case, The Cable Guy roasts America's love affair with television with the gusto that only Stiller can deliver.

Carey proved with The Cable Guy that he could play a satirical but more subdued character. There was more than one occasion where he could've absolutely flown the coop ala Liar, Liar but instead opted to play the role of "Chip Douglas" with compassion, energy, and humor...and alot of desperation. Matthew Broderick is perfectly vanilla as his clueless target for affection, Steven. Also welcome are cameos by Janeane Garofalo, Bob Odenkirk and David Cross (from the sickly funny 'Mr. Show'), Andy Dick, Ben Stiller himself, and Eric Roberts (!).

Part of the brilliance in the movie is in the script. The sequences involving Chip and Steven's interactions could've been culled directly from a primetime sitcom. It's not all dark though...the satirical scenes where Carey's character starts humming along with the movie's soundtrack are a simple device...and yet hilariously funny. All of the pop culture references that Chip pulls out of his head to relate to Steven are simply overwhelming...everything from those "you've got...dandruff!" commercials to 'Reality Based' tv programs. You really have to watch this movie more than a couple of times to catch everything.

The source of the sadness and dark overtones are inherent in Carey's character. His whole identity and personal codes of conduct come entirely from television. "Chip" is an observer instead of an active participant in life. He must live vicariously through the lives of others (whether on t.v. or in real life) and this is the source of his frightening psychosis.
This isn't to say that the entire movie is creepy or a bummer...on the contrary, Chip's cartoonshly ludicrous torment of the straight-laced Steven is the source of many of the film's most inspired comedic moments.

If you aren't an American, then (understandably) the humor might not connect with you as much. But horrifyingly enough, this movie hit very close to home. Anyone who has noticed the effect television has had on the way we interact will realize how on the mark The Cable Guy was. A bit ahead of its time, and sure to end up a cult classic.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=600&reviewer=156
originally posted: 04/13/00 13:47:35
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

7/12/12 EARL Hilarious and strange. Best Carrey performance.So talented. 4 stars
3/03/11 chris c A dark comedy with a slight satire on TV somewhat buried by Carrey's performance 4 stars
8/31/10 art I THINK the "CABLE GUY" WAS a WACKO who escaped from a LONNy-BIN! 1 stars
8/09/10 Cable Guy Best Jim Carrey Movie EVER!!! Awesome! So underrated. 5 stars
7/17/10 art A CREEPY FILM ABOUT a NUTCASE!,who need that? 1 stars
7/07/10 Really? This is one of the worst movies ever. There's nothing funny about it. 1 stars
12/29/09 Dane Youssef Carrey turns towards the dark side. Starts out kind of fun, then takes a U-turn. 4 stars
9/08/09 pat Definitly makes you cringe a little, but in a good way 4 stars
8/29/09 Julian So underrated - very funny - Jim at his best 5 stars
6/28/09 Dr Music Very good movie. Good performance from Jim as well as from Jack Black. 5 stars
2/16/07 Vip Ebriega Crude and funny. 3 stars
1/22/07 David A. It stank. They didn't let Jim Carrey do his brand of humor. 1 stars
9/25/06 David Pollastrini boring, dull, etc. 2 stars
7/19/06 Anthony Feor Boring flick with Jim Carrey 1 stars
3/28/06 Brian Meyer It gets a bad rep, but it truely is a damn funny movie! 4 stars
12/22/05 WISEMAN This is definatly better than Liar liar, Smart plot, "WERE PLAYING PRISON RULES NOW!" 5 stars
11/17/05 Amanda Fletcher this movie is really good 4 stars
9/07/05 ALDO Jim Carrey, Owen Wilson, and Jack Black when they didn't have to be over the top 5 stars
8/30/05 ES Some ok parts, a few mild laughs, not the Jimmy we loved from Ace Ventura or Dumb & Dumber 3 stars
8/06/05 Zack VERY UNDERRATED 5 stars
2/10/05 Jeff Anderson If I were as dumb & moronic as Broderick's character in this film, I WOULDN'T EVER SURVIVE! 1 stars
12/03/04 Emilo estivez you guys suck 1 stars
9/04/04 T.B. A crazy cable guy! 4 stars
8/03/04 Anthony G eh 3 stars
5/01/04 Adam Forget Liar Liar...This is Jim Carrey at his best! 5 stars
3/22/04 Elena This is one of the most hilarious movies I have ever seen. So bad but so FUNNY. 5 stars
3/18/04 Umbrella Corporation. Jim Carrey's finest hour... !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
3/01/04 Kev If you love it, you don't get it... it sucks. 2 stars
11/24/03 Samuel In the words of Brian Curran "If you don't love it, you don't get it." 5 stars
8/21/03 Lucifer If you didn't love this movie, it wasn't made for you. 5 stars
6/22/03 InDenZ dull, boring ,who cares 1 stars
4/15/03 Melissa Jim Carrey is truly THE Comedic God and it comes so naturally it's scary. Major props! 4 stars
4/04/03 Jack Sommersby That rare tolerable Carrey film. 3 stars
3/17/03 Peter This movie was an exception(along with the Truman show). It's chilling(but funny)... 5 stars
12/26/02 Brian Curran If you don't love it, you don't get it. 5 stars
10/16/02 Charles Tatum As bland as the Oxygen Channel 3 stars
7/27/02 sdjfsdkjf there's good weird and there's plain fucking bad weird. This film is the latter. 1 stars
6/04/02 David A. Carrey's comic genius is too great to waste on this weird, offbeat dud! It wasn't funny. 2 stars
4/24/02 FUCKING COCKSUCKER according to KMG. Think Carrey better at pure farce The beginning of Carrey shooting for serious, foreshadowing LIAR, TRUMAN & MAJESTIC 2 stars
2/08/02 Jennifleur (Jim Carrey fan) Sadly, Jim's worst. Please do Ace Ventura 3 or Dumb & Dumber 2 instead. 2 stars
1/02/02 Foufie Strange very strange, but interesting... 4 stars
11/29/01 KMG This is Carrey's FUNNIEST movie...if you disagree you're a FUCKING COCKSUCKER! 4 stars
11/23/01 Will Diamond WHO THE FUCK IS THIS JIM CARREY CHARACTER AND WHY DO WE KEEP LAUGHING AT HIM??????????????? 1 stars
10/25/01 The $1.98 Pyramid Uneven performence and confusing plot over black comedy, is Carrey a friend or an enemy? 3 stars
8/09/01 E-Funk I'm so torn about this movie...ultimately it's weird with seldom comedy, not Carrey's best. 3 stars
8/07/01 Joe Zappa Jim Carrey's $20,000,000 check paid off w/ this amusing black comedy. 4 stars
6/12/01 cinkcool Horrible. There are people like that who need help and we make fun of them? Horrible. 1 stars
4/03/01 Andrew Carden Extremly funny. For Carrey's fans and enemies! 4 stars
2/19/01 The Bomb 69 total mindfuck in some parts, good but not great 4 stars
2/06/01 Classicdog I'll juice ya up! Carrey is hilarious!! Great film! 5 stars
2/05/01 Wafer typical carrey-esque movie, but has some hilarious parts 3 stars
1/31/01 Big Isil Carrey makes any film worth watching, he's perfect for these weird, silly roles. 4 stars
1/20/01 Brian Horribly underrated. Wait & see. Arguably Carrey's best performance,look for Owen Wilson! 5 stars
1/19/01 Syed It's a good movie 3 stars
9/18/00 D SILK E 1 is jim carrey god??? 5 stars
7/29/00 Bender "Hey you guys play here to?" "Weird" 4 stars
6/13/00 DAVID This movie takes a little more viewing than once to think its funny!!! 3 stars
6/01/00 danilo a very funny movie with a great ending! 4 stars
5/12/00 Steve Layne Even though Carrey was funnier in Lair Lair, I still think hes at his most interesting here 4 stars
4/17/00 julie i have no idea why people hated this movie 5 stars
4/13/00 Fishsticks Excellent ideas but in practice annoys and confuses 2 stars
4/13/00 JonnyAngel How did this bomb? What the fuck? 4 stars
3/25/00 Jeff Jim Carry's BEST movie--he is very kreepy 5 stars
3/09/00 David Rogers Confusing, but I can't pretty bad or total crap Jim Carrey or Matthew Broderick. 3 stars
2/29/00 Richard Wright The film has interesting bits,but it assembles them in such a ramshackle way it has to be.. 1 stars
12/19/99 hum hey, jim carrey in a film thats not to bad 3 stars
11/04/99 Mickey "Father Death" MacJohnstmyster It's really not that bad and has some really good parts . It is underated ! 5 stars
9/24/99 KK Jim Carrey is the MAN!!! 5 stars
7/29/99 J. Random Hacker Great, but flawed -- way too silly in spots 4 stars
7/29/99 Chef ADogg Downright cinematic. Unexpectedly good. 4 stars
4/23/99 lucas jackson This movie was down right aweful except for the basketball scene 2 stars
4/07/99 Maniaq This film was deeply disturbing - scared the shit out of me 4 stars
2/15/99 Stephen Reinken terrible plot = terrible movie 1 stars
1/29/99 Scott Stipe A great Movie, Jim Carrey rocks, man 5 stars
12/23/98 Lou Pine, Jr. The most misunderstood, under-rated black comedy of the 90s. 4 stars
11/26/98 Mr.Pink Quite good... 4 stars
10/25/98 {{{OZ}}} It had some fine moments, but I can't abide by Carrey. 3 stars
10/13/98 jym i wish it said sux all dick 1 stars
9/28/98 Heather Carey makes an attempt to play a dramatic-type role, and is SEVERELY underrated! 4 stars
9/27/98 katherine ugh. Jim Carrey's funny, but im sorry, this movie was pretty pathetic. 2 stars
9/14/98 Chip Taylor Jim Carrey's best. Matthew Broderick though, really is a board, he's nothing. 5 stars
8/28/98 Mister Whoopee Carrey freaks just didn't get it. Funny that his fans aren't as smart as he is. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  14-Jun-1996 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  20-Jun-1996 (M)


Directed by
  Ben Stiller

Written by
  Lou Holtz Jr.
  Judd Apatow

Cast
  Jim Carrey
  Matthew Broderick
  Leslie Mann
  Jack Black
  George Segal
  Ben Stiller



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast