More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.4

Awesome35.32%
Worth A Look: 21.56%
Average: 9.4%
Pretty Bad: 15.6%
Total Crap: 18.12%

13 reviews, 358 user ratings


Latest Reviews

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

Almost Coming, Almost Dying by Jay Seaver

Blade Runner 2049 by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Signs
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Slyder

"Night Doesn’t Stop Impressing Me"
4 stars

Indian filmmaker M. Night Shyamalan took me by surprise when I first saw his so-far best film to date, The Sixth Sense, a creepy, clever and superbly crafted masterpiece that took the world by storm by becoming one of the biggest hits of 1999. He later released Unbreakable; a film that met with mixed reviews but was also a box office hit. Now, he returns after years break with Signs, a movie that now finds Shyamalan playing around with ever overused idea of alien invasions, and making it work. Honestly, it scared the shit out of me. I can’t believe that I got scared so bad like this, even though I dig and have read many UFO accounts. I couldn’t sleep well last night; I’ve never felt like this since when I saw 8mm. What an experience, despite a few technical flaws.

The film is the story of Graham Hess (Mel Gibson), a former Catholic preacher whom has lost his wife, leaving him widowed and with two children, Morgan (Rory Culkin) and Bo (Abigail Breslin). The loss of his wife has completely destroyed his faith in God to a point that he refuses to be called “Father” by anyone. He lives in his farm with his kids and his brother Merrill (Joaquin Phoenix) when all of a sudden, a scream of his daughter Bo, calls his attention. Running through the cornfield, he finds her and his son, but he also finds what they found: crop circles, many as wide as a house. At firs they think it’s a hoax, but soon, many odd coincidences start occurring, and all seems to start pointing out to alien life, and then evidence starts appearing everywhere in the world which would prove that an alien invasion is about to occur. Hess and his “crushed” faith is now tested as he tries to save his family from the alien invasion, which has landed beside his house.

Shyamalan is the new master of suspense. He has the talent and the ability to create a great, suspenseful movie. The only thing he needs is to calm himself down and add a little more time and fluid in his films. The opening scenes (ignoring the somewhat overdone opening credits) took me by surprise since Shyamalan immediately goes to the point and shows us the crop circles. Its surprising since the film hurriedly tries to develop the characters and the plot for the look of it, within the first 5 minutes, which is a sign of the film being a little forceful. But soon things start slowing down and beginning to develop. The little flaws that I found were mostly technical, since there are many scenes where, annoyingly, you can see the microphone dangling on top of the screen (though I so far haven’t read of anyone noting the same goofs), and in others, you can see one of the panel deflectors of the camera. But despite these, soon Shyamalan starts building his atmosphere of suspense. I have to say that the film pretty much has the same path that his earlier films have, but once the ball starts rolling, it moves to a different direction. Instead of playing it safe and pretty much doing “The Sixth Sense II,” with aliens replacing ghosts, Night takes a different approach and shuffles the “obvious main idea,” of alien invasions to the background and starts examining the aspects of humanity and soul-searching. A test of faith. Sure, these elements point towards a drama, but the kicker is how to fill this ordinary drama with the “mysterious alien invasion” background? In my opinion Shyamalan manages to fill in the blanks and make it one suspenseful scary ride. Its not as boring as The Arrival and not as overblown as Independence Day, in fact, its interesting enough to keep your eyes glued to the film.

When I mentioned the drama, its not to say that by doing this it will mute the film off its trademark scares, in fact, there were plenty. There were many times where I jumped off my seat, especially in two memorable scenes, which I won’t spoil. I found myself being scared more times than not. It glued me to my seat until the very climax, and always, with careful timing, pausing and picking up on the story, while flashing you back with more classic suspense. The climaxing scene scared me so much I felt I was going to have a stroke. Man, what incredible vibes did Shyamalan managed to inject into this movie. The ending was somewhat muddled and the “water” fact will somewhat bemuse some viewers but still made perfect sense (though I won’t tell you anything though). I applaud him for his efforts, though story wise, he needs to polish somewhat his skills on his writing. He can be a great writer, but he needs to develop a little bit more his skills and broaden his storytelling so it can be clearer.

Mel Gibson breaks off from his “fighting hero” status from earlier films like Braveheart, The Patriot, and We Were Soldiers, and presents a more moody, thoughtful and somber Mel Gibson, rarely seen on screen. At times his performance is forced, but still manages to hold on to his role. Joaquin Phoenix is also good as his younger brother Merrill. But once again, Shyamalan manages to bring the best of acting in the whole movie from the two child actors. Rory Culkin is superb and fits his role perfectly and Abigail Breslin follows right behind. Oh, and our director also makes a nice, extended cameo performance, which was also up to standards.

In the end, whether you love or hate this movie, and whether you love or hate M. Night Shyamalan, you can’t deny the impact that this young filmmaker has had in the film industry. I hope he keeps exploring his skills even further, and keeps making great movies like his last three. The film is not great, but still, really solid and well made. Recommended to everyone, especially fans of the long lost Hitchcockian suspense genre.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=6018&reviewer=235
originally posted: 08/07/02 14:31:48
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/30/16 morris campbell M knights best movie 4 stars
2/11/16 willie rhodes fess One of my favorites. 5 stars
8/29/12 roscoe so slow, so boring, so quiet. all this has going for it is tension 3 stars
5/30/12 Jamie M People who dislike this movie skipped the message entirely and wanted more guns, simple as. 5 stars
6/11/11 Kiki moving - well acted. Gibson was xcellent 5 stars
7/05/10 leftcoastblue The aliens in this film are as lame as M. Knight. Duh, why not wear waterproof spacesuits? 1 stars
10/19/09 gal from oz real happenings in a movie (the lights and crop circles)? Scared the bejeebers outta me! 4 stars
10/19/09 Chad Dillon Cooper Mel Gibson plays OLIVER, and Joaquin Phoenix plays EBB in this GREEN ACRES MEETS ET FLICK 1 stars
6/27/09 devastator this is an excellent movie 5 stars
1/15/09 Anonymous. interesting and cool looking aliens. :] 4 stars
9/03/08 Shaun Wallner Gibson rocked this movie!! 5 stars
6/29/08 Eric The carvings weren't from the aliens. They used the roof of the playground to board windows 5 stars
5/27/08 PAUL SHORTT DECENT SUSPENSE FILM, FEATURING A TALE OF FAITH LOST AND PERHAPS REGAINED 4 stars
5/06/08 Neil Foster Better than 'The Village', but still poor science... water is acidic to aliens.. H2O in air 2 stars
3/05/08 ladavies I loved the way the pieces came together at the end, it really moved me. 5 stars
11/18/07 Tee Plodding, has perhaps one good scene, though the little boy is good. 2 stars
5/19/07 Jack This is how to ruin a good premise with stupidity. The ultimate cop out ending. 2 stars
4/28/07 action movie fan good alien encounter-suspenseful and good 4 stars
4/23/07 Tracey Chambers M. night takes himself way to seriously 3 stars
4/04/07 Double M A FANTASTIC apocalyptic build-up, and an ending that's an INSULT to anyone with a 60+ IQ 2 stars
3/28/07 fools♫gold The signs of an inspired shuddery-drama. 5 stars
3/08/07 Phil More holes than a swiss cheese and more preachy than a baptist sermon. MNS, master of dreck 1 stars
2/16/07 Vip Ebriega Thumbs up for M. Night Shyamalan. 4 stars
11/07/06 David Pollastrini a bit slow in places but still good 4 stars
10/05/06 Stanley Thai M. Night's best work and a very suspenseful that actually scares you. 5 stars
6/15/06 William Goss Solid acting and suspense throughout, but I still have trouble stomaching the faith angle. 4 stars
4/12/06 anthonyuk a cop out ending, total nonsense, garbage 1 stars
3/31/06 Carlos Idelone Good Film. Restrained Acting, especially by Gibson gives a sense of real life. 4 stars
3/26/06 chris f really cool movie a must own film 5 stars
3/07/06 Steven Lewis A great alien flick that is subtle and scary at the same time. 5 stars
1/21/06 ronald best alien invasion movie ever 5 stars
12/30/05 harry one of the most unique films and its beautifully directed 5 stars
11/26/05 NightRIder I think you missed the whole point of the movie. 5 stars
11/23/05 Jonathon Holmes Shyamalan knows how to tell a story and scare the living shit out of you 5 stars
11/23/05 Sully I kept thinking it was all a joke...and then it wasnt...not scary at all....totally average 3 stars
11/03/05 cooler Another classic thriller.Scary and frightening,yet intriguing 5 stars
10/12/05 Quigley this movie is so awesome. ditch what everyone says about it and prepare to be freaked out 5 stars
9/26/05 Klondo The Village sucked. Signs is awesome, but M Night IS stupid. 5 stars
9/01/05 Eden Very predictable self-indulgent mess. Has a few good 'jump' moments tho 2 stars
8/28/05 D Buckley M Night Shyamalan knows how to create a mood 5 stars
8/25/05 ES It had some good scary parts and a reaffirming positive message at the end = not bad 4 stars
8/02/05 Stefan Totally boring relgious crap. Why doesn't Mel just nail himself to the cross and shut up. 1 stars
6/28/05 R alright, so i liked it. wanna fight? (although, CGI alien was on par with Veggie Tales.) 4 stars
6/22/05 Manu Ginobli awesome plot & great acting. All you haters can eat dick. 5 stars
6/08/05 Rock-Steady We have can jump on 10 foot roofs, technology to space travel, cant break wooden doors! 1 stars
5/28/05 Zelemont cheap ass alien, shitty plot, mediocre acting 1 stars
5/25/05 Casey Becher I was surprised by the humor. 4 stars
5/17/05 E-FUNK Medicore follow-up to his best film, 'Unbreakable'. Creep factor is high in this one. 4 stars
4/25/05 Quigley a good film with great scares and interesting philosophy. Shymalan is awesome and it shows. 5 stars
4/14/05 Someone good movie 5 stars
4/04/05 John Bale A thriller that doesn't quite thrill, it misses the target mostly 3 stars
4/04/05 Littlepurch Incredibly underrated! Great film, kept up suspense, good cast, hidden twist. 5 stars
3/29/05 Trumpy If I got any worth from this borefest it put me to sleep. 1 stars
3/25/05 indrid cold Shyamalan does "Close Encounters", and not all that well. 3 stars
3/22/05 C.F.R. pure sci-fi nonsense that ought be a logical metaphor for faith, the plot's told on valium 1 stars
2/13/05 Alice Colwell great movie 5 stars
10/18/04 Dan Kewl 5 stars
10/15/04 Don Eckert Very suspensful. You didn't need to see the aliens to feel tension. 5 stars
9/26/04 Bucky Buckner Boone Night's best movie is behind him; ditto that hateful prick Mel 1 stars
9/25/04 Kris swing away my ass 1 stars
9/12/04 kaitlin ya kno what?the efc reviews suck they say bad stuff about movies b/c they're freaks. 5 stars
8/30/04 Peter James If you do not understand that the movie is about spirituality do not write a review 5 stars
8/29/04 critic shyamalan developes two storyline, and weaves them beautifully together 5 stars
8/26/04 conor great great 5 stars
8/07/04 chris. i bet they're aliens...THEY'RE ALIENS!!! *silence* uhh, was that the end? 3 stars
8/06/04 McGraw Gaping plot holes don't quite outweigh Gibson's preformance and good atmosphere. Nice. 4 stars
8/02/04 Anthony G wow this movie is gay 1 stars
7/31/04 Sue Alien Nation" came up with the water thing decades ago 1 stars
7/29/04 Daveman Inane drivel with yet another pair of weirdo kids ala The Innocents 2 stars
7/25/04 Katie This is one of favorite movies. M. Night did it again, another great movie. 5 stars
7/16/04 John McIntyre either you like m night or you don't, he fucking rocks! 4 stars
7/08/04 Denise through out the movie you felt like it was going somewhere but it never did 3 stars
7/06/04 Spiderfan720 Awesome! So awesome. Top 20 easy!!! 5 stars
7/04/04 Monster W. Kung Dumb like hell, laughable wanna-be spiritual, wanna-be 'message' movie. 2 stars
7/01/04 DM I don't believe it - I agree with darkofnight about something 5 stars
6/25/04 KBJ You're absolutely right about this movie. It simply falls apart at the end. 1 stars
6/16/04 franknutz this is m nights best film way better than sixth sense which was great as well 5 stars
6/12/04 Jim I will not watch Mel Gibson movies any more. 2 stars
6/01/04 Lucie This movie was Great! I love Shyamalan films. 5 stars
5/31/04 Frazier Suspenseful film that is both scary and real. Great movie! 5 stars
5/28/04 Daveman Night Of The Living Dead but with aliens. B-movie disguised as stylish film-making. AVOID!! 2 stars
5/14/04 Stuart zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz 1 stars
4/06/04 Dean not Credible 3 stars
4/06/04 Nikolai Aliens learn to disintegrate stupid planets filled with hairless monkeys 1 stars
2/21/04 Denise Duspiva Go further 4 stars
2/02/04 Gabriela I really enjoyed this movie. 5 stars
1/07/04 y2mckay "Best film of 2002"? Can you hook me up with your dealer? 2 stars
1/04/04 Littlepurch Fantastically made, well acted, creepy but not too scary. Gr8. 5 stars
12/27/03 Chaz Not as many crop circles as advertised, but somewhat underrated 4 stars
12/26/03 Nikolai Slave uprising against American colonist masters, set 100 years later 1 stars
12/23/03 Chris I thought the film ranked up there with Hitchcock. Absolutly brillant and a darn good time. 5 stars
12/22/03 Ravenheart Awesome movie!!! 5 stars
12/10/03 Samuel Better than 'Independence Day' 4 stars
12/06/03 Mr. Hat (previously Joe Zappa) Strictly a popcorn chiller. 4 stars
11/30/03 john pretentious and boring 1 stars
10/14/03 Guns Guns Guns While an OK flick...anti-gun undertones irked me 3 stars
10/14/03 jimmy d why? jesus lord fucking why? it burns to see movies like this!111 1 stars
9/28/03 Kyle Nothing special. I was expecting it to be at least some better. 3 stars
9/15/03 Mel Gibson is a shit as my name 1 stars
9/03/03 Joe Fortunato Utter Dogshit 2 stars
7/31/03 Nicole I really wanted to like & be scared by this movie, but I wasn't 2 stars
7/28/03 Boomer M.Knight strikes again, he slightly missed on Unbreakable but made up for it with this one. 5 stars
7/27/03 Monster W. Kung Failed, laughable attemtp at mixing pseudo-religious babble and sci-fi. A waste of time. 2 stars
7/27/03 Deric THE WORST PICE OF @!!#$$#$ EVER!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
7/24/03 Buck Shyamalan is in a league all by himself. 5 stars
7/21/03 Michael Gorman Pathetic melodrama right down to the appearence of a green alien at the end. 1 stars
7/19/03 Zebby very well made, but too many aliens 4 stars
7/18/03 Animator dude awesome 5 stars
7/11/03 A$$ OK, kinda suspenseful. Needed more aliens. 4 stars
7/07/03 Zelemont Why are people so blind? This movie was TERRIBLE. 1 stars
7/04/03 T3 If you were an alien that water was like acid to you, why attack a human that's mostly H2O? 4 stars
6/24/03 Jin Astounding! 5 stars
6/19/03 John Aster Habig Shyamalan is a genius a profound movie for a post 9/11 paranoid world 5 stars
6/14/03 Alice I liked the Alien.. But thats about all... 2 stars
6/05/03 Elmedina.... "" the beSt of all"" 5 stars
6/04/03 Charles Tatum Despite high corn factor (ha!), still worth a few scares 4 stars
5/22/03 M. Eric Guy great story 5 stars
5/17/03 Turtle A truly great movie. Scary, touching, sad, and with one heck of an ending. Amazing film! 5 stars
4/22/03 Eloise I likes it alot, all that ant...i...c....i...........................................pation 5 stars
4/17/03 Jon "Thumb the Toad" Lyrik Bah! Stupid backlash. 5 stars
4/13/03 Mystique frightening 5 stars
4/12/03 Josh An extraordinary movie, frightening yet touching 5 stars
4/10/03 Jack Bourbon Magnificently idiotic speech about faith and disbelief is worth seeing. 2 stars
4/02/03 koko it sucked, ridiculous. lamest aliens ever. 2 stars
3/26/03 rik nothing special 2 stars
3/16/03 Cameron Slick Shyamalan proves once again an expert at building suspense and giving audiences the chills. 5 stars
3/16/03 RLO Stupid and boring says it all 2 stars
3/07/03 Glenn They come to invade and cant bust open a woden dore, get out of here, thas just aahhhhhhhh 2 stars
2/21/03 Monday Morning This one really sucks air. M Night is really overrated. 2 stars
2/20/03 Ultron Funny, touching and thrilling. Mel Gibson's finest role. 4 stars
2/18/03 stuntman CC rider!!!1 how dumb are U!!!!, so the fuck what!!!! 4 stars
2/17/03 q q 5 stars
2/10/03 C.C. Rider No Special Effects At ALL! 1 stars
2/10/03 Janell Miller very stupid and boring 1 stars
2/04/03 Jim Spooky invasion flick, but are humans so tasty aliens come all this way to harvest them? 4 stars
2/03/03 Turtle Perhaps the most realistic movie involving aliens. An amazing cinematic accomplishment. 5 stars
1/29/03 Marisa Bad reviewers are clearly unintelligent, short attention span MTV generationers. 5 stars
1/28/03 rupert pupkin bad writing, bad acting, no terror, no suspense and an alien in a rubber suit. Big yawn. 1 stars
1/21/03 Brasky Forcefully contrived shit, sucks balls 1 stars
1/20/03 snowconehead aliens allegic to water....it's a good thing our planet doesn't have much of that!!! 4 stars
1/17/03 Fusion The aliens can spray poisonous gas from their wrists, yet they can't avoid a baseball bat.. 1 stars
1/14/03 Cypher Vayne I think some of these reviewers have forgotten that movies are entertainment, not insults. 4 stars
1/12/03 D .hebert this is the worst movie of 2002. I aint even a critic but feel compelled to comment ! 1 stars
1/12/03 WestcoastPunk It was an allright movie. The ending could have been way better 3 stars
1/12/03 J-77 Terrible! Characters on way too much Prozac! Contrived and extremely stupid plot! Terrible! 1 stars
1/11/03 Kino cop randomly mentioned the baby moniter... & did anyone notice how bad the graphics were? 1 stars
1/11/03 John Aster Habig the best horror film since Psycho Shyamalan deserves at least 3 Oscars for this 5 stars
1/10/03 Mickey With A C Plot holes you could fly an airplane through 2 stars
1/10/03 othree presumptuous, cheap shot playing on your emotions, waste of cast all around 3 stars
1/10/03 Jack Sommersby Boring and atrociously made, this stands as one of the worst of all-time. 1 stars
1/09/03 MovieFan Amazing movie. Not the usual scare-fest. Lots of layers to this movie 5 stars
12/30/02 John Aster Habig finally a psychological thriller that competes with Hitchcock 5 stars
12/15/02 Laurian Diaconescu Aliens that posess hi-tech space-ships but can't break through doors? Gibson was wasted :-( 2 stars
11/20/02 JesseL This movie rocked. Only pretentious old codgers won't like it. 5 stars
11/19/02 john shyamalan's best work to date 5 stars
11/17/02 Mr. Gone Very pretentious and possibly the lamest ending of the year. 2 stars
11/13/02 Film Dude The end kills it. 4 stars
11/13/02 liz lost their out there... i belive..... 5 stars
11/12/02 Ben Sojka Great intense movie. The rest of the week I kept thinking I saw one of those aliens. 5 stars
11/10/02 Jeanne masterly crafted 5 stars
10/31/02 Tom My girlfriend dug her nails onto my leg. I still got 'signs' all over it. 5 stars
10/29/02 Nicky I must be one of the few that thought this was a great movie. this movie was excellent 5 stars
10/23/02 Brock One of the best films I've seen in a long time 5 stars
10/21/02 PriscilA tHIS IS THE BEST MOVIE I"VE EVER SEEN.aND jOAQUIN pHOENIX IS EXCELLENT AS mERRIL 5 stars
10/21/02 Steve Ireland Utter Shite nothing worked on any level in fact I was bored and wanted to leave the cinema 1 stars
10/18/02 Mike I think that I could fight off all of the aliens with a fucking super-soaker. 1 stars
10/09/02 Chance didn't blow me away but still pretty good 4 stars
10/09/02 crazylikeafox Preposterous plot - aliens that can leap a tall building but can't kick down a door? 1 stars
10/06/02 TheOthersFan Despair, red-herring fans!!! No surprise ending here; see "6th Sense" or "The Others" 1 stars
9/30/02 Karin Phua Aliens can't use simple tools to pry open the house. They just "knock"! 1 stars
9/29/02 Fuze44 Completely insulting to anyone with average intelligence. 1 stars
9/28/02 Suzz good suspense; laughable alien thingys; not bad for a Mel Gibson flick 3 stars
9/26/02 Classic Film Junkie Signs had a plothole you could drive a freking truck through. Definitely not sci fi. 2 stars
9/24/02 nodumbunni i want my money back 1 stars
9/22/02 fabio total shit. beware scam!!! don t lose your money. buy a good old video instead. 1 stars
9/19/02 Mike Marasa Favorite movie of all time Shyamalan is a genious 5 stars
9/18/02 Basmati Rice What a fake !! 2 stars
9/17/02 virgin-ya Tells a lovely fairytale of lave and redemption, also scares you shitless at times 5 stars
9/14/02 Aslam I think you don't like him because you speaking totally crap. 5 stars
9/14/02 Helen utter drivel...sugary sickly ending... an insult to aliens everywhere 1 stars
9/12/02 Bueller An engrossing story. Chilling moments. Nearly Hitchcock-ian suspense. Could have been more. 4 stars
9/12/02 Jamesiegod Oh Pathetic. 1 stars
9/11/02 Digi ET aren't scary anymore... 2 stars
9/10/02 David A. An imitation War of the Worlds. "No Show will end before its time." 4 stars
9/09/02 Akshay Prem Vyas Intelligently crafted movie which engrosses you in the terror and a perfect storyline. 5 stars
9/09/02 Jamer Film aspects outweigh the movie aspects. Go expecting a film, and you'll enjoy it. 4 stars
9/08/02 malcy most boring,unscary,morose,frustrating movie i have seen! 1 stars
9/08/02 Michaelb14 Very good movie, only critique is the aliens should have stayed more in the shadows. 5 stars
9/06/02 Joshjax Another well done M Knight film that goes much deeper into life than expected... 5 stars
9/06/02 Cheeeeeziest Very week. Everything is a setup for a dumb uninteresting ending. 2 stars
9/05/02 Bob Hoffman Scary-? No, almost laughable-Contrived Plot--Ugh! 2 stars
9/02/02 Mike God, did this movie suck!!!! 1 stars
9/01/02 Toby Oh Jeez.. I'm disappointed in the damn thing.. 1 stars
8/27/02 Kold So scary, u wanna sit in the middle of the cinema 5 stars
8/27/02 Se7eN It would have been much better without all that bible jesus crap in it. 4 stars
8/27/02 James Drake This movie does suck ass, I laughed at the end at how bad it was. 1 stars
8/26/02 AKiller Joaquin is Awesome 5 stars
8/26/02 Edler The story gets "Sucks All Ass." The other aspects of the movie redeemn it a little. 3 stars
8/25/02 Turkish its ok, but nuthin to special 3 stars
8/24/02 ^ZuLu^ frightening but probably only on the big screen 5 stars
8/24/02 Ardmore AvSci Fi films that makes the Sci Fi Freaks think. 5 stars
8/24/02 Jessi The movie was the best.To the kid who said Haley sux, u do. i luv the child actors M.S pick 5 stars
8/23/02 Chris best movie ever (walk out fiften mintues early though) 4 stars
8/23/02 Elendil Loses 1 star for espousing primitive beliefs, and another for Gibson's shite acting. 2 stars
8/23/02 Poof! I will come to Erik & Jim's defense. This movie is slow, stale, and has a terrible 3rd act 1 stars
8/23/02 Daniel Terrific - thank god no Haley Joel Osmond 5 stars
8/22/02 my Name? it's this so-called 'critic' here that needs to be stopped. Stopped from hallucinating. 5 stars
8/22/02 Don McDougald Hasn't anyone read war of the worlds?...and enough of night's melodrama 3 stars
8/22/02 Richard Cowgill it's an excellent movie. this efilmcritic guy is a moron. 5 stars
8/22/02 senator blutarsky I don't pay to see symbolic art on screen. I want to be entertained, pure and simple. 1 stars
8/21/02 John Jantzen Annoying, illogical sci-fi plot + hackneyed "priest finds god again" plot. Total BS 2 stars
8/21/02 Tommyboy Jim, why are you such cynical twist? Try to 'enjoy' your life. The movie is brilliant! 5 stars
8/21/02 Greg Longest 2 hours of my life! 1 stars
8/20/02 Sean Waugh simply awesome 5 stars
8/20/02 Kate The aliens are us. The USA vs. the middle east. Think about it. 5 stars
8/20/02 The Chronic Mastubator I wasn't scared once. When I should have been, I just laughed outloud at the lameness of it 2 stars
8/20/02 macaroon Hey, slyder... he wasn't a "former Catholic preacher". Either Episcopal or Lutheran 5 stars
8/20/02 INCUBATOR Last time I believed ratings 1 stars
8/20/02 will the moon/stars were patterns in the curtain, you idiots 5 stars
8/20/02 Phil Mr.Night will NEVER get my money again ... 1 stars
8/19/02 sdfr Hitchcock would've been proud. Great film, much better than Night's overrated debut. 5 stars
8/19/02 jack good scares and bad acting 3 stars
8/19/02 Movie Maniac This movie kicks so much ass it'll creep the living sh*t out of you. 5 stars
8/19/02 Mike Great freaky movie 5 stars
8/19/02 Jimmy James Shyamalan is officially on my dont see list, what a peice of trash;no rating lower than 1? 1 stars
8/19/02 Kurt ZZZZZzzz. Visual Sominex. 2 hrs. that you'll never get back. 1 stars
8/19/02 Blubberbot Not bad. Not great. Good tension. 3 stars
8/19/02 M. NIGHT Shitlicker Have you had your lobotomy today. M. NIght sure has 1 stars
8/18/02 T^im Great film, bad ending. 4 stars
8/18/02 Brian the tension builds, and builds, and builds....nothing happens. i want my two hours back. 2 stars
8/18/02 Doc Holliday lol 1 stars
8/18/02 slipperyK i'm sick and fucking tried of people not liking movies because they have plots not action! 4 stars
8/18/02 Wil I kept waiting for something to happen and it never did. 2 stars
8/18/02 Obi Wan I think I'll be there for a 2nd viewing. M. Knight contiues his roll!! 5 stars
8/17/02 Rich Cirivilleri What a tiresome, silly little film. And the ending?.....Oh please! 1 stars
8/17/02 BrodieMan You really need to open your minds and pull your head from your ass. 5 stars
8/17/02 mikey hates it cliche-ridden and extremely boring 1 stars
8/17/02 Ramblin' Wreck So.............Atheists hate this movie?? When is the next showing?? I'm there!! 5 stars
8/16/02 Joe Calio M. Night...GO AWAY! 1 stars
8/16/02 Bloodlet liking this film makes you cooler, slamming it makes you a moron 5 stars
8/16/02 Bryce Clark Excellent movie. What movies are meant to be. Noticed anti-religious views in neg. reviews 5 stars
8/15/02 Graeme Simpson Dull, slow, unbelieveable (how the hell did the alien get locked in the pantry?) Boring!! 2 stars
8/15/02 Johan Kohler Souter is right -- family of robots without free will accept murder on faith. 1 stars
8/15/02 Jay Don't Miss It!!! 5 stars
8/15/02 Acheh Those who think this movie was great, prove that mass hypnosis is indeed attainable. 2 stars
8/15/02 Mike Chartowich Shyalmalan is a great filmmaker. Jim the movie freak is clueless. 5 stars
8/14/02 Michael Carruthers Shyamalan's best yest. So fucking scary!! See it NOW! 5 stars
8/14/02 maximal01 Very creepy, except for the Scooby-Doo robot dialogue 4 stars
8/14/02 Stephanie Scared me to death! Awesome actors, Shyamalan RULES! I must be a moron too 5 stars
8/14/02 ownerofdajoint thisfilmworksonmanylevelsdon'tmissit 5 stars
8/14/02 Ramblin' Wreck Scared the heck out of me................Night is still batting .1000 5 stars
8/14/02 Patrick Darms very creepy, a superb thriller 4 stars
8/14/02 bud Loved it!! I must be a moron. 5 stars
8/14/02 Mac terrific, scary flick 5 stars
8/13/02 Lindsay Excellent - scariest flick in years 5 stars
8/13/02 Bluesky0382 There are really no words to describe the banality of this film. 1 stars
8/13/02 Cannibus Gibson's great in this! Falls short of greatness with substandard plot. 3 stars
8/13/02 puckfreak Best movie I've seen this year 5 stars
8/12/02 Roger Yates I laughed, I cried, I nearly wet myself. Amazing. 5 stars
8/12/02 patrick sucked!!!!! 1 stars
8/11/02 los man end a headscratcher, but nice mix of close encounters, welles, and e.t. 4 stars
8/11/02 beefree383 A flimsy ripoff. 1 stars
8/11/02 charley Easily the most mind-numbing hideous film! 1 stars
8/11/02 Goten Loved it,but was distracted by old lady in front of me wearing too much freakin' perfume 5 stars
8/11/02 karen goldstein I saw this a week ago and I'm still scared!!! Awesome flick! 5 stars
8/10/02 vessejoigt Awesome 5 stars
8/10/02 Koitus Not what I expected .. but, one of the better movies. Minority Report still better, IMHO. 4 stars
8/10/02 Benjamin Could have used more alien sex. 5 stars
8/10/02 Danielle Ophelia Leaves Independence Day and the like for dead...personal, suspenseful, mesmerizing. 5 stars
8/10/02 Luscio A++ , Great movie -- Scary 5 stars
8/10/02 Interrog8 Filled to the brim with suspense. Not as scary as everyone says, just creepy. 4 stars
8/10/02 kat this movie was amazing scared the crap outta me and made me laugh everyone should go see. 5 stars
8/09/02 Lauren I haven't been that scared since The Exorcist 5 stars
8/09/02 Colorado Gal Bad movie. I had high expectations, and was totally insulted. 2 stars
8/09/02 Peter Lacks any internal consistency, preachy, annoying movie... 2 stars
8/09/02 Firend The main idea did not need aliens. The invasion only filled the plot with holes. 4 stars
8/09/02 STEVE BEST MOVIE I'VE SEEN THIS YEAR!! 5 stars
8/09/02 Heather It's pretty good with some laughs, although wasn't convinced by overblown alien storyline 4 stars
8/09/02 Kevin Terrible, Terrible movie, too bad it wasn't raining, waste of time + money. 1 stars
8/09/02 Mitch Brenner Just like Hitchcock, but without the good stuff. Better title:" Morons from Outer Space" 3 stars
8/08/02 will I don't understand the polarization over this movie. 5 stars
8/08/02 t.scholz hell no. felt like two hours of pseudo-dogmatic brain wash. god-aganda in sci-fi-disguise. 1 stars
8/08/02 strider3700 think gremlins crossed with war in the worlds meets blair witch moments and you have it 4 stars
8/08/02 bullit17 Not as subtle as 'Contact,' but effective. And very creepy and suspenseful. 4 stars
8/08/02 spyguy2 The aliens were pussies, Gibson overacts, stilted dialogue, weak ending, nice ride though 3 stars
8/08/02 Ceri Go into the theater with no expectations and a willingness to let yourself be absorbed. 5 stars
8/08/02 Caiphn Boring, cute in parts, mixing birth stories while aliens invade was a bit much. 2 stars
8/08/02 Terry Klein Didn't enjoy it at all. Camera work was always tight; could see the actor facial pores. 1 stars
8/08/02 Bob Doyle Lame Sci-Fi content, too many questionable concepts, but some good "jumpy" suspense scenes. 3 stars
8/08/02 Travis_T someone who enjoys this film - the SIGN of a weak mind 1 stars
8/07/02 Obi Wan Wow!! M.Knight keeps the ball rolling with another suspenseful gem!! Bravo!!!Bravo!! 5 stars
8/07/02 Jesus Fuckin Christ Self-important fluff mockingly disguised as a horror movie...a waste of time 1 stars
8/07/02 mike boring, slow and no plot 1 stars
8/07/02 A. Typical Viewer Sucked All Ass 1 stars
8/07/02 Pete Simmons only sign about this movie, is a sign of stupidity 1 stars
8/07/02 john -- 2 stars
8/07/02 Sven Herman Script-Sucked, Acting-Sucked, Embarassing 1 stars
8/07/02 Acheh Signs, very few signs of being a movie. What a waste! 1 stars
8/07/02 senator blutarsky A big letdown. The movie was all over the place 2 stars
8/07/02 BrodieMan Spooky and inspiring ... great movie. 4 stars
8/07/02 phoenix yawns replaced the screams 3 stars
8/07/02 enda noseredna boring but had potential to be much better 3 stars
8/07/02 Mark I was very, very disappointed. If you want to be scared/enthralled, rent "CE3K". 2 stars
8/07/02 Nancy N Weak, weak plot. It doesn't hold water. 2 stars
8/07/02 Diego Baz God conquers the aliens! 2 stars
8/07/02 Karen Riem Very tasty visceral and spiritual popcorn! 5 stars
8/06/02 Justin McPhail Hallelujah! There is a Dog, and it's called "Signs". What an embarassment. 1 stars
8/06/02 Murdoc It's been a long, long time since a movie creeped me out this bad. 4 stars
8/06/02 Lauren Thrilling, it kept me on the edge of my seat! I absolutely loved it!!! 5 stars
8/06/02 Roy Gerbil Shyamalan should have been the one wearing the tinfoil hat. Save your Money! 1 stars
8/06/02 Kat Boring. Boring. Boring. zzzzzzzzzzzzzzz 2 stars
8/06/02 sarahfar88 never more terrified in my life,the part with the alien in Brazil scared the shit out of me 5 stars
8/06/02 Kallisti_93 Great movie - far better than his other two. X-Files meets Night of the Living Dead. 5 stars
8/06/02 JB An enormous letdown/not profound/ending comical. "Night" is going the wrong way. 2 stars
8/06/02 Mac It was tight, worth my money, but could have been scarier 4 stars
8/06/02 traevore wonderful film about faith, scary and funny, great ending 5 stars
8/06/02 ownerofdajoint a truly fantastic and remarkably thoughtful movie -go see it! 5 stars
8/06/02 jestyr i have seen some slow films in my life, but this was just 2 hours of standing still. 1 stars
8/06/02 UfoJoe Awful. Can't believe I wasted $10 and 2 hours of my life on this garbage. 2 stars
8/06/02 Bob from Maryland Insulting to Sci-fi fans. Water melts the aliens? And the Wicked Witch from the West! 1 stars
8/06/02 Ramon Cancel It's slow... 3 stars
8/05/02 Sal Aminov Nice one - a movie that keeps you thinking for sometime.. 4 stars
8/05/02 Lexy Z. Nice build-up to an ending that falls flat. Where's the signature twist? 3 stars
8/05/02 Malarky Just like Jaws if in the last third the shark left the movie without a trace. Rip off!had 1 stars
8/05/02 Spanky Why didn't she say "Buy a gun" instead of "Swing away"? Massive plot holes but good despite 4 stars
8/05/02 John Burridge Terrific buildup, fundamentally lame punchline, skewed storytelling. 2 stars
8/05/02 Ashley M. Night has such a unique way of telling a story, I love it!!! 5 stars
8/05/02 will absolutely fantastic 5 stars
8/05/02 Joshua Murray I should sue because this movie wasted two hours of my life i could have used getting drunk 1 stars
8/05/02 Film Guy Excellent. Pure Excellence 5 stars
8/05/02 frank I agree with Souter, the last part of the film was lame 3 stars
8/05/02 LessThanColleen Saw this with my friends, lol hiding behind my soda! Very very very suspenseful. 5 stars
8/05/02 Scott The movie scared the shit out of me and it has a quality story to go with it 5 stars
8/04/02 Tony Mena Subtle gripping movie that will be nominated for Oscar Best Picture 5 stars
8/04/02 david benson atmospheric, real terror from real characters, the suspense builds to a slow boil 5 stars
8/04/02 Dicky I see green people... 5 stars
8/04/02 SteveG Usually aware your watching a movie. 2 stars
8/04/02 Melina Definitely a nail biter! 5 stars
8/04/02 Lotta I loved it! Not perfect, but pretty darn close. 5 stars
8/04/02 Karen Riveting, powerful, intelligent, inspired. Hitchock as a metaphysician. 5 stars
8/04/02 DeepThoughts Excellent and engaging Movie 5 stars
8/04/02 ajay fantastic, including the ending! 5 stars
8/04/02 Rick GREAT!!! People not liking this film have no sense of story telling or great film making. 5 stars
8/04/02 Vagile Superb filmmaking until the final 10 mins which are so Stupid it ruins the whole experience 3 stars
8/04/02 iambubby disappointment abounds... 3 stars
8/03/02 Unanon Story about faith dressed in sci-fi camo. *sigh* I wish Phoenix would 'swing' my way. 5 stars
8/03/02 Comfortably Numb Suspenseful and freaky, definitely. The religious and "two people" scenarios were poor. 4 stars
8/03/02 JM I'm really speachless here...this movie is beyond words. Never been happier spendng 8.50.. 5 stars
8/03/02 Silellak Fucking amazing 5 stars
8/03/02 DT Shyamalan does an excellent job of building the tension 5 stars
8/03/02 erick entertaining movie making at its best 5 stars
8/03/02 NickPry Easily one of this year's best. Seamless and practically immaculate. 5 stars
8/03/02 Gyro Great film... so many things in one, and all of them work. 5 stars
8/03/02 malcolm boring, disappointing -- worst of Shyamalan's 3 2 stars
8/03/02 Law amazing! can't wait to see it again...J.P is great in this film! 5 stars
8/03/02 Me Not You Best film of the decade so far 5 stars
8/03/02 Hawkeye Amazing piece of work. Everything worked, from performances to score to story to directing. 5 stars
8/03/02 Anarchy Azmi shymalan has lost it...sixth sense was good,unbreakable was ok.this one is dissapointing 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Aug-2002 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  15-Aug-2002




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast