More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.1

Awesome: 31.25%
Worth A Look: 23.86%
Average: 3.41%
Pretty Bad: 6.25%
Total Crap35.23%

5 reviews, 146 user ratings



Rock, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Slyder

"A flawed, but good action flick"
4 stars

Welcome to the RRRRRRRRRRRRRROCKKKKK!!!! Did it RRRRRRRROCKKKK'D or did it SSSSSSSUCK'D? Well, in my opinion, I prefer to stand in between, since I've felt that I saw just an average action flick. Still, it has ability to entertain, despite that in some parts its kind of overblown. I still liked though, here's why.

General Frank Hummel (Ed Harris), a highly decorated military officer has held hostage the bay area (San Francisco/Oakland) with a battery of VX poison gas rockets on the old prison on Alcatraz island. The reason: protest against the unfair treatment that the U.S. government has done with the soldiers that have fought and died for their country but were given nothing in return. To stop him, the U.S. government sends an elite SEAL team to Alcatraz, to disable the threat. But in the end their hope must rely on former British spy John Patrick Mason (Sean Connery), who once escaped the famed prison, and FBI chemical freak Stanley Goodspeed (Nicolas Cage).

The action scenes were great, and Michael Bay's usual "shaky cam," trademark is almost perfect on many scenes, though of course; it's somewhat annoying on others. Which is not to say about the plot. The main ideas of the plot are total Hollywood bullshit to the many experienced chemists around the world. I won't bother telling these flaws because if you simply tag along with those it would just go on smoothly. You know Hollywood; they'll alter any kind of story to get the "dramatic" effect that they want you to have. The car chase sequence was pretty cool despite some camera flaws in some shots, and an airbag that blows up after Goodspeed spins the car. I guess airbags weren't totally well developed at that time. But when it gets to Alcatraz, that's when the real fun starts, and during those sequences is when everything almost works out right. That's when it's even more enjoyable, and all through the end it basically stays that way. So the script's final verdict is "okay, despite a few plot holes."

The performances were great from both Connery and Harris, and Cage wasn't that far behind. Though Goodspeed's girlfriend kind of annoyed me a little, but the rest of the cast was okay. Michael Bay, as always, gives his average direction here, despite a few slips. By the way, the standoff between Hummel and his other ranking officers, I'm still trying to find out whether it's a John Woo rip-off or a wild coincidence of mine.

In the end, I guess this film basically set the standards for many other Jerry Bruckheimer films to come, all with fast pace, shaky cams, and cool action sequences. I say that because if you look back at the other films he has done before this one -with the late Don Simpson-, there isn't any like it. It's his biggest hit to date, and I think he deserves it, despite flaws. The question now is, will he do an even better film than this one?

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=603&reviewer=235
originally posted: 04/25/01 07:45:03
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

7/25/11 Quigley Bay's best film. Cage and Connery are great, and the action scenes are thrilling. 5 stars
5/26/11 chris c This and Bad Boys are the only good Michael Bay films rest suck 4 stars
2/27/10 PAUL SHORTT BIG, LOUD AND OVER-THE-TOP 2 stars
11/20/09 Jeff Wilder The ONLY Michael Bay movie worth your time. Fun if nowhere near original. 4 stars
10/18/09 JR Even though I loved The Rock, I still enjoyed Rob's review. Good points... 5 stars
3/26/09 Dan Halberg kind of liking watching Bond in old age, still spitting one-liners. I liked it 4 stars
1/17/09 Shaun Wallner This movie was stupid! 1 stars
7/26/08 The Dork Knight Gentlemen, welcome to the rock 4 stars
2/08/08 Anthony Feor It's sleek, it's fast, and most of all, it rocks. 4 stars
10/03/07 R.W. Welch Hardly convincing, but Connery manages to keep it afloat. 3 stars
6/16/07 al smith bays films may be dumb but does that bloke know action 5 stars
5/15/07 Dave I loved it 5 stars
5/11/07 Austin Wertman Awesome action 5 stars
3/02/07 Dude Awesome movie 5 stars
2/18/07 Double M Wow, seems that many people just can't enjoy a movie. entertainment at its best. 5 stars
2/12/07 johnnyfog WOW. Stoopid. 2 stars
1/18/07 David Pollastrini great action 4 stars
9/09/06 Sepi53 one of the greatest action films ever made!!! 5 stars
12/25/05 harry Spectacular Action Scenes,Jerry Bruckheimer/Micheal Bay team rocks 5 stars
12/25/05 D to the C you faggots got small dicks if you dont like this movie you fags 5 stars
11/25/05 cooler Hey Kumble Go FUCK YOURSELF ASSHOLE,Fuck you hibby X,skippy and Kibble,Movie rocks. 5 stars
11/23/05 hibbyX Movies like this are the beginning of the end of filmmaking as a whole. 1 stars
11/21/05 skippy Truly repugnant crap cinema at its very worst. 1 stars
11/21/05 Kibble This is seriously one of the worst films I've ever seen...Bay truly is the devil. 1 stars
11/14/05 Kumble WHAT THE FUCK IS WRONG WITH COOLER. ONE OF STUPDIEST ACTION FILMS EVER MADE.FUCK COOLER!!! 1 stars
10/28/05 cooler WHAT THE FUCK IS WRONG WITH YOU PEOPLE.ONE OF BEST ACTION FILMS EVER MADE.FUCK YOU ALL 5 stars
10/26/05 Crumbcake Just dump a vat of testosterone on the audience...same effect. 1 stars
10/24/05 Suk-R-Punch Total crap from beginning to end...Bay is the worst director ever to...well...direct. 1 stars
10/19/05 Gumbo Big, dumb action trash for big, dumb morons with no taste in anything. 1 stars
10/17/05 Crapture If this is "good" action...um...what is bad? 1 stars
10/15/05 OodlesofOs Everyone involved in this film (or a fan of it) is gay...just admit it. 1 stars
10/13/05 Bryant Gumby THE CROCK...of shit. 1 stars
10/12/05 Johnny Cake Sweaty, macho, sexist, who-has-the-biggest-balls nonsense! Worst film ever made! 1 stars
10/10/05 Biz-e Michael Bay is the worst director ever to grace this green Earth...he should be killed. 1 stars
9/23/05 Jakub A big, festering, nuclear-sized turd bomb. 1 stars
9/17/05 John on the nose, overblown unrealistic not even Connery can save this 1 stars
9/16/05 drippy Globs and globs and globs of gloppy poopiness. 1 stars
9/07/05 Bitchum One of the worst movies I've ever seen in a theater. I should have walked out. 1 stars
9/05/05 JubJub Sucky suck poo poo suck 1 stars
9/04/05 Tom Burns Has some great action, and great thrills, and a great cast. 5 stars
9/03/05 Craven This was just unbelievable crap. I couldn't believe how stupid it was. 1 stars
9/02/05 Mailk This is one of those films where everyone who likes it is a complete moron. 1 stars
9/02/05 Edward THIS MOVIE SUCKS!!!! THIS MOVIE SUCKS!!!!! THIS MOVIE SUCKS, THIS MOVIE SUCKS!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
9/02/05 ES It was fun, fast paced and excitineg, great characters bring it alive 5 stars
9/01/05 unlimited everyone who tells me they like this I immediately punch them in the teeth. 1 stars
8/31/05 Vasquez a cinematic bowel movement 1 stars
8/30/05 Brisbane Quick-cuts, sweaty close-ups, and action trash for nincompoops, inc. 1 stars
8/29/05 Blissful Johnny "The Rock": the crappiest movie serving all your ADD needs since 1996. 1 stars
8/28/05 Jabberjaw FUCK MICHAEL BAY, FUCK NICK "CAN'T ACT" CAGE, FUCK SEAN "OLD FART" CONNERY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
8/28/05 hicks Me likey esplosions und stuff gettin' blowed up good. 1 stars
8/28/05 Joker Don't you mean "Action Garbage for Dummies"??? 1 stars
8/27/05 cam-ron "Vampire Films For Dummies" 1 stars
8/26/05 Termite This movie is trailer park chic. 1 stars
8/25/05 Copper Fans of "Home Improvement," Auto Racing, and Adam Sandler LOVE THIS MOVIE!!! 1 stars
8/24/05 salamone This movie has an audienc and a reason for being. It's to keep idiots occupied. 1 stars
8/22/05 MC Serch A big, retarded, self-satisifed, sweaty, macho, posturing, faux hip mess of a movie. 1 stars
8/22/05 Chumscrubber The film that, unfortunately, put Michael Gay on the map...ugh. 1 stars
8/20/05 marv Big-budget circle jerk...that's RIGHT ON THE NAIL there. 1 stars
8/20/05 Cardigan Gave me motio sickness worse than BLAIR WITCH ever did. 1 stars
8/19/05 Gaston I loved this movie, for you see I am a moron and I love big dumb things this like... 1 stars
8/19/05 JiJi I wonder how many gallons of fake sweat they needed to make this pile of crap?????????????? 1 stars
8/18/05 stumblebug Hands down the stupidest movie I've ever seen...I could feel my brain cells dying. 1 stars
8/18/05 JeunetRocks Michael Bay is the devil...stop supporting his dreck, you cretins. 1 stars
8/16/05 jacob MONKEY TESTOSTERONE HOMO-EROTIC HOT BUTTER SWEAT FEST...heh...that was pretty good. 1 stars
8/15/05 calli The camera never stays still...not once...not for ONE SECOND... 1 stars
8/14/05 Mr. Teal What a giant a load of glossed-up garbage! A pile of sewage with a gold frame. 1 stars
8/14/05 President Evil The world is full of morons...many of them made and went to see this movie. 1 stars
8/13/05 ash The cinematic equivalent of GAY PORN...deal with it... 1 stars
8/13/05 Willard Mr. ES too stupid 1 stars
8/13/05 ES Mr. Connery too good 5 stars
8/11/05 cumber PUT THE ROCK BACK ON THE CHAIN, YO!!! 1 stars
8/11/05 SidVicious All you guys that love this movie love it for all the sweaty male close-ups, don't you????? 1 stars
8/11/05 AmandaGhost One of those little green balls (homo-erotic imagery?) should be shoved in M. Bay's mouth. 1 stars
8/11/05 celia This movie will leave you breathless...at how a piece of refuse like this could be made... 1 stars
8/10/05 Krull When people say this is a great movie, I wonder what home for retards they escaped from... 1 stars
8/09/05 Dredd I think Michael Bay, Nick Cage, and Connery should have just gangbanged one another instead 1 stars
8/08/05 Chris Redfield This should have been called MONKEY TESTOSTERONE HOMO-EROTIC HOT BUTTER SWEAT FEST... 1 stars
8/08/05 Usagi Yojimbo Quite possibly the stupidest movie ever made...no wonder you cretins love it... 1 stars
7/27/05 Ice-T THE ROCK IS OFF THE CHAIN YO!! 5 stars
5/26/05 D. Proctor Is that MR. PETERSON? GREAT MOVIE 5 stars
4/23/05 Indrid Cold 30 years ago, this would have been considered a masterpiece. It's totally forgettable now. 3 stars
3/06/05 N. Peterson One of my favorites, and it is not "stupider" it is "more stupid"!!! 4 stars
2/27/05 Bana the action sequences will leave you breathless 5 stars
1/24/05 Jeff Anderson FLAWS AND STUPIDITY ASIDE, THIS IS ONE TERRIFIC ACTION FILM, EXPERTLY DONE & THRILLING! 5 stars
1/21/05 Mr. Durden Great movie, Cage is hilarious. One of Jerry's last good movies. 5 stars
11/12/04 Archanist_101 Not exactley "Face/Off" but... I can make an exception for this once!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
9/15/04 Naka Loud, fast, and utterly silly...but not without its charms. 4 stars
8/07/04 G-man cage & connery= the best 5 stars
5/11/04 J.Peckerfoot Its watchable but not worth kissing bruckheimer's ass for! 3 stars
3/24/04 Alan I've probably seen a stupider movie, but I can't recall it. 1 stars
11/27/03 John looks like a bad comercial only Connery is some kind of saving grace 2 stars
10/14/03 Ian brilliant film 5 stars
10/27/02 Matt Neopalitano Connery "kicks all ass". 5 stars
10/27/02 MarktheShark6 Cage at his best... 5 stars
10/14/02 Charles Tatum I can still smell the testosterone 4 stars
10/11/02 The Talking Elbow Shitty lines like: "Winners fuck the prom queen" "My wife IS the prom queen" god have mercy 3 stars
9/28/02 snowconehead Not the best, but the best of Bruckheimer 5 stars
7/29/02 Jon Turn your brain off, sit back and enjoy. Fantastic film. 5 stars
5/22/02 Homecoming Queen that nobody has fucked Still waiting for my winner (both guy and movie)! 3 stars
4/21/02 Bront One of the best 4 stars
3/17/02 J A little flawed, but overall a very good action movie. 4 stars
3/16/02 Rockitman007 One of the Best Action movies! 5 stars
1/07/02 Frédéric Geerts The best action movie there is 5 stars
1/03/02 Scream-Mania Best action movie in history. 5 stars
11/02/01 Spectator very good 5 stars
11/01/01 Ghost One of the best films ever 5 stars
10/29/01 Shams Huque Great action. Very slick production. Best popcorn film of 1996. 5 stars
10/04/01 Bruce Awesome action, can't be beat 5 stars
8/09/01 E-Funk Michael Bay has two bearable movies...this is one of em'. 4 stars
8/06/01 Brian One of the best action movies ever made. Cage is brilliant and Bay does an awesome job! 5 stars
5/27/01 Jesus Christ Superstar A fun and goofy action movie. Marks the end of Nicholas Cage's hardcore acting. 4 stars
5/11/01 Finity one of my favorite movies of all time 5 stars
5/08/01 Movie coolest action movie on all world 5 stars
3/29/01 TheRock One of the best summer action flicks ever made 5 stars
2/14/01 Jake What a joke. atleast I found it comical. 2 stars
2/06/01 Crazy Scot awesome 5 stars
1/27/01 Iggy not bad for a cage flick 4 stars
1/10/01 GEORGE KONTOS PRETTY GOOD ACTION FILM 4 stars
1/01/01 Msitrab One of the Top 10 action movies of all time 5 stars
12/04/00 Cristopher Revilla great action flick, cheff a dogg, your an asshole, go fuck a dog!! 5 stars
11/13/00 Joe Edge of your seat film 5 stars
10/26/00 JC23 Great action film 5 stars
8/11/00 Terrie Smith Pretty good action flick. Connery and Harris fine; Cage is annoying. 4 stars
7/25/00 Vesse Best movie EVER!!! 5 stars
7/01/00 AAC Awesome car chase, overall very good. 5 stars
6/13/00 DAVID Movie had some kick ass scenes!!! 4 stars
5/30/00 danilo the movie will keep your eyes glued to the screen 5 stars
5/12/00 DatherFrawdad 3.5 stars for a movie this great is ridiculous! 5 stars
4/07/00 Gremlin Connery, Cage, Harris, need I say more 5 stars
4/04/00 Bruce A really cool action flick 5 stars
1/12/00 dr.d a good action movie 5 stars
8/23/99 Cage Against The Machine Are you joking CHEF ADOGG??? One of the greatest action flicks ever!!! 5 stars
8/19/99 Matthew Bartley One of the all time underrated video greats 5 stars
5/10/99 Ah Dooey Absolute badass 4 stars
4/28/99 CageSUCKS Nicholas Cage - enough said 2 stars
4/28/99 Michael Grimm good action 4 stars
1/19/99 donkey_dew SURE IT LOOKS GOOD. MICHAEL BAY IS GOOD AT THAT. BUT THIS MOVIE WAS PRETTY SUCKED. BALH. 4 stars
1/15/99 Dasha Great action flick. 5 stars
11/13/98 Jules The beginning of the end for Cage. Some of the most contrived "action" scenes ever... 1 stars
10/30/98 Silent Rob Connery's apology to San Francisco for having been in 'The Presido'? 3 stars
9/17/98 Ben Affleck Top notch action film, Cage and Harris take this film all the way. Vanessa Marcil is HOT!! 5 stars
9/06/98 Young Einstein Stonking flick. 4 stars
9/05/98 Jon Best Action Flick of ALL TIME 5 stars
8/30/98 Johny Nothing original, just fun 4 stars
8/29/98 Mister Whoopee Solid action flick. No pretensions. 4 stars
8/25/98 Miss Stress Sean Connery is still awesome. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  07-Jun-1996 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast