More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.57

Awesome41.32%
Worth A Look: 19.76%
Average: 13.77%
Pretty Bad: 4.79%
Total Crap: 20.36%

2 reviews, 155 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Rob Gonsalves

Roman J. Israel, Esq. by Peter Sobczynski

Coco (2017) by Peter Sobczynski

Prey (2017) by Jay Seaver

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Australian Rules
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Stephen Groenewegen

"Dropping the ball"
3 stars

Australian Rules begins as a funny and detailed portrait of teenage life in a rural seaside town - a colourful, modern Australian cousin to The Last Picture Show, with an anti-racism theme.

Nathan Phillips and Luke Carroll share a natural rapport as the white Blacky and indigenous Dumby, footballers whose mateship transcends race. There’s also a strong supporting cast of adults, including Kevin Harrington as a dim-witted coach and Celia Ireland as Blacky’s mum. Lisa Flanagan is appealing as Blacky’s indigenous girlfriend, but their Romeo-Juliet love story is underdeveloped.

Director Paul Goldman collaborated with Phillip Gwynne on the screenplay (adapting and expanding Gwynne’s novel Deadly, Unna?). He packs too much incident into the final 45 minutes and the easy flow of the first half is disrupted. When everything is wrapped up neatly at the last minute, the characters and events lose credibility.

Australian Rules no longer feels like real life, just a contrived film story. And, endearing as Phillips’ emotional vulnerability made him, I tired of the author-surrogate hero’s flawlessness.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=6036&reviewer=104
originally posted: 10/10/02 13:05:01
[printer] printer-friendly format  
For more in the Australian series, click here.
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2005 Brisbane Film Festival. For more in the 2005 Brisbane Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

5/23/11 Gay Nigga Cunt I cop cock up my ass 1 stars
11/03/10 Simbob fuckin boongas 1 stars
9/06/10 Your Name: Your Comments: 5 stars
4/29/10 bob its was all right, too much drinking though 4 stars
9/20/09 Footy Dead Headz The real definition of a disaster movie... hit a nun after seeing this awful pollution. 1 stars
5/25/09 Jake Very well written and an excellent acting. Tackled many morale issues 4 stars
4/29/09 SoMeOnE the book was much better but it still contained some pretty good stuff about racism 4 stars
3/19/09 ergh compared to the book this was average and all you rascists you can get FUCKED! 3 stars
1/14/09 Cameron.Clark I came over the black chick 5 stars
10/31/08 Micheal Coffey I LOVE PICKLES!! SOOOOO HOT 5 stars
9/10/08 english awesome 5 stars
7/14/08 Sophie/Moo This movie tackled many issues relevant to today. Worth watching 4 stars
5/04/08 Stephh learnt stuff 5 stars
4/20/08 phoebe - it was so boring to watch, it needs to be set somewhere different, not the desert 1 stars
7/31/07 BiglBrah I Agree. You all need to start contributing to society 1 stars
7/31/07 sean loves doug get off the internet and go get a job 1 stars
6/28/07 Nav rocks The movie was excellent. It captures the true nature of racism. Fantastic. 5 stars
6/01/07 pig g8 book and film 4 stars
5/29/07 bob smith this movie was friggen gay and needs burning 1 stars
5/29/07 jimbopa this movie was like watchin gras grow 1 stars
5/22/07 Footy Fan its bloody awesome! its not racist at all. its showing racial awareness and what their like 4 stars
5/18/07 *KoRn QuEeN* how can some of you be so harsh. show a bit of respect. will you. its just a bloody movie. 5 stars
5/17/07 fleur it was really bad. and why does it need more porn? do u wanna c them? 2 stars
5/11/07 POONTANG its fucked i hate it its mean and racist 1 stars
5/05/07 Rosemary Lee Loved this movie!!! Everything about it was wonderful. Excellent 5 stars
4/30/07 BOO the movie was crap as 1 stars
4/11/07 mememe i absolute;y hated the movie. the book was at least a bit better.da assignment sux 2 stars
3/27/07 Lachlan Gregory I love Liam Walton 1 stars
3/25/07 bruce goes alrite 4 stars
11/30/06 i rule it was fucked up 1 stars
11/23/06 laura smith i thought it was a crap movie but pickles is hot 2 stars
10/24/06 Sean A excellent true blue film 5 stars
10/01/06 Malisa a fantastic watch if you like dramas. good quailty aussie acting. 5 stars
9/29/06 mama this movie sucks balls, it needs to show some tities 1 stars
9/29/06 Adcol This movie was fully shit 2 stars
5/23/06 kaka ummm it was ok... 3 stars
5/11/06 Amy its a good movie that teenages that love football will enjoy 4 stars
5/01/06 tayls It is a bloody good movie 5 stars
4/28/06 tobys mum pickls mum is a milf 5 stars
4/06/06 luke chandler really good 5 stars
3/29/06 sam it was ok... i did it for school 4 stars
11/03/05 khkghm blacky was good lookin 5 stars
9/21/05 nhmk bm 1 stars
9/16/05 ye the movie suks need more porn 5 stars
8/19/05 b Clarence is a black slut 3 stars
8/15/05 baker pretty cool 4 stars
8/01/05 Rachel Obrien the coach turns me on 5 stars
8/01/05 Sam Nelson Blacky is hot 5 stars
8/01/05 Ella Sutton great movie Clarence is so hot 4 stars
5/17/05 Jessica Saward 'Don't Gudge a book by it's cover' 4 stars
5/17/05 hannah its a lovely lovely movis full of joy and tlc 5 stars
4/01/05 Emily-Jane All right bit of a laugh lol :) 5 stars
3/29/05 Lyn ive seen better... 2 stars
2/28/05 jay crap crap crap crap crap 1 stars
1/07/05 Big Bill fantastic film 5 stars
10/31/04 kate crap crap crap 1 stars
10/29/04 osama bin laden it was shit 1 stars
10/28/04 Anabel I love this movie. Luke carroll is so hot! The movie is a great adaption of the book. 5 stars
10/21/04 kalena spurling hi how's it going 5 stars
9/23/04 Trent S bloddy awesome 5 stars
9/15/04 noname It was great, it captured the atmoshere of a true county town. 5 stars
9/08/04 am it was great 5 stars
9/07/04 Em It was a good movie, sad but good! Recomend it to all! 4 stars
9/01/04 hop rubbish 1 stars
8/30/04 Nannos a gutsy story. shows how sports can bring people togetner- both black and white 4 stars
8/16/04 Christine Black This is a life like story 5 stars
8/10/04 Godfrey the third and one half i loved the bit about Barney and how he sang his song!!! 4 stars
7/29/04 taylor le blanc if i wasnt so busy sucking off guys i might of watched this movie. 5 stars
7/29/04 skye excellent 5 stars
7/27/04 person its a stuppid movie 2 do for skool, so it sucked 1 stars
7/23/04 leigh knight it was so good i nearly wet my pants twice 5 stars
7/20/04 jasmine purdie excellent 5 stars
7/10/04 Nev Good movie..humour,pathos,racial divide,underlying domestic violence...a brave film 4 stars
6/27/04 dooshbag what the f(_)ck is dis, havent seen it but i heard it sucks the d1ck big time 1 stars
6/24/04 frankee good combination of humour and drama 4 stars
6/15/04 Peta great story line, great australian movie 4 stars
6/07/04 madison loved it 5 stars
5/29/04 Jessica Scattini Very different from the book, and kinda confusing...but alright! 2 stars
5/28/04 dick hole this film sucks the total cock...very hard!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
5/19/04 Matt is very entertaining 5 stars
5/11/04 Jade The book was better but the movie is still good 4 stars
5/07/04 Annie it was a pretty good movie it shows you the horrible racisum in this country 4 stars
4/20/04 Joh This movie is deep 5 stars
4/18/04 gh hgfh 1 stars
3/31/04 Craig O'halloran this movie was extremely crap, acually no..........it was so boring i fell asleep! 5 stars
3/30/04 LIK MY COK I HATE BOONGS 1 stars
3/23/04 Nilly K ThA BeSt (movie for school) 5 stars
3/17/04 joe crap 1 stars
3/15/04 James It was film in OZ. It must Be good 5 stars
3/15/04 sapphire awesome 5 stars
3/09/04 ed stollery it's agood movie 5 stars
2/29/04 Nicole very good australian film 4 stars
2/25/04 Kelly It wasnt as good as book but still worth it 3 stars
2/25/04 jake tait it was nothing compaired to the books it is based on 2 stars
2/24/04 Sandy It was Interesting! 3 stars
2/23/04 god i am god 4 stars
2/20/04 Lachlan Christie 1 stars
1/14/04 lagrossebete fair dinkum!!! top movie 5 stars
11/23/03 Laura Graham I loved it! Luke Carrol is a good actor. And dont you just love Pickles, he was soo funny. 5 stars
11/21/03 Clezza What a decent movie!!!!!I love Nathan Phillips 5 stars
11/13/03 Bezz it is the best i've seen this year 5 stars
11/11/03 Matt Harding This film brings my movie watching experance to an all time low 1 stars
11/05/03 dekem total crap 1 stars
10/30/03 Kerry Funny and sad, great story 5 stars
10/22/03 Amy Nunn really mooving stuff 5 stars
10/16/03 Suzi MaKenzie Excellent!!! 5 stars
9/20/03 Nicole theodoridif comparing to the book it absolutely suckssssss the directing the actors were alright 3 stars
9/08/03 Rosie Reynolds It was absolutely fantastic! 5 stars
9/06/03 helen fantastic, as good, or better than the book! (deadly unna) 5 stars
9/06/03 sOpHiE GREAT to all u ppl who say its crap u obviously dont understand wat its trying to express! 5 stars
9/03/03 naz great 5 stars
8/26/03 Anne worst movie man kind ever came up with no wonder it wasn't at the movies in town bloodycrap 1 stars
8/20/03 dre yeah its not too bad could be better 3 stars
8/18/03 Kate Bloody good Australian movie, depicted our 90's surperbly, extremely well done. 4 stars
8/17/03 Toya Good movie!! It is very realistic and definetly worth watching 5 stars
8/11/03 Eleanor Notley its pretty good 3 stars
8/10/03 Sarah Excellent film. Portrayed an Australian reality. Wasn't just another trashy teenage film. 5 stars
8/08/03 FRED RICK this movie is tha worst fuking movie ever it is so crap 5 stars
8/08/03 thomas this was a top notch movie and i wouldnt rather rape a donkey 4 stars
7/12/03 pbc english student i wish more black ppl died in it. watch the hitler movie this wknd! down wth the darkys! 1 stars
6/15/03 haydini ENGLISH SUX DICK I HATE IT 3 stars
6/10/03 F Good Movie. Good Acting. It's tops. 5 stars
6/03/03 reens A very eye opening and emotional movie 5 stars
5/22/03 veronica wellings it was too deadly!! 5 stars
5/07/03 ar ha hah a it was a really good movie... it was interesting and had a good plot. 4 stars
4/04/03 Daniel i would rather rape a donkey than watch this shit movie again. Fucking spongbob is better!! 1 stars
4/01/03 ben graham It is a fantastic look at modern day australia and how accepting or not accepting australio 4 stars
3/27/03 Em and Ange Oh yeah, but this assignment is shit!lol! 5 stars
3/26/03 Teresa Blanc I loved the movie, it is one of those twisted forbiden love films. 5 stars
3/19/03 Bildo The fucking shittest gay mother fucking movie ever, not enough white people in it 1 stars
3/19/03 Bill the shittest movie ever and now i have to do a gay assignment on it 1 stars
3/17/03 keera bilney it's deadly 5 stars
3/15/03 Kelly Stone A little too dramatic but a real eye opener 4 stars
1/15/03 jh very erotic 5 stars
11/06/02 Sue Berry A kick in the back for black youth and Pt Pierce Community 2 stars
10/23/02 Kira Funnily fantastic 5 stars
10/20/02 Jenna I haven't seen the movie but read tha book and it is great i just hope the movie is as well 5 stars
10/17/02 Mike Head bloody brillliant, Australian's need more of this type of film to erradicate the red neck 4 stars
10/17/02 Mike Head Bloody brilliant, Australians need more of this type of film to erradicate the red neck. 4 stars
10/10/02 Jules C Another Australian film that makes me proud to be an aussie 5 stars
10/02/02 Lee Burton Excellent fiesty drama with a bite! 5 stars
9/19/02 Me its really good 4 stars
9/18/02 siv its great! 5 stars
9/18/02 evry1 here sux just as bad as the movie except for Christina it woz total crap 1 stars
9/18/02 I dont no how to spell my name..........lol....soz I fought it was alrite 3 stars
9/18/02 Christina Brown it sucked 1 stars
9/17/02 Pippin Ellis Fucking Brilliant 5 stars
9/14/02 Michael Claxton EXCELENT 5 stars
9/09/02 anna it was a great movie that shows people the way others treat people because of their colour. 4 stars
9/08/02 Chloe Meiers FANTASTIC 5 stars
9/03/02 Leah I have read the book and I loved it, I saw the film and I loved it. 5 stars
8/31/02 Jack Fairchild Evocative, cutting and witty 5 stars
8/31/02 Matthew Smith a strong urban Australian drama, a well told story 4 stars
8/26/02 Jim Lisa Flanagan is 'worth a look' 3 stars
8/20/02 Sean leaves you thinking a long time after you see it 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Mar-2002

UK
  N/A

Australia
  29-Aug-2002




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast