More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.25

Awesome: 13.86%
Worth A Look: 13.25%
Average: 7.23%
Pretty Bad: 15.66%
Total Crap50%

5 reviews, 136 user ratings



XXX
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"The movie frat boys would make if they had money and were sober."
4 stars

The makers of "XXX" would have you believe the title character is the James Bond for the new millennium. I'm afraid I will have to agree with them. Old Mr. Bond's debonair attitude has no place in the Age of Irony. Triple X could drink a gallon of martinis, shaken not stirred, then beat the crap out of the bartender just for fun.

"XXX," unlike recent 007 films, embraces its sexism unapologietically and wallows in the physics-defying absurdity of its action sequences. Not one bit of "XXX" should be be taken seriously, but taken on the level of a testosterone-drenched amusement-park ride, it makes your inner adolescent hoot like it's on Spring Break.

The film begins with the National Security Agency, led by Augustus Gibbons (Samuel L. Jackson), deciding the only way to find top-notch spies these days is to recruit hardened criminals. "They're programmable, expendable, and they work," Gibbons says. "I think they're our best bet." There is no debate; everyone agrees this is clearly the best idea.

(I was going to laugh at the movie for using a ridiculous spy-movie name like "Augustus Gibbons," until I realized the star is someone who thinks his name is "Vin Diesel.")

Xander Cage (Vin Diesel), an extreme-sports enthusiast with a couple strikes against his criminal record, is among the parolees tested by the NSA. Naturally, Cage exhibits extraordinary observation and survival skills, making him the perfect candidate for spyhood. Since it's either this or go to jail, he agrees to help Uncle Sam stop a ring of European anarchists who are about to unleash a nerve agent on the world's major cities.

Cage has three X's tattooed on the back of his neck. Whether being called "Triple X" led to the tattoo, or whether the tattoo led to his being called "Triple X," the movie does not say. Like the initial premise of bad guys being turned into secret agents, it is something that simply IS. You accept it as you accept the sets and the costumes and the music, or as you accept there being a motorcycle handy when Cage needs it, or that there will always be a slanted surface nearby that can serve as a jumping ramp.

Because the plot and its complications are strictly standard, "XXX" focuses on image and personality instead. And it has those in spades, particularly in Mr. Diesel. He does not have the acting skill of any of the men who have played James Bond, but he has charisma and attitude like nobody's business, growling his lines in that gutteral but good-natured voice of his, and smiling as much as the audience at how cool all this stuff is. Diesel is still a novelty. Once we've seen him in about five more films, it will wear off. But for now -- wow! Few men can wear a fur coat over a wife-beater T-shirt, as Diesel does here, and still seem cool.

"XXX" runs down the checklist of Things Guys Like. Cars drive off bridges and motorcycles get blown up solely because guys like that sort of thing. There are hot babes with whom Cage has sex. Why? Because the audience wants him to. Gadgets, fast cars, a thrash-metal soundtrack -- this is the movie frat boys would make if they had money and were ever sober long enough.

Why does a movie as dumb as this one work? First, because director Rob Cohen ("Fast and the Furious") is a proficient director of action sequences, engaging our senses without pummeling us senseless.

Second, because while the law of gravity is much abused in "XXX," the laws of logic are not. Your average man will not find himself in a majority of the situations presented here. But if he WERE, he would react and respond approximately the way these people do. Everything in the film is improbable, but very little of it is impossible. You can watch, giggle and get an adrenaline boost without feeling like you've completely lowered your entertainment standards.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=6056&reviewer=247
originally posted: 08/10/02 03:58:38
[printer] printer-friendly format  
Trilogy Starters: For more in the Trilogy Starters series, click here.

User Comments

9/16/17 morris campbell hte vin diesel 1 stars
3/13/17 morris campbell lame action movie vin diesel sux he's ugly 2 1 stars
10/07/13 David Rent "Pitch Black" or "Boiler Room". 1 stars
8/26/13 DB such an awful movie! way over the top! james bond movies are better 1 stars
7/10/10 PAUL SHORTT SILLY, OVER-THE-TOP ACTION THRILLER 2 stars
2/24/10 dinesh plz see me film 4 stars
12/19/09 Jeff Wilder Lots of fury but no sound. 2 stars
10/22/08 Shaun Wallner Very Boring! 1 stars
8/13/08 Brenda For a spy movie, it takes it self too seriously. It needed a dose of humor. 2 stars
7/30/08 chris f complete and utter garbage 1 stars
3/29/08 saleem that, good xxx films 5 stars
5/10/07 Mandee good movie 4 stars
4/12/07 R Outt were do they get off making rubbish like this? a truely snooze-inducing flick. 1 stars
3/21/07 man lame 1 stars
2/08/07 Matt Comparing this dud to Bond is like having sex with a blow-up doll instead of a beauty queen 1 stars
9/23/06 deepanshu so sexy 3 stars
9/04/06 Jarkko Perälä Should have been named "James Bond Xtreme" 1 stars
6/25/06 Greg Pile of diarrhea 1 stars
2/06/06 Anthony Feor Action packed and amazing, well done 4 stars
12/08/05 JM Synth Not even a genuine actionfilm, a jerkoff fest for xtreme sports fanatics. Crappy Soundtrack 2 stars
11/05/05 cooler FUCK YOU VIN DIESEL.WORST ACTION MOVIE EVER 1 stars
10/03/05 Tim the Enchanter I laughed through this movie, it should have been billed as a comedy 2 stars
8/29/05 ES Vin assumes his rightful place beside Seagal and Van Damme 1 stars
8/26/05 Eden Painful to watch 1 stars
8/21/05 tony a keeper! This was filled with action and attitude! 4 stars
7/30/05 R.W. Welch Mostly shlock; a couple good action bits. 2 stars
7/04/05 ALDO stupid...but alright action 3 stars
6/14/05 Anthony G shit? 1 stars
6/07/05 JD The stunts were ridiculous and the acting terrible, should be renamed 00zero. 1 stars
6/04/05 Hack-SAW Extra score for the heavy-metal soundtrack... Overall, crappy film!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 4 stars
5/27/05 tony Deisel tries to hard to be macho man. But sometimes it works. I thought it was very good. 4 stars
12/11/04 Jennifer You guys are just jelous because he's so hot.. and all the ladies want him!! 5 stars
12/09/04 Kristina Williams Vin is a stupid, stupid sumbitch, but the FX were sweet 4 stars
10/14/04 lewis suxxxed 1 stars
8/31/04 hermansyah very nice 4 stars
8/14/04 Brittney Leeb I dun care wut NE of these ppl say xXx was the best movie and i'd watch it 100 times if i.. 5 stars
6/21/04 Stab Wounds Vin Diesel sucks very, very bad 1 stars
5/24/04 Butterbean It's not that bad. I'm ready for the sequel. 4 stars
5/16/04 KRG1 Wow, I didn't know films could be this bad...Diesel has zero acting talent...Horrible 1 stars
5/14/04 Agent Sands Not quite THE most riveting movie, but it's pretty fresh 4 a Hollywood actioner! 4 stars
12/15/03 michaelb14 Sucks Ass beyond all belief 1 stars
11/12/03 Twenty-Two YUMMMM....... Vin Diesel!! 5 stars
8/22/03 Gray didn't like it to much 2 stars
8/11/03 Amy If you liked Fast and the Furious, you'll like this stunner. 1 stars
7/28/03 Ghetto Smurf Explosions and stunts are pretty coo, but everything esle sucks 1 stars
7/23/03 Double G I thought this was porno 1 stars
7/21/03 Igor Vin Diesel forgot how to act. Looks like hes reading cue cards for the whole movie 1 stars
5/23/03 Chiend XXX? Should have been called, ZZZ... 1 stars
5/07/03 leroyjones come on Samuel...u kno better 2 stars
4/25/03 mr. Pink Stupid in a 20 % good and 80% bad way. Vin Diesel still has a LOT to prove. 2 stars
4/25/03 Mikee Good for the recycle bin 1 stars
4/24/03 GWB XXX is AAA 5 stars
4/15/03 Jack Bourbon Note to self: Become international illegal-weapons dealer. SUCKS! 1 stars
4/09/03 Taylor Fladgate Once again, my friends, a good Friday night rental 3 stars
4/05/03 Sally Chavez Waaay too long and so bad. Vin's the worst actor in history & v. butt. Asia is cute tho. 1 stars
3/24/03 Sugarfoot An embarrisment 1 stars
3/17/03 Paul Coleman The 'hero' looks like a scumbag C. Bronson would shoot in a DEATH WISH movie. Very Silly. 2 stars
2/24/03 captain poopy WOW. total shit. not even a climactic fight at the end - Bond, rest easy - no threat here. 1 stars
2/17/03 Pat I now associate Vin Diesel with CRAP! 1 stars
2/06/03 123 What's all the big fuss ? Forgettable character, stupid plot, overacted actions 2 stars
1/07/03 PALGary wittiest action flik since Man With The Golden Gun - Blows away any Bond from last 25 years 5 stars
1/06/03 Allen Vin is awful and butt-ugly! Why is he a movie star? 1 stars
12/21/02 Johnny Vin should have canned this after reading the dumb script. 1 stars
11/23/02 freak fucking good 5 stars
11/23/02 Massacree When you think of it as a James Bond copy,this movie is great,but JAMES BOND MOVIES SUCK ! 3 stars
11/20/02 Mike Worst movie ever. 1 stars
11/13/02 Film Dude I should have been paid to see this. 1 stars
11/12/02 AgentDS Most painful movie-going experience since Glitter 1 stars
11/05/02 Fonq35 This sucks the sweat from a deadman's balls 1 stars
11/05/02 Michael Buehler The pre-pubescent action films market apparently requires no plot to be satisfied. 2 stars
11/03/02 phil good action sequenced - but come on Die Another Day is just gunna kick xXx's as 2 stars
11/02/02 matthew best spy movie ever 5 stars
10/27/02 MarktheShark6 Vin Diesel may be over-rated, but the movie wasn't too bad. It's worth seeing. 3 stars
10/25/02 Mr. Hat Vin Diesel an Rob Cohen are reinventing action just as Chow Yun-Fat and John Woo did! 4 stars
10/15/02 Brian Pure 100% garbage. Wouldn't show it to a bum off the street. 1 stars
10/15/02 Joana Hey, it's an awful movie, but did you really expected it to be good with a name like that? 2 stars
10/11/02 y0rt I saw MIIB 1 hour before this, and this is infintismly better. 5 stars
10/09/02 Steph NO one will EVER be better than 007. Superficial teens with no standards will like it. 1 stars
10/04/02 Alex Flynn I think Vin Diesel is mildly retarded. 1 stars
9/24/02 Kris Kincade I loved it for the piece of silly fluff that it was!! 5 stars
9/21/02 amateurs it's only an action movie! should make for easy dubbing ;) 4 stars
9/19/02 Uncle Salty If this movie went to school, it would ride the short bus. 1 stars
9/19/02 brentley James Bond, you might as well give it up. 4 stars
9/12/02 laron chapman you cant believe the action in this movie, its awsome 5 stars
9/10/02 Chancey Thunderpants this son-of-a-bitch movie is trash at its worst. Garbage not fit for anyone w/an iq over 10 1 stars
9/08/02 bob "that's why we're going to knock out the communication tower" 1 stars
9/08/02 Cliché Master Well Space Monkeys, let's hope it doesn't get any worse than this! 1 stars
9/07/02 JesseL Vin kicks butt in a decent action flick. Not for the testosterone-challenged. 4 stars
9/06/02 BrodieMan I see Oz is pimping his opinion again....... 4 stars
9/01/02 Cannibus (Jesus fucking Christ, it blew!) Excruciating to the very end: understatement. Worthless at best. 1 stars
8/27/02 Christopher High unintentional comedy. Everything else terrible 2 stars
8/25/02 Turkish fuckin worst script i have everseen in a movie and ryan leggett is justa little pussy 1 stars
8/25/02 The Chronic Mastubator Awful film, unfortunately it will rake in the money from idiotic 14 yr old boys. 1 stars
8/25/02 Crunchyfrog Enough with the Korn Bizkit soundtracks please, Hollywood 3 stars
8/24/02 ^ZuLu^ absolutely predictable - but worst of all i got bored by all the action! 2 stars
8/23/02 Headshot "Don´t think movie. Think Playstation!" - It´s a PG 13 action movie so it can´t be better.. 3 stars
8/22/02 Dark Barøn Teenager Bond. And Roger Ebert loved it. I lost respect for him. 1 stars
8/22/02 Phoenix Vin Diesel is the best action hero in movies today. 5 stars
8/22/02 Don McDougald Wow....I wish there was a "0 Star" option...this was worse than crap...it was embarassing 1 stars
8/21/02 BrodieMan Not great, not bad. 3 stars
8/19/02 kooler Great dialogue! "These guys attack those guys, those guys attack these guys. . ." 2 stars
8/19/02 Film Guy This is one of the most ridiculous movies ive ever seen, By far one of the years worst 1 stars
8/18/02 Craig Only the Barney generation could fall in love with this bald, irritating monster! 1 stars
8/18/02 Benjamin Leatherman Best video game I ever saw. 3 stars
8/18/02 Naw Hells No This movie sucks but its Vin Diesel so its good.(People are Stupid people) 1 stars
8/18/02 Kyle There's probably a porn movie with the same name, better acting, and a fucking plot. 1 stars
8/18/02 slipperyK Give me Bond anyday...don't want to see it, the trailer made me puke 1 stars
8/18/02 The Truth Much better than the last two James Bond stinkers 4 stars
8/17/02 Anarchy Azmi best movie ever?...somebody please kill hawkboy....bloody gay movie 1 stars
8/17/02 Chelsea No further comments necessary 1 stars
8/16/02 Chris This movie would have kicked ass... if XXX would have died at the end. 1 stars
8/16/02 Jesus I damn Van Diesel and Hawkboy to HELL!!!! 1 stars
8/16/02 Melis Note to Vin: In XXX 2, take more clothing off. Give us something. Seriously. 1 stars
8/16/02 Goldhammer Bond + Dirty Dozen + Lost Boys + Crow = 100% Gay 1 stars
8/16/02 The Chronic Mastubator This movie will be eaten up by juveniles to come on themselves at the shitty action scenes. 1 stars
8/15/02 Double-M Cheey, no question, but incredibly entertaining 5 stars
8/15/02 MrMagic truth in advertising, hilarious dialogue, you gotta love it 5 stars
8/15/02 Schro Man... when we got out of the theater... all we could say was damn. 5 stars
8/14/02 GOOD sucks all ass 1 stars
8/14/02 wintermute Much better than I thought it would be. I would rather watch VIn than Paul Walker anyday. 5 stars
8/14/02 Dave the Knave An outstanding collection of stunts, explosions and babes, all tied up with a horrific plot 2 stars
8/14/02 Interrog8 Entertaining, but dumb action is still dumb. Want talented Vin Diesel, see Boiler Room. 3 stars
8/14/02 Jeff Kovalski Vin Diesal is an unevolved, pathetic excuse for talent of any kind. 1 stars
8/14/02 Ramblin' Wreck jesus............this crap is what passes for Bond nowadays??? wait till Dec.... 1 stars
8/14/02 ajay mildy amusing, but ultra-cheesy 2 stars
8/13/02 Benjo Supid, stupid, stupid!!! 1 stars
8/12/02 Caiphn This wasn't even entertaining. 2 stars
8/12/02 David A. It's a pathetic, sickening, snotty, phony PIECE! Vin Diesel is a bratty little poser! 1 stars
8/12/02 Mike Exciting flick 5 stars
8/11/02 malcolm good for what it was -- mindless action fun 3 stars
8/11/02 KCK This movie was a bore... the trailers were dumb but exciting but nothing happened in this 1 stars
8/10/02 Ed Roy Scott Weinberg is EXACTLY right. 1 stars
8/10/02 J.D. Semlow XXX has a lot of great action, but is too long and gets too ridiculous. 3 stars
8/10/02 Kooze Hell in a handbasket. I once though Diesel was good. He proves here he's awful. 1 stars
8/10/02 Anarchy Azmi first time i felt asleep during movies 1 stars
8/09/02 TheTalkingElbow VIN... GO BACK TO REAL ACTING BEFORE YOUR CAREER DIES FROM THIS GARBAGE 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  09-Aug-2002 (PG-13)
  DVD: 19-Apr-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  12-Sep-2002


Directed by
  Rob Cohen

Written by
  Rich Wilkes

Cast
  Vin Diesel
  Asia Argento
  Samuel L. Jackson
  Marton Csokas
  Joe Bucaro III
  TeeJay Boyce



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast