More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.6

Awesome: 17.98%
Worth A Look: 13.48%
Average: 12.36%
Pretty Bad: 22.47%
Total Crap33.71%

6 reviews, 53 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

Breadwinner, The by Jay Seaver

Endless, The by Jay Seaver

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Blue Crush
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"Far better than it ought to have been."
4 stars

"Blue Crush" is an average film with above-average direction, acting and cinematography. Imagine a cadre of gourmet chefs taking over the kitchen at McDonald's and you'll get the idea: They'll gussy it up as much as they can, but it's still just a Big Mac.

It's a great-looking Big Mac, though. Shot by director of photography David Hennings, the abundant surfing scenes are breathtakingly beautiful, and the roar of the waves comes across powerfully in Dolby sound.

Alas, it's all surrounded by a pedestrian young-romance story set on the gorgeous beaches of Hawaii. Anne Marie (Kate Bosworth) is a surf bum who lives in a shanty with her two surf bum friends, Eden (Michelle Rodriguez) and Lena (Sanoe Lake), and her surf bum little sister, Penny (Mika Boorem). The four of them? Surf bums. The older girls work as hotel maids, but earn just enough money to keep them surfing.

Anne Marie and Penny's mom took off awhile back, leaving Anne Marie to run things, which Penny doesn't make any easier with her rebelliousness. (Squabbling Hawaiian sisters taking care of each other because the parents are gone? Yes, it's "Lilo & Stitch: The Live-Action Drama.")

Anne Marie was on the verge of surfing stardom a few years ago when she bonked her head on a rock, almost drowned, and thereafter lost the nerve. She still surfs, but she avoids challenges. Eden, though, is trying to boost Anne Marie's skills and confidence in time for The Big Contest in a few weeks, The Big Contest being the surfing equivalent of The Big Game or The Big Tournament in other sports movies.

While in training, Anne Marie meets Matt (Matthew Davis), a hunky NFL quarterback who momentarily distracts her from what's really important: surfing.

See, there's some of the problem. It's hard to be convinced of the great tragedy in someone exchanging a life of surfing for a brief fling. Usually the "what's really important" that a film protagonist has to discover is family, love or patriotism. When it's surfing ... well, you lose me there.

Director John Stockwell has a way with actors, though. He directed "crazy/beautiful" last year, a surprisingly good film in which Kirsten Dunst and Jay Hernandez gave great depth to two teenage characters who might otherwise have been stereotyped and flat. "Blue Crush" is nowhere near as good as that, but the dialogue (written by Stockwell and Lizzy Weiss) does seem real and the performances are warm and natural.

At its heart, it's only a sappy, high-cheekboned romance in which the central characters wear bathing suits most of the time and where the interpersonal dramas are wan and familiar. But "Blue Crush" manages to transcend some conventions of the genre and be just a little smarter, better and gentler.

And the surfing scenes are awesome, dude.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=6071&reviewer=247
originally posted: 08/24/02 09:40:58
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

5/22/15 David Hollingsworth Poor man 1 stars
3/27/12 CoolChick So what they're hot??? THE PLOT SUCKED. More like female DEPOWERMENT. 2 stars
11/08/08 Tiffany Losco I really liked this movie. Love the surfing 4 stars
6/07/08 PAUL SHORTT A DEAD IN THE WATER DUD 1 stars
6/01/07 zack sanoe lake is the only reason why I likehe movie, Kate Bosworth ok, and that other chick 3 stars
9/25/06 David Pollastrini all the women in this film are hot! 4 stars
2/09/05 Jeff Anderson The leads are attractive & natural & Stockwell's love for surfing is commendable. IT SHOWS! 5 stars
10/19/04 TITS GREAT FILM N WOULD I FUCK THE LEAD 5 stars
9/07/04 Jim Story: Nonexistent. Bikinis: Skimpy. Surf Footage: Amazing 4 stars
7/27/04 Karin Johnson You couldn't pay me enough money to watch this shit again. 1 stars
6/28/04 Kade I LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!! I think its the best movie ever!!!!!!!! 5 stars
6/03/04 ROSE IT WAS AN AWESOME MOVIE 5 stars
5/24/04 LARRY CIELOSZCZYK LOVED IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
5/07/04 andrea premecz I think its the best movie ever. But I guess if your not for surfing you won't get into it. 5 stars
1/09/04 TheOthersFan Let's have us some more do-the-nasty sequences and less daytime soap melodrama 2 stars
1/05/04 DM Hmmmmmm, do you think Dr. Chumley disliked it? 1 stars
1/04/04 Nicole UNBIELEVIEBLE once u get a test u can't let go, u can't stop watching it 5 stars
12/10/03 Dave T ABOSULT CRAP, 1 OF THE SHITEST MOVIES IVE EVA SEEN, WORST STORYLINE, DUN WASTE UR MONEY ! 1 stars
11/22/03 BluDud3 Crap + bad boobs 1 stars
10/06/03 Kitty It was okay, though not as great as I expected. 4 stars
10/02/03 Frank Soucy it sucked 1 stars
9/05/03 Ingo Ok, so the tube shots are great. But that doesn't make a good movie. 2 stars
7/27/03 crazy one of the best movies i've seen. awesome. 5 stars
7/24/03 MDR That shit is hott 5 stars
3/23/03 Lauren Gramann it was really good I loved it 5 stars
3/04/03 velvet Sunscreen, better storyline,more curvy bodies, no moaning, Michelle R no longer rules. 2 stars
3/02/03 JR This review was right on!!! 1 stars
2/24/03 the clergyman '' don't criticize a lie you ha..BLAH BLAH - I hope you die matthew. very soon. 1 stars
2/21/03 Mister Bigglesworth If Ashley Judd, J-Lo, or aging Meg Ryan could surf, this would be their "date" genre flik. 2 stars
2/18/03 Jessica Surfing rocks.Chix rule.And Girls DOMINATE!And life sux withought the surfing 5 stars
2/17/03 Matthew Koenig Don't criticize a way of life you haven't lived. 4 stars
1/15/03 Muppet the wonder surfer Sanoe Lake is hot. 3 stars
1/13/03 Simone The movie was just like any stupid teenage love movie with the same type of plot. 1 stars
1/04/03 surfer surfing is surfing, chicks are chicks, and hollywood is for pricks 1 stars
12/06/02 LJ Friggin awesome movie. Anyone don't like it, they can blow me. Blue Crush is sweeeeeet. 5 stars
9/20/02 Stinger Ignore the criticism...enjoy the surfing & incredible footage 4 stars
9/13/02 Holly MacDonald AWESOME! 5 stars
9/12/02 laron chapman AWESOME AND ACTION-PACKED 5 stars
9/09/02 Patrick This movie was great, the scenery was amazing during the movie 5 stars
9/09/02 Movie guy A GREAT FILM 5 stars
9/08/02 Cliché Master Commits one of the worst cinematic crimes possible...it makes chicks in bikinis boring. 1 stars
9/08/02 Tits for the boys… …that's what this movie is about. And Kate Bosworth SUCKS! 1 stars
9/04/02 NavyUboat Hawaii, NorthShore, Waves ++, her inability to overcome - -, new found love - - 3 stars
8/27/02 James Drake The worst movie ever shown at a theatre. It sucks smelly ass. 1 stars
8/24/02 ^ZuLu^ boring stereotype teen-romance and not even beautiful pictures 1 stars
8/24/02 Rampage not even worth a matinee... >_< 1 stars
8/24/02 kitt4film@hotmail.com This must be be for guys cause I'm not buying this stuff. 1 stars
8/23/02 Headshot This is a cool summer movie. It has girls, big waves and bikinis. Nothing more than this... 3 stars
8/23/02 The Chronic Mastubator Probably the mos useless movie in a long time. Dumb & annoying.. completely pointless junk! 2 stars
8/20/02 Ramblin Wreck I moderatly enjoyed this movie the first time I saw it....when it was called "Rip Girls" 2 stars
8/19/02 .Choadushouse. Blue Crush = Crossroads - Britney + Lots of Surfing 3 stars
8/18/02 Peter Brook Some nice tits, some nice asses, some nice surf. All else blows, bigtime. 1 stars
8/17/02 K-ronik Make as many excuses as you like, but this just wasn't great. 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  16-Aug-2002 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  05-Dec-2002




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast