More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
1.74

Awesome: 4.35%
Worth A Look: 3.26%
Average: 20.65%
Pretty Bad: 5.43%
Total Crap66.3%

6 reviews, 56 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


fear dot com
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by The Ultimate Dancing Machine

"Dot com, dot go"
1 stars

This idiot movie is being hyped by radio ads with a voice-over actor pretentiously intoning, "Abandon all hope--Fear Dot Com!" For once, the ads are dead-on accurate. I abandoned all hope around the time Udo Kier got run over by a subway train--and that's the opening scene. The rest of the movie flails around so incoherently that I suspect the film's serial slayer somehow killed off the editing crew during post-production.

It goes something like this. There's a serial killer (Stephen Rea) on the loose who executes innocent women via live webcam on his redundantly addressed site feardotcom.com. The cops (Stephen Dorff and Natascha McElhone) are going nuts trying to find him, because a publically accessible website with paid subscribers is rather hard to trace...

...meanwhile, people are turning up dead all over the city. It soon transpires that they all accessed feardotcom.com within 48 hours of their deaths. Somehow, viewing the site made them all (1) come down with nosebleeds, (2) hallucinate insects coming out of the walls and so forth, (3) die in ludicrous ways while a little platinum-haired ghost-girl watched...

...while this is happening, the nutty killer has kidnapped a new victim. He ties her up and pushes needles into her body while drawling lines like "I wish I could say I feel your pain, but I can't." The nutty killer speaks in a bad American accent because this movie is ostensibly set in New York, and because UK actors seem to think Americans all talk like Forrest Gump. Did I mention the film was shot in Montreal and Luxembourg? And that it shows?...

...anyhow, the cops start closing in on the killer. They make each other promise not to log onto feardotcom.com. because they've found that there's a porno-woman apparition in there that can read their minds, and that's no good. They both access the site regardless, knowing damn well that they'll get the nosebleeds and the hallucinations and so on...

...and the platinum-haired girl keeps showing up out of nowhere. Stephen Rea makes pretentious speeches about voyeurism while asking his victim to beg for mercy, which is an unreasonable request being that he's shoved a leather gag in her mouth. Did I mention that his secret hideout changes from a warehouse to an abandoned nuclear plant somewhere in the middle of the film?...

...and it's so confusing that my nose has just started bleeding. No...wait...

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=6085&reviewer=223
originally posted: 08/31/02 16:09:32
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

11/26/11 Wa Wa Weitz Just awful. Crap, exploitative crap, derivative crap, boring crap, crap crap crap. 1 stars
9/11/07 kristina The movie was orgasmic :D 5 stars
6/09/06 Frank Rountree This movie was bad all the way around, everything! 1 stars
4/04/06 JRE horror films arent supposed to be predictable which is exactly what this was. dont watch it 1 stars
11/26/05 shell bell Not only was this predictable...it was boringly predictable. 1 stars
11/23/05 Melissa just waiting for something to happen, hard to hear, boring 1 stars
10/27/05 deadwiz Not scary, just weird. Had some interesting ideas. 3 stars
10/26/05 Richard Brandt Seems ghosts could just come out with what's bothering them...Wait, this wasn't The Ring? 2 stars
10/23/05 baseball-nut I have to agree with the majority....this was CRAP! 1 stars
9/02/05 ES Nothing here your life won't be better off without 1 stars
1/05/05 Joe England From what I saw, "The Ring," with "du you want to plé?" constantly fed onto the soundtrack. 2 stars
1/02/05 Sarah Jack Sommersby is a fucking idiot. 1 stars
7/21/04 American Slasher Goddess A boring mess, Jeffrey Combs is once again wasted in another movie. 1 stars
7/11/04 NaturezRevenge 1. The ring meets wannabe hellraiser where girls can have haemophilia and play at old mills 1 stars
6/23/04 Freeman Not bad at all 4 stars
4/11/04 valerie hart this is one of the worst films i have ever seen crap story its so dark cant see the screen! 1 stars
3/09/04 Sean McLean Boring direction and a script that needed some more drafts mars an otherwise decent concept 2 stars
2/14/04 Jingo P. Everyone involved deserves slow decapitation with a saudering iron. 1 stars
1/09/04 tatum Stunning visuals lift dumb story 3 stars
12/14/03 darkofnight An excellent ride that offers a surprising amount of great jolts. Conclusion falls flat. 4 stars
11/24/03 Samuel Good premise, but unfortunately the rest sucks! 3 stars
10/17/03 Jeremy Ach The best movie I have ever seen. 5 stars
10/11/03 Peter What a load of shite, and thats being Nice!!, if the film was any darker You need a tourch! 1 stars
10/11/03 Dumb Like it was the boring movie of all time 1 stars
10/09/03 Stacey !Stupid! 1 stars
8/26/03 feardotgovdotny everyone involved with this four-assed-monkey turd has 48 hrs b4 I start shooting! 1 stars
6/16/03 Alice I have no words for this piece of shit 1 stars
4/30/03 WORST MOVIE OF ALL TIME Anyone who likes this even a bit is a TURD. 1 stars
3/12/03 garamy swearingen it is shit 1 stars
1/24/03 nora parsons it is a very good movie 5 stars
1/17/03 othree serial killer, ghost & the net, supporting cast almost pulls it off, DARK! NO fEAR 3 stars
11/17/02 snowconehead Udo Kier is the man 5 stars
11/08/02 SPYDER ITS A RIP OFF OF THE RING, THAT SUCKS!!!! 1 stars
11/01/02 The Velcro Warlock Natasha McElhone, the angel of "Truman Show" is just as wasted here, even w/more screentime 2 stars
10/30/02 Oz got it just right, read his review Lillian, David A — you are RETARDS! Only a MORON could find anything to like in this TURD! 1 stars
10/23/02 Lillian Alston I agree with Eric, the movie had no meaning. I was exspecting something different. 3 stars
10/22/02 Jiz About as interesting as watching roadkill decompose. Yawn-o-matic, fuck you Malone 1 stars
10/08/02 This Movie Sucks The only frightening thing about this movie is the amount bad press it's getting. 1 stars
9/20/02 thejames why did stephen dorff have to be in this movie? hes good, movie sucks 2 stars
9/12/02 Mike G I laughed a lot. The dialogue is painful. 1 stars
9/12/02 Buddha Unconscionably bad. Terrible dialogue, for torture fans only. 1 stars
9/10/02 David A. Just like an episode of X Files. Lead characters are imitations of Mulder and Sculley. 4 stars
9/10/02 Warbandit What a load of bullsh!t. Avoid at all costs. 1 stars
9/09/02 jay shit shit garbage, waste of money, IM soo fuckin upset. crap, shit garbage, donation, damn 1 stars
9/08/02 Cliché Master The only thing scary here was the admission price. 1 stars
9/08/02 Erik Snider is right Not even bad in a funny kind of way. Just unbearable 1 stars
9/06/02 alien Which part of the movies name didn't warn you it would suck? Only suckers could go see it. 1 stars
9/06/02 Jennie sucked big time, stupidist movie ever seen 1 stars
9/06/02 Gregg I think this film should be titled Crapdotcom 1 stars
9/05/02 CARLOS GUTIERREZ VERY BAD MOVIE, IN DIALOGUE AND EDITING 1 stars
9/04/02 The Chronic Mastubator Such a boring turd of a movie. 1 stars
9/02/02 Sugarfoot Piss rotten! 1 stars
9/02/02 Danielle Ophelia Fear dot coma 1 stars
9/01/02 Danny See my review at www.bucketreviews.com 3 stars
8/31/02 Damien Raven Maybe the weirdest damn movie this year. Decent plot, bad acting and dialog, great looking 3 stars
8/20/02 Peter Brook Is this a joke? Fear dot com? 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  30-Aug-2002 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  06-Feb-2003




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast