More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.9

Awesome38.57%
Worth A Look: 30%
Average: 18.57%
Pretty Bad: 8.57%
Total Crap: 4.29%

2 reviews, 58 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Yesterday by Peter Sobczynski

Toy Story 4 by Peter Sobczynski

Canary (2018) by Jay Seaver

Assassinaut by Jay Seaver

Dead Don't Die, The by alejandroariera

Dead Don't Die, The by Peter Sobczynski

Shaft (2019) by Peter Sobczynski

Men in Black: International by Peter Sobczynski

Chasing the Dragon 2: Wild Wild Bunch by Jay Seaver

Hole in the Ground, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Kingpin
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Parry

"All the ingredients are there for it to stink. Somehow, it doesn't."
4 stars

Piece it together. We've got Randy Quaid. Not a great start. then you've got Vanessa Angel, world reknowned for.. well, nothing, but she has gazoongas. Then you've got Woody Harrelson, the thinking man's Deliverance extra. And the theme of this majesty? Bowling. We all love a bowling film, don't we kids? Quaid is an Amish guy with a talent for strikes. Harrelson is a washed up one-armed bowler. Angel is a whore. So how can a film with these terribly clunky ingredients come out a winner? Simple. It's all about the Farelly's, kids.

Yes, the Farelly's, Kings of shock, Princes of gross-out humour, but when it comes right down to it, they're also pretty damn good storytellers. This film almost comes across as an experiment to see just how stupid they can get and still get paid. And they get way stupid. Way way stupid.

If you compare Kingpin to say, oh, Citizen Kane... you're an idiot. Let's get real, punk.

But if you compared it to such comedy outings as the average Zucker flick, perhaps a Leslie Neilsen outing, Kingpin buries them all. The jokes are certainly lowbrow, but they pretty much all hit some mark or other. There's a few out and out "guffaw"s, a few "ick"s and more than a couple of "heh"s. And what more could you ask?

The cast are far from star-quality, but wit doesn't really matter. You could put a monkey in a hemp suit and it could do everything Woody Harrelson does, only funnier, and Quaid is never going to be a level above rank goon, no matter what the quality of script. Bill Murray, as the champion bowler who was responsible for Harrelson losing his arm... well I hate to say it. Murray blows. He's awful. Is he a one note comic actor? This seems to be beyond him completely.

And Vanessa Angel, she has gazoongas.

No great surprises here, but a funny movie for a lazy Thursday night rental. The Farelly's manage to make the whole thing very watchable with some deft writing and trademark ickiness, and if you enjoy mid-career Adam Sandler flicks, this should be right up your alley. (Pun so not intended.)

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=609&reviewer=1
originally posted: 05/14/00 01:47:38
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

4/12/10 Sarah Bailey I loved this movie the first time I saw it and it gets funnier each time I watch it. 5 stars
11/23/08 Nick Good movie for some laugh's 4 stars
7/28/08 The Dork Knight Unfunny pile of shit 2 stars
10/13/07 RG Knew it was a classic in the first 30 minutes! 5 stars
1/28/07 mets1986 Best Farrelly movie...triumphs over Dumb and Dumber 5 stars
1/19/07 Ole Man Bourbon One of the Farrellys' best 5 stars
11/10/06 Zach "The Reviewer" This is a movie I have been watching since 1997.. So I can def. tell you.. INSTANT CLASSIC! 5 stars
8/28/06 Dan Rests among the pantheon of great '90s comedies. 5 stars
3/28/06 Larry Superb Bowling Movie! 5 stars
8/20/05 ES Re-watchable and hilarious, superior to dumb and dumber & something about mary 5 stars
5/13/05 Jennifer Regan Kind of funny in a weird way! 3 stars
4/08/05 Clubber Lange Dumb & Dumber with a script. Couple of complaints: Too long and not all the jokes work. 4 stars
1/15/05 Jeff Anderson A Farrelly Brothers triumph! The best movie about bowling ever made and funniest. 5 stars
4/07/04 archangeljen Some people need to have a sick sense of humor to enjoy this movie,it's one of my favorites 5 stars
3/23/04 Lord Haw Haw What's the big dieal? A few grins, nothing more. Stupid and gross do not equal funny. 2 stars
1/24/04 Dan A classic. It gets better with every viewing. 5 stars
11/19/03 KR CHris Parry -- how can you saw Murray blew in this movie? One of his best roles ever. 5 stars
7/30/03 3man Pretty funny. Vanessa Angel looks sweet! 4 stars
6/01/03 leon %%0qwe THIS FILM NEEDS A SEQUAL INSTEAD OF DUMB AND DUMBERER.WAIT THEN THEY WILL DISCRACETHISFILM! 4 stars
4/15/03 Jack Bourbon Pissed my pants, time and time again. "You musta jarred somethin' loose, Tiger." 5 stars
3/24/03 Jack Sommersby Screamingly funny for the most part. Harrelson manages to be both funny and touching. 4 stars
3/17/03 G-man gross in some places, but still great 5 stars
1/30/03 NWO4LIFE "You crazy bastard! How the hell did you get in here?!" 4 stars
5/17/02 Natalie Stonecipher About as palatable as wiping my ass with sandpaper. I usually like Farrellys, but this --- 2 stars
5/17/02 Kyle CHRIS WAS HILARIOUS! DIE, ANDREW CARDEN! YOU ARE A FUCKING DUMBASS!!! 5 stars
10/16/01 Andrew Carden Woody Is OK, but Chris Is Totally Gross and Unfunny. 3 stars
8/10/01 E-Funk My favorite Farrelly Bros. film. The scene in the Diner with the pudding is priceless. 5 stars
8/07/01 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) Randy Quaid split my sides and almost busted by guts. The Farrellys kick ass! 4 stars
7/30/01 Gizzy Who you callin' a psycho? 5 stars
7/15/01 King Jackass Vanessa needs to lose more clothes. Ditto. But the movie rocks anyway! 5 stars
5/14/01 The Moorhen Vanessa Angel needed to loose more clothes. 4 stars
5/04/01 ChiefAlDog Bill Murray is the funniest guy on the planet. What was offensive, pussies? 5 stars
2/14/01 Jake low class, mindless comedy that was done in poor taste. Very offensive. 2 stars
2/06/01 Classicdog Funny ass movie!! Kinda disgusting but damn hilarious. 4 stars
1/22/01 jmr great movie 5 stars
6/15/00 Elvisfan i HATED "Dumb&Dumber" but this one is really pretty funny most of the time 4 stars
6/13/00 DAVID This movie is really funny!!!! 4 stars
5/14/00 MIchael Grimm very funny, comedies are so rare currently that this stands head and shoulders above 4 stars
3/10/00 Kyle Broflovski Not for the weak-of-stomach or harcore tightasses. 4 stars
1/13/00 Brent Kriewald A very funny movie...if you didn't think so, you very well might be a stick in the mud. 5 stars
10/26/99 Karahde Khan Even Bill Murray was unable to save it. Pointless and stupid. 1 stars
8/23/99 Stevie Ray this movie fucking rocks the house boy! 5 stars
8/02/99 Weird Andy "Mary" was much more intellegent, but only half as funny. 5 stars
7/17/99 Ed Wood non-stop laughter - just gets funnier everytime I see it 5 stars
5/26/99 iyu The timing was off on all the jokes, and the only funny jokes were redone over and OVER! 1 stars
4/21/99 lucas jackson i thought the only funny element in the movie was Bill Murrah as the bad guy 3 stars
3/28/99 John Julian Thought this was a lot more of what "Something About Mary" was made out to be in the press. 5 stars
11/25/98 Fred I missed most of it as I was talking to Ralph on the porcelein phone. 1 stars
11/24/98 Mike F this movie was pretty fucking funny 5 stars
10/29/98 Silent Rob I howled...ALOT!!! 'We don't have a cow...' classic! 4 stars
10/17/98 Sailor Moon Ate My Balls What more can I say? So-so. 3 stars
9/09/98 Bruce Willis' mama. Farrelly's rule, but this was pretty iffy. 3 stars
9/08/98 Johny Hated it in the theater, but I laughed constantly watching on video. Go figure. 3 stars
9/06/98 Admiral Mung Bean Soda (+/- 12db) I think this was like Feeling Minnessota except with bowling pins. 2 stars
9/02/98 J-Guy laugh out loud funny. see this one. 5 stars
8/29/98 Miss Stress let's make a really stoopid movie and put a really pretty girl in it, it'll sell i'm sure. 2 stars
8/25/98 Pete Enjoyed my second viewing more than the first. Bill Murray makes it watchable. 3 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball Big teeth rule. Not for the weak-stomached 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  26-Jul-1996 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  04-Jul-1996 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast