More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.37

Awesome63.74%
Worth A Look: 19.3%
Average: 11.11%
Pretty Bad: 1.75%
Total Crap: 4.09%

10 reviews, 111 user ratings


Latest Reviews

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

Breadwinner, The by Jay Seaver

Endless, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Bubba Ho-Tep
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Katharine Leis

"Now THAT'S a movie."
5 stars

The acting, directing, music, and just about everything else in this film were so flawless that they almost made it look too easy. It's everything the great reviews say it is and more...lots more.

When a friend of mine told me Bubba Ho-Tep was screening at the Florida Film Festival in 2003, I said “Bubba who?” I had not heard of the film, and did not go to see it.
In the months afterward, I began to hear more about this film…all and only great reviews.
The plot summary from the movie’s website said something about an Egyptian mummy hunting nursing home residents and that Elvis and JFK were two residents who were going to try to stop him.
Wait a minute, nobody said anything about a campy weirdo story, they claimed it was a great movie…
Though I’d hoped it would swing through town on it’s limited theatrical release, the closest it came was two hours away. I did the next best thing and pre-ordered the DVD from Amazon.com.
After hearing almost a year’s worth of hype, I tried to convince myself to watch it pretending I had heard nothing. I’ve been disappointed many times by over hyped movies that I probably would have liked had everyone else not LOVED them so much.
The first fifteen minutes or so passed by, and though I was impressed with the Bruce Campbell transformation almost as much as the much touted Charlize Theron makeover, the movie did not grab me. It seemed to be some raunchy humor and a dark and dreary set up and not much more.
Then, it happened.
Movie magic took over.
I do not really want to give too much away, but I can honestly say that it is well worth the $19.59 price tag if for nothing more than the feeling and thoughts that form in the brain afterward. I highly recommend this film to anyone, cult and non cult moviegoers alike.
Remember the original Miracle on 34th Street? I saw it when I was 12 or so, and though I’d long since caught my mum placing presents under the tree, that movie made me believe, if only for a split second, that Santa Claus really existed.
This is what happened with Bubba Ho-Tep. Well, not the Santa Claus part, but the story was so well written and all the questions were so cleverly answered that I did believe, if only for a minute, that it could have happened in real life exactly the way it did in the film. This was no easy feat, and I have no idea what the exact mix of brilliance and creativity was that dreamed it all up.
I do know, that beyond the characters and beyond the heart pounding moments there lay a story and a message. A message that I may not fully understand for another 40 years, but I definitely got a good gist.
It is about a person’s use and worth, and even questions the meaning of life. It’s about accomplishment and regret, love, power, and what is really important in our time here on this crazy planet.
Though it never attempted to answer all of the questions or explain all of the topics, it has left me sitting here thinking about every single one.

Shut off the reality TV and put this one in the DVD player. If there were more films like this, people would stop complaining about high ticket prices at the theater. OK, they’d probably still complain, but they wouldn’t have any valid reason to do so.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=6101&reviewer=360
originally posted: 06/01/04 21:38:24
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2003 SXSW Film Festival. For more in the 2003 South By Southwest Film Festival series, click here.
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2003 Seattle Film Festival. For more in the 2003 Seattle Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

10/21/15 xkwdutyohth USA 3 stars
8/13/14 PAUL SHORTT LIKEABLE SPOOF, WITH A GOOD STAR PERFORMANCE 3 stars
12/29/09 Chad Dillon Cooper Elvis & JFK vs. mummy. Doesn't get much beeter than this. 5 stars
7/14/09 faiche13 fun, funny, funky 4 stars
6/23/08 bored mom A classic, and Texas has all the best weird fictionists 5 stars
3/21/08 mr.mike Has a few laughs , mostly from B.C. 3 stars
8/28/07 LtA Weird isn't funny. Weird for the sake of weird is NOT creative. 1 stars
5/14/07 Mike Koziol so much potential, a movie that didn't know where it wanted to go: comedy or more serious 2 stars
12/30/06 AJ Muller Story by the Texas Mojo Master done perfect by Coscarelli; Elvis by Campbell even better. 5 stars
12/01/06 kevin haile boring! 2 stars
11/03/06 Hauzy love Bruce Campbell but this just blew me away!! 5 stars
8/19/06 zaw Wow! 5 stars
8/04/06 Agent Sands Really funny premise, but very forgettable. 3 stars
4/24/06 Annie Treat yourself to a great little movie with lots of laughs! 5 stars
4/21/06 Becky Funny, great music. Bruce when Sebastain first meets Elvis= priceless 5 stars
11/22/05 Kurtis J. Beard Hilarious. 3 stars
10/01/05 matt good, but could have been better 4 stars
9/09/05 Mike This was a awesome moive, I never laughted so hard before. 5 stars
8/17/05 ES What a great idea, silly yet excellently done 4 stars
8/09/05 C. Fidance I absolutely love this movie; Bruce and Ossie are terrific! 5 stars
7/24/05 Reverse_Bear-Trap_101_"SAW" Good... But, not great! 3 stars
6/15/05 DM So gleefully bizarre it's almost touching. The fact that it's funny doesn't hurt either. 4 stars
5/28/05 Gary Bruce is great, but everything else was disappointing. Saw in a theatre. 2 stars
4/20/05 Dan Fun cult film, especially for Bruce Campbell fans 4 stars
4/17/05 Cary Gordon Builds brilliant, 5 stars
4/05/05 Eugene Mortensen ok if you like camp strange films 3 stars
4/02/05 Tom Benton Clever, very funny horror-comedy; Campbell and Davis are terrific. 5 stars
3/25/05 malcontent strictly for Coscarelli and Campbell lovers 3 stars
3/24/05 erebus45 Charming, engaging and Very, very well done 5 stars
3/15/05 brody horan the man must only have one nut snd be 13 years old 5 stars
3/09/05 LarryV Nice little B-flick. Ossie Davis and Bruce C. rock. 4 stars
3/05/05 Sam Eskenazi not for the unintelligent 4 stars
3/03/05 HORAN THE MAN!!!!! ELVIS CAN SUCK MY LEFT NUT!! 1 stars
2/07/05 Jeff Anderson THIS IS THE BRUCE CAMPBELL FILM TO REMEMBER & DON COSCARELLI'S AS WELL! TRULY GREAT!!!!!!!! 5 stars
12/11/04 Phil M. Aficionado Campy, innovative labor of love; total fun; Bruce/Ossie just plain fabulous 5 stars
11/25/04 Jason If Brian Mckay likes this movie I don't trust any other review he does this movie sucks ass 1 stars
10/28/04 Raven nothing happens in this movie at all NOTHING, its a borefest with some ok characterization 1 stars
9/09/04 Otto Schmidt This movie is the best drama-horror-comedy I have ever seen :) 5 stars
8/31/04 Matthieu very NICE, ORIGINAL story, not a girl and a boy who makes love at the end 5 stars
8/27/04 Mike Stanbridge Hope they find the funds to make the prequels! 5 stars
8/23/04 Samuel Great, from beginning to end! 5 stars
7/29/04 American Slasher Goddess One of the best in the genre, that I've seen in a long time. 5 stars
7/25/04 Drew-P Great fun. I even thought the beetles did a nice job of acting. 4 stars
7/23/04 Lord Durvok 2 "NOBODY f**ks with the king!" 5 stars
7/20/04 N. Christopher Bell This movie sucks. And I'm a Bruce Campbell fan (actual member of the fanclub). 1 stars
7/19/04 Jessica Gill If you remember that it's supposed to be campy, you'll love it. 4 stars
7/17/04 Uncle Phucker Fucking genius! Unique and fun film. Great fun and actors. 5 stars
7/11/04 Jim Delivers laughs and a few genuine scares. Campbell & Davis both excellent. 4 stars
6/20/04 Jean Funny, crazy, bruce & elvis, no need to say more. 4 stars
6/12/04 Tony Merlocco Loved it! VERY FUNNY! 5 stars
6/11/04 Wolf Slightly overrated, but good acting all around. Musical score + Ossie were awesome. 3 stars
6/10/04 DodoLurker Tremendous effort by the actors, well-shot, just terrific 5 stars
6/10/04 Jack Bourbon It was a sebaceous cyst 5 stars
6/09/04 othree Elvis' character and dialog was the keeper 4 stars
6/08/04 tatum Original, hilarious, touching, loved it 5 stars
6/02/04 Turtle If an Elvis were to record a song to describe this film, it would be, "I'm All Fucked-Up." 4 stars
6/01/04 maggie imaginative-interesting 4 stars
5/27/04 A F Elvis, black JFK, Mummy, how can you go wrong? Who thinks this shit up? Genius, Pure Genius 5 stars
5/27/04 fixer Great fun... What more could you want? 5 stars
5/27/04 bigmomma its kinda dumb 3 stars
5/15/04 Lord Durvok 2 The fact that Bruce didn't win "Best Actor" for the year shows that there is no justice. 5 stars
5/11/04 Morally Sound Freaking hillarious! Bruce Campell IS Elvis! The part with the graffiti is so funny! 5 stars
5/02/04 DarthFredo excellent movie, very amusing 5 stars
4/11/04 Peter A great film that deals with old age and life in general 5 stars
3/19/04 Cary Gordon A bit slower than I expected in parts but still a really fun watch. 5 stars
3/09/04 Caiphn Finally got to see it! Drags in parts, Bruce as Elvis is top-notch. 4 stars
1/15/04 Betty White Ossie Davis is wonderful is this unique horror flick. 5 stars
1/10/04 AC No tantamount asskicking has ever been displyed. 5 stars
1/09/04 Kara Excellent!!!!! -- except for the final minute 5 stars
12/10/03 JJMAN FAN-Fucking-TASTIC! It's ok Barry, this movie wasn't made for morons without a clue. 5 stars
12/09/03 Dan Davis Excellent, ball-buster for sure!! 5 stars
12/07/03 Punk_Ass This is one great movie. Very funny, yet touching. barry, you are a fucking idiot. 5 stars
12/04/03 Andrew Callaway Most awesome movie ever? Yes. Better than Evil Dead II. See it NOW! 5 stars
12/02/03 Barry Weiner The voice-over is a cop-out. Don't tell me, show me. 1 stars
11/28/03 john oh boy..what a great surprise this movie is...honest, funny, endearing and very moving 5 stars
11/10/03 Lord Jiggy Touching, moving, surprising...in spite of cheesy horror and bedpan humor. 5 stars
10/27/03 Jen hilarious and yet strangely touching 5 stars
10/23/03 Lord Durvok II Great acting and story. At first I thought, "No way in hell is Bruce gonna pull this off!" 5 stars
10/18/03 Kyle FUCKING INCREDIBLE. 5 stars
10/17/03 Jaded I love Bruce and I saw this with a very open mind but it was a big snooze. Not funny. 3 stars
10/16/03 Robbie This was not written by Coscarelli, but adapted from the short by Joe R Lansdale 5 stars
10/15/03 Nancy Cary Truly original. Great acting. 5 stars
10/11/03 nick2k speaking from a non-fanboy stance...i must say this was damn good AND hella funny! 5 stars
10/07/03 Ryan Bruce Campbell IS Elvis. 5 stars
10/07/03 Erik Van Sant You too will want a growth on the end of your schlong...God bless you, Bruce Campbell. 5 stars
10/07/03 Titus I've been waiting for this forever, and it was worth it. GO! 5 stars
9/26/03 Jon This movie is retardedly good! 5 stars
9/26/03 John That was fantastic! Don't miss that movie!!!! 5 stars
9/23/03 The F-Bomb BRUCE CAMPBELL IS THE MESSIAH!!! ASH IS GOD!!!!!!!! 5 stars
9/20/03 Lee Bubba Ho-Tep kicked all kinds of boo-tay! 5 stars
7/30/03 Sunnyd The film is great and we hope it gains the presentation it deserves!! 5 stars
7/11/03 Mike Smith Starts in Portland Oregon September 19th. www.bubbahotep.com 5 stars
7/06/03 Darren I drove 2 hours, waited in line 4 hours, got lucky with tickets and saw bruce as the king. 5 stars
6/16/03 matthew fuck 1 stars
5/31/03 Jonathan Stokes (Stokesy) Bruce is better that ever. Its about time he takes the leading over again since Evil Dead 5 stars
5/20/03 Wallace this was one of the best films i've ever seen, bruce is the man 5 stars
5/01/03 I think "steve" is my dad I thought it was very funny and a good mummy movie. 5 stars
4/29/03 Pete A wee bit of class on film 5 stars
3/31/03 Will awesome, awesome movie 5 stars
3/28/03 Mike Smith Incredible flick. See it if you can. 5 stars
3/25/03 Tom like it 3 stars
3/23/03 Goofy Maxwell Saw Bruce@E. Lansing Film Fest.: Presley estate makin' Don do the Ho-tep 2step. (inbreds!) 5 stars
3/13/03 Mister Bigglesworth Hollywood's distrubution sucks.(inbreds!) Give us damn good dvd and watch the sales soar! 5 stars
12/03/02 jason decent but slow. 3 stars
11/20/02 mj Saw it at Toronto. Amazing. Funny, yet surprisingly emotional. 5 stars
10/20/02 Marc Morrison It's like an introspective Evil Dead 4 5 stars
10/05/02 steve This film needs Distribution!!! 5 stars
10/04/02 XH It Rocks! 5 stars
9/16/02 jon solita Saw it at Flashback Weekend in Chicago. Great film, and has an unexpected emotional weight. 5 stars
9/11/02 will saw it at toronto film festival, it was excellent! 5 stars
8/31/02 E. H. Bennett Visually exciting, touching story, great acting all around. Please sell it soon, Don! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  19-Sep-2003 (R)
  DVD: 25-May-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  24-Feb-2005




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast