More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.49

Awesome70.59%
Worth A Look: 19.12%
Average: 1.47%
Pretty Bad: 5.88%
Total Crap: 2.94%

1 review, 62 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Matilda
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"If you are having fun, you are not learning."
5 stars

Darkly comic but quite entertaining.

Matilda Wormwood (Mara Wilson) is one smart kid. She taught herself to read and write, and walks to the library by herself. By the age of 6, she's read "Ivanhoe." I still haven't read "Ivanhoe."

Matilda's got idiots for parents. Mr. & Mrs. Wormwood (Danny DeVito and Rhea Perlman) barely know Matilda exists. They spend all their time watching television and eating. They can't understand why Matilda wants to go to school with other children, or read a book when she could watch television.

Nonetheless, Matilda gets sent to Crunchem Hall, where she meets her nemesis, the evil Trunchbull (Pam Ferris). Trunchbull is butch; she was a hammer-throw and shot put champion in the Olympics, a skill she uses when a little girl comes to school wearing pigtails. Trunchbull grabs her by said pigtails and swings her around and around, finally letting fly. Little girl lands safely on a flower patch, just missing a spiked fence.

Matilda hates Trunchbull, but loves her teacher, Miss Honey (Embeth Davidtz). Matilda discovers some secret powers (they're secret, but they're a lot of fun, and powered by her powerful mind) and learns a lot. She triumphs over Trunchbull.

Danny DeVito directed Matilda, based on the novel by Roald Dahl. It's a sweet, funny movie, and I think adults will probably get as much out of it as kids do.

Mr. Wormwood: How old is Matilda? Mrs. Wormwood: Four. Matilda: I'm six-and-a-half, mommy! Mrs. Wormwood: Five, then.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=611&reviewer=7
originally posted: 09/24/98 01:47:22
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/01/12 roscoe WHEN MR. WORMWOOD OR TRUNCHBULL IS ON SCREEN ITS GREAT, WHEN THEY AREN'T, IT IS PLAIN 4 stars
5/09/10 PAUL SHORTT SOUR AND DULL 2 stars
8/06/09 wayne good movie, but a little violent. 4 stars
6/28/09 ncfcguy matilda is a rubbish cheesey film and i do not suggest you to go and see it 1 stars
4/13/09 Bruce Ritch A great Family film, full of fun. Great performances by all, especially lovely Mara Wilson 5 stars
2/22/09 Dr.Lao Second rate kiddie revenge fantasy film 2 stars
1/13/09 Anonymous. one of the most enjoyable films ever made :] 5 stars
9/12/08 paige i loved it 5 stars
7/29/08 mishel wow!!! one of a kind movie!! one of my favorite!! i like the story and of course Matilda it 5 stars
6/21/08 Katie OMG im 12 and this is STILL my favorite movie of all time!!!!! 5 stars
6/06/08 farooha this movie is my favoret 5 stars
6/01/08 tylor awsome 5 stars
5/19/08 lucy oneill verry verry verry verry gooooooood 5 stars
5/16/08 aman it is scary a bit 5 stars
5/11/08 Ally W Matilda is a little magic 4 stars
4/18/08 elliee i like, i like - simply awesome!! 5 stars
4/03/08 beau LOL when trunchable throws pigtail girl over fence and someone says 'an excellent release' 4 stars
12/28/07 katie i think it is a great story and i watch it over and over. 5 stars
12/17/07 SylviaP very smart, any age will find it funny, I think one of my profs. has a chokie, hahaha! 5 stars
11/27/07 Donovan It is a nice movie 5 stars
8/10/07 JANAY I LOVE THIS MOVIE SOOOOO MUCH!! 5 stars
7/11/07 dcnsijhviq i fink its great 4 stars
5/23/07 Trenishia Gober I loved the movie so much i just want to keep watching it! 5 stars
3/09/07 Caroline This is my favorite movie----and im a teenager 5 stars
7/19/06 Sandy + Stephanie (twins) magical 5 stars
6/17/06 kevin excellent movie! 5 stars
5/27/06 Sheena Pure magic a must see for any age. 5 stars
4/02/06 chris f i loved this film as a kid 5 stars
2/14/06 CD better than I expected 5 stars
7/24/05 C Vega a true childrens classic.... although must be seen by all the family 5 stars
5/28/05 Hans Exceptional!!!! 5 stars
3/19/05 tania excellent 5 stars
3/07/05 Maria It is amazing!!!!!! 5 stars
2/21/05 shinhui chong this is a very intresting and awesome movie..!! even i feel to watch it again and again 5 stars
10/17/04 Miles Morley It's definately worth the popcorn, chips, and soda. Simply inspirational and warming. 5 stars
9/04/04 T.B. Great Family film 5 stars
6/03/04 J Needs work on the joke, still its Carrie except NICER!!! 4 stars
5/20/04 jewels holy cow, this one rocks my socks 5 stars
5/14/04 anyone shittiest crap ive ever seen 1 stars
5/06/04 Myself and Me this movie rocks i luv it 5 stars
5/06/04 Myself and Me this movie rocks i luv it 5 stars
5/06/04 Myself and Me This movie rocks i luv it 5 stars
12/14/02 STEVE ITS ACTUALLY PRETTY GOOD! 4 stars
10/07/02 TheOthersFan When we gonna start seeing Mara Wilson in some new flicks???? 5 stars
9/03/02 Justin too funny! 5 stars
7/27/02 moviemachine All Of Danny DeVito's lines are so funny! 5 stars
6/28/02 Justin So fuckin' funny with all of Danny DeVito's quotes! 5 stars
5/11/02 Butterbean Danny and Pearl were perfect in their roles. A sweet movie for little girls to watch. 4 stars
4/18/02 smokinjay 85 good for a laugh 4 stars
8/30/01 Henry Ginsberg A great kids film which will also apeal to adults. 4 stars
7/28/01 Henry Ginsberg Good storyline 4 stars
6/08/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) Grossly underrated, I happen to think... 4 stars
4/13/01 Andrew Carden Pretty dull adaption of the Roald Dahl novel. Not too interesting. 2 stars
11/29/00 The Evil Penguin read the rating. 2 stars
9/12/00 Ground Zero funny as hell, DeVito rules! 5 stars
5/25/99 Ah Dooey Awesome and funny 5 stars
4/24/99 lucas jackson funny,exciting,thrilling and 100 percent fun,and the best part made for all ages 5 stars
3/10/99 Oggy Better than that shit Carrie 2: The Rage 5 stars
12/03/98 Mike F It' ok. not too great. 3 stars
12/01/98 Mr.Pink Near-faithful adaptation of the brilliant book! 5 stars
10/01/98 katherine i'd already read the book, but seeing it on scree, n action, i just loved it! 5 stars
9/16/98 Lonatic Funny flick. Sounded like a kid film but it's not really. About moronic parents. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Aug-1996 (PG)
  DVD: 07-Jun-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast