More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.49

Awesome: 9.09%
Worth A Look: 20.78%
Average: 18.18%
Pretty Bad: 14.29%
Total Crap37.66%

5 reviews, 47 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Escape from L.A.
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"Bruce Campbell's in it, so it can't be all bad, right? Wrong."
1 stars

What the hell?

A needless sequel to a cult classic, Escape From LA seems almost like a shot-for-shot remake of Escape From New York. Compare:

NY: Snake Plissken (Kurt Russell) must enter a penal colony to rescue the President and reacquire a cassette tape with valuable information.
LA: Snake must enter a penal colony to rescue, then kill, the President's daughter, and reacquire a disc with valuable weapons and defense information.

NY: Snake's comment during movie - "Call me Snake." At movie's end - "The name's Plissken."
LA: Snake's comment during movie - "Call me Snake." At movie's end - "The name's Plissken."

NY: Snake flies in via a glider, his face lit by the green lights of the control panel. The glider gets trashed.
LA: Snake motors in via a submarine, his face lit by the green lights of the control panel. The sub gets trashed.

NY: Snake meets a ruthless dictator who makes him fight in a bizarre contest.
LA: Snake meets a ruthless dictator who makes him fight in a bizarre contest.

NY: Snake has a time limit on his rescue job, or he'll die from an injection of an explosive in his bloodstream.
LA: Snake has a time limit on his rescue job, or he'll die from a virus infecting his bloodstream.

NY: Snake meets a variety of colorful characters.
LA: Snake meets a variety of colorful characters.

NY: Comment about Snake - "I thought you were dead!"
LA: Comment about Snake - "I thought you'd be taller."

Lame effects, bad acting (what the hell is Peter Fonda doing in this movie?) and a weak story. It's inferior to the original, and a bitter disappointment. I've heard that fans of the film say most people don't get it because it's intentionally cheesy. Whatever. It's sucky. It's debateable whether that's intentional or not.

You've seen better from Kurt Russell and John Carpenter. Skip this.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=612&reviewer=7
originally posted: 09/24/98 00:31:14
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2013 Boston SciFi Film Festival For more in the 2013 Boston Sci-Fi Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

4/21/14 Chidwell The "bad" special effects are a huge part of the fun. 4 stars
1/28/13 PAUL SHORTT WEARY SEMI-SPOOFY REHASH 1 stars
6/08/12 Monday Morning Tom McNulty was in it. That's good enough for me, the other Tom McNulty. 5 stars
9/14/09 Jeff Wilder Great purely fun B movie 4 stars
1/03/08 mrsinister A much better cast than the story deserved. Oh well 3 stars
11/02/07 Skip A stylish thrill ride with an ending that makes it all worth it. Grows on you. 5 stars
12/03/06 David Pollastrini great action with a few comedy bits 5 stars
11/03/06 AJ Muller great fun,clever satire,and John Carpenter,not to mention Snake Fucking Plissken AGAIN. 5 stars
9/13/06 Booksworm Makes a great double feature with Escape from New York 4 stars
6/11/06 San Lamar crap! pure crap! 1 stars
1/06/06 JM Synth Basically a big-budget remake. Okay, with some great satire, but shoulda been more fun 3 stars
12/01/05 Blutarsky All you naysayers are wrong. Get a clue guys. It's called satire. 5 stars
5/15/05 Indrid Cold A fairly cool hero makes it just barely watchable. 2 stars
1/17/05 Jeff Anderson Sad to say, a big disappointment from J. Carpenter & K. Russell. Not up to the original. 2 stars
12/06/04 Mr. Kags Escape from L.A is a piece of shiat. Don't even compare to NEW YORK 1 stars
10/18/04 Ian Worst fight scenes ever...What mr Pink said! 2 stars
4/11/04 American Slasher Goddess Watchable,but it doesn't come close to the original. 3 stars
11/28/03 john well there is Snake - which is good but there is also a terrible movie you have to endure 2 stars
9/27/03 Mr. Hat Music is OK, cast is cool, ending is classic. A bit 2 overdone & fake, though. 4 stars
5/22/03 mr. Pink Unbelievably bad sequel to an oriiginal that wasn't THAT good anyway. 1 stars
4/15/03 The Talking Elbow This could have been so much better, but l give it 5 stars cause of the ending, GREATending 5 stars
4/14/03 GMan Sucky villian. Snake rocks. New York version beats the West, hands down. 3 stars
4/14/03 Jack Sommersby A basic rehash of the original. It's cheesy, with a crushing bore of a villain. 2 stars
4/06/03 y2mckay Okay, it's cheesy as fuck and far inferior. But come on, it has SNAKE PLISSKEN 3 stars
2/11/03 spacecowboy HAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHHAAHAHHA >:(.....TAKE ME NOW GOD. 1 stars
6/19/02 Charles Tatum Truly awful 1 stars
12/24/01 Jake I'm a fan of Carpenter but this movie has nothing worth understanding. Bad effects also. 1 stars
10/11/01 Andrew Carden Not As Good As The Original. 3 stars
8/06/01 E-Funk Carpenter fans understand, others need not apply. Great ending. 5 stars
7/15/01 Rampage I wanted to whomp Russell's arse after watching that horrid tripe! Jeez! 1 stars
7/07/01 TLsmooth "Hi, I'll have a shit burger with extra Escape from LA please." 1 stars
7/06/01 Craig Blanchard HOW DOES SHIT LIKE THIS GET MADE??!! The World is mad! 1 stars
7/03/01 taj One of Carpenter's worst. A few cool ideas lost amidst a cheezy screenplay. 2 stars
6/02/01 Thrillhouse laughably bad, make American History X look like Judge Dredd 2 stars
4/24/01 Spetters The supporting cast make this shit bearable. 2 stars
3/27/01 Jun I was too stupid to sit through this crap... 1 stars
3/04/01 Rael A failure even as a B-grade explotation flick. I saw it for free and felt ripped off. 2 stars
10/26/99 Karahde Khan If you've seen the 1st, you've seen this. If you haven't seen the 1st, skip this anyway. 1 stars
8/20/99 Japtalian I wanted to kick Kurts ass after I saw this piece of shit! 1 stars
12/15/98 Binky Shitful effort. 1 stars
10/27/98 Silent Rob Misfired idea whose original fire flickers through momentarily. Loved the duster at the end 3 stars
10/24/98 Vincent Oh Mr. Carpenter- what happened? You used to make good films 1 stars
9/16/98 Lonatic One of the worst sequels next to the 'Blues Bros. 2000'. Lame special fx! 1 stars
9/08/98 Swan If you aren't 'in sync' with Carpenter's idea, you won't line it. It's better, 2nd viewing. 3 stars
8/28/98 Mister Whoopee Snake Plisken is an anagram of "total and complete bastard". 2 stars
8/26/98 Pete I now know why Elvis shot tv's. I think AJ Langer could be good in a decent role. 2 stars
8/25/98 Miss Stress did this movie really need to be made? i don't think so 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  09-Aug-1996 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Feb-1997




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast