More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.85

Awesome: 24.32%
Worth A Look: 12.16%
Average: 16.22%
Pretty Bad: 18.92%
Total Crap28.38%

8 reviews, 100 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Sweet Home Alabama
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by PyThomas

"This film does not bother me; does your conscience bother you?"
4 stars

I was all ready to hate this film. The way the studio was selling it, I was expecting another "Fried Green Tomatoes" or "Steel Magnolias", a sappy film specially engineered to bring its target audience to tears. My girlfriend really wanted to see it, though, so I figured I might as well do the noble thing and weather it out.

Call me queer, but I ended up liking the dang thing.

It's a romantic comedy, for sure, but there's also plenty of screwball antics and slobs-vs.-snobs moments. And it's not like a "Fried Green Magnolias of the Ya-Ya Quilt" type flick at all. It IS possible for your average red-blooded all-American straight male to enjoy this film. Look past the "chick flick" marketing and you'll find a decent, charming ode to white-trash livin'.

Melanie Carmichael (Reese Witherspoon) has managed to escape the hick trappings of Pigeon Creek, Alabama to make it big in the fashion world of New York City. She's even snagged a Big Apple socialite, Andrew Hennings (Patrick Dempsey), son of New York mayor Kate Hennings (Candice Bergen). And it turns out Andrew wants her as his wife. Only problem is... she's still technically married to her high school sweetheart Jake Perry (Josh Lucas), and the divorce was never finalized.

So, it's back to Pigeon Creek she goes, a place she left behind a long time ago without remorse. She's never made public her country-girl past (nor her REAL last name of Smooter), so she wants to get the divorce finalized as soon (and as quiet) as possible. Her estranged husband is reluctant to sign the papers, though, and she ends up spending a longer time than usual in the little backwater Alabama town. At first, she sneers at her former peers and the redneck lifestyle they've been living, but it isn't long before she reconnects with her old friends, including Bobby Ray Carmichael (Ethan Embry). Eventually the ol' Southern pride starts seeping into her conscience again, and she ends up torn between reclaiming her past and moving on to her rich and illustrious future. And when Andrew (as well as some snooty New York reporters) make a surprise appearance in Pigeon Creek, the two worlds collide like a mo'fo.

From there the plot basically deteriorates into a melding of two different cliches: the "woman who must decide between two men who love her" scenario and the "person pretending to be someone he/she isn't" premise. Overall, though, the performances are decent and solid, if you can stomach the thick Southern accents that are prevalent in this movie. Such a thing comes naturally to Reese, though, since she hails from Nashville.

It's obvious where the title of the movie comes from, and yes, you do get to hear the song itself in the film... although they're cover versions. Obviously the studio couldn't attain the authentic "Sweet Home Alabama" for their use. The Skynyrd guys wouldn't have had any need for concern, however... this film manages to keep the denizens of Dixieland in a positive, dignified light, despite your standard barroom bickerin'. "Sweet Home Alabama" is a fairly enjoyable romantic comedy for North and South alike.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=6152&reviewer=9
originally posted: 12/17/02 15:56:49
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

6/21/17 Suzanne Hated it. This is not the south. Also not buying the choice made. Awful. 2 stars
1/17/17 Suzanne I liked that both guys were decent and handsome. Reece was a charmer. 4 stars
5/12/11 RLan It felt like a southern movie make by someone who spent very little time in the south! 2 stars
12/14/10 Tracy Landon I'm from the South & LOVE S.H.A. It reflects how Southerners have strong moral character! 5 stars
10/04/09 LoveIt Love the movie! Very funny and a wonderful story line! 5 stars
9/26/08 Shaun Wallner Funny Movie! 5 stars
8/30/08 JSICA WOW! OH EM GEE. Iono why I see one stars on here.. This is one of my favorite movies! 5 stars
6/16/08 PAUL SHORTT NOT GREAT BY ANY, ANY, ANY MEANS BUT A DECENT ENOUGH 2 stars
5/15/08 cathy I loved this movie. We need more movies like this instead of the trash they are making now 5 stars
1/28/08 L.J. Worst movie I have ever seen. Nasty protagonist and horribly directed. 1 stars
10/29/07 mb loved it. Beautiful romantic story. 5 stars
9/02/07 jozee martel nice relax movie 5 stars
1/16/07 David Pollastrini Reese is hot! 3 stars
10/22/06 Vickie Loved it, and I am looking to move to a town just like it. 5 stars
9/28/06 Kayla Greatest chick flic ever!!!!! 5 stars
5/06/06 Ashley Hinz Saw it, loved it, bought it as soon as possible. 5 stars
4/09/06 SHREE CRIBB THI MOVIE REALLY HITS HOME BEING AS THOUGH I AM FROM ALABAMA. REESE WITHERSPOON IS THE BEST 5 stars
1/09/06 Chris Worst Film Ever. 1 stars
11/15/05 piush good for people in love 4 stars
11/03/05 Priscilla Postlethwaite Pretty bad to barely avg, Sweet Home, Alabama is between Jenifer and Anniston. 3 stars
6/14/05 i am god can anyone say........STUPIDIST SHIT I EVER SEEN.. the ruined th title of a classic song 1 stars
2/17/05 Jeff Anderson Witherspoon is sadly wasted in this boring & predictable comedy, but Dempsey is TRULY GREAT 2 stars
11/24/04 Monster W. Kung This movie is a piece of mierda! 1 stars
11/14/04 anwar i loved that movie because it pictured love as a pure thing and not just a sexual desire 5 stars
7/13/04 Connie Maggerise I am from Alabama near Coon Dog Cemetery, it is really a lot like we are, double wides and 5 stars
7/08/04 Denise another predictable romance 3 stars
6/27/04 Daveman In trying to be inoffensive it winds up offending more than most films could. 2 stars
6/05/04 Jamal this movie sucks, so boring, so stupid, so lame. 1 stars
4/08/04 INES THE MOVIE IS VERY GOOD,AND I REALLY LIKED IT..,... 5 stars
3/12/04 cereal lover a total piece of shit and waist of talent 1 stars
1/14/04 Chupa Chups the best bits were showcased in the trailer so the actual movie seemed boring 3 stars
12/23/03 Chris I loved this movie. A chick flick that everyone can like. 4 stars
10/25/03 Mel Josh is edible 5 stars
9/29/03 Honolulu Tur I like Reese & Josh but boy oh boy was this a steaming pile of garbage or what 1 stars
9/01/03 Rhonda Blankenship Sweet Home, Alabama is between Jenifer & Anniston. 3 stars
8/31/03 Arch-vile So bad I couldn't believe my eyes. 1 stars
8/18/03 Julie Loved it!! Haved watched it over and over 5 stars
7/29/03 sherry donald every actor on that movie and the director was great except for the damn dog 5 stars
7/28/03 francis innocuous time-passer 3 stars
7/23/03 Whitney McBurney I bought this on video and that is saying alot because I buy VERY few movies 5 stars
7/22/03 carol king LOVE IT!!!!!!!! 5 stars
6/20/03 Becca Marie Jamieson Best movie done in a long time 5 stars
6/18/03 Jenna Kase It was a great movie because they didn't make the guy she dumped look like "the bad guy" 5 stars
6/16/03 Arlene Titshaw Seeing Murphy Brown get slugged to the ground was worth it! 3 stars
6/16/03 Rhonda Blankenship Sweet Home, Alabama is between Jenifer & Anniston. 3 stars
6/13/03 Monster W. Kung Head-explodingly bad 1 stars
5/23/03 Misty Its the best movie made in a while 5 stars
5/05/03 Phil M. Aficionado Basic pointless rom com replete with stereotypes standard plot twists 2 stars
4/15/03 Jin Awful. 10 year olds kissing? Yeah right. 1 stars
4/08/03 pj "Whee, she punched her! Shes one of us again!" eeep! Please, Reese, come back! 3 stars
4/06/03 Ralph A good light commedy 4 stars
4/02/03 natasha_theobald not really funny, slightly more romantic 2 stars
3/13/03 Jason Martin "Sweet Home Alabama" is a good movie about finding yourself where you came from. 5 stars
3/12/03 Brandy I loved it! I guess "y'all" just have to be from AL to understand its like that EVERYWHERE! 5 stars
3/11/03 Arlene Titshaw Seeing Murphy Brown get slugged to the ground was worth it! 3 stars
3/05/03 Robert Cooley Thought it was great 5 stars
3/05/03 Tiffany Faye Hawthorne Reese Witherspoon makes unexpectedly impressive rebound from that LEGALLY BOMBED caca! 4 stars
3/01/03 karen PIECE OF POO. not funny at ALL. STUPID STUPID STUPID. 1 stars
2/26/03 Jake LOVED IT!!!!! 5 stars
2/25/03 Jacob I wish I didn't see this movie. 1 stars
2/20/03 Would You Like To Know I got it yesturday and I've already watched it 12 times...my parents are about to kill me!! 5 stars
2/19/03 Sarah Doolittle It was the Best movie! I loved it!! :) 5 stars
2/18/03 John L Nowhere near as good as Doc Hollywood 2 stars
2/12/03 Jackie I LOVED this movie! I don't care what anyone says, I thought it was adorable! 5 stars
2/12/03 Kristen this was truly a sweet movie 5 stars
2/10/03 DJ very sickening story, attempts to glorify ignorance as some kind of virtue . FLUSH THE crap 1 stars
2/09/03 tikki love josh, wife was a bitch, fiance was too good for her 4 stars
2/08/03 Dao Tran This movie was very sweet and good! 5 stars
2/01/03 Brandice Olivotto I loved This movie how can you say that wait you must be a guy who hates chick flicks 5 stars
1/30/03 ali awesome 5 stars
1/23/03 Lisa Blundell Very sweet and shy-funny movie. 4 stars
1/20/03 james watch this one with someone special 3 stars
1/18/03 Colin Selby THE MORE I THINK ABOUT THS FILM THE MORE I WANY TO FLUSH IT DOWN THE TOILET 1 stars
1/18/03 Bobby If you like humor, originality, or good acting, you're looking at the wrong movie 1 stars
1/16/03 Joanna Callan Really good girly movie but you may need tissue Overall really enjoyable.s 5 stars
1/08/03 tina waste of time/money 1 stars
1/03/03 Jackson Matson Erik, you are a anal licking moron for missing the vitality and integrity in this film. 4 stars
12/27/02 hab99 was not as terrible as I first thought. A pleasant no-brainer 3 stars
12/25/02 shelley it was a fun movie not to be taken too seriously 4 stars
11/29/02 Gaiia i wouldn't see it 1 stars
11/10/02 john i havent seen it 1 stars
11/08/02 Leonard Good,Worth to watch 4 stars
10/28/02 Gitaar I would call it a chick-flick, but my date even hated it, completly predictable 1 stars
10/27/02 MarktheShark6 It wasn't worth the $8 to see it in the theatre but it wasn't terrible. 2 stars
10/26/02 Nick it bites and shouldnt been shown, you could predict the rest of the movie 1 stars
10/14/02 Angry Black Man I like Patrick Dempsey, but I hated this movie. It was stupid!!! 1 stars
10/09/02 Uncle Salty Yet another mindless romantic comedy from the makers of EVERY OTHER ROMANTIC COMEDY! 1 stars
10/09/02 James why does the rest of my country hate me? 1 stars
10/06/02 jessica A GREAT FILM 5 stars
10/02/02 Alex "BIG TURD ALABAMA" 1 stars
10/01/02 Film Dude Fucking terrible 1 stars
9/30/02 brien could have been worse... but not MucH worse 2 stars
9/30/02 p-dog blows goats 1 stars
9/30/02 buttface mcbuttface horrible horrible horrible god-awful crappy idiotic total shitfest 1 stars
9/29/02 Flick Chick it was good - no, not academy award material, but entertaining. 4 stars
9/28/02 Dale Jones VERY GOOD, fun movie. Great cast, good story. Won't win any awards, but tastefully done. 5 stars
9/28/02 Danielle Ophelia Hollywood films enough movies in NC...they know their Southern stereotypes are bullshit! 1 stars
9/27/02 Ramblin Wreck Proving once again that only Southerners are the people you can legally make fun of 1 stars
9/23/02 Charles A great actress in a stupid, unoriginal, uninspired movie. 1 stars
9/21/02 Kisuta Better than I expected. Well written. Good plot twists. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  27-Sep-2002 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  19-Dec-2002




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast