More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3

Awesome: 14.89%
Worth A Look31.91%
Average: 14.89%
Pretty Bad: 14.89%
Total Crap: 23.4%

2 reviews, 35 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Star Wars: Episode VIII : The Last Jedi by Jay Seaver

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Tin Cup
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by spork-girl

"Testosterone + golf + comedy = wrong."
2 stars

Jesus Christ, a guy wins a few oscars and suddenly they are PAYING him and giving him a film crew to follow him around on his golf vacation.

OK. Let me just say. Golf. NOT entertaining. Ever. For example. I love Johnny Carson. I will never find watching him play golf entertaining. Even if he is recicting his funniest material ever while fucking a dead whore on the moon while he saves the world and comes to term with his blossoming womanhood.

I realize that maybe you like golf, so I'll give you the benefit of the doubt and tell you a lil bit about this flick: Dances with wolves stars in this romatic comedy about a washed-up golf pro who is jealous of his rival's hot new girlfriend, so he decides to take the guy's title. Testosterone + golf. What? What? Anyways, he eventually bangs Rene Russo with a little help of wither Cheech or Chong. I forget which.

In all honesty the acting, directing and editing as well as the writing are all fine. but I hate Kevin Costner's smug face and Rene Russo could do better than him. She carries most of the comedy here...even Cheech refuses to help her. So that aspect falls through for me. Because not only does testosterone + golf not work, comedy + golf works even less.

I'm a girl. I'm an anti-sports girl. I doubt I was their target audience anyways. 2 sporks.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=617&reviewer=6
originally posted: 09/03/98 14:30:19
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

1/25/15 PAUL SHORTT ENGAGING ROMANTIC COMEDY WITH APPEALING PERFORMANCES 4 stars
10/08/07 Paul C. Loved it - Costner's best, Russo gorgeous - really sweet film! And I'm not even a golfer! 5 stars
2/22/07 STANLEY weingarden great flick 4 stars
12/13/06 Sepi53 Good entertainment! Costner is good as allways 4 stars
7/01/04 John solid and entertaining all the way through 4 stars
4/27/04 Dr. R This is is film that every golfer will appriciate 5 stars
3/24/03 Jack Sommersby Sometimes charming, mostly forced. Costner and Johnson, though, are marvelous. 3 stars
12/04/02 Jack Wolverton An ending every golfer will understand. 5 stars
9/23/02 snowconehead well, its the best Costner did in years, I'll give him that 3 stars
7/12/02 KMG IRONY: Don Johnson isn't acting...HE REALLY IS A FUCKING PRICK 3 stars
7/07/02 R.W. Welch Sub par. No wait, in golf that's good. Anyway it's .... 2 stars
6/10/02 Phil M. Aficionado Goes into the rough in spots, but comes back to score par. Decent ending saved it. 3 stars
5/15/02 Allison Larrerty HAZARD WARNING: Taking this seriously could take a major divot out of your brain! 1 stars
5/12/02 Tiffany Faye Hawthorne Renee Russo must think she's too good to shit and fart out the same hole! 1 stars
3/17/02 FlaFan Costner should have been nominated for an Oscar for this movie. 5 stars
1/02/02 Andrew Carden I Know That It Wasn't Too Favorable, but I Love Golf. 4 stars
7/04/01 TLsmooth It somehow survives Costner and DJ. 4 stars
6/04/01 nowak Horrible script, weak acting. 1 stars
2/14/01 Jake All you have to know is that Ron Shelton directed this. He blows! 1 stars
12/04/00 Cristopher Revilla costner's latest hiccup on trying to come back, he pulled it off. Good movie too. 5 stars
12/02/00 Angela Murtagh I walked out of the movie...it was very boring! 1 stars
9/30/00 Terrie Smith A few good moments; Costner and Russo make the most of it. 3 stars
5/14/00 T.R. Morris Has a few good moments but drags a lot 3 stars
4/26/00 Steven McGarvey greatest movie ever made 5 stars
4/17/00 The Central Scrutinizer Kevin Cosner should get over himself...this movie sucks! 1 stars
1/19/00 Add Funny, feel good movie and you don't have to like golf to like this 5 stars
8/25/99 jeff heath kevin costner made a good comeback attempt wih warm hearted fil. 4 stars
10/28/98 Silent Rob Another attempt to mix sports into a chick flick. More Cheech! 3 stars
10/24/98 grunter seeped in Costner's usual boyish charm; still the only actor who plays a credible athelete 4 stars
10/18/98 Kwyjibo Even Happy Gilmore couldnt make golf interesting. How did they think this would? 1 stars
9/08/98 Johny booooooooooring 1 stars
9/07/98 BBReBozo Kevin Costner is America's Hitler. Did I see the movie? No. 1 stars
9/01/98 MikeF I liked it the first few times I saw it. it's always on HBO when nothing else is on. 4 stars
8/30/98 Mister Whoopee Someone was laughing when they gave this the green light. And is really sick in the head. 1 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball God awful. Golf is boring. Costner is boring. Golf+Costner = BOREDOM 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  16-Aug-1996 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A


Directed by
  Ron Shelton

Written by
  John Norville
  Ron Shelton

Cast
  Kevin Costner
  Rene Russo
  Don Johnson
  Cheech Marin
  Linda Hart
  Dennis Buckley



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast