More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3

Awesome: 13.64%
Worth A Look: 11.36%
Average50%
Pretty Bad: 11.36%
Total Crap: 13.64%

2 reviews, 32 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Tales from the Crypt Presents: Bordello of Blood
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by K-Dog

"Now its not a great horror.. It is just worth a look."
3 stars

Now this is new... A sequal with a totally opposite approach to the first outing.

Demon night was dark, rich in blacks, blood red, greys and blues. People acted kind of straight (for a horror) The script had very dark humour, and in places it was effective as a horror in that it could scare some people.

Bordello of Blood is opposite, Its a bright film, rich in Reds, oranges, yellows and whites. The acting is very over the top. The script is quite sharp but very obvious as a comedy, and although it is a horror, it is not meant to scare.

But it is still a good sequal.. It achieves what it set out to do.. to tell another story from the Tales from the crypt archive.
It tells of a vampire house with a cover as a funeral home, private investigator, la la la .. the plot doesn't need to be explained here people.. But what makes this film better than it really should be, is Dennis Miller. I found him immensly enjoyable and fun to watch. He wrote all of his lines (uncredited) and they are all quite funny.
Corey Feldman, Erika Eleniak and Chris Sarandon all show up and ham it up to the max..

The direction is also quite good ,but not up to the standards of the previous film.

Still, this film is quite good.. Now its not a great horror.. It is just worth a look. Do not though expect another Demon Knight..

I cant wait to see what direction they will go in for the next tale.

So get it on video... or watch it on TV, its just a good film to pass the time, and better than it looks.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=619&reviewer=23
originally posted: 09/03/98 22:43:08
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

12/28/09 Dane Youssef Silly campy fun. No "Dusk 'Til Fun." But still worth seeing once. Miller's a hoot. 2 stars
10/20/09 art HAM CITY! 1 stars
1/28/07 mets1986 Pure cheese.....but the Velveeta of cheese 4 stars
8/10/06 Dragon The Artist The title says it all about its raciness,& everything in it was a cheeseball!! 2 stars
10/26/05 Allison Funny! You gotta love the Super Soaker scene! 4 stars
8/18/05 ES After demon knight it was a total let down, now we know how the franchise died 1 stars
2/16/05 Wilt Chamberlin Funny as hell! Very entertaining! 5 stars
7/07/04 American Slasher Goddess This makes Demon Knight look like a classic in comparison 1 stars
4/10/04 dr. horror phd a sequel like this was just plain wrong,and you know this, man (chris tucker's smokey ) 1 stars
1/26/04 Eric Dennis Miller sucks.Thank god for Corey Feldman and the hot ladies. 4 stars
7/23/03 Double G I had to go potty in the middle so it got stinky 3 stars
6/27/03 cochese K-Dog is an idiot reviewer. he likes this pile of shit but hated Fight Club? What the fuck 1 stars
10/16/02 Charles Tatum Needs a transfusion 3 stars
6/24/02 Baal Stylish gore and lots of naked chicks. Check it out, it's really cool! 5 stars
9/29/01 Andrew Carden The Only Good Thing Is Whoopi. 2 stars
9/26/01 Shane Robert Myers!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It sucked because it was just vampires, nude women and it... was'nt that good! okay!!!!!!!! 3 stars
8/10/01 Mr. Hat The 1st victim was stupid anyway...lettin' someone dart him in his nuts........ 2 stars
11/15/00 Jeff loved it 5 stars
10/18/00 doc rogers Boobs and Blood---what more could you want? 4 stars
9/13/00 Boy In The Designer Bubble I've seen scarier things in my granny's Depends. 2 stars
6/26/00 Guy Nameless Pure fun, not bogged down by any pretensions of seriousness. Dennis is hilarious 5 stars
10/17/99 Brian Average.Miller was funny,but he was just Miller.FDTD set the bar high for this kind of film 3 stars
5/11/99 Lucas Jackson Oh what the fuck it was just like a long tv show,it was good,but to long 3 stars
1/15/99 DRMJSP Now I don't want to get off on a rant here, but Dennis Miller is funny as hell. 5 stars
12/14/98 Homer's Tulebox So-so. What can I say? 3 stars
10/17/98 Sailor Moonn Ate My Balls Yadda yadda... in other words... so-so 3 stars
9/15/98 Chip Taylor Ride on, Dappy! 5 stars
9/08/98 Johny Liked it, but DEMON KNIGHT was better 3 stars
9/05/98 pooky the bald Dude. It's fucking Corey FELDMAN! WHOOO! 3 stars
9/01/98 MikeF it was just ok. I like dennis. 3 stars
8/25/98 Miss Stress NO! 1 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball Dennis Miller *AND* Corey Feldman! Come on! That's the dream team! 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  16-Aug-1996 (R)
  DVD: 07-Sep-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast