More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.16

Awesome28.57%
Worth A Look: 17.14%
Average: 16.19%
Pretty Bad: 18.1%
Total Crap: 20%

8 reviews, 57 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Rules of Attraction, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Greg Muskewitz

"The rules of copycatting."
2 stars

Blasé, self-titled epiphany on post-teen angst so dead-set on examining the reality of college coeds (or so it keeps telling itself), that along the way, it all but completely loses its few human elements.

Basely positing that sex and drugs are the only diet in which these students have to nourish themselves in (“I wonder if Lauren gets wild during sex. I wonder if she comes easy. Or at all … hmm, I’m hungry”), director Roger Avary (co-writer of Pulp Fiction) explores his superior’s last trick by constantly re-examining the same events and spaces of time from the perspective of multiple characters. Tarantino’s decision to apply that was most interesting in Jackie Brown and illustrates the separation of a practical (if not roguish) artist dipping in experimentalism, and a novice acquiescing to excess. The tricks don’t stop at that, rather, they become even more full-bodied (but empty-headed) from the continual visitation of backtrack and rewind. (The end credits begin at the end, with the Dolby ensignia, and scroll “up” to the beginning.) Not all of the post-modern and decadent attitude can be blamed on Avary, who is merely carrying on the torch for Bret Easton Ellis, author of the novel that this was based on. Along the way, transitory solace can be found in the niceness, the empathetic resonance of Shannyn Sossamon’s alterna-girl character. But the detractions — i.e., James Van Der Beek, all the way acting as though he had reprised the role of The Joker — stack much higher.

With Kip Pardue and Jessica Biel.

[See it if you must.]

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=6193&reviewer=172
originally posted: 12/21/03 14:26:21
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

4/11/14 PAUL SHORTT TEDIOUS, LOATHSOME ADAPTATION, WITH UNSYMPATHETIC CHARACTERS 2 stars
8/10/12 Dane Youssef Avary gives us a dire message about the party, the party animals and what it all means. 4 stars
3/11/09 Dane Youssef Much of the movie really works. Some of it doesn't. Superior to most college movies. 4 stars
12/29/07 GARTH WOW...loved it! Thought it was going to be a dumb teen angst film. Ended up impressed! 5 stars
5/26/07 Bitchflaps The sex scenes are about the least erotic thing you'll ever see in your life. Wretched film 1 stars
2/01/07 William Goss Sick, sad, and strangely compelling. 3 stars
2/21/06 Agent Sands I like the darkest of the dark movies, and this is one of those. 5 stars
7/26/05 Hermy It's unique (storytelling, cinematography, characters) and incredible (not pretentious). 5 stars
2/27/05 Danny I realize it's a satire, but it's also just plain mind-numbing. Yawn. 2 stars
11/16/04 gemma leneard the film shows real life issues that many people tend not to notice, start noticing! 5 stars
10/23/04 ODH Good funny flick, lacks a definitive ending though 4 stars
10/01/04 john k my fave movie in quite some time 5 stars
9/26/04 Tor Honolulu I liked Richard...oops, its DICK, not Richard, but he was in it for like four minutes 2 stars
9/22/04 Laura Bustamante This film was a sense of reality 5 stars
8/02/04 Charlene Javier I've seen better episodes of Dawson's Creek. 3 stars
7/18/04 JimmyC Fay Dunaway is the only highlight 1 stars
6/25/04 Xavier I concur, GR. The whole intelligence of it is how ultimately empty each charater is. 4 stars
5/19/04 LIAM JACKSON Rupert the drug dealer: what a fucking nutcase! 5 stars
5/11/04 GR People don't get it. This is a satire, so you don't like any of the characters on purpose. 5 stars
4/24/04 Daniel Harris One of the biggest wastes of time and money ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
3/24/04 movieguy A great film 5 stars
3/16/04 Daveman It's not even worth seeing James Van Der Beek get the shit kicked out him. 1 stars
2/03/04 Zargo some shit scenes make this less good then it could have been 4 stars
1/05/04 yourmom the film was daring to say the least, it was not original but it was unique 5 stars
11/22/03 TheDude Very Depressing movie. I'll never watch it again. 4 stars
10/28/03 Mark Good movie, snappy editing + direction, black humour, dark. 5 stars
10/04/03 Josh Reel college life 5 stars
10/03/03 Zaggo New and Inventive, reccomend to anyone who is openminded 5 stars
9/27/03 Honolulu Tur I've seen it three times and love Richard's (sorry, DICK'S!!) scene alot 4 stars
9/23/03 Ashton Kutcher's Boy Toy Tries to be earnest, but ends up utterly pretentious. 3 stars
9/15/03 DHite Sucks, and what's with Sossamon's hair? ick! 1 stars
8/10/03 Masacree I dont understand! "The Hulk" is "Worth a look" and this movie "Sucks" !? Its so wrong! 4 stars
5/22/03 Caiphn Entertaining 4 stars
4/28/03 Mike One of the best films of the year - not for everyone, though 5 stars
3/04/03 Matt Scott It is very well technically made, and there are some amusing moments, but the story sucks 3 stars
2/28/03 cw boring and painful 1 stars
2/26/03 saMas despite the criticisms (often valid) this is definitely worth a look 4 stars
2/21/03 A. Kane Like the technical elements but the story was weak at times 3 stars
2/14/03 Andrew Carden Someone Needs To Shut These Kids Up 1 stars
2/10/03 thejames its allright. better then alot of movies but nothing spectatcular. 4 stars
1/22/03 Reini Urban Best teen movie 2002 5 stars
12/13/02 Natalie Stonecipher 2-hour collection of false endings, and the actual ending sucks most of all. Insufferable. 1 stars
11/20/02 Ron20003 Whoa -- this was bad, very bad. 1 stars
10/30/02 noisey30 Terrible. 2 stars
10/19/02 nick2k <3 S.F. damn this was good! its not fair that movies like ballistic & tuxedo get more screens. 5 stars
10/16/02 Deebo go fig you got a review that says the movie sux coock from a kid with the name Dick 5 stars
10/16/02 .Choadushouse. Probably the most influential movie I've ever seen. Absolutely loved it. 5 stars
10/15/02 will that was very interesting 4 stars
10/15/02 Jhonny Funny, original, thought provoking, must see. I hope Avary makes another film soon! 5 stars
10/14/02 Borden It was fun 5 stars
10/14/02 Gene S. Wind who the fuck said this movie was depressing.funny and serious.Laughed my arse off at Fred S 5 stars
10/14/02 Chancey Sugarpants I'm so sick of shit like this. H'wood, pull your head out of your ass & put it to good use. 2 stars
10/13/02 better than the book The “backwards” device grates, but it's a sharp, uncompromising film. 5 stars
10/13/02 Michael Sucks a Fattie Everything I've ever searched for in a movie. Style, substance, pure COOL. And the Beek! 5 stars
10/12/02 David Green Almost impossible to stay awake while watching it! 2 stars
10/12/02 Dick The movie's best line also sums it up...."It sucks Coooooooock" 2 stars
10/12/02 Pat Bateman Excellent 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  11-Oct-2002 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  20-Feb-2003




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast