More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.13

Awesome: 31.75%
Worth A Look58.73%
Average: 1.59%
Pretty Bad: 6.35%
Total Crap: 1.59%

4 reviews, 39 user ratings



Tuck Everlasting
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Greg Muskewitz

"Lasting impressions."
4 stars

Lambent, wholesome youth film, nothing short of magical, wherein a cosseted, cloistered lass escapes from her perennial confines of parental stuffiness (“The heat of the summer was not nearly as stifling as the formality of her life”).

The ruckus she creates to an unsuspecting family, the fuss and hush over some family secret (“Know what?”) is dealt with right away in Natalie Babbitt’s children’s book. (Circa 1975, amendments are chaperoned leading to minor tinkering, as with the age of our protagonist, particularly in matters of romance.) Those unfamiliar with the reading material may not understand the significance of the title, but as little hints are dropped along the way — reference to a once-a-decade visit when the oldest boy hardly looks over two decades, a wedding band on the young man, note of an important event 80-years ago — ah, it hits you. The “controversial” water supply in the woods is more telling, in that it is a fountain of youth. Until then, the discerning (but unknowing) viewer has only aroused suspicions, heighten by the portentous out-of-towner with the mustard-seed suit. Director Jay Russell, remaining true to the intentions of the book, is often daunted by the acutely pedantic but heavy exposition. Though such issues moderately cordon-off these wooded acres, it is after all part of the territory. The childhood elements, if not childish, are key to freely make believe. It is not by a stretch of imagination (asked for or implied) that one participates in the simplicity and geniality of the spell. And granted, the squeaky-cleanness, the propensity for some sentimental puppy love, is not for all tastes. But the solid camerawork of James L. Carter, buggied to majestically capturing the awesomely assembled cast is no knock to the salubrious focal point. Alexis Bledel (something of a young mix between Helena Bonham Carter and Emmanuelle Béart, all gushing lips and protruding forehead) coruscates in the fanciful, gleaming lead character. Her vibrancy, her beat-to-unmissed-beat from “The Gilmore Girls” carries over here for some equally rhythmic flow. As well, the added veneration from the presence of Sissy Spacek, William Hurt, Victor Garber and Amy Irving (ignoring, of course, the nuisance of Ben Kingsley’s catalyst-ic nature and performance) is no detraction either.

With Jonathan Jackson.

[Absolutely to be seen.]

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=6195&reviewer=172
originally posted: 10/26/02 15:18:02
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

11/13/09 girl this is a gorgeous movie and for those teenybobbers, yes jesse is gorgeous 4 stars
1/08/09 Rachel i really liked this film, the message is handled so gently and so well. 4 stars
5/28/08 PAUL SHORTT THE KIND OF STORY THAT STAYS WITH KIDS, BECOMES MORE MEANINGFUL TO THEM AS GROWNUPS 4 stars
1/13/08 emily it was like the bets, like todally 4 stars
12/21/07 dayra i love it JESSE IS HHHHOOOOTTTT.... the best movie that i see ever..... 5 stars
6/23/07 Jessica So touching Jesse Tuck is hoooooooooooooooooooooooooootttttttttttt 5 stars
5/17/07 ¢¾Kasey¢¾ IT WAS SOOOOOOOOOO KOOL(IM 12 YEARS OLD)I LUVED IT!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
7/26/05 R.W. Welch Pros and cons of immortality. Good cast. Almost WAL. 3 stars
5/08/05 Valerie good movie 4 stars
3/15/05 thierry I loved it! 5 stars
1/19/05 Aaron Smith Charming lesson about love and immortality. 4 stars
8/22/04 Ma. Vinna Corazon V. Paraguya probably great?joke...no it's amazing! 4 stars
6/27/04 Elena I think it's a great film.. with a really good message. 5 stars
4/17/04 Michael Greenwaldt Looked boring, but I'm glad I saw it. Surprisingly very good! 4 stars
3/31/04 Vivian Oliva e Isabel Juárez It is a good movie but it has some cursi parts. "cursi" is a Spanish word. 4 stars
1/18/04 becky debord can any one name the old film this movie is based on this movie is very good 5 stars
1/01/04 Yvette Szabo Loved this movie, makes you want to make the most of life while we have it. 5 stars
12/17/03 Myra Salcido I thought that this movie was a beautiful movie with just the right touch of romance!!!!!!! 5 stars
12/01/03 AMANDA Tuck Everlasting is a greatt book and film, its based on a myth about a magica spring. 5 stars
10/29/03 Allie mills it is a hunk of junk 1 stars
9/14/03 Charity Knight It was so great! Jonathan Jackson was the best actor in the film. 5 stars
8/13/03 lucy it was beautifully done! it makes me cry everytime. 5 stars
8/05/03 Alli evans it's my favorite i think the producer did an excellant job with capturing whats in the book 5 stars
7/24/03 Kit Stupid movie. Whole love thing has been overplayed so much. 2 stars
6/27/03 Beatrice Good movie, but not as good as the book by a long shot. 4 stars
5/08/03 Jessica The book and the movie are the best thing that has ever came out . 5 stars
4/29/03 The Talking Elbow Sweet, sad love story, not perfect, but leaves a lot for your imagination to play with. 4 stars
4/24/03 Anna Phillipe I loved it 5 stars
4/08/03 ashley it was great 5 stars
4/03/03 tammi canol the best movie ive ever seen(for now) 5 stars
3/27/03 Kimberly Very thought provoking and poignant. I'd recomend this film to anyone. Great cast and story 5 stars
3/22/03 vanessa villegas it was the best film ever Jonathan was so hott in it 5 stars
3/20/03 Andrew Carden Good Screenplay, but Otherwise Dated and Contrived Disney Material. 2 stars
1/31/03 Her Royal Heinie Bizarre story never really takes on a raison d'être, nor does it provide significant wisdom 2 stars
1/11/03 Film Dude An inspired moment or two, but disappointing nontheless. 2 stars
11/27/02 durva my commet is that i like the book more then movie i want read the book again and again 5 stars
10/29/02 John McNew A brief, simplistic, but sensitive and sweet fable of life, death and immortality 4 stars
10/17/02 Allie S. Best I have ever seen! 5 stars
10/12/02 Nicole Pretty true to the book I loved as a kid....tastefully made into a film. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  11-Oct-2002 (PG)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  20-Mar-2003




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast