More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.88

Awesome46.62%
Worth A Look: 21.96%
Average: 13.85%
Pretty Bad: 7.77%
Total Crap: 9.8%

12 reviews, 224 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Rob Gonsalves

Roman J. Israel, Esq. by Peter Sobczynski

Coco (2017) by Peter Sobczynski

Prey (2017) by Jay Seaver

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Ring, The (2002)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Erik Childress

"The Creepiest Horror Film Since The Blair Witch Project"
5 stars

Horror afficionados around the world will always recognize a distinct split in their numbers. There are your gorehounds searching out splatterfests and getting disappointed when the blood doesn’t fly. Then there’s the psychological less-is-more crowd that usually makes up the critics and fans of old-school classics when blood was gray and hardly ever seen. Crossover appeal certainly comes into play when pure film lovers are involved and throughout history, the pattern suggests in scare-a-thons like The Exorcist and the original The Haunting that it’s creepier when you don’t know what’s after you. So what can you do to stop it?

With a slasher, you launch a couple thousand bullets into him/her and pray a final second wind doesn’t lead into unnecessary sequels. With established rules, a final solution is usually an objective within reach, no matter how far-fetched. But when there’s a mystery to be solved, the horror appears to replicate on top of itself. How do you know what you need to discover is something you want to discover and what danger is in store for you once it appears? The creeping unknown can be far more terrifying as your imagination works overtime expecting the worst. The Ring is such a film.

Adapted from the 1998 Japanese film, Ringu (already considered one of the scariest films ever) the film opens with a great urban legend. Two high school girls sit in their bedroom. One of them tells the other a tall tale about a mysterious videotape. After you watch it, the phone rings and a voice tells you that you’re going to die in seven days. And guess what? You do. The recipient of this story goes white. She’s seen the tape. Seven days ago that night. And guess what?

The girl’s young cousin, Aidan (David Dorfman), had visions of the girl’s death (“her heart just stopped” admittedly sounds like a strange diagnosis considering her lifeforce-drained, green corpse) and her aunt, Rachel (a terrific Naomi Watts), an investigative reporter is asked by her sister to look into it. Tracing the deaths of the girl’s three friends (all on the same night at the same time) back to a mountain cabin where they watched the tape, Rachel finds the copy and gives it a look-see. Resembling a menagerie of a student film with random images, the short piece leaves Rachel with more questions to assemble. Then the phone rings.

Whether she fully believes in the freakish happenings or not, Rachel considers that her clock may be running out and we follow her day-by-day to solve the puzzle of the tape. She turns to video expert, Noah (Martin Henderson) for help, only resulting in more queries to the origin of the tape and less time for Noah to answer them after he watches the tape himself.

To reveal anymore about their findings would spoil the fun of The Ring, which has been handsomely molded into a great mystery by director Gore Verbinski (MouseHunt) and screenwriter Ehren Krueger (Arlington Road). The creepiness derives not from the occasional shocks, courtesy of the new “BOO” tactic – THE SCREECHING FLASHBACK– but from an overwhelming sense of impending dread. It takes more than a loud noise awakening from stillness to make me jump in my seat these days, but when you deliver a sequence as alarming as the ferry trip or stack the deck against me to deliver a shakingly eerie third act that keeps coming, you have my full attention, even if I’m not sure I want to give it to you. That’s what a great horror film does.

The story of The Ring surely borrows elements from classic creepies like The Shining and Don’t Look Now and even more recent favorites, Stir of Echoes and The Others, but there’s a social undercurrent running throughout that makes this all the more fascinating. Audience members may feel they’re leaving on an unsatisfying note, but after discussion and further thought, one will call into attention the reproach taken towards the media and society’s treatment of the deranged. Television and video may be showing the images, but they’re not the ones doing the killing.

The Ring charges full-steam ahead with its central mystery that it may still leave the viewer wanting aspects like Rachel’s feelings towards her possible demise. The question of what would you do if you had seven days to live is perhaps a foregone conclusion to try and stop it if you have the opportunity. With each individual image on the video holding a clue, Verbinski may overstep his boundaries more than a few times by reminding us with flashbacks and allowing characters to talk to themselves while we see the same info, but with so much to digest I was willing to forgive these usual annoyances of mine.

Displaying a storytelling confidence unseen in most genre pictures, The Ring succeeds in being the most terrifying film to hit theaters since The Blair Witch Project. Going back on the film with a fine-tooth comb to piece everything back together to its final images, I was amazed at the lack of inconsistencies and remembered aspects of the filmmaking that will only become more glorified with repeated viewings. Bojan Bazelli’s (Dangerous Beauty) cinematography is perfectly bathed in ghostly blues and whites and the performances are spot-on, right down to two of the creepiest kids this side of Pepsi and Welch’s commercials. Unlike this year’s Signs and last year’s Mulholland Drive (featuring Watts’ breakthrough performance), which built us up and ended on such ridiculous notes, The Ring is a far-more satisfying puzzler that intrigues, unsettles and leaves us thinking after. Which only makes it scarier.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=6233&reviewer=198
originally posted: 10/17/02 12:18:25
[printer] printer-friendly format  
Horror Remakes: For more in the Horror Remakes series, click here.

User Comments

3/13/17 morris campbell the best asian horror remake 4 stars
7/27/13 dr.lao In ths age of gore and cheap shocks I had forgotten how compelling a horoor movie could be 5 stars
3/24/11 kagomefan4lyfe Luv it!!!! 5 stars
11/12/10 Josie Cotton is a goddess Read the novels, they make alot more sense. 2 stars
10/03/09 art SORRY FOLK"S!,IT"S A HALF-ASSED "PG-13 THRILLER" YAWN!_ 1 stars
9/14/09 art IT"LL GIVE YOU NIGHTMARE'S! 4 stars
8/13/09 Jeff Wilder Overcomes the ridiculousness of the premise and offers some good suspense. 4 stars
1/13/09 Anonymous. one of the better pg-13 horror films. :] 4 stars
10/01/08 Shaun Wallner Scary Story!! 5 stars
9/01/08 kyle remians the scariest flick i've ever scene (as an adult , as child try "creepshow") 5 stars
6/15/08 PAUL SHORTT SETS AN ATMOSPHERE OF CREEPINESS THAT DOESNT LET UP 2 stars
3/27/08 SamanthaPayntr never gonna let my tv go fuzzy again! creepy! 4 stars
12/05/07 Quigley One of the creepiest, most unsettling and best horror films of the new milennium. 5 stars
11/02/07 Total Crap No other movie has more creepy visuals than the Ring. 5 stars
9/02/07 Double M Scary if it's the ONLY horror movie you've seen!.. its 'scary' reputation = mystery for me. 3 stars
6/23/07 Phiuk Yiu Fuck this movie. This bullshit ain't scary. I heard the original was better. 1 stars
2/19/07 Scully How'd she get the powers? And why didn't she send the video by email? And... aah, this sux! 1 stars
2/16/07 Axel Leos The Grudge is better, but the Ring is a great horror movie 5 stars
12/10/06 JUNIPER_BERRY THE SCARIEST MOVIE I'VE EVER SEEN, I DIDN'T EVEN FINISH MY POPCORN! 5 stars
11/25/06 David Pollastrini Ringu was better 4 stars
8/23/06 sunhgfsdfh excellent 5 stars
8/16/06 anthonyuk a decent remake but not a patch on the original 4 stars
3/11/06 Dillon Overrated. The ending drags 2 stars
2/02/06 chris. aaaaaah!!! not static!!! 3 stars
12/31/05 Ronin Had a few good moments, but FOR ME it was a disappointment after all that hype. 3 stars
12/01/05 jessy baker this movie sucks 1 stars
11/10/05 doreb it was really scary and meaningless 5 stars
10/29/05 cowboyhunter I fell asleep on the movie. It wasn't that scary. 2 stars
10/04/05 Rachel this movie is the boom! 5 stars
8/25/05 Eden Very good remake. Scarier than original but more convulted 4 stars
8/18/05 ES Ah the movie that started the fear of dripping water and kids that draw ominous pictures 2 stars
6/08/05 R.W. Welch Doesn't make much sense, but WAL if you just like to be spooked. 3 stars
4/22/05 Pippin007 It scary! 4 stars
4/10/05 Kristan anderson Scary! scary! Scary! And, well written. 5 stars
4/09/05 B Kniprath Slow at times, but ok movie overall, confused at end. 4 stars
3/18/05 indrid cold This and Blair Witch are the only horror movies ever that have actually disturbed me. 5 stars
3/14/05 J. Warner One of the overall best horror films in recent years. 5 stars
2/05/05 Jeff Anderson THIS FILM BORED ME TO ENDLESS TEARS! See THE MOTHMAN PROPHECIES instead, a much BETTER film 1 stars
2/01/05 Mary Anne Best horror flick since "The Haunting" (the OLD version, not the new!) 5 stars
1/31/05 Darryl "Horror movie?" 1st 15 mins seem promising, but downhill after that. I fell asleep. 2 stars
1/20/05 Dr. Lecter Pure rip-off of STIR OF ECHOES 2 stars
12/21/04 Countryside Jim SOOOOOOO Fucking crazy man! I Shitted my pants! 5 stars
12/03/04 Nari S. Ramzan One of the most surreal films ever that's not for the stupid... 5 stars
11/19/04 critic GoooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooD ShiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiT 5 stars
10/29/04 heather it was awesome 5 stars
10/24/04 Ebert Rogers One of the Worst horror flicks ever. A tape that kills you? Sounds dumb, really IS dumb 1 stars
10/23/04 ODH One of the best horror flicks ever. A tape that kills you? Sounds dumb, but it works here!! 5 stars
10/22/04 Natasha Scared the sh*t out of me a awesome movie 5 stars
10/18/04 Naka Absolutely fantastic. A quintessential addition to modern American horror. 5 stars
10/16/04 FamousMortimor Contrived, poorly written, unoriginal,a lame premise. seen scarier shampoo comercials 1 stars
10/13/04 Jason It might be scary if you forget the laws of nature! 1 stars
10/12/04 Jeff effective commentary on the substitution of television for parenting in the US 5 stars
10/11/04 Jon Holdsworth A completely embarassing waste of time and an insult to original. Execute all responsible. 1 stars
9/12/04 jeff exorcist 1 rules 3 stars
9/11/04 Anonymous The scariest movie ever! The atmosphere is great and the movie scared the shit out of me!!! 5 stars
7/12/04 emma I really enjoyed it!! Very GRIPPING!!! 5 stars
6/05/04 jamal the people are stupid. this movie is so dumb and bad that its sad 1 stars
6/01/04 orochimaru compared tot he jap version this cudnt fight its way out of a wet paper bag 1 stars
5/08/04 Stefan Halka Scary? WTF? This film was as scary as an old animated" Scooby Doo" episode. 3 stars
5/06/04 Daveman and to think people complain about the remake of the Birdcage (which is actually superior) 2 stars
4/24/04 Brip Japanese version much better...not this doo doo. 5 stars
4/17/04 Michael Greenwaldt Beautiful, creepy, hypnotic! One of the best of 2002! MUCH better than the awful original! 5 stars
4/07/04 Sig Very original how the Japenese come up with better Horror than, the Yanks? 5 stars
3/24/04 Lord Haw Haw One horrifying image after another. This one stays with you. 5 stars
3/06/04 Jaco Visser The best "spookstorie" I have ever seen! 5 stars
2/23/04 Naturezrevenge Actually and surpisingly scary. Just go see it. 5 stars
2/22/04 Phyllis Joy An modern movie that actual manages to be scary and creepy. 5 stars
2/21/04 Denise Duspiva Creepy 4 stars
2/17/04 Stefan Halka The scare scene with the horse and Rachel was so lame it made me laugh. 3 stars
2/11/04 mans0n cool 5 stars
1/30/04 Andra This is my favourite horror movie!Many don't understand it's psichology,but it's great!!! 5 stars
1/28/04 Jingo P. By no means groundbreaking, but a clever, truly scary movie. It stays with you. 4 stars
1/19/04 I Would Stupid, pretentious remake. Uninspired, hurriedly cobbled together and definitly not scary. 2 stars
1/10/04 Jin What a waste of time. Slow and ridiculous. 1 stars
1/05/04 delie The circle of life forces procreation - we must make a copy or we will die. 5 stars
1/04/04 Littlepurch Not scary but really creepy and chilling throughout. Very enjoyable. 4 stars
1/01/04 Roxy SCARY!! 4 stars
12/26/03 Nikolai Scatterbrains will enjoy this entourage of cutting room droppings 2 stars
12/23/03 Demelsa Perfect Movie 5 stars
12/23/03 Alyssa I didn't see it HAHA, I am going to though, I hope it's not to scary. (I know i'm retarded) 5 stars
12/22/03 Ravenheart Good movie but the original is better!! 5 stars
12/19/03 Ryan Moore Very nice job. Again, stuff the critics. 4 stars
11/30/03 Aerin The original version is really scary, but this remake ...!!! 2 stars
11/30/03 jmsynth If u found this movie scary or entertaining u r easily amused or scared. It was just silly 2 stars
11/23/03 smartmusician grest/intriguing horror 5 stars
11/09/03 Samuel i would have never imagined a pg-13 flick being so terrifying... 5 stars
11/01/03 Skilly Skally Not bad at all, not great at all, just a fairly proficient flick, better than most horrors 3 stars
11/01/03 I Would Disappointing remake of a truely mesmerising piece of horror cinema. 2 stars
10/30/03 Becky Really scary! 5 stars
10/18/03 Will I just watched this and I'm home alone. Hold me. 4 stars
10/18/03 We are Rock & Roll ppls!!!!!!!!!!!!! ITS CREEPY I HATED IT IT GAVE ME NIGHTMARES AND IT SUCKED! :( 1 stars
10/16/03 Taylor Fladgate Creepy!!! Yikes, with a good story & acting 5 stars
10/13/03 Jim Creepy and disturbing for the most part, rather than scary 4 stars
10/09/03 Michelle Stupid the end 3 stars
10/04/03 Double G the ending ruined it 3 stars
9/17/03 Samuel Justus One of the best I've seen in a while! 5 stars
9/13/03 hando the ring?the crusty brown ring in my opinion 1 stars
9/06/03 Andrew The most terrrifying film I have EVER seen. 5 stars
8/26/03 dado excellent 5 stars
8/26/03 The Chimp Suprisingly one of the best horror movies I have ever seen! 5 stars
8/11/03 Nicole The movie had creepy atmosphere, but the only real scare came at the end 3 stars
8/07/03 April Very creepy! 5 stars
8/07/03 marc_ian_a Excellent ! (5 stars) :) 5 stars
7/24/03 Mag Pie The Movie Fucking Sucked Except When She Came Out The TV 1 stars
7/22/03 Double G Ending ruined it all 1 stars
7/20/03 Udoka It was scary and a very very nicely done movie! 5 stars
7/16/03 Fred Not very creative, yet stimulating. Sort of like playing checkers. 3 stars
7/14/03 Christian Harding Good, scary movie but crappy ending. 4 stars
7/09/03 courtney lynn woods i thought the movie was freakin excelant man 5 stars
7/06/03 Stefan Halka I pity the people who think this film was scary. They have not seen real horror films. 3 stars
7/03/03 Dan Stupid and porous plot, one-dimensional characters, bad acting; an overall boring movie 1 stars
6/27/03 Pissed Chris a mature movie goer will enjoy, be frightened, or at least appreciate this work 5 stars
6/25/03 WhiteRabbit scared the shit out of me.. awesome! 5 stars
6/22/03 Ghetto Smurf You fucking pansy's, it's not that scary. Certainly very dumb though. 2 stars
6/16/03 Brandon SCARY AND AWESOME 5 stars
6/11/03 Geoff A seriously scary movie, well acted and excellent ending, any parent would understand. 5 stars
6/10/03 Paul Andrews It still creeps me out 6 months later 5 stars
5/27/03 Danielle It was a great movie. It is 1 of the all time best scary movies 5 stars
5/24/03 usually not scared by movies.... do not watch alone in your basement with all the lights out and nobody home 5 stars
5/22/03 Desert Rat Except for the chick out of the TV scene, this movie was lame!! 2 stars
5/13/03 nbp creepy 5 stars
4/26/03 Scapegoat pretty cool 5 stars
4/25/03 Dead Kennedy If a girl came out of the t.v., i'd tell her to fix me a fucking sandwich with extra mayo 3 stars
4/17/03 TheTwiggs I liked it. It was strange and a bit in Silent Hill style 4 stars
4/17/03 Jon "Thumb the Toad" Lyrik Creepy. 5 stars
4/16/03 Russell I haven't been able to sleep since I watched it, and I watched it last night. 4 stars
4/14/03 Matrenou well-cut film with extreme good timed scene's, a must see 5 stars
4/13/03 Viper Awesome movie, very scary up to the end! 5 stars
4/08/03 Dead Ringers FX rules! Fun creepy and better than original. More expensive of course. 4 stars
4/06/03 Dave What can I say? It's the disappointing remake. 3 stars
4/06/03 Jessel Some decent twists, but mostly painful 1 stars
4/03/03 Chris A great horror film, in almost every aspect except the ending. 4 stars
3/29/03 NYTRANSIT417 Awsome Movie!, Very Suspensful and Ive got 1 day left. 5 stars
3/27/03 Mr. Bo Jangles Crummy tape quality does not equal scary 2 stars
3/26/03 HsiLiKniP This is the first scary movie to actually EVER scare me, i give it alotta props!! =) 5 stars
3/24/03 Meryl it scared the piss out of us. i watched the end through my fingers. 5 stars
3/23/03 Kyle So nightmarish I actually envy those who found it boring. 5 stars
3/22/03 snowconehead I saw it last night, I guess I hav 6 days left 4 stars
3/21/03 soelen creepy movie, gotta stick with it! didnt understand the ending..huh..you let her out? 4 stars
3/19/03 Tiffany Thunderhurst Even supernatural premises need their own kind of coherence; This movie's doesn't have it. 2 stars
3/17/03 Jonathan Ingenious Movie: Horrible, Terrifying, but brilliant. I was absolutely Petrified by it. 5 stars
3/16/03 GMan Movie: Decent. Star: Wankable. There, now... what's with the fucking fingers in the box?? 4 stars
3/14/03 Christy this movie is scary, but it was too confusing.The suspense was great, but the storyline sux 3 stars
3/13/03 Chiend It sucked--Rips off Hitchcock and The Exorcist as well as the superior Japanese original. 1 stars
3/11/03 me A GREAT FILM 5 stars
3/10/03 Jiz Started lame, got good, then got slightly worse, and then came the ultra-shitty ending. 3 stars
3/09/03 othree the average ghost who wants to be found w/ a plus. More thought provoking then scary 3 stars
3/09/03 Film Dude You know something josh w, YOU SUCK. 1 stars
3/05/03 Robert Cooley Nail Biter, Thriller, Pscyho-scary and so much more 5 stars
3/04/03 the little big small man in the huge undersized tiny gigantic trashcan Naomi Watts. I love you. 5 stars
2/21/03 A. Kane A creepy atmosphere doesn't mean a good film 2 stars
2/03/03 GIANMEINARD V. LAMAR ITS A GOOD FILM!!!! THE BEST 5 stars
1/28/03 bob leather jacket Creeepy!!! Awesome 5 stars
1/20/03 malcolm shocking, but inconclusive. get ready for the awful sequel. 4 stars
12/31/02 Kit Great! It was awesome. Freaky, yet not scary. 5 stars
12/26/02 josh w it sucked 1 stars
12/21/02 palaboy101 Very creepy remake, but the ending was very vague, unlike the original Japanese version. 5 stars
12/19/02 mav mad horror, mad lookin actress, wat more can u want? 5 stars
12/19/02 nick2k goddamn....goddamn.....good stuff! 5 stars
12/18/02 Chiendog Steven Spielberg sucks! Fuck this remake! 1 stars
12/18/02 masin wolliams I can answer any questions you may have about THE RING: mw1301@hotmail.com 5 stars
12/17/02 Alanboy What happened? So many questions, but no answers. 1 stars
12/09/02 strider3700 Really good, I'm still scared a day later. 5 stars
12/08/02 richard breath-taking 5 stars
12/08/02 WestcoastPunk i must has shit myself 5 times it was so scary 5 stars
12/06/02 AJ S Scared shitless. Nightmares. Wet pants. 5 stars
12/03/02 George Jung Pointless tripe with Nicole Kidman lite. 1 stars
12/03/02 Gaiia If my TV turns itself on next wednesday i'm going to FREAK OUT! ME TOO!!! REALLY GREAT!!! 5 stars
12/02/02 angie mathars scarest movie i have ever seen and my favorite movie. 5 stars
11/26/02 zeitgeist great movie, but could use more closure... 4 stars
11/25/02 Lachlan Crap and wierd which doesn't make sense 1 stars
11/24/02 chris see Ringu instead. these guys can't act to save their lives. 1 stars
11/23/02 Doc's friend Tony If you see it at night alone, it's a long and dark trip home. 5 stars
11/21/02 Lock If my TV turns itself on next wednesday i'm going to FREAK OUT! 5 stars
11/21/02 Monster W. Kung This movie sucked. I expected much more than this. 2 stars
11/20/02 palaboy101 A great remake. A thousand times better than the crappy Blair Witch Project 5 stars
11/16/02 The Ringer This movie sucked so much dick i'd call it a cocksucker. 1 stars
11/15/02 Heath Stewart ...in the stile of The Shining - if not more horrific. 5 stars
11/14/02 fred see the original 1 stars
11/14/02 SGR 'The Mexican' director redeems himself 5 stars
11/14/02 Dom Corleone Awesome 5 stars
11/13/02 Master Debator FREAK ASS TERRIFYING 5 stars
11/09/02 Jennifer Napier I love scary movies, but this one was so terrifying that it still haunts me! 5 stars
11/07/02 LessThanColleen the ending was so cool! The dead girls dad that fried himself was in L.I.E, kinda wierd... 5 stars
11/06/02 Nicole Nothing special - many recycled ideas.....ending scared me! 3 stars
11/06/02 Film Dude Holy shit. Freaky. I gotta find the Japanese version. 5 stars
11/06/02 david badass scary movie 5 stars
11/05/02 Blubberbot Bad acting. Dumb Story. Not Scary. 2 stars
11/05/02 palaboy101 Despite being a Japanese remake, this is one really scary movie. 5 stars
11/03/02 Melina piss in your pants scary 4 stars
11/03/02 The Ranter The plot is like swiss cheese, a lot of "pointless" and discardable details and loose ends. 2 stars
11/03/02 Obi Wan One of the better horror movies in a long time. . 5 stars
10/30/02 Bluto Liked it, I just don't think I can be scared anymore 4 stars
10/29/02 Gryftir I drove home thinking of how to convince somebody to see it, so it wouldn't get me. 7 days 5 stars
10/29/02 Entertaining and engaging but doesn't life up to hype would have been better if relied on creepy atomasphere with less cliche's 4 stars
10/29/02 noisey30 Lots of plot holes, but still freaky 4 stars
10/28/02 Caiphn Very well done. 5 stars
10/28/02 Benjamin Lesbian Feh. Some creepy moments but pretty convoluted and confusing. 3 stars
10/28/02 Michaelb14 scary as hell, 'nough said 5 stars
10/27/02 Roy Smith The best scares of the year. Bring your Depends(tm) just in case! 5 stars
10/26/02 jarrod_101 creepy, bad ending. did anyone else get that "bad NIN video" vibe from that video tape? 4 stars
10/25/02 Rich Cirivilleri what would that poor ghost do if they put that video on the jumbotron at the superbowl? 5 stars
10/25/02 Anarchy Azmi you people are sheep......the original japanese version is better only with less effects 3 stars
10/24/02 Sophann great somber atmosphere 5 stars
10/24/02 Morally Sound Awesome! Not since The Shining have I seen such a freaky movie. The ending hits you hard. 5 stars
10/24/02 Flounder Posed as a horror movie, but fails to fully live up to its genre placement. Did not scare. 3 stars
10/23/02 .Choadushouse. Deliciously frightening images! Completely horrifying! A great horror flick for everyone. 5 stars
10/23/02 Zaw Deja Vu,, I seen this movie before about 15 year ago! 5 stars
10/22/02 leanne scary & interesting. I've been thinking about it ever since and want to see it again! 5 stars
10/22/02 darkstar Very good movie. Went slow till the end, then BANG.. nice payoff 5 stars
10/22/02 puckfreak Don't believe the hype, yo. It's a snoozer. 2 stars
10/21/02 Matt Top 5 Scariest I've ever seen 5 stars
10/21/02 DedHeather Scariest movie I've seen in years! 5 stars
10/21/02 disappointed in seattle see name 2 stars
10/20/02 WickedEve Eerie, disturbing images overcome a few disappointing moments. 5 stars
10/20/02 norsaj I haven't seen a horror movie this good in quite a while 5 stars
10/20/02 Don Hite good, but left a lot unexplained.... 4 stars
10/20/02 Human Shield Had to watch Red Dragon afterward so I wouldn't have nightmares. 5 stars
10/20/02 kooler Please. A pumped-up murder mystery. I've seen scarier episodes of Scooby Doo. 3 stars
10/20/02 gyro_44 Creepy. 4 stars
10/20/02 cretaceous (CAbramlet@yahoo.com this film's an infection. beautifully creepy. 5 stars
10/19/02 Neil Tense. 3rd act will annoy those who like hand holding 4 stars
10/19/02 kallisti93 Fucking GREAT remake. Shame Hollywood can't be creative anymore. 5 stars
10/19/02 loser boy sucks 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  18-Oct-2002 (PG-13)
  DVD: 08-Mar-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  14-Nov-2002




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast