More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
1.74

Awesome: 13.95%
Worth A Look: 2.33%
Average: 0%
Pretty Bad: 11.63%
Total Crap72.09%

2 reviews, 31 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

Breadwinner, The by Jay Seaver

Endless, The by Jay Seaver

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Stupids, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"Mr. Arnold, your 15 minutes were up hours ago."
1 stars

Never has a movie title been so appropriate.

Stanley Stupid (Tom Arnold) can't figure out what keeps happening to his garbage. He takes it outside and leaves it on the curb, and when he goes back - what the hell? - it's gone! Stanley's stumped (he's not the brightest bulb on the string of Christmas lights, you understand), so he ends up following a couple of guys who are apparently STEALING his garbage to a local landfill.

In that little summary, I've given you an example of the kind of humor that wafts throughout The Stupids like the stench of week-old roadkill.

Problem is, it ain't funny.

It's another example of Tom Arnold trying (in vain) to capitalize on that long gone ample set of coattails given to him by onetime wife Roseanne. He's not the least bit funny, and neither is the film. You won't believe that the John Landis who directed this trash is also the John Landis who directed comedic masterpieces like The Blues Brothers and National Lampoon's Animal House.

It's quite sad, really.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=625&reviewer=7
originally posted: 09/30/98 23:47:39
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/07/11 PAUL SHORTT LIKEABLE AND GOOFY 2 stars
8/20/10 JM Synth Cute pets, great Lee cameo, the odd good gag. Kids will probably like it 2 stars
11/01/08 Shaun Wallner Was'nt all that great! 1 stars
5/03/07 William Goss Idiots aren't that funny when surrounded by nothing but morons. Contrast = comedy, people. 2 stars
6/21/06 jack better than i thought 4 stars
5/22/05 Ralph Peters I love this film! It is kind of a masterpiece! Acting & music are superb. 5 stars
4/18/05 Abbath I got really baked and I still thought it was too stupid. 1 stars
1/21/05 Jeff Anderson NOT STUPID AT ALL! The cast is fun & J. Landis is faithful to the books. TRUST IN THE LLOYD 5 stars
4/25/03 Jack Sommersby The title says it all. 1 stars
10/29/02 Charles Tatum With this and "Carpool," Tom kills his movie career 1 stars
10/23/02 palaboy101 If there only was a rating lower than "Total Crap", this TRASH would surely deserve it!!! 1 stars
9/30/02 CrowEater Someone please burn out my eyes with hot pokers so I cant be made to see it again...aghhh! 1 stars
8/10/02 STEVE AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH PLEASE FOR THE LOVE OF MIGHT KILL THE STUPIS AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH 1 stars
11/22/01 Paul Get a little stoned and watch it 5 stars
10/10/01 k259it3ss funny stuff 5 stars
9/30/01 Andrew Carden So, So Stupid and Gross. 1 stars
8/07/01 ted v. The title says it all. The WORST movie of ALL-TIME!!! 1 stars
7/06/01 JavisJShelmar .. It was So bad it GAVE ME A HEADACHE.. 1 stars
1/05/01 Ecko The funniest movie of all time!!!!!!!!!! Hilarious!!!!!!! A comic's delight!!!!!!! 5 stars
2/04/00 arnold the worst fucking movie ever but did they make it that way 1 stars
10/29/99 Lame-Oh boring, sorry-ass excuse of a family movie 1 stars
8/12/99 Jerry I think that this movie was funny 5 stars
12/09/98 Scion of Graveheart GET THE HELL BACK TO ROSANNE, ARNOLD! Screw this shit! 1 stars
12/09/98 Cage It blew all right, but Jenny McCarthy is STILL gorgeous!! 2 stars
12/07/98 Slupet Not all that shitty, but still pretty shitty. 2 stars
11/05/98 Bad Kosh I'd love to go and shoot those Stupids with a machine gun. They need to die.... 1 stars
10/27/98 Hunk@prodigy.net What's the deal with the computer animated dog and cat? 1 stars
10/24/98 Kwyjibo I want the name of the exec who gave Tom Arnold a development deal. And a rifle. Now. NOW!! 1 stars
10/18/98 Sailor Moon Ate My Balls Hard to watch, full of dumbass lunatics... What now? The Happys? 1 stars
8/29/98 Mister Whoopee Depressingly bad opening thirty minutes and I couldn't take any more. Impossible to enjoy. 1 stars
8/25/98 The Capital City Goofball Death to Arnold. What the hell was Rod Steiger doing in this? 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  30-Aug-1996 (PG)
  DVD: 10-Feb-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast