More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.6

Awesome: 18.49%
Worth A Look: 15.13%
Average: 6.72%
Pretty Bad: 26.89%
Total Crap32.77%

6 reviews, 83 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Star Wars: Episode VIII : The Last Jedi by Jay Seaver

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Ghost Ship
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Greg Muskewitz

"It doesn't sink fast enough."
1 stars

A weak Halloween effort, shadowing a group of ship salvagers (more like scavengers) aboard a haunted rustbucket. Initially docking from the gory incident itself is the illustrated wire-slicing of everybody on the dancefloor in half (save for a little girl), which provides ample opportunity for much limb and abdomen-grabbing. (Not indelible enough the first time around, halfway through the movie, we get it again in full flashback.)

Never mind that in actuality that would have been too calculated a move, considering the sloppiness of the planned-heist, the present-time melding pot of scavengers have eagerly welcomed a haunting as they attempt to greedily take off with the ship’s gold. Extremely low in concept, additional boat-rocking can be attributed to the hamminess of Julianna Margulies, Isaiah Washington, Gabriel Byrne, Karl Urban, Ron Eldard and the anchor-weighted shoddiness of the script.

Directed by Steve Beck. With Emily Browning.

[Not to be bothered with.]

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=6251&reviewer=172
originally posted: 10/26/02 15:57:40
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/21/17 morris campbell 2 much gore and effects not enough scares 2 stars
4/08/16 David Hollingsworth Just watch that great opening and the skip the rest. 1 stars
2/27/11 Pamela White typical horror film with no follow through good FX 2 stars
11/12/10 Josie Cotton is a goddess The special F/X is great, btu that's really about it 2 stars
5/23/10 MAJ D FOR HORROR FANS: inventive, interesting setting, characters, great visuals, atmospheric 5 stars
9/08/08 Sean Holland A freaky story and Gore, what else could you want 5 stars
8/15/08 Shaun Wallner Great Horror film!! Kept me on the edge of my seat 5 stars
10/29/07 hank3395 hope ther is a sequel!! 4 stars
1/24/07 Matt Interesting premise, but a messy film. Could have, should have, been a great deal better. 3 stars
10/11/06 Pritchett Absolute garbage, not scary, not fun, cliched-as-hell...a total waste of time. 1 stars
5/29/06 Anthony Feor AVOID 1 stars
5/07/06 chienne My 12yo loves it, it's alright - but not a fave 3 stars
3/24/06 Indrid Cold Weak, pointless story. The Mudvayne song is the best thing about this stinker. 2 stars
11/25/05 cr a gory movie and cool story, pretty freaky overall pretty crappy 2 stars
11/21/05 chris not bad 4 stars
11/05/05 Jessica Fortier suspenceful from begining to end! great story line. i loved the bizzar twists 5 stars
11/04/05 Alice C'mon, it wasn't THAT bad. The acting was okay, and some scenes were enjoyable. 4 stars
10/30/05 chris very god movie worth wacthing 4 stars
7/29/05 Chris Waring This film is definately worth watching once, if only to see how crap it is. 2 stars
6/23/05 Mike Hunt quite gory 4 stars
3/24/05 Alice Colwell not all that bad 3 stars
12/09/04 Kristina Williams I've seen better movies on the Hallmark channel 2 stars
12/03/04 Nari S. Ramzan The begining gore wasn't nessesary but the plot and villian make it worthwhile. 4 stars
11/08/04 Steve Newman very harsh ratings so far (perhaps I am 40 going on 12!!) 4 stars
10/15/04 Don Eckert A great start with a laughable ending and lots of bad acting in between. 1 stars
10/13/04 teshey I Think its so cool i love it 5 stars
9/04/04 Valerie Very intense, but I liked it! Definetly worth a look! 4 stars
5/29/04 Kura Totally funny... So boring >_< 1 stars
5/05/04 Ken I didn't even think the opening was all that great. 1 stars
5/04/04 Joseph Cicala not too shabby 3 stars
5/02/04 Jack Sommersby Slickly produced, totally inept garbage. 1 stars
3/22/04 trent i personaly loved the movie the biggining took me a year to get over and the rest good 4 stars
3/02/04 Whatevr I could get better entertainment by crapping in a VCR 1 stars
3/02/04 Charles Tatum Bloody average 3 stars
12/10/03 Terry A good film with, A 'Final Destination' type deaths at the beginning... 5 stars
11/11/03 HorrorScribbler About as tightly plotted as your slightly below average Love Boat episode. 3 stars
11/02/03 American Slasher Goddess A step up from 13 Ghosts, contains some good gore, but is on the bland side. 2 stars
11/01/03 Lars Kelsen Conventional spook show, but touts a truly disturbing opening scene. 4 stars
10/08/03 Erik Van Sant Dark Castle is on a roll with shitty William-Castle rip-offs. The opening is woth a look. 1 stars
9/29/03 Eloise only thing scary was the weak acting and lame transparent plot. Go see Dog Soldiers instead 1 stars
9/16/03 snowconehead Horrid plot development. Steretypical bullshit with one decent flashback scene 2 stars
9/07/03 Kitty J. Blues Only good part was the ending 2 stars
7/29/03 jekyl wheres Hyde 5 stars
7/14/03 Samuel Justus Fantastic Ending!! Great horror flick!!! 5 stars
7/05/03 Hydref Stupid name, brilliant story 5 stars
6/24/03 sarah boswell it will never be the ring...but it was a really good story 5 stars
6/22/03 may one of the best scary movies of 2002 5 stars
6/20/03 Sammy Gory for no reason and pretty overused premise 1 stars
6/14/03 Ashley Corpening Promising start succumbs to muddled free-for-all. GHOST SHIT would be more like it. 1 stars
6/12/03 Epps This movie kicked ass, some people has issues. 5 stars
6/05/03 Erik Van Sant 'Ghost Shit' is the reason I hesitate to watch horror movies in the theater. Horrible. 1 stars
5/31/03 xXMrSelfDestructXx This movie isnt as bad as all of you make it out to be! 5 stars
5/28/03 Caitlyn It was awesome possum.... Desmund Harrington was so cool, not to mention cute! 5 stars
5/27/03 Jack Sommersby Not an iota of ingenuity, not a scare to be found. A complete disaster. 1 stars
5/25/03 1movie fan this was the greatest horror film ever made. if you didn't like this movie your an asshole 5 stars
5/24/03 Chanelle Watson I Liked Katie 5 stars
4/12/03 Jack Bourbon NO MORE FOOD TURNING INTO MAGGOTS!!! It reminds me of my refrigerator! 2 stars
4/06/03 Dodge This Film is Great what are you people on?However what happened to Dodge? How'd he die? 5 stars
4/06/03 Jessel After a decent opening with great visuals, quickly went to sucking all ass. 1 stars
3/26/03 HE great 5 stars
2/07/03 Sean Hansford the killings are amazing 5 stars
1/13/03 Petitbreton As awful and boring as 13 Ghosts 1 stars
1/03/03 Ashley Corpening Promising start succumbs to muddled free-for-all. GHOST SHIT would be more like it. 1 stars
1/01/03 The Collector "ER" + "LOST VOYAGE" + NUT-FILLED TURDS = "GHOST SHIP" 1 stars
12/17/02 n a the movie sucked ass i hated it fuck off ghost ship 1 stars
11/17/02 Lexie I liked this movie, I don't know what you people are talking about 4 stars
11/15/02 JackG No imagination went into this film. The producers are embarrased and the actors are suing. 1 stars
11/10/02 john sucks cod 1 stars
11/07/02 N/A Best Movie Ever! 5 stars
11/03/02 Chris I was hoping for more of a ghost story than a supernatural killer on the loose story 2 stars
11/03/02 CaRlY n' JaKiE We ThOuGhT iT wAs AwEsOmE eVeRy 1 ElZ iS oN cRaCk!!!!! 5 stars
11/02/02 MaryAnn Wells I loved this movie. The special effects are great and scary, the acting very well done. 5 stars
11/02/02 beatriz can we have a real scary movie now?....dont watch it! 1 stars
10/30/02 Molly I laughed all the way through it. Soooo predictable!! 1 stars
10/29/02 John McNew A tedious, but technically well-made, mishmash of old ideas 2 stars
10/29/02 Human Shield If they could have maintained the viciousness of the starting, it could have been great. 2 stars
10/28/02 eighttx@hotmail.com anyone know the name of the group/song which was playing during the cable scene? 3 stars
10/28/02 Joe Castillo It was great, one of the best movies of the year... if I had a zero IQ 1 stars
10/28/02 Shitmeister Well, it was better than having an enema...but not by much. 1 stars
10/27/02 STEVE um.....better then i thought.although dark castle has failed so far..... 3 stars
10/26/02 Uncle Salty Hey look, it's resident evil! In the ocean! On a boat! And retarded! 1 stars
10/26/02 Steve McLenithan Worst movie I've seen in a long time. Bad story line, bad ending, disgusting! 1 stars
10/26/02 Joseph James It's probably a movie I would have rented except for the fact that I got in for free 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  25-Oct-2002 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  05-Dec-2002




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast